Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

sniper on the roof
post Dec 12 2005, 12:13 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Dec 10 2005, 11:17 PM)
That's why I advised an experimental loop of the following for such a setup

Pump > VGA > RAD > CPU

should be an efficient setup as the GPU will be the one that will have the biggest heat dump since it's gonna be OC'ed liked no one's business (knowing sniper himself)
That loop means extra tubing length leh...

Anyway..the good news is finally I'm starting...now working on the duct but the bad news is the missus took the digicam with her overseas so there's not gonna be any pics to pimp sad.gif
ianho
post Dec 12 2005, 12:16 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 12 2005, 12:13 AM)
That loop means extra tubing length leh...

Anyway..the good news is finally I'm starting...now working on the duct but the bad news is the missus took the digicam with her overseas so there's not gonna be any pics to pimp  sad.gif
There goes ure installation log in case mods.
MetalZone
post Dec 12 2005, 01:42 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Dec 10 2005, 11:17 PM)
That's why I advised an experimental loop of the following for such a setup

Pump > VGA > RAD > CPU

should be an efficient setup as the GPU will be the one that will have the biggest heat dump since it's gonna be OC'ed liked no one's business (knowing sniper himself)
err... are you sure an OC'ed GPU releases more heat than an OC'ed CPU? doesnt sound quite right to me at least, considering the amount of grunt needed to cool CPU's as compared to GPU's (although GPU's are almost reaching CPU level heat dump).

anyway, concerning that experimental setup,
to me, its still more sensible to relocate the pump back to before the CPU:

Pump > CPU > VGA > RAD

still comes back to the same thing as u mentioned, except the pump is now back at the usual before-CPU position. bear in mind that a G4 is being used as well.
almostthere
post Dec 12 2005, 06:55 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Dec 12 2005, 01:42 AM)
err... are you sure an OC'ed GPU releases more heat than an OC'ed CPU? doesnt sound quite right to me at least, considering the amount of grunt needed to cool CPU's as compared to GPU's (although GPU's are almost reaching CPU level heat dump).

anyway, concerning that experimental setup,
to me, its still more sensible to relocate the pump back to before the CPU:

Pump > CPU > VGA > RAD

still comes back to the same thing as u mentioned, except the pump is now back at the usual before-CPU position. bear in mind that a G4 is being used as well.
It is bearing in mind Sniper's requirements as his OC'ing will be more based on GPU rather then CPU based. Forhigher end GPU's being OC'ed, on air we'd be seeing vastly greater temps comparatively (we're talking about 70-80C here) and with sniper using an A64 (Theoretically he's gonna max out temps at about 35-40C at most), CPU cooling won't be so much of a major priority in his case. Hence the experimental suggestion. If I had both the GPU block and a high end GPU to mess with, I'd be glad to try and verify such a theory
sniper on the roof
post Dec 12 2005, 08:07 PM

23,414 posts

Anyway..I'm referring to this and cathar's race track analogy

http://www.overclockers.com/articles1088/

Since the temps depend on water temp and that's cooled by the rad everytime it passes through, shouldn't have temp increase no matter cpu or gpu come first right?

Unless the rad being between cpu and gpu.

ikan_semilang
post Dec 12 2005, 09:37 PM

4,504 posts

Anybody know how much this thing? sweat.gif

Danger Den Clip.
pornstar
post Dec 12 2005, 10:21 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

wont the waterblock move around?
ikan_semilang
post Dec 12 2005, 10:34 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(pornstar @ Dec 12 2005, 10:21 PM)
wont the waterblock move around?
Using it with this waterblock.

ianho
post Dec 13 2005, 04:23 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 12 2005, 08:07 PM)
Anyway..I'm referring to this and cathar's race track analogy

http://www.overclockers.com/articles1088/

Since the temps depend on water temp and that's cooled by the rad everytime it passes through, shouldn't have temp increase no matter cpu or gpu come first right?

Unless the rad being between cpu and gpu.
Wow! Very informative. Anyway, the pump-GPU-CPU thing really does simplify the loop a lot. When I finally change my casing or at the next changing of fluids I'm gonna do it too.

As Almostthere n Sniper haf sed, the GPU on our rigs run hotter than the CPU. Even on my system now the load temps for GPU is at 52C n CPU only at 42C. Check out the pix of how simple the loop looks like when it's pump-GPU-CPU in the SLi set up here. http://www.coolercases.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=11 U can c the SLi loop on pg 4. Also take note that this is Da Man who invented the SLi Dangerden NV68 blocks. He should haf patented the design n sold it to DD man. Instead DD just heard about it, liked it so much n copied his design. That's the sweetest looking WC set up I've ever seen. Look at how all the water blocks glow. Just awesome. N Sniper, check out that 1/2" barb mod top with built in reservoir man. Niiiiice.
cheesycake
post Dec 13 2005, 08:49 AM

302 posts

Hi guys, i ve just bought thermaltake bigwater SE and i would like to ask whether increasing the amount of water flowing will improve performance? If any1 of u saw the 5.25 bay in bigwater u shud know its size and i think its quite small.Plan to get the one the uses two 5.25 bays. What you guys think?
almostthere
post Dec 13 2005, 09:33 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Oh myyyy gawdddd......

Please check back a few pages to see what was our answer for the last person who asked a similiar question

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=180866&st=460

This post has been edited by almostthere: Dec 13 2005, 09:37 AM
sniper on the roof
post Dec 13 2005, 09:42 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 13 2005, 04:23 AM)
Wow! Very informative. Anyway, the pump-GPU-CPU thing really does simplify the loop a lot. When I finally change my casing or at the next changing of fluids I'm gonna do it too.
The only concern is the pressure drop (slowing the flow) actually because in this case, the pressure from the beginning of the loop (from pump) and the end of the loop is not the same. This wouldn't be much be much of a concern if it's an inverted BTX style case.

In my scenario, that means the pump will have to push water upwards into the GPU block (lose pressure)...then up again into the cpu block (storm= impingement= restrictive).

And in your case, although ur cpu block is quite unrestrive, ya pump still gotta go through the your restrictive maze patterned TT gpu block first then againts gravity again upwards.

Anyway, still deciding the pro's and cons of this. Anyone want to share some thoughts in this?

QUOTE(cheesycake @ Dec 13 2005, 08:49 AM)
Hi guys, i ve just bought thermaltake bigwater SE and i would like to ask whether increasing the amount of water flowing will improve performance? If any1 of u saw the 5.25 bay in bigwater u shud know its size and i think its quite small.Plan to get the one the uses two 5.25 bays. What you guys think?
The amount of water and size of the reservoir doesn't do anything towards performance. It makes the temp go up slower since theres more water to heat up but after a certain period, the water temp reach an equilibrium and this equilibrium temp should be the same as having a tiny res.

Unless you're using a big a$$ copper (or other conductive metal) rad which may help remove some of the heat, otherwise its pointless.

Then ianho's gonna come in and promote his newly acquired TT alu res and how it's ok to mix alu and copper together in the loop because he's using special coolant that's advertised to prevent galvanisation tongue.gif tongue.gif

ikan_semilang
post Dec 13 2005, 11:09 AM

4,504 posts

Just want to try wc with my AMD64 3000+ and DFI Lan Party UT SLi-D. Here my item:-

Custom Radiator with 120mm Delta Fan (steel fan) sweat.gif
DIY Reservoir
Nirod Pump ---Aquarium Pump
Tygon Tubing
Danger Den Maze4

Still not test yet. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ikan_semilang: Dec 13 2005, 11:13 AM
FryShadow
post Dec 13 2005, 11:46 PM

88 posts

actually i want to ask something regarding the watercooling

how much does it cost tu change for fully use the watercooling for the pc?
are they sell in package or i have to buy part by part ??

thanks for answer my question biggrin.gif
uzairi
post Dec 15 2005, 12:16 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Apparently the bulk for getting those cool watercooling stuff already ended. Maybe you can try your luck later. BTW here's the link --> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=219878
FryShadow
post Dec 15 2005, 08:31 AM

88 posts

waaa sad to hear that..
well thank uzairi for ur information..

sniper on the roof
post Dec 15 2005, 05:46 PM

23,414 posts

I'm just curious here...anything wrong with NOT placing the pump on the lowest part of the loop?
MetalZone
post Dec 16 2005, 12:54 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(FryShadow @ Dec 15 2005, 08:31 AM)
waaa sad to hear that..
well thank uzairi for ur information..
well, Aleune is looking for someone to take over his orders if possible. (Storm G4 and Black Ice Pro II)
You might wanna check it out. PM him.
uzairi
post Dec 16 2005, 12:58 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Ive already informed him and he was saying that he's just surveying on the prices of those stuff. Any takers for Aleune stuff ?
blaxez
post Dec 16 2005, 01:42 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 15 2005, 05:46 PM)
I'm just curious here...anything wrong with NOT placing the pump on the lowest part of the loop?
perhaps the pump have to suck the water against the gravity force sweat.gif

141 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:29 AM