Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

irangan
post Dec 16 2006, 10:58 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(XCremator @ Dec 16 2006, 02:33 AM)
Im about to change my water. Since now I only use the Cooler Master Radiant Mixture.

But recently iI just bought a UV coolent Mixture. Thinking of using other mixture in my system. Does anyone know where to buy the distilled water? or must obtain yourself?
my company is selling Water Distiller. you make your own distill water. hahaha... or you can purchase from medical supplier (ME!) hehe.. it is not cheap.

if just for your computer usage, just get those branded mineral water.. it is as good as distill water. in medical field, they always do that too. just my 2 cents
irangan
post Dec 16 2006, 11:40 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 16 2006, 11:09 AM)
hey, someone was telling me to use the car battery water. dunno how good that is with a wc setup tongue.gif
if u really want to use that, make sure get branded one too. alot of battery water in market is normal pipe WATER.
irangan
post Dec 16 2006, 12:03 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 16 2006, 11:57 AM)
which brand is branded?
not too sure about that.. i still think mineral water or ppl called RO water (Reverse Osmosis) is the best.

anyway, if u guys can look for me in puchong, i can 'make' distilled water for u guys. i got the machine in office smile.gif but tell me earlier because need 3 hours to make 4 litres.

This post has been edited by irangan: Dec 16 2006, 12:03 PM
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 03:12 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 17 2006, 11:03 AM)
RO water is still not free from impurities, so it might not be good for our pumps tongue.gif
very true on that.. but the cheapest and easiest to obtain, rather than distilled water.. need machine and time consuming.
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 03:54 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

how many ppl here still have the access to school lab? hahaha... not only susah, but not practical. hehe..

the easiest is to get a water distiller. costs less than a thousand. can make water for your family to drink also.. it is the cleanest water to drink.
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 09:17 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 17 2006, 03:58 PM)
clean.
but science 101 tongue.gif
u need minerals that are present in water to keep ur body going.
distilled water is not good to drink due to the fact it has no minerals hehe

apparently some1 used the shell battery water in their WC system. seems to work well haha
that's why i said cleanest and not the healthest to drink. haha..

yeah, RO is considered very clean already.. i dont think it will damage your pump la.
irangan
post Dec 21 2006, 01:34 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 21 2006, 12:52 AM)
Mineral water? Mati lor the components. With all those minerals n salts in there sure corrode everything.
that is one suggestion rather than looking for pure distill water... btw, in medical line.. some doctor used mineral water or RO water on their autoclave machine.. so far, i dont see any problem...
irangan
post Dec 21 2006, 05:53 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Dec 21 2006, 04:50 AM)
we're talking about a recirculating loop running at a certain temp above room and long term in like 6-12 months ok friend? autoclaves are serviced and cleaned regularly
i always thought WC system need monthly maintenance over the time. if not, my bad.
irangan
post Jan 8 2007, 09:58 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

just get Swiftech Watercooling Kits if you want to go WC. budget WC set wont do any good in reducing the temp. better air cooling if tight in budget. WC = leaking risk and continous maintaining works smile.gif
irangan
post Jan 8 2007, 11:26 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

point blanc, next time try not to reply like that... you will get warned by the mod later. use multiple quote in one post.
irangan
post May 24 2007, 07:27 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ May 21 2007, 06:32 PM)
ok, since i oc my proc sumore (e6600 L631A) at 400fsb x 9 @ 1.5250vcore (bios), idle near 50 load near 70... i'm not sure if running on air cooling is feasible... i like to know if any1 has experience with big big air cooler like thermalrite ultra 120 extrem is capable to do so??? n will simple wc kit consist of good cpu block (swiftech/koolance/DD/etc) with single 120mm x 120mm radiator + 1 x 120mm fan with silent pump can perform better??? i don't want major noise... so both my prospect solution only consist 1 x 120mm fan... my case has 1 x 120mm fan inlet, 1 x 120mm + 1 x 80mm outlet...
If you are willingly to spend and get yourself a decent set of WC, there is no chance any air cooling in the world can challenge WC performance.

If you plan to cool your CPU only, just get urself a good block like (AquaExtreme MP-05 or DTek Fuzion), a good pump like (DB1 or MP655 or MP355 with modded top) and a decent dual rad like (Swiftech MCR220 or Cooltek Dual).

If you really want a silent setup, get those Thermochill Rad PA120.2 or PA120.3. It perform really really well with low CFM fan. Low CFM / Pressure fan = Lower dba smile.gif
irangan
post May 26 2007, 12:36 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kingmaker_20 @ May 26 2007, 12:19 AM)
Eh guys,i mixed the Hydrx + Battery water according to the direction on the bottle but after 1 month or so the tubing filled with algae...Wtf?any tricks to prevent algae?
Buy those medical grade distilled water and add some anti alga solution like Hydrx.

According to some forum, keep your loops from sunlight will slow down the alga growth too.
irangan
post Jun 26 2007, 12:11 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

@remysix

MTZ is from Ipoh smile.gif

Anyway, you seriously need to consider WC. Do help alot during OC. Can push higher when the temp is lower smile.gif

@UPM_Parasite
Ur budget is too low for any decent WC. Prepare at least 600++ and contact MTZ. He will help you out. My WC sifu!
irangan
post Jul 15 2007, 11:29 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

If you want to get all in one WC kit, probably you can consider those new swiftech WC kit. H2O-120 kit.

Releasing quite soon smile.gif

irangan
post Aug 12 2007, 01:06 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

make sure to use distilled water when mixing with HydrX.
irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 01:43 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 12 2007, 02:13 AM)
picture of my setup n look at the resevoir... blueish/green gel floating around...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/41021/+180#entry12820227

i use distilled water (battery water, almost 1 liter) with hydrx (slightly more than 1/2 bottle)... i dunno y but when i stop my pump, some blueish gel will float in my resevoir n also in the tubing... is it normal???  rclxub.gif
did you clean your radiator with vinegar before using it? from what you are saying, those white stuff should be the radiator's flux.

and it is not normal at all. stop using and clean it else u will risk damaging ur setup

Added on August 13, 2007, 1:45 amAnyway, if possible dont use those HydrX. Its cloud your tubing in no time. I just changed my setup tubing, just after 2 months of using Distilled + HydrX 5%. I cannot stand seeing those clouded tubing in my rig. haha

Anyway, I am on PC Ice UV Blue now. Very nice compare to those greenish coolant. haha

This post has been edited by irangan: Aug 13 2007, 01:45 AM
irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 04:35 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 13 2007, 03:02 AM)
yah i clean my radiator with vinegar, i also soak it for 2 hours... then hot boiling water... i cleaned all the parts throughly (if i did't have any mistake as i know)...  blink.gif  i'm new to wc, but as i did as i read in most websites... yah, i got the whitish thing on the 1st few hours (leak test) even with distilled water only... maybe petronas battery water ain't good enuf???  rclxub.gif  hehehe...

btw, how to drain a wc system easily without actually need to turn my rig upside down??? i mean my rig is in pieces, so i can't turn them upside down or all around...  rclxub.gif

can drain my wc just use normal heated tap water (from my water heater max up to 45 degree) for supply n exit to a drain??? i mean without recycling the water, then err add another liter of distilled water as supply??? or can i simply blow the tube at one end n hopefully i can blow all the water out the other end???  sweat.gif
hmmm... from what you said, there shouldnt any problem with ur setup. Did you clean up ur block and tubing also? Your problem might lies with ur coolant. Alot of those battery water in the market is actually plain tap water. I faced the same problem as yours few months back but after taking out all parts and cleaned it up with distilled water and vinegar, i managed to fix it.
irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 05:50 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

bottom line is vinegar will destroy copper ion if u put in it too long. U will notice your copper change to blueish color.
irangan
post Aug 17 2007, 11:24 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 13 2007, 06:34 PM)
yeah i realised that, that's y i only soak it for not more than 2 hours... then i clean it with lots of boiling water...

maybe i need to take them apart this weekend n clean it again...

i think i'll drain it, then fill it with distilled water n let it run for a few hours then drain it again n refill with distilled water again...

so what brand of distilled water should i buy???
I got my distilled water from a medical company.
irangan
post Sep 5 2007, 04:36 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Sep 5 2007, 11:29 AM)
hey doom, if u want to get better temps, u can try bow ur GT since u using intel proc, and also use more powerful radiator such as thermochill to maximize the cooling capabilities. brows.gif  brows.gif
If you plan to cool your CPU only, thermochill is seriously overkill and not needed at all. A swiftech dual rad can cool as well as Thermochill PA120.3 if use on the CPU only.

Thermochill rad only will shine at multi block setup. But using a better block will help though. Hehe. e.g. Fuzion, GTX and so on.

0.0270sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:36 PM