LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVI, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

xxboxx
post Sep 13 2011, 10:56 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(ulost16 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:21 PM)
I BOLD your statement above. My fan is start spinning even the engine not start. When I turn the key to ACC position, not started yet, the Fan is already start. Is that a problem??

I have service my radiator before, 1 month ago actually because this problem, but it still occurs. Also replaced radiator cap.
I filled up the reservoir tank before hari raya, until today it just half empty.

How exactly the procedure to check the thermostat? I am not clear enough..Big hose here you mean that directly connected to the radiator right? just take it out? so the water will flow outside??
So If flow fast, it means not good thermostat? is it?

Added on September 13, 2011, 10:22 pmCan I replaced DIY the thermostat??

if after drive when the engine is hot, you turn OFF, then put back at ACC it will continue spinning coz it detect the engine still hot.
when your engine is cold, ie. in the morning, the fan also will spin when put at ACC? if spin means the wiring is direct connect to ACC, not follow radiator temp sensor. will make your fan die faster.

yup, the big hose that connect directly to your radiator. the top hose is water that flow back to your radiator. yup water will flow outside so you can see water gushing out like pipe water or small drip. just remember to feed water from your radiator top with house pipe water coz we want water to continue flowing inside your engine.

QUOTE(GKWong @ Sep 13 2011, 10:37 PM)
If flow fast doesn't mean the thermostat is not good. With a good thermostat, u should be able to see an interval of the water flow start flowing faster and slower. Meaning the thermostat got open and close as it should be.
You can DIY replacement the thermostat with proper socket wrench. A new gasket will be needed to be replaced together with the thermostat. I reckon u to buy back the original thermostat as all those cheap replacement thermostat wont last long, normally 1 or 2 years will dead.

new thermostat got rubber fitted together with it, doesn't need additional gasket, at least that's how for my 4G92 lar.

xxboxx
post Sep 13 2011, 11:28 PM

5,261 posts

why you wanna change your fan? your fan should be still ok, just need to do the wiring.

for now just check the airflow and if really not much water flow, try take out the thermostat and check again is the flow much better.
xxboxx
post Sep 14 2011, 05:09 PM

5,261 posts

Durex is water based, cannot ler.

KY also water based.
xxboxx
post Sep 15 2011, 03:18 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Sep 15 2011, 02:24 PM)
have u guys change the roof side rubber linings before? Mine the rubber koyak all already, so ugly. Wondering if spare part shop got or not.  hmm.gif
Yup, sparepart shop got. Almost 100 Ringgit if not mistaken.
xxboxx
post Sep 15 2011, 08:09 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Sep 15 2011, 06:34 PM)
OK! got my trunk lid rubber replaced  flex.gif  Snug fit nicely. Now close the trunk that time got a nice solid sound *thoop*, last time was *phang!*

RM40 only for the new set of rubber. icon_rolleyes.gif
You DIY or give shop install for you?
xxboxx
post Sep 16 2011, 12:23 AM

5,261 posts

Ya lor these days very hard to find good workmanship. They just simply hantam one. The other day my radiator bocor when I change front panel, they never screw properly and make the radiator keep moving and hitting another screw.. buta2 have to go weld my radiator again.. doh.gif
xxboxx
post Sep 17 2011, 09:26 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Sep 17 2011, 09:24 PM)
ya.. becoz with R16 u will need a lower profile tyres to compensate back the larger rim diameter so the total wheel diameter will not differ too much from the original size.

+1
true.

also to add, if the total wheel diameter changed, will also affect the actual speed vs speedo meter speed.
xxboxx
post Sep 17 2011, 10:50 PM

5,261 posts

let say you suppose to use 55 profile tyre, but you use 60 instead. when doing 100km/h on speedo, in actual you are doing more than 100km/h
xxboxx
post Sep 18 2011, 08:33 AM

5,261 posts

yes, as long as you still in the tolerance range.
but 13" change to 15" need what tyre profile i dunno. tongue.gif
xxboxx
post Sep 18 2011, 03:44 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(blurry_mind82 @ Sep 18 2011, 11:25 AM)
Is there any impact if we change from 13" to 16"?
As i can see in other forum, it said that if we change to a different size, its for sure will effect others part of the car.

Currently im using 16" rim with 205/50ZR16 tyre.

Hope to get some advise here. Just starting mod my car slowly....start with my rim.  blush.gif

if the tyre contact on the ground become more wider, sure will result in more stress for other parts such as driveshaft, steering rods, etc.

QUOTE(4128 @ Sep 18 2011, 02:51 PM)
Wonder any members having this problem on Wira 1.5 Manual VDO:
* Need to warm up few minute for cold start, if not engine will shake like hell in gear 1 & car cant move, RPM will drop below 500. After warming up will be fine.
I changed:
1. New plugs
2. New plug coil
3. New Throttlebody
4. Reset done
Still no improvement on it. Any suggestion what should i do next?
when cold start, the rpm will rev >1k ? just to make sure your autochoke is functioning.
xxboxx
post Sep 18 2011, 07:23 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(4128 @ Sep 18 2011, 07:11 PM)
Will rev more than 1k, but for 2-3 minute only.
yup, normally around 1 minute or so it will go down back.

how about your gearbox oil? when last change it?
xxboxx
post Sep 19 2011, 08:30 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(4128 @ Sep 18 2011, 10:39 PM)
Anything to do with gear oil?
Last changed is early of last year but actually this weekend i am planning to change engine, gear oil & oil filter.

maybe the oil too long and not good already.

think back of your symptom sounds like your engine need warming up too long. or maybe your thermostat broken at always open position.
xxboxx
post Sep 19 2011, 06:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Shortyeyek @ Sep 19 2011, 01:30 PM)
car is lik that wan, expected, touch abit thousand already. Half cut lagi pening, everytime servis servis although power is superb la. nw my fren all play satria 4g wira 4g all wan sell car already. LOL, all cannot tahan.

Proton parts already the cheapest. what car can they change with more cheapest parts? hmm.gif

QUOTE(blurry_mind82 @ Sep 19 2011, 04:32 PM)
Yup..i think i got you..but "sayang" la want to "ketuk" my car...  tongue.gif
sound good...but will its make the car "terangkat" a bit at the rear? like the rally car?.

if you just add the "absorber booster" it shouldn't make the ride higher, just harder. the 2" top rubber will make it higher.

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Sep 19 2011, 05:08 PM)
hi sifus..

recently after top-overhauling my engine, idk why my exhaust got white smoke. especially during the startup. sometimes the smell of the smoke went inside the car. im not really sure what's the problem. my friend say that i have to full-overhaul the car. but i know that will cost a bomb.

may i know which part should i check 1st?
thanks! biggrin.gif

previously before top overhaul didn't have white smoke? if done top overhaul but still got white smoke, only left the piston ring that can cause it, can say need to full overhaul.

but if no smoke before done top overhaul, most probably your mechanic screw up somewhere when he do the top overhaul. best to give a week and see how 1st, also check if your engine oil decrease or not.

xxboxx
post Sep 19 2011, 10:55 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(nicks @ Sep 19 2011, 09:21 PM)
its also make your ride higher a bit bro. harder? in fact i was thinking more comfort.

means the thing will push the spring gap more?
and how is more comfort if the spring become more stiff? hmm.gif

QUOTE(ulost16 @ Sep 19 2011, 10:03 PM)
Hai all,

My previous problem about temperature keep going high is solved.

First, the battery is not good anymore. So it cannot give enough power to my bad condition of fan motor.

So I change the fan motor with the new one, and change the battery. The problem now has gone...
shouldn't the fan is powered by the alternator when the engine is running?
shouldn't be anything with the battery.
xxboxx
post Sep 20 2011, 09:14 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Sep 20 2011, 02:27 AM)
hi. thanks for answering biggrin.gif

before the top overhaul, there arent any smoke. or maybe it's just a normal one, which u only can smell it sometimes. n yes, the engine oil is decreasing quite fast than before and my engine is eating up petrol too.  rclxub.gif

so it's because the piston ring? if it's because of the mechanic, what did he do till my car become like that?
thanks! rclxms.gif
it will be strange if it is piston ring because when doing top overhaul, the piston ring still can't be touched, so it should remain the same as before you do top overhaul.

did you changed to different oil viscosity? ie. last time use xW50 but now use xW40, if so maybe last time the oil helps to close any gaps in piston ring.

hard to say where the mechanic do wrong. maybe he put back the block head but didn't use the right torque strength, or maybe he didn't replace some valve seal that hardened, or could be so many other things.

best if you go ask the mechanic again to diagnose the problem. if he said need to do full overhaul, ask him to explain where the problem till need full overhaul and why before do top overhaul the oil doesn't decrease as much as after done it.
xxboxx
post Sep 20 2011, 01:23 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 18 2011, 08:22 PM)
So long? mine only few sec  smile.gif
Bro..how about your air vent? found it?  laugh.gif
I have looked for it but still cannot find. Maybe I should take out from the ads. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Sep 20 2011, 12:29 PM)
Anyone know what's the standard Oil Pressure for 1.6 ah? Thx...
Wah! Now going for oil pressure regulator ar? tongue.gif

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 20 2011, 01:04 PM)
Can change to fiber roof? Lol.. Like those Gen2 CPS.

I want a makeover for my car but don't know where to start. Which mechanic/shop could strip off the entire car to its chassis and literally refurbish every part?
Got fibre roof for Wira ar? But is it safe?
xxboxx
post Sep 21 2011, 07:49 PM

5,261 posts

Caster
When you turn the steering wheel, the front wheels respond by turning on a pivot attached to the suspension system. Caster is the angle of this steering pivot, measured in degrees, when viewed from the side of the vehicle. If the top of the pivot is leaning toward the rear of the car, then the caster is positive, if it is leaning toward the front, it is negative. If the caster is out of adjustment, it can cause problems in straight line tracking. If the caster is different from side to side, the vehicle will pull to the side with the less positive caster. If the caster is equal but too negative, the steering will be light and the vehicle will wander and be difficult to keep in a straight line. If the caster is equal but too positive, the steering will be heavy and the steering wheel may kick when you hit a bump. Caster has little affect on tire wear.
The best way to visualize caster is to picture a shopping cart caster. The pivot of this type of caster, while not at an angle, intersects the ground ahead of the wheel contact patch. When the wheel is behind the pivot at the point where it contacts the ground, it is in positive caster. Picture yourself trying to push the cart and keep the wheel ahead of the pivot. The wheel will continually try to turn from straight ahead. That is what happens when a car has the caster set too far negative. Like camber, on many front-wheel-drive vehicles, caster is not adjustable. If the caster is out on these cars, it indicates that something is worn or bent, possibly from an accident, and must be repaired or replaced.

cili sos
xxboxx
post Sep 24 2011, 09:28 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 22 2011, 08:21 PM)
When the fuel warning light goes on then off when I accelerate. How much more fuel do I approximately have?
Mine the most I do is 50km, but when fill till full only around 43 liters.

QUOTE(ulost16 @ Sep 24 2011, 08:38 AM)
humm..
I'm not so sure if the battery has to do something with the fan motor..
But in that morning, my wira cannot start..so i have to push it..

then in the workshop, my foreman used the voltmeter. The battery is kaput already. It shows below OK, if the light turn on it go down below low. If the A/C turn on it go down one bar below low.

So, if the battery really has no relation with the temperature of my car, i still need to change it right?
Yup, seems your battery also kaput already.
xxboxx
post Sep 24 2011, 05:24 PM

5,261 posts

A/C button is not that hard, no need to take out the dashboard. Take out the screw that hold the center cover and you can see the screw that hold the A/C button.
xxboxx
post Sep 25 2011, 01:19 PM

5,261 posts

GT wing with about half feet height is still ok lar, but more than that, erm ...

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:29 AM