53 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Kitchen Sink, which one

blancpain4470
post Nov 15 2020, 01:36 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Nov 14 2020, 09:34 PM)
Hi sifus, I would like to know ur opinion on abagno sinks. went to the Topidea showroom to see Blanco sinks. The only 2 bowls sinks the got for blanco is Blanco Subline 480/320-U. Warranty 10yrs.

[attachmentid=10683603]

And the guy recommended abagno sinks (lifetime warranty) to me but i’m not sure whether it is good or not

[attachmentid=10683622]

My budget is within rm1.5k..i love granite or quartz, but i dont mind having a good quality ss sink for that price.

I found Kraus sinks in ubuy and amazon but im not sure whether it is worth to spend that much on delivery.
If u can wait then see if you can Blanco at better price in the coming Christmas or Home Expo sale. I remember Blanco Metra 9 was about RM1800-2000. It is still out of your budget unfortunately but you are talking about long term buy and the extra RM500 is worth it if you can move some fund from other items.

If u don't mind ss, there should be plenty more choices around. I bought a Kraus from US for my seldom used dry kitchen. It has thicker gauge and much better sound damping but it still scratches. It is good but my advice is don't pay too much premium for it. It is also made in China anyway (under strict quality control though).

You can consider Teka (at least those made in Europe), Franke, etc. Kohler I think is over your budget.
blanket84
post Nov 16 2020, 12:48 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 15 2020, 01:36 PM)
If u can wait then see if you can Blanco at better price in the coming Christmas or Home Expo sale. I remember Blanco Metra 9 was about RM1800-2000. It is still out of your budget unfortunately but you are talking about long term buy and the extra RM500 is worth it if you can move some fund from other items.

If u don't mind ss, there should be plenty more choices around. I bought a Kraus from US for my seldom used dry kitchen. It has thicker gauge and much better sound damping but it still scratches. It is good but my advice is don't pay too much premium for it. It is also made in China anyway (under strict quality control though).

You can consider Teka (at least those made in Europe), Franke, etc. Kohler I think is over your budget.
I have been monitoring blanco metra online price for the past one year. Normal price is RM2100 and best price is RM1888. Maybe if you go to physical shop can nego down to 1.8k.
fleur_cherie
post Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 15 2020, 01:36 PM)

Maybe i’ll wait till end year, else i would juz buy a good cheap ss. I don’t even know when my stupid developer will VP my house. Thanks for the advice!
coolguy99
post Nov 16 2020, 08:36 AM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM)
Maybe i’ll wait till end year, else i would juz buy a good cheap ss. I don’t even know when my stupid developer will VP my house. Thanks for the advice!
Which good cheap ss are you aiming for?
blancpain4470
post Nov 16 2020, 08:51 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Nov 16 2020, 08:35 AM)
You can look at HCE and Teka.
teckyang97
post Nov 16 2020, 10:46 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

Hello guys. I'm thinking of getting a stainless steel 304 sink for my mom's kitchen. So far, Sorento/Mocha fits my budget well. There is a shop in Puchong called Kong Mee that sells these kind of stuff. Anyone have experience or encounter with this company?
fleur_cherie
post Nov 16 2020, 02:10 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 16 2020, 08:51 AM)
You can look at HCE and Teka.
Noted and thanks for the advice. Any teka or hce ss is good right? What criteria should i look other than the thickness?
senscents
post Nov 16 2020, 03:59 PM

418 posts

What happen to "The Crown on your kitchen"?
Past 20years ago was one of the top brand, now it's lost the Crown, 🤣
Their Steel sinks are FSC certified and they do offer a Life time warranty, don't know if it's still have the same warranty now.
blancpain4470
post Nov 16 2020, 10:26 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Nov 16 2020, 02:10 PM)
Noted and thanks for the advice. Any teka or hce ss is good right? What criteria should i look other than the thickness?
SS sinks?
1. Decent one should be 304 grade. Those made with 316 will be better against chemical and corrosion but will be expensive.

2. The thickness or gauge of the steel. 1-1.2mm is average. 1.5mm is thick and thus “better”

3. Sound damping materials and area covered. This will determine how much noises you reduce when the water hits the sink.

4. Depth of the sink. The deeper you have less splash. 8in is standard. My Kraus is 10in.

5. Assessories such as sink scratch protector, etc.

SUSceo684
post Nov 16 2020, 10:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

316 is better. Sink generally cannot go too wrong, but do be aware of no name cheapo so called SS 304 that is actually made from cheapo grade that still rusts just by looking at it.

Undermount or top mount, the former is harder to do maintain as the silicone can and will grow mildew over time. Top mount easier to maintain and install in comparison, but aesthetic wise lose to undermount.

The choice of tap is important. I went and bought ikea tap instead of reusing a dismantled teka mixer, technically new from developer that my friend was remodelling and donated to me. that one keep on leaking and dripping into the cabinet. Ikea one super easy to install and come with very long metal flexi hose for the water inlet, properly gasketed and doesn't leak at all.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 16 2020, 10:52 PM
fleur_cherie
post Nov 18 2020, 08:28 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:26 PM)
SS sinks?
1. Decent one should be 304 grade. Those made with 316 will be better against chemical and corrosion but will be expensive.

2. The thickness or gauge of the steel. 1-1.2mm is average. 1.5mm is thick and thus “better”

3. Sound damping materials and area covered. This will determine how much noises you reduce when the water hits the sink.

4. Depth of the sink. The deeper you have less splash. 8in is standard. My Kraus is 10in.

5. Assessories such as sink scratch protector, etc.
Will do my best to do a proper checking before buying. Thx a lot!
fleur_cherie
post Nov 18 2020, 08:35 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:49 PM)
316 is better. Sink generally cannot go too wrong, but do be aware of no name cheapo so called SS 304 that is actually made from cheapo grade that still rusts just by looking at it.

Undermount or top mount, the former is harder to do maintain as the silicone can and will grow mildew over time. Top mount easier to maintain and install in comparison, but aesthetic wise lose to undermount.

The choice of tap is important. I went and bought ikea tap instead of reusing a dismantled teka mixer, technically new from developer that my friend was remodelling and donated to me. that one keep on leaking and dripping into the cabinet. Ikea one super easy to install and come with very long metal flexi hose for the water inlet, properly gasketed and doesn't leak at all.
I haven’t decide on tap yet, since it is easy to replace. Ikea’s tap is good then? I will check it out after this, hopefully still within my budget
kumario9
post Dec 2 2020, 12:44 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:49 PM)

Good day. Can advise which brand and model undermount 316 stainless steel kitchen sink type without overflow? I am keep searching seem hard to get it. Please advise. Thanks.
SUSceo684
post Dec 2 2020, 01:32 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kumario9 @ Dec 2 2020, 12:44 AM)
Good day. Can advise which brand and model undermount 316 stainless steel kitchen sink type without overflow? I am keep searching seem hard to get it. Please advise. Thanks.
316 usually harder to get, mostly the common one is 304 (18/8) same as those used in Zebra pots (which hold up pretty well). If its true 304 18/8 (from proper mfg like Smeg/Hafele/Teka/Blanco types) of mfg it will last well. Some Smeg or Teka ones are 18/10 - these have more chromium for corrosion resistance
1.0 mm 304, 18/10 gauge stainless steel
The other thing is also on thickness. Standard is 1.0mm, better is 1.2 mm. Nowadays mfg tend to make things cheaper and cost cutting so it may be harder to find 1.2mm sinks.

Those sub RM30 sinks are made of 2xx grade (not even 304) that rusts by itself just by looking at it in a brand new unit, only fit for prison use I guess. Coz even those throwaway sinks have better ones (I have one "sub RM50 worth" sink exposed to the rain and sun in the balcony used as makeshift wind barrier) still holds up well, never rust.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 2 2020, 01:34 AM
airtawarian
post Jan 3 2021, 04:11 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 2 2020, 01:32 AM)
316 usually harder to get, mostly the common one is 304 (18/8) same as those used in Zebra pots (which hold up pretty well). If its true 304 18/8 (from proper mfg like Smeg/Hafele/Teka/Blanco types) of mfg it will last well. Some Smeg or Teka ones are 18/10 - these have more chromium for corrosion resistance
1.0 mm 304, 18/10 gauge stainless steel
The other thing is also on thickness. Standard is 1.0mm, better is 1.2 mm. Nowadays mfg tend to make things cheaper and cost cutting so it may be harder to find 1.2mm sinks.

Those sub RM30 sinks are made of 2xx grade (not even 304) that rusts by itself just by looking at it in a brand new unit, only fit for prison use I guess. Coz even those throwaway sinks have better ones (I have one "sub RM50 worth"  sink exposed to the rain and sun in the balcony used as makeshift wind barrier) still holds up well, never rust.
Bro, should I use stainless steel or pvc type or chrome-plated for undermount pipe? Which one last long for kitchen and bathroom? Sometimes parents pour hot water directly into sinking hole. Thanks
SUSceo684
post Jan 4 2021, 08:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jan 3 2021, 04:11 PM)
Bro, should I use stainless steel or pvc type or chrome-plated for undermount pipe? Which one last long for kitchen and bathroom? Sometimes parents pour hot water directly into sinking hole. Thanks
Sis actually bruce.gif

PVC also like titanic class ticket.. 3rd class to first class
PVC grey pipe class 0 is thin and cheap
For few bucks more get the best class 7 PVC. This Shorty lengths about 1m u can buy at CSM hardware. Should be more than enough but it is recommended to let it cool off coz whilst the pipe may be able to withstand, the joints are the weakest part of any pipe link.

Class 7 pipes are specially made for heavy duty used to Internal Plumbing System. Pipe Available sizes from 15mm to 50mm. Grey and white colour are available. This pipe is ideal for an application with the flowage temperature of 60’C. Pipe pressure rating up to 40 bars subject to the size, temperature and method of installation.
This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 4 2021, 08:57 PM
fleur_cherie
post Jan 5 2021, 02:35 PM

152 posts

Noob question here. For this kind of faucet, it has 3 input - cold, hot and spray. But here we only have one input pipe in malaysia. We can still install this kind of faucet to our kitchen or not? Sorry for my noobness 😅

blancpain4470
post Jan 5 2021, 03:46 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 5 2021, 02:35 PM)
Noob question here. For this kind of faucet, it has 3 input - cold, hot and spray. But here we only have one input pipe in malaysia. We can still install this kind of faucet to our kitchen or not? Sorry for my noobness 😅

This is a Kraus Bolden model if I remember correctly. I was looking at this last time when I was looking at the Kraus sink. There is no 3 inputs. Just the usual hot and cold water inlets. That’s provided you have water heating system to supply hot water to the faucet. If no you can connect both inlets to cold water and just use it without having hot water.

My Grohe also similar and I don’t bother to connect it to hot water source. Note that this model has fancy motion sensor activation. Some like this but I think it is just a gimmick and you need to change batteries frequently and an additional point of failure.
fleur_cherie
post Jan 5 2021, 07:34 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Jan 5 2021, 03:46 PM)
This is a Kraus Bolden model if I remember correctly. I was looking at this last time when I was looking at the Kraus sink. There is no 3 inputs. Just the usual hot and cold water inlets. That’s provided you have water heating system to supply hot water to the faucet. If no you can connect both inlets to cold water and just use it without having hot water.

My Grohe also similar and I don’t bother to connect it to hot water source. Note that this model has fancy motion sensor activation. Some like this but I think it is just a gimmick and you need to change batteries frequently and an additional point of failure.
Thanks for ur feedback sir. I’m looking at this kind of faucet but haven’t decided on which model to purchase first. Gonna wait for my bonus this november to purchase a fancy faucet. For now gonna use the one given by developer first 😅
SUSceo684
post Jan 5 2021, 08:32 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 5 2021, 02:35 PM)

Yes just connect both inlets to cold pipe using a T joint and a L joint (so what happens in the end it will look like a letter F and = these are your two inlet pipes). The reason for the T+L is so it looks like F and it doesn't put unnecessary strain on the inlet hoses as compared to stuffing them into the T joint direct .. one at 12 o clock and another at 3 o clock strains the hoses)..the F joint there makes for a neater connection.

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 5 2021, 07:34 PM)
Thanks for ur feedback sir. I’m looking at this kind of faucet but haven’t decided on which model to purchase first. Gonna wait for my bonus this november to purchase a fancy faucet. For now gonna use the one given by developer first 😅
When you buy the tap also check the length of the hoses. Some brand like teka give short hose which is a bit tricky to install given that the sink blocks 20cm of length already. Ikea tap give 80cm long hoses so anyhow very easy to install.

53 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:09 PM