75 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Places to use AMEX card?

mletee
post Jun 8 2011, 05:41 PM

jenn is cute
1,004 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 8 2011, 05:11 PM)
Your statement contradicts..

There are no way (actually very low possibility) for the machine to decline Amex only but accept Visa/Master for your so-called "line down".. If line down then it wont able to accept Visa/Master too, and all pump will down not only 1.
Most of the petrol stations are using Leased Line for petrol pump because its stable and always-on connection to bank for approval..So no way Amex down but others ok.

Why i know? Coz i have atleast 5 years experience in credit card terminals smile.gif

For the counter terminal i think they are using different bank thats why it can accept Amex.
good clarification smile.gif
erry-
post Jun 8 2011, 06:16 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 8 2011, 05:11 PM)
Most of the petrol stations are using Leased Line for petrol pump because its stable and always-on connection to bank for approval..So no way Amex down but others ok.
i've experienced this lot of time.

usually this is what happen (at the same esso station):
use amex last week at pump no prob.
yesterday try to use amex at pump at 5pm, declined, went to counter, declined.
so try with visa, ok no problem, so just pump rm10.
go again at 10pm, can use amex back at pump with no prob, so pump till full tank ~

This post has been edited by erry-: Jun 8 2011, 06:19 PM
chemistry
post Jun 8 2011, 08:18 PM

3,066 posts

The Esso in my hometown uses two different terminals, one for Amex only, another one for Visa/Master.

This station is still using the old design pump without card terminal. Credit card users must pay at counter. And, if you use Amex, you must wait until refilling completed then only you can make payment. If you pumped full tank and your Amex can't get approval, hah! Use other card or use CASH. You can say you have only this Amex and you don't bring a cent, please suck the petrol out of my tank. LOL.
yflai1
post Jun 9 2011, 02:17 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jun 8 2011, 06:16 PM)
i've experienced this lot of time.

usually this is what happen (at the same esso station):
use amex last week at pump no prob.
yesterday try to use amex at pump at 5pm, declined, went to counter, declined.
so try with visa, ok no problem, so just pump rm10.
go again at 10pm, can use amex back at pump with no prob, so pump till full tank ~
Yup, that's what happened to me as well. Funny thing was I went to the counter and they asked me to go back to the pump and ask the attendant's help. Even he informed me that AMEX was accepted, and tried, but declined, that's when i decided to use my back-up card for petrol. Thank goodness for competiton. biggrin.gif
kurtkantoi
post Jun 9 2011, 05:44 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(DATO CHIKA @ Jun 9 2011, 04:12 PM)
Hey guys, do u know that u use AMEX to buy gold will rewards u greatly?...Tips, u can compare at wah chan and tomei. wah chan can use amex but with 3% charges. Tomei can use Amex at any amount of gold purchased, no handling charges. Imagine u buy from tomei on sunday, 5x treats points and 5% cash rebate, of course up to rm50 only per month. Hey it is great oppurtunity oso to buy gold for investment and get rewards too. but sometime wah chan came out an unbeatable deal, rm 155 per gram for all gold when market rate is rm 167 per gram in selective outlet and days. Until tis weekend, wah chan in midvalley oso doing great deal, rm161 per gram fro all golds. try ask for minimal labour charges. i oso got a good deal there last time. But i still prefer tomei, hassle free and even charge low entry for 0 installement scheme. Now, this is how u maximise ur cards benefit.
From my point of view, buying gold for investment is purely waste if you go to wah chan and tomei or other normal jewelery shop because their main target is to sell jewelery to end user (to wear purpose). They have huge differences between selling and buying price. For investment better go something like publicgold that offer small differences for buying and selling price.
Human Nature
post Jun 9 2011, 10:33 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

For David83, GSC Aeon Bandaraya Melaka uses UOB terminal for AMEX payments.
mletee
post Jun 10 2011, 11:35 AM

jenn is cute
1,004 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 9 2011, 10:33 PM)
For David83, GSC Aeon Bandaraya Melaka uses UOB terminal for AMEX payments.
means UOB terminal for GSC can accept AMEX while EON terminal for GSC doesn't accept AMEX?
Human Nature
post Jun 10 2011, 01:34 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(mletee @ Jun 10 2011, 11:35 AM)
means UOB terminal for GSC can accept AMEX while EON terminal for GSC doesn't accept AMEX?
I requested the GSC personnel to try at the other terminal (UOB), when the first attempt on a different one was rejected (perhaps its EON).
sailou
post Jun 10 2011, 04:01 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(DATO CHIKA @ Jun 9 2011, 04:12 PM)
Hey guys, do u know that u use AMEX to buy gold will rewards u greatly?...Tips, u can compare at wah chan and tomei. wah chan can use amex but with 3% charges. Tomei can use Amex at any amount of gold purchased, no handling charges. Imagine u buy from tomei on sunday, 5x treats points and 5% cash rebate, of course up to rm50 only per month. Hey it is great oppurtunity oso to buy gold for investment and get rewards too. but sometime wah chan came out an unbeatable deal, rm 155 per gram for all gold when market rate is rm 167 per gram in selective outlet and days. Until tis weekend, wah chan in midvalley oso doing great deal, rm161 per gram fro all golds. try ask for minimal labour charges. i oso got a good deal there last time. But i still prefer tomei, hassle free and even charge low entry for 0 installement scheme. Now, this is how u maximise ur cards benefit.
Failed. Consumers gold ornament is tradeable at a deficit of 20% minus labour charges (workmanship). Unless if the price increased to RM250 per gram, it is hardly you can make any money out of it. However, i will not deny it will happen because 10 years ago while i was still in jewelery line, the lowest for 916 was RM30.80.
alexwsk
post Jun 11 2011, 10:57 AM

4,094 posts

Called for Car Insurance from Etiqa just now, can accept amex but transaction will only proceed on monday

there goes my 5% doh.gif

and also www.motortakaful.com cannot accept amex

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 11 2011, 10:58 AM
tanch78
post Jun 12 2011, 02:07 AM

712 posts

Went to Poslaju Brickfield brench this afternoon, AMEX not accepted.
gerrardling
post Jun 12 2011, 08:51 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 11 2011, 10:57 AM)
Called for Car Insurance from Etiqa just now, can accept amex but transaction will only proceed on monday

there goes my 5% doh.gif

and also www.motortakaful.com cannot accept amex
their operation only runs on weekday. they cant do anything also. atleast u still got 5x points there which is better than mastercard or visa
Kelv
post Jun 12 2011, 11:12 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Buy iPhone from maxis got 5% rebate and points?
CHIP CN
post Jun 12 2011, 11:19 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

i am a merchant... but the problem is only accept visa and mastercard, where to get amex terminal... by the way i'm using e-pay...
SUSDavid83
post Jun 12 2011, 12:23 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jun 12 2011, 11:12 AM)
Buy iPhone from maxis got 5% rebate and points?
Why not as long as AMEX is accepted and the transaction date falls in the weekends for rebate eligibility.
guanteik
post Jun 12 2011, 01:02 PM

2,661 posts

Honda Service Center (Kah Motor) in Puchong does not accept AMEX to my disappointment.
csk3984
post Jun 12 2011, 01:05 PM

321 posts

Ezy video shop (opposite times square gsc level 1 country) accept Amex even below rm19
fruitie
post Jun 12 2011, 01:10 PM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

Guys, I saw about the different terminals discussion on GSC that accepts AMEX.

Err.. Just a quick question, does anyone have experience swiping AMEX at GSC Mid Valley (not Gardens)?

I need to buy about 100 tickets for Transformer 3 when it is out for purchase...
gerrardling
post Jun 12 2011, 01:43 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 12 2011, 01:10 PM)
Guys, I saw about the different terminals discussion on GSC that accepts AMEX.

Err.. Just a quick question, does anyone have experience swiping AMEX at GSC Mid Valley (not Gardens)?

I need to buy about 100 tickets for Transformer 3 when it is out for purchase...
i think u better purchase it via e payment using visa or master. or else u have to go to MV in the early morning just to avoid the long queue
fruitie
post Jun 12 2011, 01:47 PM

Rise and Shine
72,826 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 12 2011, 01:43 PM)
i think u better purchase it via e payment using visa or master. or else u have to go to MV in the early morning just to avoid the long queue
E-Payment can buy so many tickets at once?
Queuing up is not an issue because my work is kinda flexible. tongue.gif

75 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:38 PM