53 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Kitchen Sink, which one

iamsobloodysick
post Sep 16 2020, 10:24 AM

2,006 posts

I’ve decided on blanco sublime 700u anthracite. Currently there’s a bundle price with Grohe mixer. I’m likely to give Grohe mixer a pass having read some of the reviews here. I just visited a hansgrohe showroom and quite liked their matris select 71. The height is 32cm and the other model is 22cm. I prefer the taller one but am concerned about water splashing out. Is it something I should be worried about? What about finishing? I like chrome but what I have now in chrome (no brand) is stained with watermarks and scratches. Stainless steel finishing does look great as opposed to my earlier thought.

This post has been edited by iamsobloodysick: Sep 16 2020, 10:25 AM
SUSceo684
post Sep 17 2020, 12:44 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 16 2020, 10:24 AM)
I’ve decided on blanco sublime 700u anthracite. Currently there’s a bundle price with Grohe mixer. I’m likely to give Grohe mixer a pass having read some of the reviews here. I just visited a hansgrohe showroom and quite liked their matris select 71. The height is 32cm and the other model is 22cm. I prefer the taller one but am concerned about water splashing out. Is it something I should be worried about? What about finishing? I like chrome but what I have now in chrome (no brand) is stained with watermarks and scratches. Stainless steel finishing does look great as opposed to my earlier thought.
Good taps should have that soft-filter attachment at the tap head so it won't splash everywhere/
coolguy99
post Sep 19 2020, 10:23 PM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 15 2020, 09:50 AM)
Material - granite (silgranite)
Brand - Blanco
Using for 5 years now, no regrets
QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Sep 15 2020, 05:14 PM)
These are the two main choices. The plusses and minuses were started somewhere in the thread too.

If you have children or careless people using the sink stainless steel won't break your fragile china/plates/glasses like granite. Problem of stainless steel is you need to wipe down after use. Otherwise water marks will be ugly. Some cheaper ones will show some"rust". Not to mention ugly scratches.

Granite sink is much easier to take care. But it will destroy fragile items for careless people. Also if you get lousy ones out may crack if knock hard. But then I have 3 Blanco and they are fine and some are more than 15 years old
I read that most people in this thread recommend Blanco granite sink, but I don't think I have the budget for that. Is there any cheaper brand that I can go for?

Or can I go with SS with brands like sorento? Budget around 1k.
blancpain4470
post Sep 20 2020, 12:33 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 19 2020, 10:23 PM)
I read that most people in this thread recommend Blanco granite sink, but I don't think I have the budget for that. Is there any cheaper brand that I can go for?

Or can I go with SS with brands like sorento? Budget around 1k.
If you don't mind ss sinks you will more choices. Sorento, Teka, Haustern etc are all within your budget. Only thing is they are either local or china made.

Blanco is expensive because of built quality and made in Germany. The sink materials contain antibacterial material. They build like tanks and not easily stained or discolored. Soo you get for what you paid for.

That said ss sink if you have genuine type304 (type 316 even better but that's expensive) and it is thick gauge enough with sound deafening material then you will be fine. Just have to wipe down every time after use.
coolguy99
post Sep 20 2020, 12:48 AM

7,350 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Sep 20 2020, 12:33 AM)
If you don't mind ss sinks you will more choices. Sorento, Teka, Haustern etc are all within your budget. Only thing is they are either local or china made.

Blanco is expensive because of built quality and made in Germany. The sink materials contain antibacterial material. They build like tanks and not easily stained or discolored. Soo you get for what you paid for.

That said ss sink if you have genuine type304 (type 316 even better but that's expensive) and it is thick gauge enough with sound deafening material then you will be fine. Just have to wipe down every time after use.
Thanks for the explanation. I will definitely check out the Blanco sinks to get a feel on the difference although I dont have the budget for it.
blancpain4470
post Sep 20 2020, 01:08 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 20 2020, 12:48 AM)
Thanks for the explanation. I will definitely check out the Blanco sinks to get a feel on the difference although I dont have the budget for it.
You can't see the difference say vs Haustern. The anti bacterial treatment you can't see. The build you can't see until you knock a pot against it accidentally. The stain you can't see until after months or years of usage.

I can only speak from perspective of a Blanco user. I have 3 of them and they are still ok after years of usage. May be other granite sink users can offer other feedback?

One thing you want to avoid is very cheap one. I have seen photos of those that has ugly black fungus like stains. It is best to avoid those and get ss sink
emonemo
post Sep 21 2020, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(emonemo @ Sep 16 2020, 02:19 AM)
Hi sifus, I’m shopping for a new kitchen sink for my condo and need advice.

Background info: There is no separate wet and dry kitchen so this sink will be used for washing everything from wine glasses to woks. My priorities are to get something that is durable and easy to maintain. I have a pretty tight budget, BUT I’m willing to pay for quality that will make a difference in the long run.

1) What is the recommended maintenance for a SS sink vs a granite sink to keep them in good condition, prevent discolouration/watermarks, etc?
2) Does anyone have an opinion on nano SS sinks? These are widely offered and claim to overcome the shortcomings of regular SS sinks, i.e. better scratch resistance, antibacterial, etc.
3) During my visit to a home fair recently, every sink vendor offers granite sinks. However, the only brand frequently mentioned here is Blanco. Does anyone have any experience/feedback on other brands such as Cavarro? These other brands are cheaper (around RM1K-1.2K per sink) but would they be more prone to staining/discolouration due to lower quality?
4) What is the likelihood of a granite sink cracking (e.g. if a cast iron pan is dropped in it) or chipping/scratching (e.g. if a sharp knife is dropped in it)? I’m generally a careful person but accidents do happen and I cook and bake quite a lot.
5) Are there any issues with installing granite sinks undermount instead of top mount?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Can anyone advise on the above?

@blancpain4470, perhaps you can help?
blancpain4470
post Sep 21 2020, 06:12 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(emonemo @ Sep 21 2020, 02:34 PM)
Can anyone advise on the above?

@blancpain4470, perhaps you can help?
I have both ss and granite sinks. My SS in dry kitchen of my new house whereas I have granite sinks in wet kitchens of both houses and dry kitchen of old house.

My experience with SS is that it will scratch regardless of the make. Mine is high quality ss brand from US and yet it sustained scratches in far less utilized dry kitchen sink.

I would swear by Blanco as stated elsewhere. Blanco is well made; has anti bacterial properties; do not discolor easily. It is built like tank and made in Germany. Those cheaper one such as Haustern, HCE, etc are either made locally or in China. You can't tell initially but long term durability can be question mark. You probably can't tell the difference when new. But whether they have anti bacterial properties or they won't discolor after months or years I can't tell. Hopefully other users of the brands can provide feedback.

As per granite sink will crack of knocked ... This is a ridiculous argument for those selling ss sinks. I own super heavy pots and pans from Silit to Scanpan wok. So far the Blanco has no problem against minor knocks. If the knock is so hard that it cracks the sink you can bet that your SS will also be severely dented that is also ugly and unrepairable. Granite sink is mostly stone ... Most likely your utensil will dent rather than it cracks.

I generally do not recommend undermount granite sink because it is heavy. You can add support structure for undermount to minimize the challenge. Someone in this forum has done undermount with granite sink and claimed has no issue. Coincidentally my only undermount granite sink experienced leak. So I leave it up to you to draw the conclusion.

pesona3F
post Sep 21 2020, 07:57 PM

133 posts

I buy from cavarro, not yet install coz waiting cabinet guys first.. will give review about the sink later

Granite sink
Farm sink design kot.. my wife want that one

This post has been edited by pesona3F: Sep 21 2020, 07:59 PM

blancpain4470
post Sep 21 2020, 10:28 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Sep 21 2020, 07:57 PM)
I buy from cavarro, not yet install coz waiting cabinet guys first.. will give review about the sink later

Granite sink
One thing about Cavarro ... It is a Malaysian brand with manufacturing facilities in China. I really don't understand why they can put "France" in their product logo. This is borderline unethical (although not uncommon in Malaysia eg HCE and it's "German"). There is no documented info on what's the relation to France.

It does offer 12 years warranty for granite sink against discoloration. Blanco comparatively offers lifetime warranty. Yes it is cheaper so it is down to consumer choices.
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 21 2020, 11:09 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 16 2020, 10:24 AM)
Finally decided on the kitchen mixer.

https://www.hansgrohe.com/articledetail-met...y-2jet-14820800

I just realised stainless steel one is pricier than chrome one. Chrome is better looking but it's prone to scratches. I found some good deals online but too bad they don't ship to Malaysia.

So far the one does ship to Malaysia is a Taobao seller (代购 buy-on-behalf service) based in Germany. RM2100 inclusive of shipping by DHL. It's slightly more expensive with tax included if it's shipped to China. I have three options here:

1. Ship directly to Malaysia and pray that I don't get taxed
2. Ship to China and then use a bulk forwarder service inclusive of import duties
3. Source from local dealers (will get some quotes from them to get a feel on the price difference)

This post has been edited by iamsobloodysick: Sep 21 2020, 11:11 PM
senscents
post Sep 22 2020, 01:22 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 21 2020, 11:09 PM)
Finally decided on the kitchen mixer.

https://www.hansgrohe.com/articledetail-met...y-2jet-14820800

I just realised stainless steel one is pricier than chrome one. Chrome is better looking but it's prone to scratches. I found some good deals online but too bad they don't ship to Malaysia.

So far the one does ship to Malaysia is a Taobao seller (代购 buy-on-behalf service) based in Germany. RM2100 inclusive of shipping by DHL. It's slightly more expensive with tax included if it's shipped to China. I have three options here:

1. Ship directly to Malaysia and pray that I don't get taxed
2. Ship to China and then use a bulk forwarder service inclusive of import duties
3. Source from local dealers (will get some quotes from them to get a feel on the price difference)
Did you check on Amazon.de
https://www.amazon.de/s?k=Metris+M71&ref=nb_sb_noss
What will be the tax like 30% ?
After checking on the price here, than can decide. 😀
pesona3F
post Sep 22 2020, 09:07 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Sep 21 2020, 10:28 PM)
One thing about Cavarro ... It is a Malaysian brand with manufacturing facilities in China. I really don't understand why they can put "France" in their product logo. This is borderline unethical (although not uncommon in Malaysia eg HCE and it's "German"). There is no documented info on what's the relation to France.

It does offer 12 years warranty for granite sink against discoloration. Blanco comparatively offers lifetime warranty. Yes it is cheaper so it is down to consumer choices.
Agreed, in my case, they actually shipping the product from china since the color that i want no stock ald in malaysia..

Very obvious not from france.. 😂😂
blancpain4470
post Sep 22 2020, 10:12 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Sep 22 2020, 09:07 AM)
Agreed, in my case, they actually shipping the product from china since the color that i want no stock ald in malaysia..

Very obvious not from france.. 😂😂
Lol at least u don't need to speak French if you need to claim warranty! 😬
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 22 2020, 12:34 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Sep 22 2020, 01:22 AM)
No idea on the tax rate. Spent an hour in vain googling for the info.

Found this website which ships to Malaysia - https://www.eurohomedirect.com/. Free shipping for orders above RM9k.

It's not worth it though. Their prices are at a premium and items are still subject to import tax.

This post has been edited by iamsobloodysick: Sep 22 2020, 12:46 PM
pesona3F
post Oct 9 2020, 07:30 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(pesona3F @ Sep 21 2020, 07:57 PM)

Granite sink
Still in process.. cavarro sink

blanket84
post Oct 11 2020, 11:47 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Sep 22 2020, 01:22 AM)
I bought few items from amazon.de. The tax rate was precalculated. Even with shipping+tax, the items were cheaper than local sellers. Out of 6-7 items i bought, only one was taxed. And they ship them separately even when the charge you the delivery for supposedly consilidated shipment. End up my sink faucet only cost me RM230 despite the seller here selling them for RM999 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Oct 11 2020, 11:47 AM
senscents
post Oct 11 2020, 02:56 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 11 2020, 11:47 AM)
I bought few items from amazon.de. The tax rate was precalculated. Even with shipping+tax, the items were cheaper than local sellers. Out of 6-7 items i bought, only one was taxed. And they ship them separately even when the charge you the delivery for supposedly consilidated shipment. End up my sink faucet only cost me RM230 despite the seller here selling them for RM999 sweat.gif
WoW,, 😁 Huge saving and good of them to deliver it separately as the combined items will definitely be above the limit and be taxes.
blanket84
post Oct 11 2020, 05:28 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Oct 11 2020, 02:56 PM)
WoW,, 😁 Huge saving and good of them to deliver it separately as the combined items will definitely be above the limit and be taxes.
Yeah. The more you buy, the cheaper the shipping & tax deposit collected. Just like the faucet I mentioned, if I were to buy it individually, it would probably costs me around 600++, but since I bought it in addition to other pricier items, I just need to add RM230 to the original total bill thumbup.gif
fleur_cherie
post Nov 14 2020, 09:34 PM

152 posts

Hi sifus, I would like to know ur opinion on abagno sinks. went to the Topidea showroom to see Blanco sinks. The only 2 bowls sinks the got for blanco is Blanco Subline 480/320-U. Warranty 10yrs.

And the guy recommended abagno sinks (lifetime warranty) to me but i’m not sure whether it is good or not

My budget is within rm1.5k..i love granite or quartz, but i dont mind having a good quality ss sink for that price.

I found Kraus sinks in ubuy and amazon but im not sure whether it is worth to spend that much on delivery.

53 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:13 AM