Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion
linkinstreet
Mar 26 2007, 04:31 PM
Red Bull Addict
QUOTE(vailance @ Mar 26 2007, 02:54 PM) anyone know where can i get a guide on how to free up ram/memory at vista? coz my 1GB laptop after load to windows.. ram used almost 65% .. dunno why.. tha't s just windows prefetch working it's magic. Everybody has teh same thing happening, and no, it's not a problem as Vista is using every available RAM that it can use. Only when RAM usage exceeds 100%, then you have a reason to panic
dattebayo
Mar 26 2007, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Mar 26 2007, 03:58 PM) I have Vista Business free for student. Haven't yet to install it. I'm planning to use it after my purchase for new systems by the end of this year hopefully. I wonder if the product key have any expiration date if it haven't been used at all?QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Mar 26 2007, 04:20 PM) It's campus launch event. All MMU staff and student are eligible to get their free copy of Vista business OEM. Collecting stamps each booth by answering few simple questions, then you have your vista product-key. Sound very simple, but it ain't. The lines is killing us. Too many people. Most of us queued for at least 3-5hrs. *ahem* until 2012 only This post has been edited by dattebayo: Mar 26 2007, 04:59 PM
ruffstuff
Mar 26 2007, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Mar 26 2007, 04:59 PM) *ahem* until 2012 only  Plenty of time. No worries. There's probably new windows or Microsoft might even be dead. LOL.
adriankhoo153
Mar 26 2007, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Mar 26 2007, 04:20 PM) It's campus launch event. All MMU staff and student are eligible to get their free copy of Vista business OEM. Collecting stamps each booth by answering few simple questions, then you have your vista product-key. Sound very simple, but it ain't. The lines is killing us. Too many people. Most of us queued for at least 3-5hrs. Worth leh.. Rm450 for Business edition OEM. One hour Rm100. If i student i also go and queue lor..
dattebayo
Mar 26 2007, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 26 2007, 06:23 PM) Worth leh.. Rm450 for Business edition OEM. One hour Rm100. If i student i also go and queue lor..  but it cannot be sold one
linkinstreet
Mar 26 2007, 09:47 PM
Red Bull Addict
who said? you can sell it, just not full licence hehehehe
gnoil_leef
Mar 26 2007, 11:37 PM

hi all, i m using laptop, with vista preloaded, but my hdd is onli hav one partition, which is c: , do i hav any method to make partition without reinstall again the os?
coolmast3r
Mar 27 2007, 03:53 AM
QUOTE(gnoil_leef @ Mar 26 2007, 11:37 PM) hi all, i m using laptop, with vista preloaded, but my hdd is onli hav one partition, which is c: , do i hav any method to make partition without reinstall again the os? try partition magic.
toughnut
Mar 27 2007, 08:41 AM
actually my uni also has MS Wow 3days event. i didn't know until the event end lol. heard they give away t-shirts and stuff. but didn't heard any vista copies giveaway..
samlhc
Mar 27 2007, 08:44 AM

Just bought 2 unit of Dell E520 + Vista Business Edt to test. Annoying popup when accessing program inside control panel. Play chess also make the whole system freeze out. Haven't test out other problem yet.. Will downgrade back to windows XP Sp2 for sure coz Vista business/ultimate edt comes with downgrade rights. And it still able to upgrade back to Vista for future.  If the Vista quite stable for couple month, will be migrate back to it loo.
toughnut
Mar 27 2007, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(samlhc @ Mar 27 2007, 08:44 AM) Just bought 2 unit of Dell E520 + Vista Business Edt to test. Annoying popup when accessing program inside control panel. Play chess also make the whole system freeze out. Haven't test out other problem yet.. Will downgrade back to windows XP Sp2 for sure coz Vista business/ultimate edt comes with downgrade rights. And it still able to upgrade back to Vista for future.  If the Vista quite stable for couple month, will be migrate back to it loo. personally, i fell vista already quite stable. that annoying popup is the infamous UserAccessControl (UAC). disable it in user account setting
chris_c28
Mar 27 2007, 10:22 AM
All students doing IT/Computing courses at universities and colleges who are part of the MSDNAA program should get free copies of Vista Business and a massive discount in Office 2007. Over here, we can get Office Ultimate 2007 for only RM200. But it's illegal to sell it because they're all Academic licences.
This post has been edited by chris_c28: Mar 27 2007, 10:23 AM
adriankhoo153
Mar 27 2007, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(samlhc @ Mar 27 2007, 08:44 AM) Just bought 2 unit of Dell E520 + Vista Business Edt to test. Annoying popup when accessing program inside control panel. Play chess also make the whole system freeze out. Haven't test out other problem yet.. Will downgrade back to windows XP Sp2 for sure coz Vista business/ultimate edt comes with downgrade rights. And it still able to upgrade back to Vista for future.  If the Vista quite stable for couple month, will be migrate back to it loo. Play chess also it freeze? Then it's ur Dell problem la..
darknessz
Mar 27 2007, 02:01 PM
ok guys i have 2 question to ask . 1. gif file won't animate in windows photo gallery . and u need to open it with internet explorer . even if i open it with the default viewer ( windows photo gallery ) , it only show the first frame of the animated gif file . so i actually have difficulties sending gif file to someone since windows photo gallery only takes the first frame into count . anyone solution for this ? 2 . the microphone..even after i tick the +20db boost , my friend still can barely listen to wat im saying . perhaps i need to like shout then only my friend can listen  ..such problem did not appear on xp tho =/
adriankhoo153
Mar 27 2007, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(darknessz @ Mar 27 2007, 02:01 PM) ok guys i have 2 question to ask . 1. gif file won't animate in windows photo gallery . and u need to open it with internet explorer . even if i open it with the default viewer ( windows photo gallery ) , it only show the first frame of the animated gif file . so i actually have difficulties sending gif file to someone since windows photo gallery only takes the first frame into count . anyone solution for this ? 2 . the microphone..even after i tick the +20db boost , my friend still can barely listen to wat im saying . perhaps i need to like shout then only my friend can listen  ..such problem did not appear on xp tho =/ 1. Windows Photo Gallery integrates its own database for file formats that do not support metadata like PNG, GIF, MPEG and BMP. I duno, it sounds like it doesn't support png or gif to me.. This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Mar 27 2007, 04:09 PM
linkinstreet
Mar 28 2007, 12:41 AM
Red Bull Addict
I already posted a while back la... there are some exploitation by worms on gif files, where it will infect a certain frame of the pic which cannot be detected by AV if it's already in ur PC. Playing it in an web browser will force the AV to detect any intrusion, thus this is why Vista does not preview gif. And I use ACDsee for my image files so this does not pose any problem
gnoil_leef
Mar 28 2007, 01:57 AM

partition magic able to use in vista? seems like not support for vista yet, anyone tried b4?
adriankhoo153
Mar 28 2007, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(gnoil_leef @ Mar 28 2007, 01:57 AM) partition magic able to use in vista? seems like not support for vista yet, anyone tried b4? Nope. I think it's incompatible. PR: The picture in your avatar is u ah? So kawaii neh...
toughnut
Mar 28 2007, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(gnoil_leef @ Mar 28 2007, 01:57 AM) partition magic able to use in vista? seems like not support for vista yet, anyone tried b4? why need it when vista already capable of changing partition size?
leepast
Mar 28 2007, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(gnoil_leef @ Mar 28 2007, 01:57 AM) partition magic able to use in vista? seems like not support for vista yet, anyone tried b4? I'm new to Vista.Just received two laptops for my office with Windows Vista.As for question above...i've encountered same problem.I've tried both Partition Magic 7.0 & 8.0 and it appears that Partition Magic is not compatible with Vista  correct me if i'm wrong. One more thing...it's kinda shock me...is it normal when i open this laptop (without pressing the power button) it will automatically log in to windows?Those laptops are Dell Inspiron 640m.