Kitchen Sink, which one

SUSceo684
post Mar 11 2020, 12:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Teka is fine, stainless steel as long as minimum 18/10 it will resist corrosion from usage.. if buy cheapo ones from CN the SS may not be even 3xx series.. 304/316 (aka 18/8, 18/10) will be alright..

2xx series SS is very cheap cos they skimp on the nickel inside to save cost so it will form "surface rust" effect very easily
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2020, 05:22 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

there is also quartz composite sink, in addition to granite.
the ikea black sinks cost around 1k-1.1k only. very easy to clean, i just lather dishwashing soap over it and rinse it off.

Composite sinks’ structure is 70 percent to 80 percent rock and 20 percent to 30 percent resin, and the combination makes a resilient choice. As an engineered product, quartz composite is durable and affordable. It is nonporous, resisting stains, scratches and chips, and it is impervious to harsh liquid cleansers. A dropped plate or heavy casserole dish won't dent a quartz composite sink. All of these benefits come with a reasonable price tag, starting at about $250 at the time of publication. A wide variety of solid colors, which are fade-proof due to the product’s inherent structure, remain true and stable throughout the sink’s lifetime.
SUSceo684
post Sep 17 2020, 12:44 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 16 2020, 10:24 AM)
I’ve decided on blanco sublime 700u anthracite. Currently there’s a bundle price with Grohe mixer. I’m likely to give Grohe mixer a pass having read some of the reviews here. I just visited a hansgrohe showroom and quite liked their matris select 71. The height is 32cm and the other model is 22cm. I prefer the taller one but am concerned about water splashing out. Is it something I should be worried about? What about finishing? I like chrome but what I have now in chrome (no brand) is stained with watermarks and scratches. Stainless steel finishing does look great as opposed to my earlier thought.
Good taps should have that soft-filter attachment at the tap head so it won't splash everywhere/
SUSceo684
post Nov 16 2020, 10:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

316 is better. Sink generally cannot go too wrong, but do be aware of no name cheapo so called SS 304 that is actually made from cheapo grade that still rusts just by looking at it.

Undermount or top mount, the former is harder to do maintain as the silicone can and will grow mildew over time. Top mount easier to maintain and install in comparison, but aesthetic wise lose to undermount.

The choice of tap is important. I went and bought ikea tap instead of reusing a dismantled teka mixer, technically new from developer that my friend was remodelling and donated to me. that one keep on leaking and dripping into the cabinet. Ikea one super easy to install and come with very long metal flexi hose for the water inlet, properly gasketed and doesn't leak at all.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 16 2020, 10:52 PM
SUSceo684
post Dec 2 2020, 01:32 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kumario9 @ Dec 2 2020, 12:44 AM)
Good day. Can advise which brand and model undermount 316 stainless steel kitchen sink type without overflow? I am keep searching seem hard to get it. Please advise. Thanks.
316 usually harder to get, mostly the common one is 304 (18/8) same as those used in Zebra pots (which hold up pretty well). If its true 304 18/8 (from proper mfg like Smeg/Hafele/Teka/Blanco types) of mfg it will last well. Some Smeg or Teka ones are 18/10 - these have more chromium for corrosion resistance
1.0 mm 304, 18/10 gauge stainless steel
The other thing is also on thickness. Standard is 1.0mm, better is 1.2 mm. Nowadays mfg tend to make things cheaper and cost cutting so it may be harder to find 1.2mm sinks.

Those sub RM30 sinks are made of 2xx grade (not even 304) that rusts by itself just by looking at it in a brand new unit, only fit for prison use I guess. Coz even those throwaway sinks have better ones (I have one "sub RM50 worth" sink exposed to the rain and sun in the balcony used as makeshift wind barrier) still holds up well, never rust.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 2 2020, 01:34 AM
SUSceo684
post Jan 4 2021, 08:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Jan 3 2021, 04:11 PM)
Bro, should I use stainless steel or pvc type or chrome-plated for undermount pipe? Which one last long for kitchen and bathroom? Sometimes parents pour hot water directly into sinking hole. Thanks
Sis actually bruce.gif

PVC also like titanic class ticket.. 3rd class to first class
PVC grey pipe class 0 is thin and cheap
For few bucks more get the best class 7 PVC. This Shorty lengths about 1m u can buy at CSM hardware. Should be more than enough but it is recommended to let it cool off coz whilst the pipe may be able to withstand, the joints are the weakest part of any pipe link.

Class 7 pipes are specially made for heavy duty used to Internal Plumbing System. Pipe Available sizes from 15mm to 50mm. Grey and white colour are available. This pipe is ideal for an application with the flowage temperature of 60’C. Pipe pressure rating up to 40 bars subject to the size, temperature and method of installation.
This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 4 2021, 08:57 PM
SUSceo684
post Jan 5 2021, 08:32 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 5 2021, 02:35 PM)
Noob question here. For this kind of faucet, it has 3 input - cold, hot and spray. But here we only have one input pipe in malaysia. We can still install this kind of faucet to our kitchen or not? Sorry for my noobness 😅

[attachmentid=10748309]
Yes just connect both inlets to cold pipe using a T joint and a L joint (so what happens in the end it will look like a letter F and = these are your two inlet pipes). The reason for the T+L is so it looks like F and it doesn't put unnecessary strain on the inlet hoses as compared to stuffing them into the T joint direct .. one at 12 o clock and another at 3 o clock strains the hoses)..the F joint there makes for a neater connection.

QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Jan 5 2021, 07:34 PM)
Thanks for ur feedback sir. I’m looking at this kind of faucet but haven’t decided on which model to purchase first. Gonna wait for my bonus this november to purchase a fancy faucet. For now gonna use the one given by developer first 😅
When you buy the tap also check the length of the hoses. Some brand like teka give short hose which is a bit tricky to install given that the sink blocks 20cm of length already. Ikea tap give 80cm long hoses so anyhow very easy to install.
SUSceo684
post Jan 6 2021, 09:30 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Jan 6 2021, 06:25 PM)
You don’t need to match brand for tap and sink. I use mainly Grohe and Hansgrohe for faucets. Blanco is not known to be a great faucet manufacturer.

Most important is that the two work well as a unit.
Not all expensive tap are worth it.
I have retired a (brand new donated to me) Teka tap as it was leaking from the center spout (non user serviceable area) and replaced with a 229 bucks ikea tap. No more leaks!
SUSceo684
post Jan 6 2021, 09:33 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 6 2021, 02:20 PM)
Valuable feedback. Thanks again.

I'm probably leaning towards drop-in at the moment because of this. For undermount sinks, will you still need a bracket (or other accessories) even if you plan on using a quartz countertop?
Drop in doesn't have support issue as its well supported on the outline of the sink.
Undermount for sink seems like using glue and some small pieces like small post-it or ruler sized plates as additional support to hold it in place (based on the undermount sink I got donated from "wrongly ordered" case) by a well-known kitchen cabinet installation firm. The trouble to remove it was quite worthwhile as it was a teka double bowl model biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 6 2021, 09:34 PM
SUSceo684
post Feb 5 2021, 12:58 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 3 2021, 10:00 AM)
Can PM me as well?

Just wondering if anyone has any experience with the Ikea quartz composite sink?

I'm asking because I have some reservations of the extended 'lip' on the Blanco Pleon 8.
Me me me!

I'm using the (now discontinued) previous model Hallviken 1 1/2 Ikea sink, pretty much easy to install as it's a drop in (not undermount), just cut a hole and mount it in.

MFG SPECS BLURB
Stone powder 80 % and acrylic 20 %
25 year guarantee. Read about the terms in the guarantee brochure.Very hygienic because the surface is dense and completely non-porous and dirt and bacteria simply run off it.
Can take tough everyday use as it is both stain- and scratch-resistant and even red wine, coffee and heavy pans leave no marks.You’re free to install the sink with the drainer to the left or right because there are 2 semi-drilled tap holes under the sink, one on each side.

REAL LIFE USAGE
This one is pretty easy to keep clean from oil/watermarks, just clean with some mild dishwash soap and rinse off after usage. It dries pretty easily.

Can't afford fancy fancy sink and not a fan of SS sink coz of the lab feels laugh.gif
(although I got a free Teka 2 bowl SS sink) that I'm gonna use that for secondary washing area.

ABNORMAL USE CONSIDERATIONS
Granted, this is not a Blanco or SS sink so don't pour steaming boiling water into it to avoid cracking it.
Other than that I use the egg tray-wannabe plastic sink pad so accidentally dropping plates or pots will not be direct impact.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 5 2021, 01:12 AM
SUSceo684
post Feb 5 2021, 12:35 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 5 2021, 10:39 AM)

Appreciate your reply. Looks increasingly likely that I'll decide on the Ikea sink. It's slightly bigger and I prefer the design.

How long have you been using the sink?
Almost two years.

QUOTE(kuchaikway @ Feb 5 2021, 11:08 AM)
I don't know why people think IKEA products are super duper.  In US IKEA is a lower end furniture seller.  If the product is cheaper then it may be OK.  The "stone" sink is 80% stone powder and 20% acrylic.  A typical granite sink is 90%+ granite and 3-5% resin.  The more resin or acrylic, the less durable the sink will be.  Acrylic is especially susceptible to scratches, cracks, burns, petroleum based products/chemicals, etc..

If you are very careful type then this may not be a problem.  But if you want a sink that can takes abuse, think carefully.
Actually..the only thing that justify the price difference is the stone is replaced with granite and mfg blurb that it can tahan up to 280C. Blanco made of 80% granite content only wor..does this mean its actually atypical and not a typical granite sink? laugh.gif

It does bring the price double of what the equivalent (1 1/2 bowl with drainer) Ikea one costs - RM 2240 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/blanco-m...1061734041.html? as compared to the ikea one which costed RM11xx.

That being said, maybe the resin/acrylic is differently mixed or more homogenous (maybe shaken and rotated) during mfg processes.. for concrete pouring all the stones being heavy like to settle at the bottom and the top part has much lesser stones (physics problem). No doubt, Made in Germany stuff is good but I only splurge for certain things like Manduka yoga mats coz their material tech is really different vs any cheaper mats from China or even Lulu mats.

For hot temps to sustain 280C is quite hot.. I had a "burn pot" for few years before it cracked due to repeated usage of confidential docs burning inside the flower pot (thermal stress).
Paper burns around 218° C- 246° C. or so - per http://www.tcforensic.com.au/docs/article10.html

That source also state acrylics' melting point at around 91°-125°C brows.gif

I have yet to see someone post a youtube video pouring hot boiling water into a blanco sink though, whilst I see general advise not to do that:

While these sinks ARE heat resistant, it’s also possible that excessive heat and hot water exposure at once can overwhelm the material and cause a crack but this is pretty uncommon. Don’t take a pot of boiling water off the stove and put it directly in the sink while the bubbles are still rolling, and you’ll probably be fine.
- https://mealprepify.com/pros-and-cons-of-gr...omposite-sinks/

Most who do, usually run the cold water to drop the effective temperature down when pouring hot water into the sink. - https://www.houzz.com/discussions/2671213/s...d-boiling-water
Which is something to be careful when using composite sinks, whilst SS sinks just pour only, as the weak point will not be the SS sink - but the weak point shifts towards the rubber gaskets connecting the sink to drain trap/drain pipe.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 5 2021, 12:51 PM
SUSceo684
post Mar 16 2021, 12:46 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Mar 15 2021, 07:45 PM)
im looking for 2 in 1 kitchen sinks less than RM1k..is brand Cabana or HCE good?my budget is around RM1k and below
Generally HCE better, coz of 1.2mm thickness and noise reduction pads on the underside. brows.gif
2 in 1 meaning tap and sink or "double bowl sink"?

From practical experience washing 28cm pans - a long single bowl sink (something like Ikea BOHOLMEN/NORRSJÖN 73x44 cm) might be more useful than a double bowl if you need to wash a wok/frypan.
SUSceo684
post Mar 28 2021, 12:07 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Mar 27 2021, 11:00 PM)
Hi guys, thinking to purchase this below model.
https://www.twkitchenandbath.com/product/amks-654522/

Aimer brand, heard from shop they said its local brand, but its 304SUS.
I notice the thickness is 0.8, wont matter rite? While those premium 1 normally 1.2mm
The shop tell me common normal stainless steel he sell is around 200-300 those is 0.6 i not sure if there is other stainless steel grade he mean.
I notice alot brand claim its stainless steel but didnt mention its grade 304 or 316 etc. 316 will add many hundreds more to the price.

I think SUS 304 0.8mm is quite good for budget around 3xx after discount.
I tried to google this brand but didnt get much info or review however i can find alot of people selling this with listing of 304 SUS. i finding 304SUS single bowl with 230 depth or more and budget below 600 if possible. any reputable value brand?
I think for RM500-600 there are better choices. 0.8mm material for a RM500 sink is not worth.
The problem with buying no name sink.. after a while even without using - it rust by itself just by looking at it.
Even between that FOC developer sink - by right SS should not rust from normal tap water / rain water - another diff project that I visited upon VP already the sink rusted already.  laugh.gif

This will be nice, 18/10 and 1.2mm thick - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/teka-arq...2875204518.html

This is 1.5mm 18/8 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bareno-s...1889130726.html

This is 1.2mm 18/8 for RM499 https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mocha-mk...s972448479.html

18/8 =~ 304
18/10 =~ 316

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 28 2021, 12:10 AM
SUSceo684
post Mar 28 2021, 11:33 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Mar 28 2021, 08:42 AM)
How about if using magnet to test a SS sink, will it work? hmm.gif
That will identify whether it is austenitic, usually austenitic family grades are non magnetic but not all are non magnetic. Many grades of SS out there.

https://www.unifiedalloys.com/blog/stainles...%20321%20grades.
SUSceo684
post Apr 7 2021, 01:00 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Apr 6 2021, 10:15 PM)
Anyone have try Smeg sink before?

https://www.smeg.my/product/vstq72-2/
This one per datasheet only 1mm thickness material though.
Bowl thickness (mm): 1
SUSceo684
post Apr 7 2021, 03:14 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Apr 7 2021, 02:29 PM)
So 1mm thickness consider ok?
https://www.weirdbydesign.com/differences-c...-kitchen-sinks/
Recommend thicker material 1.2-1.5mm for durability and sound reduction. Thin SS sink can be noisy.
If seldom use 1.0mm still OK lah.
Those FOC developer rm50-type sink are thin material, easily dented.

Conversion of gauge to mm
https://www.protocase.com/products/material...nless-steel.php
SUSceo684
post Jun 7 2021, 10:53 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Lieblingsmonster @ Jun 7 2021, 10:39 PM)
Hi, does anyone can recommend me S/S sink double bowl with a budget like 600? There’s too many choices in Shopee and most doesn’t list out the details (like thickness etc)
Appreciate if anyone bought good S/S sink can share their experience
Actually that is a pretty good budget for a decent SS sink already (one that doesn't rust).

Beyond the shape and size,
Thickness and sink depth (in relation to your countertop height) is also important consideration (too deep and you might have to bend over, too shallow may not allow enough clearance).

Can look see here for an idea what you can get for ~600.
https://buildershardware.com.my/product/cks7307/

After you have a rough idea (shortlist) of what you want, ask @zheilwane kasi recommendation also smile.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 7 2021, 10:55 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 1 2021, 07:25 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 30 2021, 11:22 PM)
Anyone knows if the rm40 sink in Shopee is usable for daily standard ?

If yes, between the two sinks here which one would you choose and why ?

[attachmentid=10915169]

[attachmentid=10915170]

[attachmentid=10915171]
Note the lack of mentioning "stainless steel".
It may rust just by looking at it.
SUSceo684
post Nov 9 2021, 02:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(boo82 @ Nov 9 2021, 01:26 AM)
Sifus,
Quick question. I just bought a sink with this size.
400(width)x450(length)x210 (depth)

When cut the table top and Install, can I put the other way round?
Meaning 450(width) x 400(length) x 210(depth)?
Can but subject to conditions, ie the piping underneath esp for drain hole should be enough clearance, and the mounting for tap got enough space for it..dep on whether tap hole is on the sink or on the countertop.
SUSceo684
post Nov 11 2021, 09:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Nov 9 2021, 04:47 PM)
What's the recommendation for a almost 3feet 2 bowls stainless steel kitchen sink? My budget RM800

Can contact @zheilwane for recommendations smile.gif

0.0486sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:23 PM