127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V15, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

pcboy
post Mar 30 2011, 07:11 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

I am Fring heavy user, always video chat with my son.. but after few hours not using it, I notice the Fring has been 'killed'.. i know Android needs more memory to run other apps i.e Opera, facebook etc..

Is there any way to keep specific apps to keep running without being killed? I don't use Advanced Task Killer anymore.. after start using AutoKiller Memory
stuc87
post Mar 30 2011, 07:40 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 30 2011, 12:29 AM)
u din update bootloader?
how to update the bootloader btw?i just flash the phone.through odin.thats it.
lch78
post Mar 30 2011, 08:20 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Strange. This morning I found that my APN is gone. Need to redo the process again. BatteryHistory app is not working anymore. I guess the secret codes has changed.

*#1234# is still working..

Batt just drop 3% overnight with wifi on. thumbup.gif Running Gingerbread XXJVK ROM now! flex.gif
xmascat
post Mar 30 2011, 08:23 AM

34 posts

dear all~~ my phone is currently on froyo 2.2.1, speed mod k13.

to revert back to stock firmware, i can use I9000DXJPE (2.2) from samsungfirmware right?

need to flash PDa,phone, csc, pit using odin right?

or is there any way i can flash back to stock kernel only, not the entire firmware?
pcboy
post Mar 30 2011, 08:31 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(xmascat @ Mar 30 2011, 12:23 AM)
dear all~~ my phone is currently on froyo 2.2.1, speed mod k13.

to revert back to stock firmware, i can use I9000DXJPE (2.2) from samsungfirmware right? YES

need to flash PDa,phone, csc, pit using odin right?YES

or is there any way i can flash back to stock kernel only, not the entire firmware?you want to use stock 2.2 or 2.2.1? using software '7zip' ..extract zImage, create tar file and flash using Odin
I answer you Qs with red indicators above, hope other sifus can help too.. for your last question, I recommend you to NAND backup , reflash stock firmware and NAND restore.. less headache and you get back all apps and settings

**Edit: you can download any firmwares from here .. there's a bunch of firmware lists compiled by XDA member

This post has been edited by pcboy: Mar 30 2011, 08:41 AM
ken2291
post Mar 30 2011, 08:39 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:40 AM)
not sure how myself, sorry. u flash using Odin the complete JVK? maybe others who flashed Gingerbread can help u?

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 30 2011, 08:44 AM
Harddisk
post Mar 30 2011, 08:45 AM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 29 2011, 11:45 PM)
got free from market.. Space InvadAR..
but not working i guess.. can open.. but nothing happen.. it just appear like a camera..
Gotta open up Google Earth and point it at your screen? Hehe
mengsuan
post Mar 30 2011, 08:47 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:40 AM)
Which package did you select during downloading?
xmascat
post Mar 30 2011, 08:49 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 30 2011, 08:31 AM)
I answer you Qs with red indicators above, hope other sifus can help too.. for your last question, I recommend you to NAND backup , reflash stock firmware and NAND restore.. less headache and you get back all apps and settings

**Edit: you can download any firmwares from here .. there's a bunch of firmware lists compiled by XDA member
hihi, thanks for your response!

for the stock kernel comment: you want to use stock 2.2 or 2.2.1? using software '7zip' ..extract zImage, create tar file and flash using Odin

actually i want to use stock 2.2.1, but so far only can find 2.2.1 I9000ZSJPJ. my phone build is froyo.dxjpe. so should use back dxjpe right?

actually.. where to extract zImage from? tongue.gif from the tar file of the firmware? sorry, first time doing this.

what is NAND also? is it something like titanium backup? i'm using titanium backup currently.
stuc87
post Mar 30 2011, 08:59 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 30 2011, 08:47 AM)
Which package did you select during downloading?
Downloading the one without bootloader.Or should i try with bootloader?One more thing, mine does not have gingerbread keyboard inside. Weird since it is gingerbread!
mengsuan
post Mar 30 2011, 09:04 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(xmascat @ Mar 30 2011, 08:49 AM)

for the stock kernel comment: you want to use stock 2.2 or 2.2.1? using software '7zip' ..extract zImage, create tar file and flash using Odin

actually i want to use stock 2.2.1, but so far only can find 2.2.1 I9000ZSJPJ. my phone build is froyo.dxjpe. so should use back dxjpe right?

actually.. where to extract zImage from? tongue.gif from the tar file of the firmware? sorry, first time doing this.

what is NAND also? is it something like titanium backup? i'm using titanium backup currently.
Find/download the DXJPE PDA file. Opening using 7zip or other archiving software, you should see zimage file. Then, either delete all other contents in the archive or extract just the zimage, and archive it in tar. (Use other program than 7zip to tar files, apparently Odin don't like 7zip archival). Then flash the zimage.tar using Odin. No data will be lost.

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Mar 30 2011, 08:59 AM)
Downloading the one without bootloader.Or should i try with bootloader?One more thing, mine does not have gingerbread keyboard inside. Weird since it is gingerbread!
If you came from Froyo, you must full package with bootloader otherwise you'll have issues here and there, namely screen corruption.

Did you know we don't have Eclair, Froyo keyboard as well? All these while we don't have Android keyboard. HTC devices also uses their own proprietary keyboard.
stuc87
post Mar 30 2011, 09:13 AM

96 posts

Did you know we don't have Eclair, Froyo keyboard as well? All these while we don't have Android keyboard. HTC devices also uses their own proprietary keyboard.

[/quote]

Thanks for the guide dude.However i plan to downgrade back to Froyo,since i cannot feel and see the greatness of gingerbread,yet.Should i give a try on sweethoney 2.7xe?previously on Darky's 9.3..
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 30 2011, 09:40 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Mar 29 2011, 10:36 PM)
oh i see. i dunno if i were u, i'll be panic if my imei is missing. so what's the good thing about xxjvk? is it stable enough to use as daily rom? btw, just reading the first page just now and u're an amazing ts! thumbup.gif
I feel it is stable enough for daily use. Battery dropped 1% over 3.5 hours only! Feels a lot more stable than miui. Better to wait until cm7 is more complete.

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 30 2011, 04:38 AM)
Flashed to Simply Galaxy 2.7XE last night.

A bit scared to try XXJVK or MIUI until they are more stable...

But I still hate Simply Galaxy Swype black keyboard...sigh
Can replace swype keyboard from insanity rom found in the thread's first page.

QUOTE(stuc87 @ Mar 30 2011, 05:10 AM)
Download the rom with updated bootloader. Link in theandroidsoul.com

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 30 2011, 05:50 AM)
Batt just drop 3% overnight with wifi on.  thumbup.gif  Running Gingerbread XXJVK ROM now!  flex.gif
Over how many hours?

QUOTE(xmascat @ Mar 30 2011, 06:19 AM)

If localisation is not important and not sending back for warranty claim, better to flash 2.2.1 firmware like zsjpj

lch78
post Mar 30 2011, 09:44 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 10:40 AM)

Over how many hours?

around 7 hours +
Bap3
post Mar 30 2011, 10:34 AM

422 posts

that a bad news for us....

http://www.samfirmware.com/apps/blog/show/6529445
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 30 2011, 11:18 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:14 AM)
around 7 hours +
Impressive. Certain UI elements feel smoother than froyo. The only thing missing are enhancements found in a custom rom smile.gif

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 30 2011, 08:04 AM)
I'm following supercurio's twitter. Seems like he hasn't got any reply from samsung. But I'm not aware that locking bootloader infringes on gpl licence. If it does, we can expect lawsuit on companies locking it.

enaleni
post Mar 30 2011, 11:29 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 30 2011, 10:34 AM)
my tab got protected bootloader however at xda got patch to release the botloader lock biggrin.gif
silentser
post Mar 30 2011, 11:45 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 11:18 AM)
Impressive. Certain UI elements feel smoother than froyo. The only thing missing are enhancements found in a custom rom smile.gif
I'm following supercurio's twitter. Seems like he hasn't got any reply from samsung. But I'm not aware that locking bootloader infringes on gpl licence. If it does, we can expect lawsuit on companies locking it.
especially motorola defy vmad.gif
lch78
post Mar 30 2011, 11:46 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 30 2011, 12:18 PM)
I am impressed as well with the batt life. Yea, I miss the dark theme of android market and the dark transparent curtain of the notification area. biggrin.gif

Locking bootloader is actually not a bad thing. It will help increase security considering many viruses are bound to surface in near future that can steal data and do serious damage to phone system. Yea, it is bad for custom ROMs and rooted apps since the early versions already give way to many innovation on this part. That is why I prefer the way Sony is moving in their future direction, which allows users the option to lock and unlock the bootloader in their xperia series.

On the other note, whether bootloader is locked or not, someone somewhere will figure a way to hack into it somehow. Just take an example of iOS. smile.gif
yuktsi14
post Mar 30 2011, 11:46 AM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

is there anyway to backup apps and restore them after i flashed my firmware?

127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0737sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:22 PM