Popcorn Hour - Full HD Networked Media Player, A-410 - ESS Technology Sabre 24-bit DAC

TSgo4pch
post Mar 7 2011, 05:12 PM, updated 9y ago

162 posts

Popcorn Hour is the consumer electronics brand of Syabas Technology, a pioneer in wired and wireless home entertainment, digital electronics and P2P mesh network broadcasting. The company's Popcorn Hour line of groundbreaking digital home entertainment devices is opening up a new era of unlimited streaming media possibilities. Breaking down the barriers between TV, personal computers, digital storage devices and the Internet, Popcorn Hour gives individuals unprecedented control over how they source, manage and experience video, high-definition movies, digital photos, music and more.

The New Popcorn Hour A-410 !!

The A-410 is based on successful A-400, re-engineered and improved. Now bosted with 1024MB DDR2 memory and on-board ESS Technology Sabre Audiophile class DAC. Powered by latest Sigma Designs (Dual Core) CPU, its support 3D Blu-rays and enchanced video performance with the VXP Video Processor.

1. Power by Sigma Design Dual Core processor

2. Enhanced video performance with the VXP Video Processor

3. with Much anticipated Blu-Ray 3D Movies

4. New NMJ Navigator companion screen interactive Apps for iOS & Android OS.
(Movie Jukebox on your iPad, browse your collection with ease and interact with your TV in a new way)

5. Powered by ESS Technology Sabre 24-bit DAC with sampling rate of 192khz

Features:
Chipset: Sigma Designs SMP8911 Dual-Core 800Mhz with 512KB L2 Cache with VXP video processing
Memory: 1024MB DDR2, 256MB SLC NAND Flash
Audio/Video: HDMI, Component, CVBS, Stereo Audio, S/PDIF, Digital Optical
Network: Ethernet 10/100/1000Mbps
Power: 12V DC, 3.5A Max
Dimension: 182mm (W) x 158mm (L) x 56mm (H)
Casing: Designed by Silverstone Aluminium Case, Fanless Operation
Other Interface:
-Power/Standby LED
-2x USB 2.0 Host
-1x USB 3.0 Slave
-1x eSATA
-Quick Dock mounting for 2.5" or 3.5" SATA HDD
-Infra-Red Remote Control
-SD Card Reader
-IR-Receiver Port

For more information please visit our website @ www.hdm.my
Popcorn Hour Malaysia Facebook: Popcorn Hour - Malaysia

This post has been edited by go4pch: Aug 16 2014, 11:09 AM
RayKazansky
post Mar 7 2011, 06:18 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

SYABAS FTW!

Boss, do you bring in the Aluminium casing for A-200 series?

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Mar 7 2011, 06:18 PM
TSgo4pch
post Mar 7 2011, 07:58 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Mar 7 2011, 06:18 PM)
SYABAS FTW!

Boss, do you bring in the Aluminium casing for A-200 series?
Yes. The A-210 is aluminum casing.
RayKazansky
post Mar 7 2011, 10:29 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Mar 7 2011, 07:58 PM)
Yes. The A-210 is aluminum casing.
What I meant was, do you sell only the casing?
TSgo4pch
post Mar 8 2011, 09:47 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Mar 7 2011, 10:29 PM)
What I meant was, do you sell only the casing?
Oops.. Sorry we didn't bring in. When available will let you know.
DarkNite
post Mar 8 2011, 12:58 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

After so many years it finally POP in Malaysia! laugh.gif
And now when the market is saturated with cheap China media player? hmm.gif
TSgo4pch
post Mar 8 2011, 06:11 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 8 2011, 12:58 PM)
After so many years it finally POP in Malaysia! laugh.gif
And now when the market is saturated with cheap China media player? hmm.gif
Hope you can still support lo.... brows.gif
starship1
post Mar 9 2011, 09:13 AM

1,207 posts

how much is the price and how is it compare to dune smart1
geforce1999
post Mar 9 2011, 09:35 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(starship1 @ Mar 9 2011, 09:13 AM)
how much is the price and how is it compare to dune smart1
It's already listed at the signature of the TS.
TSgo4pch
post Mar 9 2011, 01:33 PM

162 posts

thanks geforce.

startship1, am PM to you already the price.
numbertwo
post Mar 9 2011, 02:11 PM

1,790 posts

could someone enlighten me why would one pays ~1.4k for a media jukebox instead of a fullspec HTPC like Dell's Zino?
RayKazansky
post Mar 9 2011, 05:44 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Mar 9 2011, 02:11 PM)
could someone enlighten me why would one pays ~1.4k for a media jukebox instead of a fullspec HTPC like Dell's Zino?
Picta quality...is definately one of them biggrin.gif

Simplicity of the firmware, rather than installing power-hungry OS,...

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Mar 9 2011, 05:46 PM
TSgo4pch
post Mar 9 2011, 11:17 PM

162 posts

Welcome all Penang People

We are having ICT@Komtar Fair, Penang. From 10-13 March, 2011.

Vanue: 3rd Floor, ICT Digital @ Komtar, Penang
Time: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Booth: No. 1 & 2

Added on March 17, 2011, 12:53 pm[NEWS]
New firmware update available for C-200, NOW!! with MKV 3D Support. Please visit Networked Media Tank website for more information.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Mar 17 2011, 12:53 PM
rognales
post Apr 1 2011, 05:30 PM

442 posts

for A210 with 799 what do i get? is it just a player with no storage? if it comes with storage, what size? is it already wifi enabled or need to buy separate dongle?
TSgo4pch
post Apr 1 2011, 06:03 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(rognales @ Apr 1 2011, 05:30 PM)
for A210 with 799 what do i get? is it just a player with no storage? if it comes with storage, what size? is it already wifi enabled or need to buy separate dongle?
Sorry, the price only for the player without the HDD and WiFi dongle.

I would recomend you to buy C-200 if you have the budget as its support:
1) 4+1 USB port (mean you can attached more storage).
2) Full BD Navigation.
3) Internally can support 2 HDDs (one 2.5" & one 3.5")
4) Support BluRay ROM.
5) LCD Display.
khoodennis
post Apr 3 2011, 12:23 AM

54 posts

I'm new at this...

What is Popcorn Hour? I can see that it's a device that allows us to watch movies from the internet.

The question is that after buying this unit the it's just click & watch?
The provider is like Astro which we gotto pay monthly or like Microsoft just buy 1 time & buy again for a higher version???

If it's the case like Microsoft that need to keep on getting higher/better OS then would the same version that I'm buying can still works fine(watch all movies).
TSgo4pch
post Apr 3 2011, 12:38 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(khoodennis @ Apr 3 2011, 12:23 AM)
I'm new at this...

What is Popcorn Hour? I can see that it's a device that allows us to watch movies from the internet.

The question is that after buying this unit the it's just click & watch?
The provider is like Astro which we gotto pay monthly or like Microsoft just buy 1 time & buy again for a higher version???

If it's the case like Microsoft that need to keep on getting higher/better OS then would the same version that I'm buying can still works fine(watch all movies).
Popcorn Hour come with free firmware update regularly. No additional charges.

Popcorn Hour
Popcorn Hour is the consumer electronics brand of Syabas Technology, a pioneer in wired and wireless home entertainment, digital electronics and P2P mesh network broadcasting. The company's Popcorn Hour line of groundbreaking digital home entertainment devices is opening up a new era of unlimited streaming media possibilities. Breaking down the barriers between TV, personal computers, digital storage devices and the Internet, Popcorn Hour gives individuals unprecedented control over how they source, manage and experience video, high-definition movies, digital photos, music and more.

Features:
1. Support Full BD Navigation.
2. Apps Market.
3. Rich UI Media Jukebox
4. Built-in NAS function.
5. Ability to play multiple format & codec media files without lad.
6. Support MKV 3D now.
7. Web Services (Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, News, Online TV & etc.....)
8. Support BitTorrent, Usenet, NZB Download.
... and more.

khoodennis
post Apr 3 2011, 01:45 AM

54 posts

Thanks for the answer...
Know that there's free update already.
Thank you for the answer

I'll just get to the point.
Most importantly I don't wanna pay anything else after buying that.
Buy it & gotto pay to watch ><"

Just play & watch. No need download.
Wanna watch it like You Tube. Streaming.
Does it works this way? Yes then I'm going for it.
I mean a dedicated server. Turn it on sees a movie, click & watch...

Honestly I'm comparing this to HTPC + PPS/tom365.
Can this out do it...

This post has been edited by khoodennis: Apr 3 2011, 01:46 AM
RayKazansky
post Apr 3 2011, 11:05 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

I just noticed that the backup BDMV folder I played for "Into the blue" is able to display full BD menu in my A200! blush.gif

The recent firmware update (few days ago) also I dun notice improvement as my player is vely the stable 1... tongue.gif

Or could it be I'm lousy user? blush.gif

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Apr 3 2011, 11:07 AM
TSgo4pch
post Apr 5 2011, 11:13 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(khoodennis @ Apr 3 2011, 01:45 AM)
Thanks for the answer...
Know that there's free update already.
Thank you for the answer

I'll just get to the point.
Most importantly I don't wanna pay anything else after buying that.
Buy it & gotto pay to watch ><"

Just play & watch. No need download.
Wanna watch it like You Tube. Streaming.
Does it works this way? Yes then I'm going for it.
I mean a dedicated server. Turn it on sees a movie, click & watch...

Honestly I'm comparing this to HTPC + PPS/tom365.
Can this out do it...
Sorry, miss out your post. Just notice.
Yes you can do streaming + downloading like Youtube.
May be can you describe a bit on the configuration that you want and what HTPC do for you?

mpyw
post Apr 5 2011, 11:28 AM

3,603 posts

Can the C-200 output 1080i signal through component out when HD audio is sent out using HDMI?
TSgo4pch
post Apr 5 2011, 04:21 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 5 2011, 11:28 AM)
Can the C-200 output 1080i signal through component out when HD audio is sent out using HDMI?
Are you going thru any Receiver ?

mpyw
post Apr 5 2011, 04:29 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 5 2011, 04:21 PM)
Are you going thru any Receiver ?
My setup :-

BD/Media Player (Video) - Component - AVR - Component (My AVR can output HD video through component) - Projector (The projector capable of 1080i signal through component but without HDMI connector)

BD/Media Player (Audio) - HDMI - AVR (to get uncompress audio)

Currently my Dune Prime BD 1.0 can do that

Is the Pop corn Hour capable of that?

Also, any BD-ROM will work with Pop Corn? can play original BD without problem?
If after adding a BD-ROM, can I still fit in internal HDD?

The C-200 price are cheaper than the Dune Max and I have an extra BD-ROM lying around, and the Dune Prime 1.0 loading is very very slow, so am looking for alternative now......

This post has been edited by mpyw: Apr 5 2011, 04:30 PM
WereWolf84
post Apr 6 2011, 09:11 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 5 2011, 04:29 PM)
Another new gadget/toy for your dedicated HT room brows.gif
TSgo4pch
post Apr 8 2011, 11:31 AM

162 posts

Why don't you used Digital Output/SPDIF to your AVR for audio ?
BTW, what is to purpose to get uncompress audio?

mpyw
post Apr 8 2011, 12:00 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 8 2011, 11:31 AM)
Why don't you used Digital Output/SPDIF to your AVR for audio ?
BTW, what is to purpose to get uncompress audio?
Uncompress audio = DTS-Master / Dolby TrueHD at 2-5Mbs
if using digital out/SPDIF only can get the core of the DTS/DD at max 1536kbps
see the losses in quality if I am not getting the uncompress audio? sweat.gif
TSgo4pch
post Apr 8 2011, 12:43 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 8 2011, 12:00 PM)
Uncompress audio = DTS-Master / Dolby TrueHD at 2-5Mbs
if using digital out/SPDIF only can get the core of the DTS/DD at max 1536kbps
see the losses in quality if I am not getting the uncompress audio? sweat.gif
Can I know which Model of AVR you using?

[This is personal]
Heard that you got AV Room, rite? Wanted to share share? or you can email to me @ go4pch@hotmail.com. Thanks.

mpyw
post Apr 8 2011, 02:07 PM

3,603 posts

the pic in HT setup thread...feel free to browse.
I am using Onkyo TX-NR808....
U still have not answer my question....
TSgo4pch
post Apr 8 2011, 10:35 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 8 2011, 02:07 PM)
the pic in HT setup thread...feel free to browse.
I am using Onkyo TX-NR808....
U still have not answer my question....
Sorry for keep delaying you as my technical still checking and working on it. Once got result will let u know.

Added on April 10, 2011, 9:36 pm
My setup :-

BD/Media Player (Video) - Component - AVR - Component (My AVR can output HD video through component) - Projector (The projector capable of 1080i signal through component but without HDMI connector)

BD/Media Player (Audio) - HDMI - AVR (to get uncompress audio)

Currently my Dune Prime BD 1.0 can do that

Is the Pop corn Hour capable of that?

Also, any BD-ROM will work with Pop Corn? can play original BD without problem?
If after adding a BD-ROM, can I still fit in internal HDD?

The C-200 price are cheaper than the Dune Max and I have an extra BD-ROM lying around, and the Dune Prime 1.0 loading is very very slow, so am looking for alternative now......

Good news for you! C-200 able to do what you want. smile.gif

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 10 2011, 09:36 PM
johnlimsk
post Apr 17 2011, 02:46 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 5 2011, 11:13 AM)
Sorry, miss out your post. Just notice.
Yes you can do streaming + downloading like Youtube.
May be can you describe a bit on the configuration that you want and what HTPC do for you?
hi, is popcorn hour support for 3D movie?
TSgo4pch
post Apr 18 2011, 11:52 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 17 2011, 02:46 PM)
hi, is popcorn hour support for 3D movie?
Yes we do. Perhaps, we are world's No. 1 Media Player that can support 3D movies.

lordsbm
post Apr 18 2011, 12:01 PM

77 posts

Hi. The player support full 3D MKV (1080p+1080p)? Thx

Edit: Also does it have HDMI 1.4 port?

This post has been edited by lordsbm: Apr 18 2011, 12:03 PM
RayKazansky
post Apr 18 2011, 05:20 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Updated mine with latest firmware capable of handling 3D. But no chance to test it so far.
Firmware (3D) release notes

Meaning, if i do the following, i can watch in 3D?
- Rename files
- Change HDMI cable to ver 1.4
- get 3D TV

??? hmm.gif
johnlimsk
post Apr 19 2011, 09:40 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Apr 18 2011, 05:20 PM)
Updated mine with latest firmware capable of handling 3D. But no chance to test it so far.
Firmware (3D) release notes

Meaning, if i do the following, i can watch in 3D?
- Rename files
- Change HDMI cable to ver 1.4
- get 3D TV

???  hmm.gif
tat is great if could support 3D
A210 or C-200 ? how much is the cost?

RayKazansky
post Apr 19 2011, 09:42 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 19 2011, 09:40 AM)
I have yet to try it. So, i dare not confirm, plus, I prefer 2D hahaha

Mine is A-200 with GPU fan. (A-210 is with fanless aluminium casing)

For the latest price, you can ask TS. smile.gif
johnlimsk
post Apr 19 2011, 09:51 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Apr 19 2011, 09:42 AM)
I have yet to try it. So, i dare not confirm, plus, I prefer 2D hahaha

Mine is A-200 with GPU fan. (A-210 is with fanless aluminium casing)

For the latest price, you can ask TS.  smile.gif
did you mean A210 also could support for 3D movie? how much is the cost?
xpilon
post Apr 19 2011, 11:03 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 19 2011, 09:51 AM)
Just bought the player recently during PC Expo. Very sactisfy with the player. Good rclxms.gif
But no chance to try 3D yet. No money to buy 3D TV la....
By the way where to get 3D movies? This is important. Not bad la at least have the features. Can used it for the future.
lordsbm
post Apr 19 2011, 11:27 AM

77 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong.

based on "Tested with MKV, AVI, TS (MPEG)" from the update I assumed it's 1080p (720p+720p SBS/TAB). I'd tested half SBS on Sony NX710 TV using normal 1185 chipset player, then activate the 3D function on TV and set SBS on TV. I'm able to view real 3D.

if popcorn player can play full 3D 2160p (1080p+1080p SBS/TAB) and decode it like 3D bluray player, please let me know cause I'll be interested^^

edit: if popcorn really can play full 3D, will like to know if the port is HDMI v1.4 too, else it won't be fast enough.

This post has been edited by lordsbm: Apr 19 2011, 11:33 AM
TSgo4pch
post Apr 19 2011, 11:54 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 18 2011, 12:01 PM)
Hi. The player support full 3D MKV (1080p+1080p)? Thx

Edit: Also does it have HDMI 1.4 port?
Thanks for your enquiries. I already submit your question to my principal. Now waiting for the answer.
From the information I have while waiting for the answer, I heard that it may need fast/Good HDMI Cable to play full 3D. Anyhow let me clarify with them again.

Thank you.

Added on April 19, 2011, 11:58 am
QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 19 2011, 09:40 AM)
You got PM.

Added on April 19, 2011, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(xpilon @ Apr 19 2011, 11:03 AM)
Just bought the player recently during PC Expo. Very sactisfy with the player. Good rclxms.gif
But no chance to try 3D yet. No money to buy 3D TV la....
By the way where to get 3D movies? This is important. Not bad la at least have the features. Can used it for the future.
Thanks for you support!

Added on April 19, 2011, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 19 2011, 11:27 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong.

based on "Tested with MKV, AVI, TS (MPEG)" from the update I assumed it's 1080p (720p+720p SBS/TAB). I'd tested half SBS on Sony NX710 TV using normal 1185 chipset player, then activate the 3D function on TV and set SBS on TV. I'm able to view real 3D.

if popcorn player can play full 3D 2160p (1080p+1080p SBS/TAB) and decode it like 3D bluray player, please let me know cause I'll be interested^^

edit: if popcorn really can play full 3D, will like to know if the port is HDMI v1.4 too, else it won't be fast enough.
Yes, the C-200/A-210 HDMI port only 1.3a. Anyhow I'm still waiting for the answer from my principal.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 19 2011, 12:04 PM
lordsbm
post Apr 19 2011, 12:49 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 19 2011, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for your enquiries. I already submit your question to my principal. Now waiting for the answer.
From the information I have while waiting for the answer, I heard that it may need fast/Good HDMI Cable to play full 3D. Anyhow let me clarify with them again.

Thank you.

Yes, the C-200/A-210 HDMI port only 1.3a. Anyhow I'm still waiting for the answer from my principal.
Thanks for your help checking this smile.gif
johnlimsk
post Apr 19 2011, 05:01 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 19 2011, 12:49 PM)
Thanks for your help checking this smile.gif
wah! 3D also got so many thing need to know.... I think is pair & play matter.... thank you for the info

RayKazansky
post Apr 19 2011, 05:27 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 19 2011, 09:51 AM)
Basically A-200 and A-210 is the same device... but appear in different casing only.

A-200 = plastic + GPU fan
A-210 = Alu case + Big heat sink(to avoid fan)
lordsbm
post Apr 19 2011, 05:36 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 19 2011, 05:01 PM)
wah! 3D also got so many thing need to know.... I think is pair & play matter.... thank you for the info
Ya, quite troublesome, even when search for bluray player also need to find one can support 3D-_-

The issue with real full 3D (not those red/blue or 2D to 3D) on 3DTV is achieved by 2xfull hd 1080p vids. So older HDMI ports/cables or chipset cannot transfer the data fast enough. like my himedia hd600a (1185) cannot play full 3d sbs mkv file. So I am quite happy to see popcorn might be able to support 3D.
johnlimsk
post Apr 19 2011, 09:05 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 19 2011, 05:36 PM)
Ya, quite troublesome, even when search for bluray player also need to find one can support 3D-_-

The issue with real full 3D (not those red/blue or 2D to 3D) on 3DTV is achieved by 2xfull hd 1080p vids. So older HDMI ports/cables or chipset cannot transfer the data fast enough. like my himedia hd600a (1185) cannot play full 3d sbs mkv file. So I am quite happy to see popcorn might be able to support 3D.
thank you for the info, I will buy A210...

TSgo4pch
post Apr 20 2011, 12:59 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 19 2011, 05:36 PM)

Hi bro,

So sorry to inform that, we do not support full-resolution 3D MKV, only half-resolution and only side-by-side and top-and-bottom 3D modes.

We can do HDMI 1.4 signaling to automatically switch to 3DTV to the correct 3D modes, such as, side-by-side, top-and-bottom. Currently we do not support frame sequential 3D. In order for this HDMI 1.4 signaling to work, the TV and any AVR connected need to support HDMI1.4 as well.

lordsbm
post Apr 20 2011, 01:12 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 20 2011, 12:59 PM)
Hi bro,

So sorry to inform that, we do not support full-resolution 3D MKV, only half-resolution and only side-by-side and top-and-bottom 3D modes.

We can do HDMI 1.4 signaling to automatically switch to 3DTV to the correct 3D modes, such as, side-by-side, top-and-bottom. Currently we do not support frame sequential 3D. In order for this HDMI 1.4 signaling to work, the TV and any AVR connected need to support HDMI1.4 as well.
Thanks a lot for the honest reply smile.gif Think I'll need wait another generation of chipset. Thanks again thumbup.gif
TSgo4pch
post Apr 20 2011, 01:20 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(lordsbm @ Apr 20 2011, 01:12 PM)
Thanks a lot for the honest reply smile.gif Think I'll need wait another generation of chipset. Thanks again thumbup.gif
You are welcome.

Doing biz must be honest. Why con people leh?
Hope the engineer can break thru in near future. brows.gif
arremie
post Apr 20 2011, 03:45 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

is it the chipset limitation or just the firmware
arremie
post Apr 20 2011, 04:29 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

the player expensive for a reason bro. u wouldn't know until u try smile.gif
TSgo4pch
post Apr 20 2011, 04:57 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(selangorclay @ Apr 20 2011, 04:27 PM)
i think getting the wd live HD better. RM300 only and can do what popcan can as well... looks nicer smile.gif
Hi bro, you should compare apple to apple.

Added on April 20, 2011, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(arremie @ Apr 20 2011, 04:29 PM)
the player expensive for a reason bro. u wouldn't know until u try smile.gif
Cheers arremie.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 20 2011, 04:59 PM
RayKazansky
post Apr 20 2011, 06:00 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(selangorclay @ Apr 20 2011, 04:27 PM)
i think getting the wd live HD better. RM300 only and can do what popcan can as well... looks nicer smile.gif
Yes, nicer on the outside... I agree haha

I still love my A-200 since day one... works so well with my 2.1 Home Theater system. I think I should upgrade to C-200 soon... drool.gif

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Apr 20 2011, 06:02 PM
xpilon
post Apr 20 2011, 11:46 PM

55 posts

Hi sifu-sifu,

Are there any function that I can surf internet through the media player or any 3rd party applications which I can install from? Quite covenient if I can surf net without switching on my PC.

Thank you.
johnlimsk
post Apr 21 2011, 10:32 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 20 2011, 12:59 PM)
Hi bro,

hi, where could get the A210 at Puchong? any reseller here?
TSgo4pch
post Apr 25 2011, 11:01 AM

162 posts

Sorry guys for late reply. I'm outstation.

QUOTE(xpilon @ Apr 20 2011, 11:46 PM)
Hi sifu-sifu,

Are there any function that I can surf internet through the media player or any 3rd party applications which I can install from? Quite covenient if I can surf net without switching on my PC.

Thank you.
Hi xpilon,

As I understand there are already apps like facebook, twitter, youtube & etc... for you to go on net. Do you mean search engine like google/yahoo things, right? Let me check for you. Will get back to you want I got it.

Added on April 25, 2011, 11:03 am
QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 21 2011, 10:32 PM)
hi, where could get the A210 at Puchong? any reseller here?
You got PM.

Added on April 25, 2011, 11:09 am
QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Apr 20 2011, 06:00 PM)
Yes, nicer on the outside... I agree haha

I still love my A-200 since day one... works so well with my 2.1 Home Theater system. I think I should upgrade to C-200 soon...  drool.gif
Thank you bro for you great support. When you gonna to upgrade ?

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 25 2011, 11:10 AM
xpilon
post Apr 25 2011, 05:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 25 2011, 11:01 AM)
Hi xpilon,

As I understand there are already apps like facebook, twitter, youtube & etc... for you to go on net. Do you mean search engine like google/yahoo things, right? Let me check for you. Will get back to you want I got it.

You got PM.

OK, waiting for you good news.
johnlimsk
post Apr 27 2011, 10:55 AM

56 posts

Hi xpilon,

You got PM.

thank you
RayKazansky
post Apr 27 2011, 11:40 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Not sure boss, my A-200 never failed me so far... wink.gif [that's why i cant upgrade, haha]

One thing I respect about PCH... that they really care for their customers' request (below)
Upgrade A-200 to A-210

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Apr 27 2011, 11:44 PM
johnlimsk
post Apr 29 2011, 05:02 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Apr 27 2011, 10:55 AM)
thank you
Hi, I just get the A-210, is great, the apps is good & perfect....
TSgo4pch
post Apr 29 2011, 05:28 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Apr 25 2011, 05:48 PM)
OK, waiting for you good news.
Did you come across any player in the market with web browsing feature?
For the moments the player unable to support web browsing. But don't worry from time to time Popcorn Hour will add the apps market like Facebook, Youtube, Twiter & so on.

Added on April 29, 2011, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Apr 27 2011, 11:40 PM)
Not sure boss, my A-200 never failed me so far...  wink.gif [that's why i cant upgrade, haha]

One thing I respect about PCH... that they really care for their customers' request (below)
Upgrade A-200 to A-210
thumbup.gif
For your information, Popcorn Hour going to slash some price starting from May, 2011 with free gifts. The annoucement going to make very soon.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 29 2011, 05:31 PM
xpilon
post Apr 30 2011, 11:28 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 29 2011, 05:28 PM)
For the moments the player unable to support web browsing. But don't worry from time to time Popcorn Hour will add the apps market like Facebook, Youtube, Twiter & so on.

OK. Noted.

thumbup.gif
For your information, Popcorn Hour going to slash some price starting from May, 2011 with free gifts. The annoucement going to make very soon.
Wahlau. So fast. I just enjoying the player for about a month, now you slash the price. cry.gif
What free gift u kasi now, boss?
carnivor
post May 1 2011, 10:38 AM

15 posts

bro...

UGPM
johnlimsk
post May 1 2011, 11:02 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Apr 29 2011, 05:28 PM)

thumbup.gif
oh! no .... I just brought A210....
heeheelim
post May 3 2011, 03:17 PM

37 posts

how much are the players?
are they do things like what "Modeo Net TV MR60" and "Modeo FullHD Internet Media Player" provide (watch chinese movies on internet)?
is there any shop selling this in KL or PJ? wanna see the demo la...
still not really clear what this player able to do compare with those normal so called media player...
TSgo4pch
post May 3 2011, 03:42 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Apr 30 2011, 11:28 PM)
Wahlau. So fast. I just enjoying the player for about a month, now you slash the price.  cry.gif
What free gift u kasi now, boss?
We give away Popcorn Hour Wifi Dongle (WN-150)

Added on May 3, 2011, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(carnivor @ May 1 2011, 10:38 AM)
bro...

UGPM
Noted

Added on May 3, 2011, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(johnlimsk @ May 1 2011, 11:02 PM)
You can claim your free Popcorn Hour Wifi Dongle by register with us through email. This applicable for those purchase with our authorised reseller ONLY. While those purchse during recent PC Expo/Fair are not entitle as we already give away the free Wifi Dongle.

Please provide information as below:
1. Full Name
2. Postal Address
3. Tel. No. / Mobile No.
4. Email address
5. Product Model
6. Product Serial Number
7. Authorised Reseller Name
8. Invoice/Bill No.

And email to info@hdm.my or fax to +6.04.229 9146

Added on May 3, 2011, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(heeheelim @ May 3 2011, 03:17 PM)
are they do things like what "Modeo Net TV MR60" and "Modeo FullHD Internet Media Player" provide (watch chinese movies on internet)?
still not really clear what this player able to do compare with those normal so called media player...
UGPM for the price.
It can play what Modeo can play plus many many features.
For the detail of the Popcorn Hour please visit our website @ www.hdm.my

This post has been edited by go4pch: May 3 2011, 04:02 PM
RayKazansky
post May 3 2011, 05:23 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(heeheelim @ May 3 2011, 03:17 PM)
Those chinese channels, you can go for ASIABOX i think...
xpilon
post May 4 2011, 05:46 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 3 2011, 03:42 PM)
We give away Popcorn Hour Wifi Dongle (WN-150)

Added on May 3, 2011, 3:43 pm
OK, then what is the price now?
RayKazansky
post May 4 2011, 11:24 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 4 2011, 05:46 PM)
TS should create a thread under "garage sales > Home electronics" unsure.gif
TSgo4pch
post May 7 2011, 10:02 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 4 2011, 05:46 PM)
U got PM !

Added on May 7, 2011, 10:03 am
QUOTE(RayKazansky @ May 4 2011, 11:24 PM)
TS should create a thread under "garage sales > Home electronics"  unsure.gif
Thanks for your suggestion. I'll create a thread under sarage sales. I tot only can create one topic per item.
Thank you.

This post has been edited by go4pch: May 7 2011, 10:03 AM
bleh
post May 9 2011, 05:15 PM

ts i wanna know the promo price too
TSgo4pch
post May 9 2011, 06:16 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(bleh @ May 9 2011, 05:15 PM)
ts i wanna know the promo price too
U got PM !!
ngboonaun
post May 9 2011, 08:53 PM

234 posts

what the lower price for Sigma chipset?
Reyz
post May 9 2011, 09:12 PM

321 posts

bro pm me price for each player and which one is d best player?
willkso
post May 9 2011, 09:34 PM

993 posts

Bro,

I didn't get a reply from you yet for the A-210, including delivery to Sarawak.

Thanks,
William
TSgo4pch
post May 9 2011, 11:02 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(ngboonaun @ May 9 2011, 08:53 PM)
what the lower price for Sigma chipset?
U got PM !!

Added on May 9, 2011, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(Reyz @ May 9 2011, 09:12 PM)
bro pm me price for each player and which one is d best player?
U got PM !!

QUOTE(willkso @ May 9 2011, 09:34 PM)
Bro,

I didn't get a reply from you yet for the A-210, including delivery to Sarawak.

Thanks,
William
U got PM !!

This post has been edited by go4pch: May 9 2011, 11:03 PM
hdwarexpert
post May 9 2011, 11:39 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 9 2011, 11:02 PM)
U got PM !!

U got PM !!

U got PM !!
is this a sales thread???

TSgo4pch
post May 10 2011, 09:37 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ May 9 2011, 11:39 PM)
is this a sales thread???
Hi hdwarexpert,

I just wanted to promote and introduce the product only but people keep asking.
Anyway, I'll try to create a sales thread under Trade Zone. Just I have no time to create the thread yet. Try to get it done by today or later tomorrow.

Thanks for your advised.

Added on May 10, 2011, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(go4pch @ May 10 2011, 09:37 AM)
Hi hdwarexpert,

I just wanted to promote and introduce the product only but people keep asking.
Anyway, I'll try to create a sales thread under Trade Zone. Just I have no time to create the thread yet. Try to get it done by today or later tomorrow.

Thanks for your advised.
smile.gif * For those interested for sales & promotion enquiry please goto the following thread *
Lowyat.Net -> Trade Zone -> LYN Street Mart -> Home Eletronics & Homewares

Thank you very much.

This post has been edited by go4pch: May 10 2011, 01:45 PM
xpilon
post May 13 2011, 06:02 PM

55 posts

bro,

I having some Jukebox question. Can I scan a particular folder only?

Thanks in advanced.
IeeSiang
post May 15 2011, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ May 1 2011, 11:02 PM)
Amy I know the price pf May offering, please reply to issong@yeah.net
TSgo4pch
post May 16 2011, 10:04 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 13 2011, 06:02 PM)
bro,

I having some Jukebox question. Can I scan a particular folder only?

Thanks in advanced.
It will scan the entired partition.
johnlimsk
post May 16 2011, 12:21 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(IeeSiang @ May 15 2011, 06:11 PM)
Amy I know the price pf May offering, please reply to issong@yeah.net
I know the price for May promotion already from garage sales.
You have any best offer? You can PM me also for your best price as my friend also looking for one.
TSgo4pch
post May 16 2011, 02:29 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ May 16 2011, 12:21 PM)
I know the price for May promotion already from garage sales.
You have any best offer? You can PM me also for your best price as my friend also looking for one.
For sales enquiries please reply under following topics (Trade Zone - Lyn Street Mart):-

For Popcorn Hour C-200
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=220&t=1872986

For Popcorn Hour A-210
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=220&t=1871706

Thank you.
xpilon
post May 18 2011, 06:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 16 2011, 10:04 AM)
It will scan the entired partition.
Anyway that I can edit or remove the jukebox content (not the movie)?

TSgo4pch
post May 20 2011, 04:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 18 2011, 06:10 PM)
Anyway that I can edit or remove the jukebox content (not the movie)?

Actually there are few way to do this. Just press Help icon on NMJ to do the editing.
Others way, installing NMJToolBox applications from CSI. NMJToolBox is a Windows editior for NMJ.

xpilon
post May 23 2011, 04:20 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 20 2011, 04:07 PM)
Actually there are few way to do this. Just press Help icon on NMJ to do the editing.
Others way, installing NMJToolBox applications from CSI. NMJToolBox is a Windows editior for NMJ.

Thanks. I know where to edit already but editing via the player a bit troublesome. May be I should try NMJToolBox. By the way, what is CSI? How to aget it from?

TSgo4pch
post May 23 2011, 10:22 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 23 2011, 04:20 PM)
Thanks. I know where to edit already but editing via the player a bit troublesome. May be I should try NMJToolBox. By the way, what is CSI? How to aget it from?

Hi bro,

You can get it from this website http://www.nmtinstaller.com/. It is a third party developer that develop applications for networked media tank products. I found some of the applications very usefull like DownloadManager, FileManager & Transmission.

TheChipmunk
post May 25 2011, 02:01 PM

Hi there,
I got my Popcornhour C200 some time back, but noticed that the Apps are different from that avail on the Asiabox, although the firmware are both from Syabas. I don't want to just buy another box. Its a never ending game.

Is there anyway i can get the AsiaLive VoD app on the C200? Has anyone done that before? Thanks in advance.
TSgo4pch
post May 27 2011, 02:20 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(TheChipmunk @ May 25 2011, 02:01 PM)
Hi there,
I got my Popcornhour C200 some time back, but noticed that the Apps are different from that avail on the Asiabox, although the firmware are both from Syabas. I don't want to just buy another box.  Its a never ending game.

Is there anyway i can get the AsiaLive VoD app on the C200? Has anyone done that before? Thanks in advance.
Thank you for your input.
I would address it to my principal for AsiaLive VoD to be included in Popcorn Hour products just to suite/cater for Asean market.
johnlimsk
post May 30 2011, 10:20 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ May 23 2011, 04:20 PM)

hi, any easy way to editing? cz tat is a lot of step.....
TSgo4pch
post Jun 6 2011, 11:06 AM

162 posts

Hi All,

C-200 new stock arrive !!

New C-200 come with front combo rack for supports both 3.5” SATA HDD and 12.7mm Slim Optical drives (BD/DVD/CD).

Thank you.
xpilon
post Jun 13 2011, 09:14 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jun 6 2011, 11:06 AM)
Hi All,

C-200 new stock arrive !!

New C-200 come with front combo rack for supports both 3.5” SATA HDD and 12.7mm Slim Optical drives (BD/DVD/CD).

Thank you.
Hi Bro,
When can A-210 support PPS?
mutt
post Jun 15 2011, 01:55 PM

please pronounce my nick as 'mood/mut' not 'mud/mat
1,288 posts

Hi TS

I dont have much idea about media player. From my understanding I can download/streaming HD movies using pop corn device? Say I want to watch Avatar in HD, I can do searching for that title using this media player and then download/stream straight away?

Added on June 15, 2011, 2:17 pm1 more question. What's difference beteween pop corn and asiabox?

This post has been edited by mutt: Jun 15 2011, 02:17 PM
TSgo4pch
post Jun 16 2011, 10:55 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Jun 15 2011, 01:55 PM)
Hi TS

I dont have much idea about media player. From my understanding I can download/streaming HD movies using pop corn device? Say I want to watch Avatar in HD, I can do searching for that title using this media player and then download/stream straight away?

Added on June 15, 2011, 2:17 pm1 more question. What's difference beteween pop corn and asiabox?
First of all, the media player capable to perform downloading + streaming. In order to view HD 1080p movies online you required very high-speed lines. The player come with BitTorrent features so you can download any movies once you uploaded the torrent file. Currently Popcorn Hour doesn't support PPS streaming only Asiabox support because of licensing issue. Some said 1mbps line can stream the movies smoothly but I doubt that. You may need at-leat 2mbps or higher or better unifi.

You may check on the wiki below:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_video
mutt
post Jun 16 2011, 11:55 AM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jun 16 2011, 10:55 AM)
First of all, the media player capable to perform downloading + streaming. In order to view HD 1080p movies online you required very high-speed lines. The player come with BitTorrent features so you can download any movies once you uploaded the torrent file. Currently Popcorn Hour doesn't support PPS streaming only Asiabox support because of licensing issue. Some said 1mbps line can stream the movies smoothly but I doubt that. You may need at-leat 2mbps or higher or better unifi.

You may check on the wiki below:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_video
Asiabox and Popcorn hour is under the same company or not? A bit confuse here unsure.gif

Btw, I'm gonna use 20mbps connection so I believe there will be no lag issue.

Thanks for your reply.

Added on June 16, 2011, 11:58 amMay I ask you a question. What is NAS actually? Some media player is NAS some are not. This is what I found when I survey some player in this forum. I know NAS stands for Network Attached Storage but I don't really have the idea what the use of this thing. Mind to explain? Thanks again blush.gif

This post has been edited by mutt: Jun 16 2011, 11:58 AM
TSgo4pch
post Jun 16 2011, 12:53 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Jun 16 2011, 11:55 AM)
Asiabox and Popcorn hour is under the same company or not? A bit confuse here unsure.gif
Btw, I'm gonna use 20mbps connection so I believe there will be no lag issue.
Thanks for your reply.

Added on June 16, 2011, 11:58 amMay I ask you a question. What is NAS actually? Some media player is NAS some are not. This is what I found when I survey some player in this forum. I know NAS stands for Network Attached Storage but I don't really have the idea what the use of this thing. Mind to explain? Thanks again blush.gif
To be exactly what is your need for the player? What type of movie you view the most (HK series/hd movie)?
To what am understanding Popcorn Hour developed the software for Aisabox only. So, Popcorn Hour & Asiabox are 2 differences entity.
As for NAS, it is used for storage of your media and for sharing among multiple devices. NAS operates as a File Server for you to stream from the player to player or PC. You can wiki for more details.
mutt
post Jun 16 2011, 01:02 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jun 16 2011, 12:53 PM)
To be exactly what is your need for the player? What type of movie you view the most (HK series/hd movie)?
To what am understanding Popcorn Hour developed the software for Aisabox only. So, Popcorn Hour & Asiabox are 2 differences entity.
As for NAS, it is used for storage of your media and for sharing among multiple devices. NAS operates as a File Server for you to stream from the player to player or PC. You can wiki for more details.
oh.. now I got clearer picture. . I want to watch HD movie. Not interested with drama or tv series. I think that's all. biggrin.gif

thanks notworthy.gif
TSgo4pch
post Jun 28 2011, 10:27 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Jun 16 2011, 01:02 PM)
oh.. now I got clearer picture. . I want to watch HD movie. Not interested with drama or tv series. I think that's all. biggrin.gif

thanks notworthy.gif
You are welcome. So you decided what player to go?
xpilon
post Jul 10 2011, 11:32 PM

55 posts

Pls. help! I face a problems installing NMT Apps.

I'm installing the NMT from the Maintenance screen. I select "Media Setup" becasue my HDD already have the contents. Then i choose NMT media destination then quickly the "NMT setup done. Rebooting ..." message appear. After reboot, no NMT was installed. Any solutions?

TSgo4pch
post Jul 12 2011, 10:17 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 10 2011, 11:32 PM)

I'm installing the NMT from the Maintenance screen. I select "Media Setup" becasue my HDD already have the contents. Then i choose NMT media destination then quickly the "NMT setup done. Rebooting ..." message appear. After reboot, no NMT was installed. Any solutions?

Hi bro,

Can I know what type of HDD you using and what file system you formated to, NTFS?

alucard89
post Jul 12 2011, 08:02 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 10 2011, 11:32 PM)

How about installing it on USB device?
That worked for me.
xpilon
post Jul 12 2011, 10:25 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:02 PM)
How about installing it on USB device?
That worked for me.
Any others way beside installing in USB device?

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(go4pch @ Jul 12 2011, 10:17 AM)
Hi bro,

Can I know what type of HDD you using and what file system you formated to, NTFS?
I'm using 1TB WD caviar green HDD with NTFS formatted.

This post has been edited by xpilon: Jul 12 2011, 10:28 PM
TSgo4pch
post Jul 14 2011, 02:29 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 12 2011, 10:25 PM)

The easier way is still installing it into USB device.
For NTFS formatted HDD you required to create new logical ext3 partition with at-least 2GB size.
alucard89
post Jul 14 2011, 08:31 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 12 2011, 10:25 PM)

I just did a clean install for it, haven't tried with HDD
If you wanna install on hdd and have csi/ipkg on the same drive , check this thread

http://networkedmediatank.com/showthread.php?tid=50955

This post has been edited by alucard89: Jul 14 2011, 08:31 PM
xpilon
post Jul 14 2011, 10:38 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 14 2011, 08:31 PM)
I just did a clean install for it, haven't tried with HDD
If you wanna install on hdd and have csi/ipkg on the same drive , check this thread

http://networkedmediatank.com/showthread.php?tid=50955
Well bro, you are so expert. Thanks for the infor. I'll try it when got time. Look like not easy and worry to do that.
Anyway you try it before?
alucard89
post Jul 15 2011, 12:23 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 14 2011, 10:38 PM)
Well bro, you are so expert. Thanks for the infor. I'll try it when got time. Look like not easy and worry to do that.
Anyway you try it before?
I don't think it's that difficult
Basically you just need to make ex3 partition(for Csi/ipkg) and NTFS for your data.
Like I said I haven't tried it with HDD since I'm too lazy to format my existing hdd
Which is why I prefer USB device.
Be sure to follow the instructions for 200 series and not the 100 series.
Here's a wiki page with more detailed instruction and pics

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/ind...t_a_HDD_to_Ext3

Have you tried installing any app from NMT Community Software Installer?

This post has been edited by alucard89: Jul 15 2011, 12:24 AM
xpilon
post Jul 15 2011, 10:08 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:23 AM)
I don't think it's that difficult
Basically you just need to make ex3 partition(for Csi/ipkg) and NTFS for your data.
Like I said I haven't tried it with HDD since I'm too lazy to format my existing hdd
Which is why I prefer USB device.
Be sure to follow the instructions for 200 series and not the 100 series.
Here's a wiki page with more detailed instruction and pics

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/ind...t_a_HDD_to_Ext3

Have you tried installing any app from NMT Community Software Installer?
Thank you so much, sifu for the above links.
Would it be formated my HDD? How about I would like to retain my contents? I just want to install NMT with my contents together.
For the NMT I heard it before but never try yet.

alucard89
post Jul 15 2011, 10:14 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 15 2011, 10:08 PM)
Thank you so much, sifu for the above links.
Would it be formated my HDD? How about I would like to retain my contents? I just want to install NMT with my contents together.
For the NMT I heard it before but never try yet.
Obviously you're gonna need to backup those media files first if you want to create partition for both ext3 and ntfs since it basically formats your hdd.
xpilon
post Jul 15 2011, 10:42 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 15 2011, 10:14 PM)
Obviously you're gonna need to backup those media files first if you want to create partition for both ext3 and ntfs since it basically formats your hdd.
I got almost 1TB of contents, left only a few GBs.
alucard89
post Jul 16 2011, 07:03 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 15 2011, 10:42 PM)
I got almost 1TB of contents, left only a few GBs.
And that's why I prefer installing NMT apps on a USB drive
Easiest solution for you
xpilon
post Jul 18 2011, 09:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 16 2011, 07:03 AM)
And that's why I prefer installing NMT apps on a USB drive
Easiest solution for you
If the is the case then I may follow what you recomend but at the same time am oso looking for more solutions. Actually may be I can re-partition my HDD but need to find out more. Thanks anyway.
alucard89
post Jul 18 2011, 10:48 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 18 2011, 09:35 PM)
If the is the case then I may follow what you recomend but at the same time am oso looking for more solutions. Actually may be I can re-partition my HDD but need to find out more. Thanks anyway.
How about this method?

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/ind...ernal_hard_disk

You should be able to install NMT apps without formatting it

Kiding
post Jul 18 2011, 11:19 PM

1,135 posts

I got the popcorn A210 to replace my not-so-good xtreamer few weeks ago.

After a week of usage, I'm pretty satisfy the A210 performance, although the first one get faulty but quickly replaced with a new unit from the supplier.

Overall, the features and performance of A210 is pretty much better than xtreamer. of course it is not fair to compare it with xtreamer as the A210 price is 75% more expensive, but at least popcorn is able to delivery it, unlike xtreamer, telling you they have the features but couldn't deliver it or having problem to deliver.

The popcorn has the following features which I think are much better than xtreamer
1. YAMJ jukebox support
2. Bluray interactive menu support
3. High bitrate Full HD BDISO and BDMV playback via 100Mbps wired network
4. Beautiful GUI
5. MKV simple menu support
6. MKV PGS subtitles support

YAMJ with eversion flash skin

YAMJ movie detail

Bluray Interactive Menu

MKV simple menu

Media Info Overlay

alucard89
post Jul 19 2011, 01:36 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jul 18 2011, 11:19 PM)

After a week of usage, I'm pretty satisfy the A210 performance, although the first one get faulty but quickly replaced with a new unit from the supplier.

Overall, the features and performance of A210 is pretty much better than xtreamer. of course it is not fair to compare it with xtreamer as the A210 price is 75% more expensive, but at least popcorn is able to delivery it, unlike xtreamer, telling you they have the features but couldn't deliver it or having problem to deliver.

The popcorn has the following features which I think are much better than xtreamer
1. YAMJ jukebox support
4. Beautiful GUI
Yeah, a little expensive but definitely worth money.
Not to mention community support.
I just thought the navigation with eversion skin was a little bit sluggish though
I mean even scrolling thru movies NMJ was a lot faster than that
Then again eversion displays each movie info once highlighted

So far I'm still sticking with Aeon skin for YAMJ
NMJ still a lot of room for improvement

How exactly was it streaming BDISO files? Any stuttering?

RayKazansky
post Jul 19 2011, 09:56 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

1. YAMJ jukebox support
4. Beautiful GUI

YAMJ movie detail

Bluray Interactive Menu

MKV simple menu

Media Info Overlay
Nice, long time ago, was using AEON skin... so cool. Long time ago. I'm so outdated already

Added on July 19, 2011, 9:58 am
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 19 2011, 01:36 AM)
I just thought the navigation with eversion skin was a little bit sluggish though

You are enjoying lots of technical stuffs smile.gif

Until now, still... hmmm I dun even have time to watch my movies.. haha

Salute! Sifu notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Jul 19 2011, 09:58 AM
TSgo4pch
post Jul 19 2011, 02:18 PM

162 posts

1. YAMJ jukebox support
4. Beautiful GUI

YAMJ movie detail

Bluray Interactive Menu

MKV simple menu

Media Info Overlay

Thank you so much for your verdict. It's our pressure to serve you better.
You received the wireless dongle together?

Cheers.
william42
post Jul 19 2011, 02:37 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 9 2011, 06:16 PM)
U got PM !!
How much is the popcorn c-200?

TSgo4pch
post Jul 19 2011, 04:24 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(william42 @ Jul 19 2011, 02:37 PM)
How much is the popcorn c-200?
U got PM.
Sorry about that may be I miss out.

Thank you anyway.
Kiding
post Jul 19 2011, 06:47 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 19 2011, 01:36 AM)

The eversion is bit sluggish, I might change to AEON skin.

The BDISO playback is perfect, no stuttering at all. For Full HD movies playback via network, pause and resume during movie are instantaneous. In xtreamer case, once you pause, the sound keep going to play for at least 3 seconds, and when resume playing, it will like fast forward to catch up the sound. doh.gif

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jul 19 2011, 02:18 PM)

Thank you so much for your verdict. It's our pressure to serve you better.
You received the wireless dongle together?

Cheers.
Yeah, I got the wireless dongle already. thx
well
post Jul 20 2011, 01:59 AM

253 posts

hi TS, do your company have shop at kl?
tq
TSgo4pch
post Jul 20 2011, 09:51 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 20 2011, 01:59 AM)
hi TS, do your company have shop at kl?
tq
We are Sole Distributor. May be in future we'll plan for a shop in KL biggrin.gif

alucard89
post Jul 21 2011, 05:38 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jul 19 2011, 06:47 PM)
The eversion is bit sluggish, I might change to AEON skin.

The BDISO playback is perfect, no stuttering at all. For Full HD movies playback via network, pause and resume during movie are instantaneous. In xtreamer case, once you pause, the sound keep going to play for at least 3 seconds, and when resume playing, it will like fast forward to catch up the sound. doh.gif

Yeah, I got the wireless dongle already. thx
You could also try SabishGT skin, it's basically a pimped up version of Aeon
With other features borrowed from other skins
Also comes with an optional index page, looks nice biggrin.gif

TSgo4pch
post Jul 21 2011, 11:37 PM

162 posts

Hi All,

Tips on Removing USB Device!

->Goto Main Menu
->Point to USB Device
->Press "File Mode" from the remote control
->Select "Remove USB Device" press enter
->A message prompted "Are you sure you want to remove the USN device?"
->Just select "OK" and press enter
->A message showing "USB Device Media Disconnected"
->Done

alucard89
post Jul 22 2011, 06:59 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jul 21 2011, 11:37 PM)
Hi All,

Tips on Removing USB Device!

->Goto Main Menu
->Point to USB Device
->Press "File Mode" from the remote control
->Select "Remove USB Device" press enter
->A message prompted "Are you sure you want to remove the USN device?"
->Just select "OK" and press enter
->A message showing "USB Device Media Disconnected"
->Done
Thanks for the tip biggrin.gif
Even I didn't find this info on the NMT forum.
xpilon
post Jul 24 2011, 09:20 PM

55 posts

1. YAMJ jukebox support
4. Beautiful GUI

YAMJ movie detail

Bluray Interactive Menu

MKV simple menu

Media Info Overlay

How to create this kind of Jukebox? Can advised?
Thanks in advanced.

Added on July 24, 2011, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 21 2011, 05:38 PM)
You could also try SabishGT skin, it's basically a pimped up version of Aeon
With other features borrowed from other skins
Also comes with an optional index page, looks nice  biggrin.gif

hi bro,

How about you want? Look interesting. Can advised as well?
Popcorn Hour really deliver a very nice and stable products. thumbup.gif (thumb up).

Thanks in advanced, bro.

This post has been edited by xpilon: Jul 24 2011, 09:23 PM
alucard89
post Jul 25 2011, 10:05 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 24 2011, 09:20 PM)

hi bro,

How about you want? Look interesting. Can advised as well?
Popcorn Hour really deliver a very nice and stable products. thumbup.gif (thumb up).

Thanks in advanced, bro.
The really simple guide:

Get YAMJ(obviously)

Download your preferred skin and place in the skin folder.
Aeon

Download mediainfo cli and place it in the mediainfo folder in yamj.

Set up your movie/series location using YAMJ GUI Config
This needs to be placed in yamj folder.

Here's a video tutorial to help you with that

Click My_YAMJ.cmd.

It should generate jukebox folder and index.htm file

Navigate and click index.htm to access your jukebox.

Done

Here's how it should look like

To make it easier for you, here's a pre configured YAMJ with Aeon skin

http://www.mediafire.com/?sastyq3ub41y0qc

But you'll still have to configure the path for your movies folder

If you need to use other skin like Eversion, just place it in the skin folder and rename it to 'default'
There's another way where you can specify the name of the skin to be used
but I won't delve into that since renaming it to default is the easiest method.

Now, do you play your movies from network share or HDD attached to PCH?

well
post Jul 25 2011, 10:32 PM

253 posts

if i place my computer that contain mkv in my bedroom, and place popcorn hour in living with my tv, how can i playing mkv movie ?
ya i think not to put hdd into popcorn hour, issit possible?
alucard89
post Jul 25 2011, 11:18 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 25 2011, 10:32 PM)
if i place my computer that contain mkv in my bedroom, and place popcorn hour in living with my tv, how can i playing mkv movie ?
ya i think not to put hdd into popcorn hour, issit possible?
You still can access your movies from network share without having to install hdd.
well
post Jul 25 2011, 11:22 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 26 2011, 12:18 AM)
You still can access your movies from network share without having to install hdd.
ya i mean what equipment i need still?homeplug?wifi adapter?is popcorn hour support wifi?
alucard89
post Jul 25 2011, 11:38 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 25 2011, 11:22 PM)
ya i mean what equipment i need still?homeplug?wifi adapter?is popcorn hour support wifi?
Yes it does, you get the free wifi dongle anyway
Although homeplug might be a better choice
For me I just use LAN cable since my PC isn't that far from the TV.
well
post Jul 26 2011, 03:03 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 26 2011, 12:38 AM)
Yes it does, you get the free wifi dongle anyway
Although homeplug might be a better choice
For me I just use LAN cable since my PC isn't that far from the TV.
oic, thanks for your reply notworthy.gif
btw, what ur htpc spec? i scare mine cant run those 1080p fullhd movie smoothly
johnlimsk
post Jul 29 2011, 05:54 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 25 2011, 11:22 PM)
Heard about the homeplug before. Wonder how the speed like? Able to stream HD movies? Look very convenient to install.

Added on July 29, 2011, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
The really simple guide:

Get YAMJ(obviously)

Aeon

Click My_YAMJ.cmd.

Done

If you need to use other skin like Eversion, just place it in the skin folder and rename it to 'default'

Very nice movie jukebox. Well done brother.

This post has been edited by johnlimsk: Jul 29 2011, 05:55 PM
szehock
post Jul 31 2011, 04:50 PM

13 posts

Hi all,

Where can I get Popcorn Hours A-210 in Kuala Lumpur / Selangor area ?

What is the price ? Any promotion / sales?

Kindly provide the contacts.

I am new in media player. Looking for device can play HK, TW, Korean and China movie / series. Is A-210 provide ?

Another brand i am looking on is Asus O! Play HD2. Any comments on this brand ?

Thanks in advanced.
xpilon
post Jul 31 2011, 10:02 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
The really simple guide:

Get YAMJ(obviously)

Aeon

Click My_YAMJ.cmd.

Done

I play directly from 1TB HDD. Above look interesting but need time to figure it out.
Thank you so much.

ngboonaun
post Jul 31 2011, 10:08 PM

234 posts

does Popcorn Hour support for HDDVD ISO?
TSgo4pch
post Jul 31 2011, 10:13 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(szehock @ Jul 31 2011, 04:50 PM)
Hi all,

Where can I get Popcorn Hours A-210 in Kuala Lumpur / Selangor area ?

What is the price ? Any promotion / sales?

Kindly provide the contacts.

I am new in media player. Looking for device can play HK, TW, Korean and China movie / series. Is A-210 provide ?

Another brand i am looking on is Asus O! Play HD2. Any comments on this brand ?

Thanks in advanced.
Please refer to the link below for all our resellers lists.
http://www.hdm.my/reseller.php
alucard89
post Jul 31 2011, 11:42 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 31 2011, 10:02 PM)
I play directly from 1TB HDD. Above look interesting but need time to figure it out.
Thank you so much.
Like I said, just grab the mediafire link and configure the path to your HDD and you're done
Although you might need to install NMT apps and enable Samba share so you can access the HDD from your network
Unless you connect the A210 directly to your PC.

Added on July 31, 2011, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Jul 29 2011, 05:54 PM)
Heard about the homeplug before. Wonder how the speed like? Able to stream HD movies? Look very convenient to install.

Added on July 29, 2011, 5:55 pm
Very nice movie jukebox. Well done brother.
I haven't tried using homeplug, from what I read it's pretty reliable but it depends on your internal wiring.

This post has been edited by alucard89: Jul 31 2011, 11:46 PM
TSgo4pch
post Aug 2 2011, 06:08 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(ngboonaun @ Jul 31 2011, 10:08 PM)
does Popcorn Hour support for HDDVD ISO?
Popcorn Hour can playback the DVD contents from the TS Folder directly but not for the ISO files, Popcorn Hour not supported at the moment. Popcorn Hour can playback BD.ISO file perfectly with full BD navigation (BD Menu). Surprise there are still HD-DVD iso around out there.

Hope this answer your question.

ngboonaun
post Aug 2 2011, 08:43 PM

234 posts

yeah,still got HDDVD around here laugh.gif
realtek can`t play it doh.gif
Eagles: Farewell Tour 1 – Live in Melbourne [HD DVD]
http://losslessalbum.com/2011/05/08/eagles...rne-hd-dvd.html

This post has been edited by ngboonaun: Aug 2 2011, 08:46 PM
xpilon
post Aug 3 2011, 10:50 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jul 31 2011, 11:42 PM)
Like I said, just grab the mediafire link and configure the path to your HDD and you're done
Although you might need to install NMT apps and enable Samba share so you can access the HDD from your network
Unless you connect the A210 directly to your PC.
Hi bro,

I havent settle my nmt apps yet bcos my hdd formated in NTFS. Hope can done it this coming weekend. Any problems encountered will call for your help.

TSgo4pch
post Aug 7 2011, 11:13 PM

162 posts

Hi All,

Updated awards from European Consumers Choice

http://www.europeanconsumerschoice.org/hi-tech/popcorn-hour/

davidwee1987
post Aug 16 2011, 11:36 PM

69 posts

Hi. I'm enjoying popcorn hour so far. May I have the guide to setup torrents download

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:39 pmHi. I'm enjoying popcorn hour so far. May I have the guide to setup torrents download model c200

This post has been edited by davidwee1987: Aug 16 2011, 11:39 PM
alucard89
post Aug 17 2011, 12:58 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(davidwee1987 @ Aug 16 2011, 11:36 PM)
Hi. I'm enjoying popcorn hour so far. May I have the guide to setup torrents download

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:39 pmHi. I'm enjoying popcorn hour so far. May I have the guide to setup torrents download model c200
You'll need to get Transmission 2.21
Install it by using CSI, reboot your nmt and you can access the webend at http://yournmtadress:9091/transmission/web/

I can't guarantee you'll get full speed with torrent
I only use download manager app for my A210
pusswuss
post Aug 22 2011, 10:57 AM

24 posts

hi popcorn sifus,
just got my pch-a210. YAMJ can only be enabled if i am 'online' rite? cant be installed into PCH HDD? sorry noob here....
alucard89
post Aug 22 2011, 02:25 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(pusswuss @ Aug 22 2011, 10:57 AM)
hi popcorn sifus,
just got my pch-a210. YAMJ can only be enabled if i am 'online' rite? cant be installed into PCH HDD? sorry noob here....
Not necessarily, you only need to go online to update information for your movie jukebox
What YAMJ does is that it generates the jukebox files that can be placed anywhere you want(index.htm and jukebox folder) on PCH HDD or PC HDD
You'll need to configure the path for your jukebox files with YAMJ GUI Config first.
Already posted my simple guide to use YAMJ in the previous post

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=44091951

Another alternative to YAMJ is UMC

http://www.umc-project.de/

It's simpler to use with a GUI and comes with Revamp skin
It's a flash skin and you'll have some option not available on YAMJ like actor's bio/filmography
movie views that can be changed on the fly and random backdrops displayed on the main menu.
Still has a few bugs that needs fixing.

pusswuss
post Aug 22 2011, 06:07 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Aug 22 2011, 02:25 PM)
Not necessarily, you only need to go online to update information for your movie jukebox
What YAMJ does is that it generates the jukebox files that can be placed anywhere you want(index.htm and jukebox folder) on PCH HDD or PC HDD
You'll need to configure the path for your jukebox files with YAMJ GUI Config first.
Already posted my simple guide to use YAMJ in the previous post
got it! this explains a lot. and thanks for the link to your guide. thanks again

This post has been edited by pusswuss: Aug 22 2011, 06:11 PM
Cybuster
post Aug 27 2011, 08:09 PM

Yõu Are Nöt Lònely...
590 posts

How much for this all? Price pls
banana
post Aug 28 2011, 12:30 PM

79 posts

Hi.. How does popcorn works with asiabox? Popcorn originally comes with Asiabox? Can popcorn watch live premier league?

Pretty basic question I am asking smile.gif am new to all these stuffs smile.gif

Added on August 28, 2011, 6:40 pmdoes A210 comes with Xun Lei? and Gou Gou?

This post has been edited by banana: Aug 28 2011, 06:40 PM
TSgo4pch
post Aug 29 2011, 09:49 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Aug 28 2011, 12:30 PM)
Hi.. How does popcorn works with asiabox? Popcorn originally comes with Asiabox? Can popcorn watch live premier league?

Pretty basic question I am asking smile.gif am new to all these stuffs smile.gif

Added on August 28, 2011, 6:40 pmdoes A210 comes with Xun Lei? and Gou Gou?
Hi bro,

Popcorn Hour not able to stream any Chinese Movies at the moment either Xun Lei, Gou Gou or PPS. If you are interesting for streaming of FREE Channel Popcorn Hour not suitable for you. You can look for many brands out there which is much more cheaper and can do streaming.

Popcorn Hour main for viewing Full HD Movies (Bluray) with HQ Pictures & Sound Quality and come with many many built-in features such as UPnP that enable you to have full control of your Home Digital Media.

Thank you.
banana
post Aug 31 2011, 09:31 AM

79 posts

yea...survey for a while and guess i will buy popcorn. 1 more question...does it rip BD?
Kiding
post Aug 31 2011, 12:16 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Aug 31 2011, 09:31 AM)
yea...survey for a while and guess i will buy popcorn. 1 more question...does it rip BD?
I never heard media player can rip BD rclxub.gif ohmy.gif doh.gif but, if you prefer everything all in one, get a HTPC will do.
banana
post Aug 31 2011, 01:35 PM

79 posts

i will buy A210 to couple with Oppo 93, Pioneer LX55... already bleed a lot... hopefully A210 can help abit... save up some BD cost...
TSgo4pch
post Aug 31 2011, 11:13 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Aug 31 2011, 09:31 AM)
Hi bro,

Popcorn not able to rip BD but able to rip audio CD.

Added on August 31, 2011, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(banana @ Aug 31 2011, 01:35 PM)
i will buy A210 to couple with Oppo 93, Pioneer LX55... already bleed a lot... hopefully A210 can help abit... save up some BD cost...
Thank you for your interest. I'm sure you won't regret. A lot of stuffs you can play around with. Anyway looking forward your favaourable order.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Aug 31 2011, 11:15 PM
banana
post Aug 31 2011, 11:22 PM

79 posts

i saw it selling at QB mall. any diff between buying online vs at retail shop?
TSgo4pch
post Aug 31 2011, 11:30 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Aug 31 2011, 11:22 PM)
i saw it selling at QB mall. any diff between buying online vs at retail shop?
no diff. same one.
banana
post Sep 26 2011, 11:44 PM

79 posts

hi all, just bought an A210. it cant detect my SATA HDD... do i need to format the hard disk first?

Added on September 27, 2011, 12:03 ami know whats wrong... didnt plug in the hdd power cable... but where is the power cable??

This post has been edited by banana: Sep 27 2011, 12:03 AM
TSgo4pch
post Sep 27 2011, 10:31 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Sep 26 2011, 11:44 PM)
hi all, just bought an A210. it cant detect my SATA HDD... do i need to format the hard disk first?

Added on September 27, 2011, 12:03 ami know whats wrong... didnt plug in the hdd power cable... but where is the power cable??
What type of HDD you put in 2.5"/3.5"? Is iz a new HDD? If so you required to Format. For A-210 you no need to plug-in power cable as the slot fit to your HDD already.
banana
post Sep 27 2011, 02:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Sep 27 2011, 08:01 AM)
What type of HDD you put in 2.5"/3.5"? Is iz a new HDD? If so you required to Format. For A-210 you no need to plug-in power cable as the slot fit to your HDD already.
3.5"... it only slot to data socket but not the power socket...

Added on September 27, 2011, 3:10 pmand yes this is a new HDD...

This post has been edited by banana: Sep 27 2011, 03:10 PM
TSgo4pch
post Sep 27 2011, 03:36 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Sep 27 2011, 02:50 PM)
3.5"... it only slot to data socket but not the power socket...
You may check on the hand-up manual included in the box for SATA HDD fixing. BTW, the data & power should join together.

You may look at below youtube but in Thai Language

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4pdAldVpUo

This post has been edited by go4pch: Sep 27 2011, 03:57 PM
pusswuss
post Sep 27 2011, 03:50 PM

24 posts

does the a210 support direct bdrip playback? the ones with bdmv and certificate folders?
TSgo4pch
post Sep 27 2011, 04:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(pusswuss @ Sep 27 2011, 03:50 PM)
does the a210 support direct bdrip playback? the ones with bdmv and certificate folders?
I remember I done it once but let me double confirm I'll comeback to you. Thanks.
banana
post Sep 27 2011, 08:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Sep 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
You may check on the hand-up manual included in the box for SATA HDD fixing. BTW, the data & power should join together.

You may look at below youtube but in Thai Language

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4pdAldVpUo
thanks... i installed correctly... maybe i should format the hdd... btw... how to format the hdd? i dont have a desktop at home...
TSgo4pch
post Sep 28 2011, 11:07 AM

162 posts

NMT Applications Installation

1. Navigate to "Setup" Screen.
2. Select "Maintenance".
3. Choose "NMT Setup Wizard" and follow the onscreen instructions.
4. At the "NMT Setup Wizard" screen, choose a setup option ("Typical Setup" or "Fresh Setup"). Please note that for "Fresh Setup" the system will format the entire HDD.
5. Next screen, confirm the HDD selection.
6. Select Next to format your HDD using the ext3 format.
7. At the warning notice screen, read the message and ensure that the correct selections have
been made. Select Next to go to the NMT Setup Source screen.
8. At the NMT Setup Source screen, select Online or USB according to the source of the update NMT
Applications file. To begin the NMT installation process, select Next. To perform a manual NMT
Applications installation, download the latest firmware package from the NMT website and unzip
the files into the root drive of a USB flash memory device.
9. Your NMT will restart when the installation is completed. Your NMT is now ready for use with
NMT Applications.
10. After completed you will have a fresh drive with 3 new folders namely (Music, Photo & Video).

Added on September 28, 2011, 11:10 am
QUOTE(banana @ Sep 27 2011, 08:09 PM)
thanks... i installed correctly... maybe i should format the hdd... btw... how to format the hdd? i dont have a desktop at home...
You can refer to my write up "NMT Applications Setup" above for HDD formatting.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Sep 28 2011, 11:11 AM
banana
post Sep 29 2011, 11:38 AM

79 posts

yep... done... thanks! smile.gif
EightPhantomz
post Sep 30 2011, 08:31 AM

1,766 posts

This looks cool. Cant decide between this and AC Ryan.
banana
post Oct 8 2011, 09:58 PM

79 posts

do anyone have a full guide how to map the network drive? or is there any simple way i can copy my media file into popcorn HDD?
RayKazansky
post Oct 9 2011, 09:38 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Sep 30 2011, 08:31 AM)
This looks cool. Cant decide between this and AC Ryan.
This and AC Ryan is like BMW 3-s vs. Hyundai Sonata unsure.gif
TSgo4pch
post Oct 9 2011, 10:49 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Oct 8 2011, 09:58 PM)
do anyone have a full guide how to map the network drive? or is there any simple way i can copy my media file into popcorn HDD?

Can I know you already installed NMT Application? If so, please search a computer from your desktop call either "PCH-210" or "PCH-200". Login default username and password as "nmt" & "1234".

timothyy
post Oct 23 2011, 08:25 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Hey.... wanna know when A300 is coming... thanks...
RayKazansky
post Nov 3 2011, 06:45 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 23 2011, 08:25 PM)
Hey.... wanna know when A300 is coming... thanks...
Right choice... ayam jeles.
TSgo4pch
post Nov 4 2011, 04:07 PM

162 posts

Thanks for the interest. Here below A-300 photo.

The differences between A-210 are below:

1. New chipset 8647 with 800MHz
2. NMJ v2
3. Support USB 3.0

Thank you.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Nov 4 2011, 04:07 PM
timothyy
post Nov 8 2011, 10:19 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

So... bro... A300 available? If so, please pm me ur price.
RayKazansky
post Nov 9 2011, 04:52 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

PM me the best price also. Thx
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 12:01 AM

1,766 posts

Interested with A300 also. Was thinking of getting the A210. See if the price is right for my wallet. wink.gif
ngboonaun
post Nov 12 2011, 12:35 AM

234 posts

3D bluray supported?
xpilon
post Nov 21 2011, 09:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 4 2011, 04:07 PM)
Thanks for the interest. Here below A-300 photo.

The differences between A-210 are below:

1. New chipset 8647 with 800MHz
2. NMJ v2
3. Support USB 3.0

Thank you.
Hi bro,

Interesting player. Any major changes beside the above?

RayKazansky
post Nov 21 2011, 11:42 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Nov 21 2011, 09:48 PM)
Hi bro,

Interesting player. Any major changes beside the above?
Major one should be the full flash interface, if not mistaken.
SukkieJKS
post Nov 21 2011, 11:50 PM

Ohhh...I Love this player, i just have one wink.gif
TSgo4pch
post Dec 1 2011, 11:44 PM

162 posts

Latest Added Apps: Karaoke Feature !
With this great features, you are now able to stream Karaoke Song ONLINE.

Enjoy.
banana
post Dec 6 2011, 10:54 PM

79 posts

hey... most songs need to pay one?

go4pch... i had few cue file not working... is it pch related?
TSgo4pch
post Dec 7 2011, 10:22 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Dec 6 2011, 10:54 PM)
hey... most songs need to pay one?

go4pch... i had few cue file not working... is it pch related?
You play under NMJ or from Filelist?
banana
post Dec 10 2011, 02:44 PM

79 posts

from file list
kelvin
post Dec 12 2011, 09:21 AM

467 posts

Even the Facebook app also need to pay ?? as need to key in the activation code sad.gif
TSgo4pch
post Dec 12 2011, 10:56 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Dec 12 2011, 09:21 AM)
Even the Facebook app also need to pay ?? as need to key in the activation code sad.gif
Hi Kelvin,

The Facebook app is FREE. All you have to do is just to activate with the code provided.

NO CHARGES bro !

styloh
post Dec 22 2011, 01:21 AM

25 posts

just received my A-210 from go4pch!

guys, i'm having a lil trouble here playing 720 bluray videos (.mkv) over my wireless connectivity (PC to PCH). i've setup myiHome, so I'm getting all my videos and music on my PC wirelessly. playing .avi movies is a no problemo. but when it comes to 720 .mkv files, i'm getting stuttering pictures (some may call it jerky)

anyone here is having the same setup as i am? can i know how do you solve it?
using usb dongle or homeplug? (not keen on running wired as it will mess up the floor tongue.gif)
my setup: i'm using Popcorn Hour Wifi Dongle (WN-150) and on my PC is the netgear WG111v2 54Gb (http://support.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/2557)

also, i tried hooking up my portable hdd straight to PCH, but PCH doesnt seem to be picking up my hdd. PCH pops up on the top right corner that it has found a usb disk and the disk/CD/DVD icon on PCH enabled. but there is nothing i can do with it. am i missing something here?

thanks in adv

Added on December 22, 2011, 1:29 amgo4pch, received the package in a good condition. nicely wrap like xmas present haha biggrin.gif

btw, the remote control that came with it was a little fault. the right button is too sensitive and there is no "click" feel & sound when i press it

This post has been edited by styloh: Dec 22 2011, 01:52 AM
alucard89
post Dec 22 2011, 02:25 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(styloh @ Dec 22 2011, 01:21 AM)

guys, i'm having a lil trouble here playing 720 bluray videos (.mkv) over my wireless connectivity (PC to PCH). i've setup myiHome, so I'm getting all my videos and music on my PC wirelessly. playing .avi movies is a no problemo. but when it comes to 720 .mkv files, i'm getting stuttering pictures (some may call it jerky)

using usb dongle or homeplug? (not keen on running wired as it will mess up the floor  tongue.gif)
my setup: i'm using Popcorn Hour Wifi Dongle (WN-150) and on my PC is the netgear WG111v2 54Gb (http://support.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/2557)

also, i tried hooking up my portable hdd straight to PCH, but PCH doesnt seem to be picking up my hdd. PCH pops up on the top right corner that it has found a usb disk and the disk/CD/DVD icon on PCH enabled. but there is nothing i can do with it. am i missing something here?

thanks in adv

Added on December 22, 2011, 1:29 amgo4pch, received the package in a good condition. nicely wrap like xmas present haha biggrin.gif

btw, the remote control that came with it was a little fault. the right button is too sensitive and there is no "click" feel & sound when i press it
Maybe you could use samba share instead of using myihome?
Last time I tried using wireless connection, I think I got 720p files playing smoothly but not so much for 1080p..
Not so sure about your hdd not getting detected, mine works just fine.
Try updating to the latest firmware.
willkso
post Dec 22 2011, 02:58 AM

993 posts

QUOTE(styloh @ Dec 22 2011, 02:21 AM)

using usb dongle or homeplug? (not keen on running wired as it will mess up the floor  tongue.gif)

thanks in adv

Maybe you need a wireless N router and wireless N dongle on your PC
styloh
post Dec 22 2011, 12:01 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 22 2011, 02:25 AM)
Maybe you could use samba share instead of using myihome?
Last time I tried using wireless connection, I think I got 720p files playing smoothly but not so much for 1080p..
Not so sure about your hdd not getting detected, mine works just fine.
Try updating to the latest firmware.
bro, what connection are you using now? homeplug or network cable?
alucard89
post Dec 22 2011, 12:15 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(styloh @ Dec 22 2011, 12:01 PM)
bro, what connection are you using now? homeplug or network cable?
Network cable and using TP Link WR1043nd router
TSgo4pch
post Dec 22 2011, 12:19 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(styloh @ Dec 22 2011, 01:21 AM)

For the above matter try update with latest firmware and please you network share for the streaming instead of myiHome. You can you myiHome to stream RMVB movies.

About the remote control, I can arrange for exchange. Is it that bad? Will PM you for the arrangement. Can you take picture and email to support@hdm.my.

styloh
post Dec 22 2011, 07:50 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 22 2011, 12:19 PM)
For the above matter try update with latest firmware and please you network share for the streaming instead of myiHome. You can you myiHome to stream RMVB movies.

About the remote control, I can arrange for exchange. Is it that bad? Will PM you for the arrangement. Can you take picture and email to support@hdm.my.

go4pch, yes i would appreciate it if you can arrange for an exchange. you cant see much from the picture. the right button is just a little slanted. but you will know that it is not working the way it is suppose to be when you dont feel the "click" when you press the right button compared to the up down left buttons
kelvin
post Jan 6 2012, 02:29 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 12 2011, 10:56 PM)
Hi Kelvin,

The Facebook app is FREE. All you have to do is just to activate with the code provided.

NO CHARGES bro !

Just PM you about C-300 inquiry. BTW, where I can find the Facebook actication code ??
TSgo4pch
post Jan 7 2012, 10:57 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jan 6 2012, 02:29 PM)
Just PM you about C-300 inquiry. BTW, where I can find the Facebook actication code ??
Follow the instruction below:
Goto to your computer web browser enter http://www.popbox.com/facebook to register. If you already have a Facebook account just enter your login information. After login you will be prompted the 6-digits activation code. After you got the code then proceed to the Facebook Apps in your media player and enter the 6-digits code. The next time you access the Facebook Apps from your player it won't prompted you the code again.

Thank you and enjoy.
工藤新一
post Mar 5 2012, 11:43 PM

472 posts

Hello bro, can pm me best price for both a-210 and c-200.
What is their different?
does it support BDMV or SSIF?
ChingChong
post Mar 26 2012, 10:51 AM

120 posts

C300?
TSgo4pch
post Mar 26 2012, 11:34 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ChingChong @ Mar 26 2012, 10:51 AM)
C300?
Yes Bro,

Anything I can help? C-300 & A-300 already in Malaysia Market. I just have no time to update with new thread.

Kiding
post Mar 26 2012, 06:29 PM

1,135 posts

Any of you guys experience this before, when playing True-HD movie, if the subtitle is enabled and the bitrate is kinda high like explosion in action scenes, the movie will stutter, if disable the subtitle, movie will play smoothly.

This issue doesn't happen for DTS-HD sound track movie, only for Dolby True-HD sound track, and some time PCH player not even able to detect True-HD sound track, need to rewind few second in order to detect it.

My Setup:

Anthem MRX 300
Popcorn Hour A-210 (Latest FW)
Optima HD 20

TSgo4pch
post Mar 26 2012, 10:50 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 26 2012, 06:29 PM)
Any of you guys experience this before, when playing True-HD movie, if the subtitle is enabled and the bitrate is kinda high like explosion in action scenes, the movie will stutter, if disable the subtitle, movie will play smoothly.

This issue doesn't happen for DTS-HD sound track movie, only for Dolby True-HD sound track, and some time PCH player not even able to detect True-HD sound track, need to rewind few second in order to detect it.

My Setup:

Anthem MRX 300
Popcorn Hour A-210 (Latest FW)
Optima HD 20
Are this happened to all movies? What is the audio setting "Passthrough" or "Downmix"? You connect via optical out / hdmi to your amp?
Kiding
post Mar 26 2012, 10:55 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Mar 26 2012, 10:50 PM)
Are this happened to all movies? What is the audio setting "Passthrough" or "Downmix"? You connect via optical out / hdmi to your amp?
Yes, all True-HD movie, such as Transformer 3, Super 8, etc. I use pass through mode via HDMI to my AMP.

When playing those movie, you can feel the media player is having slow response, the drop down menu when pressing info key feel like running 100% CPU utilization.

TSgo4pch
post Mar 26 2012, 11:02 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 26 2012, 10:55 PM)
Yes, all True-HD movie, such as Transformer 3, Super 8, etc. I use pass through mode via HDMI to my AMP.

When playing those movie, you can feel the media player is having slow response, the drop down menu when pressing info key feel like running 100% CPU utilization.
If there is the case try connect your audio output via Optical to see what is the outcome? If still happen I need to check with my technical dept to simulate it. Thanks.
Kiding
post Mar 26 2012, 11:48 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Mar 26 2012, 11:02 PM)
If there is the case try connect your audio output via Optical to see what is the outcome? If still happen I need to check with my technical dept to simulate it. Thanks.
Go optical I will lose True-HD sound track as DTS master HD and TrueHD must via HDMI, Optical SPDIF doesn't have enough bandwidth to it.

The thing puzzle me is if I turn off the subtitle, it will play smoothly, no problem at all. I'm thinking I may need to re-flash the firmware again, something could went wrong as I remember it didn't have this issue before. BTW, how come the A-210 firmware didn't get updated since May, 2011? no more firmware developing on A-210?
ChingChong
post Mar 27 2012, 03:39 PM

120 posts

C-300 u sell how much? its the best from pch right?
TSgo4pch
post Mar 27 2012, 04:29 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 26 2012, 11:48 PM)
Go optical I will lose True-HD sound track as DTS master HD and TrueHD must via HDMI, Optical SPDIF doesn't have enough bandwidth to it.

The thing puzzle me is if I turn off the subtitle, it will play smoothly, no problem at all. I'm thinking I may need to re-flash the firmware again, something could went wrong as I remember it didn't have this issue before. BTW, how come the A-210 firmware didn't get updated since May, 2011? no more firmware developing on A-210?
You play from HDD / Networked / USB? This might to do with bandwidth resources.
Kiding
post Mar 27 2012, 06:31 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Mar 27 2012, 04:29 PM)
You play from HDD / Networked / USB? This might to do with bandwidth resources.
I stream it from NFS server, I don't think it is bandwidth issue, because turn off the subtitle, it play smoothly. subtitle is SRT format, it just a few KB file.

Just wanna know, can I flash the overwrite the firmware with the same firmware version?

TSgo4pch
post Mar 28 2012, 09:31 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 27 2012, 06:31 PM)
I stream it from NFS server, I don't think it is bandwidth issue, because turn off the subtitle, it play smoothly. subtitle is SRT format, it just a few KB file.

Just wanna know, can I flash the overwrite the firmware with the same firmware version?
Yes you can do so but recommend you to flash it from USB thumb drive. Before that you may try "reset to factory default" if you don't mind. Can I know how you switch off the unit usually?
ghane
post Mar 28 2012, 10:32 AM

Long story:

(Part 1, of use to people deciding what to buy).

In 2007, I decided to try and find a player that would output directly to my TV. I was using my PC for this, but the PC was noisy, cables would get loose, etc.

It took 6 months to find Syabas (remember, this is 2007). Another 3 months to find out who would sell me one (I am next door in Singapore). Finally, in April 2008, I bought a PCH licenced-clone, the iStar HDMI Mini (company no longer in operation). This cost me US$215, plus shipping.

The box has performed wonderfully. About an year ago, the CPU fan died, replaced from Sim Lim. Apart from that, there have been no issues. Plays whatever I throw at it. Has run 24x7x365x4 , non-stop.

After I bought this pals would ask, and I would tell them: get a PCH if you can afford it, and if you can find a place to buy it, else there are lots and lots of "alternatives", much cheaper. Most ended up buying random eGreats, etc.

Last year, I bought a WDTV Live for my brother, at under US$60. Works well, he is happy.

Also last year, pal of mine in India was unhappy with the confusion over what to buy, I told him to get a PCH, he got one (waited for it to be shipped from wherever), and he is exceedingly happy, and making others buy one too. Oh, and this guy has good years and eyes, so can appreciate quality of output.

(Part 2, why I am here).

So Pal in India (P1) is asked by another Pal (P2) to recommend. P1 insists that nothing but an original PCH will do. But PCH not available in India :-(

I am tasked to locate and bring to India a PCH. The Syabas website makes no commitments on delivery, and I am running out of time. The Singapore guys never replied. Then I located HDM!!!

(Part 3)
Thanks to the service and patience of their staff, (KW, Henry, others), and their flexibility in accomodating my requirements (payment method, urgency), I got a PCH-A300 yesterday from them. Paid on Friday, shipped Monday evening, arrived (in SG) Tuesday afternoon.

HDM, it was a pleasure doing business with you.

--
Sanjeev
mamasos
post Mar 28 2012, 04:13 PM

176 posts

pm me the price fo C-300.
ASAP
post Mar 29 2012, 09:53 AM

1,645 posts

I have a PCH C200 for past few years and wondering their new firmware has stopped in May 2011. Wondering whether they have stopped their support for this item.

I am having problem whenever I turn on the subtitle and the player stopped playing and have to restart the player again. Any solution? Thanks
TSgo4pch
post Mar 29 2012, 10:59 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Mar 29 2012, 09:53 AM)
I have a PCH C200 for past few years and wondering their new firmware has stopped in May 2011. Wondering whether they have stopped their support for this item.

I am having problem whenever I turn on the subtitle and the player stopped playing and have to restart the player again. Any solution? Thanks
How do you want me to help you bro? Your question too general. Can you tell me what type of movie you are playing (BD, MKV, MOV or ....)? All the movies also like that or just a single movie?

Added on March 29, 2012, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(mamasos @ Mar 28 2012, 04:13 PM)
pm me the price fo C-300.
You got PM.

Added on March 29, 2012, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(ghane @ Mar 28 2012, 10:32 AM)
Long story:

(Part 1, of use to people deciding what to buy).

In 2007, I decided to try and find a player that would output directly to my TV.  I was using my PC for this, but the PC was noisy, cables would get loose, etc.

It took 6 months to find Syabas (remember, this is 2007).  Another 3 months to find out who would sell me one (I am next door in Singapore).  Finally, in April 2008, I bought a PCH licenced-clone, the iStar HDMI Mini (company no longer in operation).  This cost me US$215, plus shipping.

The box has performed wonderfully.  About an year ago, the CPU fan died, replaced from Sim Lim.  Apart from that, there have been no issues.  Plays whatever I throw at it.  Has run 24x7x365x4 , non-stop.

After I bought this pals would ask, and I would tell them: get a PCH if you can afford it, and if you can find a place to buy it, else there are lots and lots of "alternatives", much cheaper.  Most ended up buying random eGreats, etc.

Last year, I bought a WDTV Live for my brother, at under US$60.  Works well, he is happy.

Also last year, pal of mine in India was unhappy with the confusion over what to buy, I told him to get a PCH, he got one (waited for it to be shipped from wherever), and he is exceedingly happy, and making others buy one too.  Oh, and this guy has good years and eyes, so can appreciate quality of output.

(Part 2, why I am here).

So Pal in India (P1) is asked by another Pal (P2) to recommend.  P1 insists that nothing but an original PCH will do.  But PCH not available in India :-(

I am tasked to locate and bring to India a PCH.  The Syabas website makes no commitments on delivery, and I am running out of time.  The Singapore guys never replied.  Then I located HDM!!!

(Part 3)
Thanks to the service and patience of their staff, (KW, Henry, others), and their flexibility in accomodating my requirements (payment method, urgency), I got a PCH-A300 yesterday from them.  Paid on Friday, shipped Monday evening, arrived (in SG) Tuesday afternoon.

HDM, it was a pleasure doing business with you.

--
Sanjeev
Thank you bro Sanjeev. This is our pleasure to serve you. Hope you can recommend more friend to us and also ask your friend to join this PCH Community over here.

Added on March 29, 2012, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(ChingChong @ Mar 27 2012, 03:39 PM)
C-300 u sell how much? its the best from pch right?
You got PM.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Mar 29 2012, 11:04 PM
anthonywcl
post Mar 30 2012, 10:01 AM

585 posts

Looks great. Might consider getting one hmm.gif
ASAP
post Mar 30 2012, 04:52 PM

1,645 posts

[quote=go4pch,Mar 29 2012, 10:59 PM]
How do you want me to help you bro? Your question too general. Can you tell me what type of movie you are playing (BD, MKV, MOV or ....)? All the movies also like that or just a single movie?

Regarding the subtitles, the problem happens in all movies, mkv and avi. When I turn on the subtitle, the movie stopped and cannot play the file again. I have unplug the cable to restart. Thanks
xpilon
post Apr 4 2012, 10:17 PM

55 posts

[quote=ASAP,Mar 30 2012, 04:52 PM]
[quote=go4pch,Mar 29 2012, 10:59 PM]

Regarding the subtitles, the problem happens in all movies, mkv and avi. When I turn on the subtitle, the movie stopped and cannot play the file again. I have unplug the cable to restart. Thanks

[/quote]

You may try hardware reset.
ASAP
post Apr 4 2012, 10:34 PM

1,645 posts

Now I have another problem. When I power on the button, the power button blinks white and red repeatedly and there is nothing on the screen. Is the PSU not working? Thanks
hmwong
post Apr 7 2012, 08:25 PM

387 posts

Life is too short for me. I love to watch movies but can't spend too much hours in front of the idiot box.

Sometimes on PC, I watched movies with increased speed, say 1.5X to 1.7X so that I can finished the movie during lunch-time.

Does any media players has such feature?
xpilon
post Apr 9 2012, 09:40 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(hmwong @ Apr 7 2012, 08:25 PM)
Life is too short for me. I love to watch movies but can't spend too much hours in front of the idiot box.

Sometimes on PC, I watched movies with increased speed, say 1.5X to 1.7X so that I can finished the movie during lunch-time.

Does any media players has such feature?
This feature I think most of the player oso can perform.
alvincks
post Apr 9 2012, 11:14 PM

1,499 posts

Hey Friends,

How's does this compare to Dune Smart H1 ? kindly please let me know the price as well ?
ghane
post Apr 10 2012, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(hmwong @ Apr 7 2012, 08:25 PM)
Waaah! I think you are starting a new concept: tl;dw (too Long, Didn't Watch), like tl;dr
tl;dr definition
johnlimsk
post Apr 16 2012, 11:23 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Apr 9 2012, 11:14 PM)
Hey Friends,

How's does this compare to Dune Smart H1 ? kindly please let me know the price as well ?
The pix & sound wise Dune Smart can't compete la... Popcorn Hour wins.
csyow331
post Apr 17 2012, 01:07 PM

41 posts

i am interested in the PCH player, can you pm me your price, thanks.
Skylinestar
post Apr 17 2012, 09:31 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

price for PCH A300 and C300 please?
TSgo4pch
post Apr 17 2012, 10:15 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(csyow331 @ Apr 17 2012, 01:07 PM)
i am interested in the PCH player, can you pm me your price, thanks.
You got PM.

Added on April 17, 2012, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
price for PCH A300 and C300 please?
You got PM.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Apr 17 2012, 10:15 PM
gaszer
post May 17 2012, 10:42 PM

Where can i get it and how much. What are the models available now. Please PM. Thanks.

Added on May 17, 2012, 10:42 pmWhere can i get it and how much. What are the models available now. Please PM. Thanks.

This post has been edited by gaszer: May 17 2012, 10:42 PM
TSgo4pch
post May 17 2012, 10:51 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(gaszer @ May 17 2012, 10:42 PM)
Where can i get it and how much. What are the models available now. Please PM. Thanks.

Added on May 17, 2012, 10:42 pmWhere can i get it and how much. What are the models available now. Please PM. Thanks.
Where you from?
gaszer
post May 18 2012, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(go4pch @ May 17 2012, 10:51 PM)
Where you from?
Kuala Lumpur.
lee82gx
post May 22 2012, 11:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

anyone did a speed test of the networked transfer rate via the Gigabit port?
I have a Gigabit network at home and would like to use this as a NAS for photo editing and need at least 20MEGABYTE/s transfer speeds.
ghane
post May 22 2012, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 22 2012, 11:25 PM)
anyone did a speed test of the networked transfer rate via the Gigabit port?
I have a Gigabit network at home and would like to use this as a NAS for photo editing and need at least 20MEGABYTE/s transfer speeds.
The internal HDD controller chipset for the PCH (and similar players) is extremely slow. This is for two reasons:

1. Cost of chipset
2. Power (remember, all power you consume becomes heat)

As such, there is no way you will get more than a few MB (I estimate 5 MB/s, 50Mb/s) in actual read/write speed to the disk. There simply isn't enough horsepower there, and insufficient use of NCQ, etc.

Why is this not a problem, normally? Think of the files you play. A 720p movie, 90 mins, is 2GB. So you need 22MB/min read speed. That is MUCH LESS THAN 1MB/s !!!! (Sorry for shouting. but this is critical). Compare this to the 5MB/s that you can achieve. You have enough headroom for even your 10GB movie rips.

So in normal practice, when using the PCH as a media player, disk speed is so low a constraint that you would not even bother to benchmark. That is why it makes no difference if you have a 10000RPM Raptor, or a cheap USB dongle, for playing your BR Rips.

(And this is the entire point of x264, mp4, etc. We are using compression to lower the physical bit rate required).

However, if you use the PCH as a NAS, and start expecting it to serve your 200MB photoshop.psd file, you WILL hit speed bumps.

You may achieve 20MB/s over the network interface (I have my doubts, the Gigabit chip is being run in a low-power mode as well), but there in no place for the PCH to write a 20MB/s stream to.

(And by the way, most nome NAS boxes also claim Gigabit interfaces, but their disk access speed is poor. )

--
Sanjeev Gupta
Happy PCH user for 4 years
lee82gx
post May 22 2012, 11:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ghane @ May 22 2012, 11:46 PM)
The internal HDD controller chipset for the PCH (and similar players) is extremely slow.  This is for two reasons:

1. Cost of chipset

As such, there is no way you will get more than a few MB (I estimate 5 MB/s, 50Mb/s) in actual read/write speed to the disk.  There simply isn't enough horsepower there, and insufficient use of NCQ, etc.

Why is this not a problem, normally?  Think of the files you play.  A 720p movie, 90 mins, is 2GB.  So you need 22MB/min read speed.  That is MUCH LESS THAN 1MB/s !!!!  (Sorry for shouting. but this is critical).  Compare this to the 5MB/s that you can achieve.  You have enough headroom for even your 10GB movie rips.

So in normal practice, when using the PCH as a media player, disk speed is so low a constraint that you would not even bother to benchmark.  That is why it makes no difference if you have a 10000RPM Raptor, or a cheap USB dongle, for playing your BR Rips. 

(And this is the entire point of x264, mp4, etc.  We are using compression to lower the physical bit rate required).

However, if you use the PCH as a NAS, and start expecting it to serve your 200MB photoshop.psd file, you WILL hit speed bumps.

You may achieve 20MB/s over the network interface (I have my doubts, the Gigabit chip is being run in a low-power mode as well), but there in no place for the PCH to write a 20MB/s stream to.

(And by the way, most nome NAS boxes also claim Gigabit interfaces, but their disk access speed is poor. )

--
Sanjeev Gupta

thanks for the heads up, i held back on 1 generation of media players for this reason, guess it'll be the same still now.

There is another reason to expect a high transfer speed which is to directly store downloaded movie files. But at 5-10Mb/S isn't it just plain slow ? With a 3.5in HDD inside, it'll take days to fill up 1TB no?
ghane
post May 23 2012, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 22 2012, 11:55 PM)
thanks for the heads up, i held back on 1 generation of media players for this reason, guess it'll be the same still now.

There is another reason to expect a high transfer speed which is to directly store downloaded movie files. But at 5-10Mb/S isn't it just plain slow ? With a 3.5in HDD inside, it'll take days to fill up 1TB no?
The answer to that, as it is with any question more complicated than "teh or teh ais", is "It Depends" cool2.gif

If you are torrenting, then the 5MB/s nicely matches your disk speed, and all is good. (Remember, 5MB/s is 50Mb/s).

If you have a TB of content previously available on your PC, I recommend setting up the PCH, then removing the disk and connecting it to your PC, copy over stuff, move back. Future add/delete can be via the network.

Or, you leave your copy (I use NMTinstaller to install rsync on the PCH) running over the weekend. Remember, the actual read required by the PCH from the disk is so low, that you will not see stuttering if you are playing stuff while a copy is in progress.

Syabas is not trying to screw us, but heat is a significant issue in consumer appliances, especially when they are being bought for their "quiet, fan-less, no vent holes" cases. And your PCH is probably sitting right over the exhaust holes of your 250W 42" plasma ... vmad.gif

--
Sanjeev Gupta
kapultek
post May 23 2012, 08:33 PM

1,376 posts

So which popcorn model to get
TSgo4pch
post May 24 2012, 10:32 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ May 23 2012, 08:33 PM)
So which popcorn model to get
What is your budget?
itsjustme
post Jun 6 2012, 03:43 PM

37 posts

Hello Dear Popcorn,

What is the price for C-300... thank you so much
TSgo4pch
post Jun 7 2012, 02:52 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(itsjustme @ Jun 6 2012, 03:43 PM)
Hello Dear Popcorn,

What is the price for C-300... thank you so much
You got PM.
beacon123
post Jun 10 2012, 08:18 PM

26 posts

pls pm me your price for A300/C300. thanks
jameskam
post Jun 11 2012, 11:29 AM

pls pm me the c300?
dick1971
post Jun 12 2012, 10:38 AM

21 posts

Pm me price a300/c300..
AW55699
post Jun 12 2012, 10:53 AM

53 posts

pm me the price bro
D_Y2k.4^
post Jun 12 2012, 02:25 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

Has C300 arrive?
TSgo4pch
post Jun 12 2012, 03:38 PM

162 posts

Dear All Popcorn Hour C-200 User,

Good news for you!

New C-200 Firmware available for update. You can update directly online from your player or download it to the USB drive and perform update from there.

The new firmware update include,
1. New Apps Market.
2. Support .mpeg, .vob, .dat LL/RR/Stereo track switching (usually for Karaoke functions).

New Firmware Update Download Link

Have a great experience.

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Jun 12 2012, 02:25 PM)
Has C300 arrive?
Yes, arrived since March, 2012.

johnlimsk
post Jun 12 2012, 06:15 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jun 12 2012, 03:38 PM)
Dear All Popcorn Hour C-200 User,

Good news for you!

New C-200 Firmware available for update. You can update directly online from your player or download it to the USB drive and perform update from there.

The new firmware update include,
1. New Apps Market.
2. Support .mpeg, .vob, .dat LL/RR/Stereo track switching (usually for Karaoke functions).

New Firmware Update Download Link

Have a great experience.
Yes, arrived since March, 2012.
How about A-210?

Gary
post Jun 12 2012, 07:11 PM

267 posts

bro, is c-200 capable to play Blu -ray interactive menu?
i am using ac ryan pohd mini and it cant play the Blu-ray interactive menu.
only can play BD Lite menu.
Please pm me for best price and where can i buy this c-200?
TSgo4pch
post Jun 16 2012, 11:15 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(johnlimsk @ Jun 12 2012, 06:15 PM)
How about A-210?
Yes coming soon...

Added on June 16, 2012, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(Gary @ Jun 12 2012, 07:11 PM)
bro, is c-200 capable to play Blu -ray interactive menu?
i am using ac ryan pohd mini and it cant play the Blu-ray interactive menu.
only can play BD Lite menu.
Please pm me for best price and where can i buy this c-200?
Yes bro. C-200 can play not only Simple BD/BD Lite but Full BD Navigation.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Jun 16 2012, 11:17 PM
Gary
post Jun 16 2012, 11:44 PM

267 posts

I am trying to sell off my POHD mini 2 before buying this. Please pm me for best price bro. Thanks.
TSgo4pch
post Jun 17 2012, 12:00 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Gary @ Jun 16 2012, 11:44 PM)
I am trying to sell off my POHD mini 2 before buying this. Please pm me for best price bro. Thanks.
I already PM you.
ASAP
post Jun 17 2012, 10:40 PM

1,645 posts

do you sell the power supply unit for C-200?

Please also pm me the price of C300. Thanks.
bowgart
post Jul 3 2012, 09:09 PM

can you pm me price for a300/c300...
TSgo4pch
post Jul 12 2012, 11:21 PM

162 posts

Dear All,

New firmware update available. Please follow below link and instruction on the page to update your device.

Popcorn Hour C-200 Update Link

Popcorn Hour C-300 Update Link

Have a nice day.
Thank you.
Kiding
post Aug 11 2012, 11:31 AM

1,135 posts

Finally new firmware updated on popcorn hour A-200/210

http://www.popcornhour.com/download/A200/firmware-A200.html

but the latest firmware on August 10 required minimum firmware version to use this NMT App is 03-04-120727-21-POP-411-000 which released on July 31

then go to firmware 03-04-120727-21-POP-411-000, it said the min firmware required is also itself? what does it mean?

horseman
post Aug 11 2012, 08:47 PM

105 posts

Need a player that can replace my old asiabox, is pch a right choice? Please kindly pm your best price for both a300 and c300 and hopefully you can recommend something similar to asiabox....for your info, my family loves Hong Kong drama...but asiabox didn't provide any new drama even I have paid for subscription fee.....so I'm really eager to get a more reliable one......thanks
lightning69
post Sep 5 2012, 10:03 AM

2,298 posts

Can PM me the price of a300 and c300 please.
jacklsw86
post Sep 21 2012, 02:39 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

finally got my A-210. very nice user experience. personally, i feel that the buttons design in the remote control could be better. the buttons mostly feels like 2D-ish
TSgo4pch
post Sep 21 2012, 08:58 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Sep 21 2012, 02:39 PM)
finally got my A-210. very nice user experience. personally, i feel that the buttons design in the remote control could be better. the buttons mostly feels like 2D-ish
Thanks. You are welcome to the world of Popcorn Hour.

Added on September 21, 2012, 9:02 pm

A-400 Coming Soon !!

1. Power by Sigma Design Dual Core processor

2. Enhanced video performance with the VXP Video Processor

3. with Much anticipated Blu-Ray 3D Movies

4. New NMJ Navigator companion screen interactive Apps for iOS & Android OS(will get announced soon).
(Movie Jukebox on your iPad, browse your collection with ease and interact with your TV in a new way)

This post has been edited by go4pch: Sep 21 2012, 09:02 PM
jacklsw86
post Sep 24 2012, 07:57 AM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Aug 11 2012, 11:31 AM)
Finally new firmware updated on popcorn hour A-200/210

http://www.popcornhour.com/download/A200/firmware-A200.html

but the latest firmware on August 10 required minimum firmware version to use this NMT App is 03-04-120727-21-POP-411-000 which released on July 31

then go to firmware 03-04-120727-21-POP-411-000, it said the min firmware required is also itself? what does it mean?
That is the minimum firmware to support the MNT application installed by the latest firmware which means if you downgrade your firmware to july 12, you can still use the NMT apps installed.
gsshaw
post Oct 18 2012, 12:52 PM

15 posts

I'm after a new Media Player but I can't work out the key differences between the C-300 and A-300 / A-400 will there be a C-400?
Any comparison chart anywhere?

I'm after (MINIMUM): USB 3, Gigabyte LAN, for copying movies quickly from LAN Networked PC's.

I like the idea of Fully Automated Networked Media Jukebox Creation but my previous experience with my current AC RYAN PlayON HD ACR-PV73100 has been appauling (I will Never buy an AC Ryan Product ever again)

I like the idea of a built in Blu-Ray Player to clear some of the CD-DVD players from around the TV but can you back-up a Blu-Ray to an ISO or similar?

When is A-400 due in? http://www.popcornhour.com don't even list it, but I'm guessing the Sigma Design Dual Core processor will be a huge boost to performance?

PM me some prices and recomendations, please.
TSgo4pch
post Oct 18 2012, 04:07 PM

162 posts

Introducing - Popcorn Hour A-400

The Popcorn Hour A-400 is the latest in our lineup media streamers in Popcorn Hour family. Powered by Sigma Designs' Dual Core CPU, it supports 3D Blu-Rays and enhanced video performance with the VXP Video Processor.

A-400 Features:

-Sigma Design SMP8911, Dual Core CPU
-VXP Video Processor
-Blu-Rays 3D Support
-2nd Companion Screen Apps (available from Apps Market)
-BT & Usenet Client Download
-Samba & VFS Support
-UPnP Media Streaming
-eSATA & USB 3.0
-SD Card Reader
-Support 2.5" / 3.5" SATA HDD
-Silent Passive Cooling

* Casing Designed by SilverStone

Thank you.
www.hdm.my

This post has been edited by go4pch: Oct 18 2012, 04:08 PM
Elanges
post Oct 18 2012, 09:42 PM

706 posts

How much this a 400 cost ??
TSgo4pch
post Oct 18 2012, 10:44 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(gsshaw @ Oct 18 2012, 12:52 PM)
I'm after a new Media Player but I can't work out the key differences between the C-300 and A-300 / A-400 will there be a C-400?
Any comparison chart anywhere?

I'm after (MINIMUM): USB 3, Gigabyte LAN, for copying movies quickly from LAN Networked PC's.

I like the idea of Fully Automated Networked Media Jukebox Creation but my previous experience with my current AC RYAN PlayON HD ACR-PV73100 has been appauling (I will Never buy an AC Ryan Product ever again)

I like the idea of a built in Blu-Ray Player to clear some of the CD-DVD players from around the TV but can you back-up a Blu-Ray to an ISO or similar?

When is A-400 due in? http://www.popcornhour.com don't even list it, but I'm guessing the Sigma Design Dual Core processor will be a huge boost to performance?

PM me some prices and recomendations, please.
The differences between "A" & "C" series usually "C" series come with,
1. More Compartment for BD-ROM & HDD.
2. Front LCD Display (Color LED for C-300).
3. More USB Ports.
4. RF Remote Control.
5. Playback Commercial BD
6. Support Mini PCI Wifi N-Card (802.11N).

A-400 Only Available from November, 2012 onward ! (no confirmation date obtain yet)

gsshaw
post Oct 25 2012, 10:45 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ghane @ May 22 2012, 11:46 PM)
The internal HDD controller chipset for the PCH (and similar players) is extremely slow.  This is for two reasons:

1. Cost of chipset

As such, there is no way you will get more than a few MB (I estimate 5 MB/s, 50Mb/s) in actual read/write speed to the disk.  There simply isn't enough horsepower there, and insufficient use of NCQ, etc.

Why is this not a problem, normally?  Think of the files you play.  A 720p movie, 90 mins, is 2GB.  So you need 22MB/min read speed.  That is MUCH LESS THAN 1MB/s !!!!  (Sorry for shouting. but this is critical).  Compare this to the 5MB/s that you can achieve.  You have enough headroom for even your 10GB movie rips.

So in normal practice, when using the PCH as a media player, disk speed is so low a constraint that you would not even bother to benchmark.  That is why it makes no difference if you have a 10000RPM Raptor, or a cheap USB dongle, for playing your BR Rips. 

(And this is the entire point of x264, mp4, etc.  We are using compression to lower the physical bit rate required).

--
Sanjeev Gupta
This has been an enlightning explanation, thanks, I must click your reputation.

Let me get this right, even though Popcorn and all the others claim Gigabit interface they will never be able to achieve it?

What frustrates me most is having what is supposed to be a Gigabit NAS Media Player which when I try to copy movies from my Network PC via wired LAN using SAMBA or similar to the Internal HD on the Media Player it takes forever.

By the way, I personally don't have a Gigabit Media player at the moment I have an old AC Ryan PlayOn HD, ACR-PV73100 which I have really regretted buying, in simple terms it has never done everything AC Ryan claimed, again the most frustrating thing being the Network / SAMBA interface. Forget things like YAMJ the network speed is far to slow, forget copying large 1GB plus movie files over the Network, overnight at best, mostly crashes.
My friend has the PlayOn HD 2 and it seems no better except the GUI is faster / more stable.

That being said I am looking for a new Media Player but from what I'm reading here nothing on the market now or being released soon will meet my specific requirements, namely Gigabit transfer of files over the network from a network PC to an Internal Media Player HDD, right?

Seems like like I need a seperate HDD, WD My Book Essential or similar, except I don't know of one with BOTH USB (2 or 3) AND LAN, the LAN to copy stuff from the Network PC and the USB to be conected to the Media Player. Any suggestions?

jimmyay
post Oct 25 2012, 03:31 PM

228 posts

Please PM me best price for PCH..all model please. I am currently using Asiabox.
ngboonaun
post Oct 27 2012, 02:11 AM

234 posts

i read some review,A-400 only supports lite menu,not like C-300 can play full menu.
TSgo4pch
post Oct 30 2012, 09:56 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ngboonaun @ Oct 27 2012, 02:11 AM)
i read some review,A-400 only supports lite menu,not like C-300 can play full menu.
"C" series usually is a top-end model. Surely come with all features.

k3lvincs
post Oct 30 2012, 07:49 PM

Bro,pls pm me a400 & c300.tq
formalin
post Oct 31 2012, 11:45 AM

114 posts

Bro,pls also pm me a400 & c300

TQ

csyow331
post Oct 31 2012, 07:04 PM

41 posts

i want to know the price for a400 & c300 also, is this player can play BD?

gsshaw
post Oct 31 2012, 10:07 PM

15 posts

I hear the price for A-400 will be circa = RM999/=
Sounded a bit over my budget, even a C400 at RM 999.00 would be stretching my budget unless it had a HDD and / or BluRay Player already installed.

Anyway maybe they will re-think the price when they launch.

This post has been edited by gsshaw: Nov 1 2012, 07:01 PM
jimmyleongcs
post Nov 1 2012, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(gsshaw @ Oct 31 2012, 10:07 PM)
Sounded a bit pricey to me, even a C400 at RM 999.00 would be stretching it unless it had a HDD and / or BluRay Player already installed.

Hi, do you think Ferrari will re-think the price when they launch?
chrishan72
post Nov 1 2012, 03:02 PM

18 posts

Sounded a bit pricey to me, even a C400 at RM 999.00 would be stretching it unless it had a HDD and / or BluRay Player already installed.

Interesting!
I would very interested to know your justification. Bro, can you share share your view why a bit pricey? Actually I'm planning to get another unit for my living room.

I already own a C-200 some 2 years back with price of RM1299. I feel very worth it every single sen I spend. It's indeed a good networked media player around with all the great features and quality.

Thank you.

TSgo4pch
post Nov 1 2012, 05:24 PM

162 posts

I'm a bit confusing.... rclxub.gif You PM me for the price but you posted here.
I never mentioned anything about C-400.
Wonder what is your intention?

Please do your home work before commenting. Sorry if I get you wrong.

Thank you very much.

gsshaw
post Nov 1 2012, 06:58 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 1 2012, 05:24 PM)
I'm a bit confusing.... rclxub.gif You PM me for the price but you posted here.
I never mentioned anything about C-400.
Wonder what is your intention?

Please do your home work before commenting. Sorry if I get you wrong.

Thank you very much.
No sorry, no 'intention' accidentally hit a post instead of a PM to csyow331.

Correct, you did not mention anything about a C-400, I was just extending the principle of there being a A-300 >> C-300 and presumed at some stage there would be a A-400 >> C-400. I liked the additional features of the C version.

I will have to do my homework, nothing much to compare the A-400 to at the moment, so I guess that alone explains....
Found a link if anyone wants a nice neat hard copy of the A-400 spec: A-400 PDF Brochure

I was trying to say if it was a 'C' spec at RM 999 it would still stretch my budget but I'd probably buy anyway.
Sorry no offence intended, still think the A-400 is a superb 'Ferrari / Rolls' spec, I just need to have a budget to match!

Talking about competition, actually competition is not the right word, it's not even in the same game, is it true AC RYAN are BANKRUPT!
Good luck with warranty if you thinking of buying one of their products, they were bad enough when they were in business.
AC RYAN Bites the Dust!

There is saying "I know you heard what I said, but did you understand what I meant" so I edited the post to better say what I meant!

This post has been edited by gsshaw: Nov 2 2012, 12:25 PM
vincentpaul
post Nov 1 2012, 10:46 PM

Hello, Pls pm best price for c-300 + shipping cost to ipoh
TSgo4pch
post Nov 6 2012, 04:31 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(gsshaw @ Nov 1 2012, 06:58 PM)
No sorry, no 'intention' accidentally hit a post instead of a PM to csyow331.

Correct, you did not mention anything about a C-400, I was just extending the principle of there being a A-300 >> C-300 and presumed at some stage there would be a A-400 >> C-400. I liked the additional features of the C version.

I will have to do my homework, nothing much to compare the A-400 to at the moment, so I guess that alone explains....
Found a link if anyone wants a nice neat hard copy of the A-400 spec: A-400 PDF Brochure

I was trying to say if it was a 'C' spec at RM 999 it would still stretch my budget but I'd probably buy anyway.
Sorry no offence intended, still think the A-400 is a superb 'Ferrari / Rolls' spec, I just need to have a budget to match!

Talking about competition, actually competition is not the right word, it's not even in the same game, is it true AC RYAN are BANKRUPT!
Good luck with warranty if you thinking of buying one of their products, they were bad enough when they were in business.
AC RYAN Bites the Dust!

There is saying "I know you heard what I said, but did you understand what I meant" so I edited the post to better say what I meant!
Bro,

No hard feeling. I'm OK.
As long as you are affordable then I would said your investment paid off.

If you look for quality stuffs the price isn't come cheap. If not why people spend hundred of thousand of dollars just for their AV rooms.

Lacersan
post Nov 6 2012, 07:34 PM

102 posts

Which should I get for karaoke streaming apps?

TSgo4pch
post Nov 6 2012, 10:33 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Lacersan @ Nov 6 2012, 07:34 PM)
Which should I get for karaoke streaming apps?
Get it from the Popcorn Hour own Apps Market. What model are you using?
Lacersan
post Nov 6 2012, 10:45 PM

102 posts

I don't own one yet.

I am planning to get a media player like popcorn hour, just what does this unit do that other media player doesn't?

I would like one that does offline karaoke.

cyclone2
post Nov 7 2012, 12:29 AM

427 posts

Interest on A-400, pls pm me the price.

TSgo4pch
post Nov 7 2012, 10:36 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Lacersan @ Nov 6 2012, 10:45 PM)
I don't own one yet.

I am planning to get a media player like popcorn hour, just what does this unit do that other media player doesn't?

I would like one that does offline karaoke.
The existing Karaoke apps is for online streaming only.
Popcorn Hour can playback Karaoke media offline as well.

wuanzi
post Nov 7 2012, 08:54 PM

235 posts

Does popcornhour have a factory here in our country? Penang? if so then why can't our market get a first glimpse of the new flagship?

Added on November 7, 2012, 8:55 pmon a separate note, i think ggshaw's concerns about the price is a genuine one, he is not wrong to ask why popcornhour's product should not be economical. So perhaps people should cut him some slacks? cheers.

This post has been edited by wuanzi: Nov 7 2012, 08:55 PM
jacklsw86
post Nov 7 2012, 09:00 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

nope, popcornhour doesn't have its production factory here in malaysia though its firmware and software development is in penang.
TSgo4pch
post Nov 7 2012, 10:21 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(wuanzi @ Nov 7 2012, 08:54 PM)
Does popcornhour have a factory here in our country? Penang? if so then why can't our market get a first glimpse of the new flagship?

Added on November 7, 2012, 8:55 pmon a separate note, i think ggshaw's concerns about the price is a genuine one, he is not wrong to ask why popcornhour's product should not be economical.  So perhaps people should cut him some slacks? cheers.
We did proposed to Syabas about the local market requirements. Hopefully they will come out a model that suite our Asian market and more economical.

However, Popcorn Hour still their flagship high-end products, well accepted by western country. I don't think they will get rip of it.

Somehow, hope that they may come out with another mid to lower end range of product for Asian market.

Lacersan
post Nov 8 2012, 01:13 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 7 2012, 10:36 AM)
The existing Karaoke apps is for online streaming only.
Popcorn Hour can playback Karaoke media offline as well.

So which model is best?

This post has been edited by Lacersan: Nov 8 2012, 01:13 AM
TSgo4pch
post Nov 8 2012, 02:38 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Lacersan @ Nov 8 2012, 01:13 AM)
So which model is best?
Depend on your budget. Popcorn Hour come with all great models.

200 series: an old model still playing well
300 series: consider new model, faster processor speed and new UI
400 series: new model, new chip, dual-core processor, vxp and support Blu-Ray 3D.

I would personally recommend "C" type model for their expandability + front LCD/LED + more USB ports.

gsshaw
post Nov 8 2012, 03:02 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 8 2012, 02:38 PM)
Depend on your budget. Popcorn Hour come with all great models.

200 series: an old model still playing well
300 series: consider new model, faster processor speed and new UI
400 series: new model, new chip, dual-core processor, vxp and support Blu-Ray 3D.

I would personally recommend "C" type model for their expandability + front LCD/LED + more USB ports.

Yep I'm saving up for a C-400 when it is released!
I know if I go for the A-400 it will be out sooner but sticking a Blu-Ray / HD in the unit really appeals to clear all the clutter from around the TV.
stylishguy
post Nov 13 2012, 09:36 PM

49 posts

hi can pm me price for a300, c300 and a400 smile.gif thanks

glamour
post Nov 14 2012, 03:47 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

i wanna sell off my Ac ryan Play Mini2
can pm me?
budget below 1k...
i want fast player..no laggy problem....

nyunyu
post Nov 27 2012, 09:56 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

Bro, what would be the price of A400 you're selling? Any promotion going on? It's out now just curious if I should just buy from PCH. Oh, I'm your old customer smile.gif
gsshaw
post Nov 27 2012, 10:50 AM

15 posts

A-400 Only Available from November, 2012 onward !

When will it be available, Novembers nearly over?
TSgo4pch
post Nov 27 2012, 11:44 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(gsshaw @ Nov 27 2012, 10:50 AM)
A-400 Only Available from November, 2012 onward !

When will it be available, Novembers nearly over?
Hopefully can get it by this week.

ngboonaun
post Nov 27 2012, 11:03 PM

234 posts

i heard is no C 400 for sigma 8911,just A 400 without full menu doh.gif
TSgo4pch
post Nov 27 2012, 11:07 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(ngboonaun @ Nov 27 2012, 11:03 PM)
i heard is no C 400 for sigma 8911,just A 400 without full menu doh.gif
A-400 Only support Lite BD due to licensing issue. Sometimes lite bd can be less headache biggrin.gif than full bd menu. At-least most of the file can playback under lite BD.

mpyw
post Nov 28 2012, 09:41 AM

3,603 posts

u take trade in of old (current gen) 3D media player?
TSgo4pch
post Nov 28 2012, 09:26 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Nov 28 2012, 09:41 AM)
u take trade in of old (current gen) 3D media player?
Sorry bro, we din do any trade-in. BTW, what is your model?

mpyw
post Nov 29 2012, 08:59 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 28 2012, 09:26 PM)
Sorry bro, we din do any trade-in. BTW, what is your model?

Himedia 900B (wireless)
raif
post Nov 29 2012, 09:19 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Nov 29 2012, 08:59 AM)
Himedia 900B (wireless)
May I know where you bought this player ? Cause I'm interested in its 3d bdiso playback. TQ
mpyw
post Nov 29 2012, 09:48 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Nov 29 2012, 09:19 AM)
May I know where you bought this player ? Cause I'm interested in its 3d bdiso playback. TQ
I can sell you mine....still under warranty, pm me if interested
TSgo4pch
post Nov 29 2012, 08:57 PM

162 posts

Hi All,

Announcement !!

Popcorn Hour A-400 arrive tomorrow, Friday, 30/11/2012.

Thank you.
verced
post Nov 30 2012, 08:22 AM

168 posts

What's the price like?
geforce1999
post Nov 30 2012, 11:18 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Would like to know the price as well. smile.gif
ukuan
post Dec 4 2012, 08:32 PM

275 posts

Hi bro, please pm me the price for A-400. Thanks
ralli_art
post Dec 7 2012, 09:06 AM

130 posts

hi...

I'm quite interested with this PCH A-400. Any feedbacks from users so far? How does it fair? Worth getting this over the C-300?

Can the A-400 able to play RMVB files? If I have movies stored in my NAS will I still be able to get those cover art?

thank you.
TSgo4pch
post Dec 7 2012, 11:30 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ralli_art @ Dec 7 2012, 09:06 AM)
hi...

I'm quite interested with this PCH A-400. Any feedbacks from users so far? How does it fair? Worth getting this over the C-300?

Can the A-400 able to play RMVB files? If I have movies stored in my NAS will I still be able to get those cover art?

thank you.

We yet encountered any problems. I tested personally so far everything going smoothly. The most interesting part is the iOS & Android Apps, which you can control your player from tablet directly with nice looking skin. Just hope that next update on the apps can playback the movies & musics directly from the tablet. brows.gif

A-400 not able to playback RMVB files.

Yes you able to do so from NAS.

Thank you.
kevin_kwfoong
post Dec 7 2012, 03:54 PM

92 posts

A-400 better than C-400? How big is the hard disk supported?
klimal
post Dec 7 2012, 04:00 PM

1,136 posts

May I know the price for the A400 and C400?

Skylinestar
post Dec 7 2012, 04:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

is there cinavia protection in it?
TSgo4pch
post Dec 7 2012, 11:14 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kevin_kwfoong @ Dec 7 2012, 03:54 PM)
A-400 better than C-400? How big is the hard disk supported?
No C-400 launching. Only A-400.

What you mean by HDD size? Capacity?

Added on December 7, 2012, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 7 2012, 04:00 PM)
May I know the price for the A400 and C400?
PM.

This post has been edited by go4pch: Dec 7 2012, 11:21 PM
popipopi
post Dec 7 2012, 11:42 PM

May I know the price for the A400
Skylinestar
post Dec 8 2012, 12:32 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

what's the price for a400?
khyron
post Dec 8 2012, 05:14 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 8 2012, 12:32 AM)
what's the price for a400?
RM1k... sweat.gif
heroyui
post Dec 10 2012, 10:56 AM

Hi, pls PM me the price of A-400 , thanks ..
hmwong
post Dec 10 2012, 08:09 PM

387 posts

I use media player to watch 3D movie on my LG. The picture is fine but the subtitle cannot be read.

The video is HSBS format and this cause the subtitle (.srt) to only appear on one side. Is there any tool to convert .srt for 3D? Tried 3D-Subtitler but could not get it to work.

FYI, the LG TV is using passive 3D technology.

Thanks in advance
TSgo4pch
post Dec 10 2012, 10:46 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(hmwong @ Dec 10 2012, 08:09 PM)
I use media player to watch 3D movie on my LG. The picture is fine but the subtitle cannot be read.

The video is HSBS format and this cause the subtitle (.srt) to only appear on one side. Is there any tool to convert .srt for 3D? Tried 3D-Subtitler but could not get it to work.

FYI, the LG TV is using passive 3D technology.

Thanks in advance
I found this link might be useful for you.
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/346523-...is-right-please

Good luck.
raif
post Dec 11 2012, 09:25 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 10 2012, 10:46 PM)
I found this link might be useful for you.
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/346523-...is-right-please

Good luck.
Another link to look into:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showthre...light=srt23dass
Royrogers
post Dec 29 2012, 01:22 AM

QUOTE(go4pch @ Nov 29 2012, 08:57 PM)
Hi All,

Announcement !!

Popcorn Hour A-400 arrive tomorrow, Friday, 30/11/2012.

Thank you.
Hi, I am interested in the A-400. How do i go about buying it? PM me the price please.
I am currently using a 2 year old Dune Base media player. Will I get significant improvements with the A-400? I am seeking for improvements in picture and sound quality since I heard so much about this new Sigma 8910 chip. I play BDMV, BD ISO and MKV files most of the time.
TSgo4pch
post Dec 29 2012, 11:22 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Royrogers @ Dec 29 2012, 01:22 AM)
Hi, I am interested in the A-400. How do i go about buying it? PM me the price please.
I am currently using a 2 year old Dune Base media player. Will I get significant improvements with the A-400? I am seeking for improvements in picture and sound quality since I heard so much about this new Sigma 8910 chip. I play BDMV, BD ISO and MKV files most of the time.

Thanks for your interest.
A-400 improve a lot on sound & especially pictures quality.

Please check your PM.

JYwang
post Dec 30 2012, 03:06 AM

40 posts

Please pm me on how to order the A-400.

Also, I heard something about popcorn hour being unable to rewind during movies. is this true? =P
TSgo4pch
post Dec 30 2012, 09:27 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(JYwang @ Dec 30 2012, 03:06 AM)
Please pm me on how to order the A-400.

Also, I heard something about popcorn hour being unable to rewind during movies. is this true? =P
PM replied.
Skylinestar
post Dec 30 2012, 10:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

comes with cinavia protection, isn't it?
mamasos
post Dec 31 2012, 02:50 PM

176 posts

PM price for A400 x 2.
ozak
post Dec 31 2012, 07:27 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 30 2012, 10:38 PM)
A media player with cinavia protection? hmm.gif
willkso
post Jan 1 2013, 02:20 AM

993 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 31 2012, 08:27 PM)
A media player with cinavia protection?  hmm.gif
Possible.. Those ripped material protected too if it's ripped from a cinavia protected source..
ozak
post Jan 1 2013, 09:10 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 1 2013, 02:20 AM)
Possible.. Those ripped material protected too if it's ripped from a cinavia protected source..
But the player not neccessary to be cinavia. If the player don't detect cinavia, will it just pass?

A media player with cinavia is sound like a joke.
Skylinestar
post Jan 1 2013, 10:42 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 1 2013, 09:10 AM)
But the player not neccessary to be cinavia. If the player don't detect cinavia, will it just pass?

A media player with cinavia is sound like a joke.
I think it has Cinavia protection because it is using the Sigma SMP8911. Even the upcoming Dune Zappiti player will have Cinavia. Can't run away form it anymore.

No point getting a Cinavia protected player if it cannot even play your movie properly.

If don't want Cinavia, have to look for old model...Dune H1, D1, Realtek 1185/1186 players wink.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jan 1 2013, 10:47 AM
anfieldude
post Jan 1 2013, 11:46 AM

3,858 posts

I believe it does not hv Cinavia as it only uses BD Lite menus. As long as it does not do full menus and does not hv a BD ROM, Cinavia is not mandatory.
ozak
post Jan 1 2013, 11:48 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 1 2013, 10:42 AM)
I think it has Cinavia protection because it is using the Sigma SMP8911. Even the upcoming Dune Zappiti player will have Cinavia. Can't run away form it anymore.

No point getting a Cinavia protected player if it cannot even play your movie properly.

If don't want Cinavia, have to look for old model...Dune H1, D1, Realtek 1185/1186 players  wink.gif
Everybody know what is the media player for. If they put a cinavia into it, that mean the player is useless. It is better grab the realtek player now before they too implement it in future. Sigh...

I just order a mede1000x3d player. It is realtek 1186. The best player at the moment.
Skylinestar
post Jan 1 2013, 03:52 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 1 2013, 11:48 AM)
I just order a mede1000x3d player. It is realtek 1186. The best player at the moment.
From where did you buy this player?
ozak
post Jan 1 2013, 04:47 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 1 2013, 03:52 PM)
From where did you buy this player?
Mediaconceptusa.com
kevin_kwfoong
post Jan 7 2013, 02:31 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 7 2012, 11:14 PM)
No C-400 launching. Only A-400.

What you mean by HDD size? Capacity?

Added on December 7, 2012, 11:21 pm

PM.
So C-400 is not out yet?

Yeah, max HDD capacity size.

And also, can it be used to download files directly into the hdd and play like a media box? Or must I download on my laptop and transfer into the HDD manually?
TSgo4pch
post Jan 7 2013, 05:08 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kevin_kwfoong @ Jan 7 2013, 02:31 PM)
So C-400 is not out yet?

Yeah, max HDD capacity size.

And also, can it be used to download files directly into the hdd and play like a media box? Or must I download on my laptop and transfer into the HDD manually?
2TB.

You can used BitTorrent P2P / Usenet downloader to download your contents onto the HDD and playback from the HDD.

gsshaw
post Jan 7 2013, 06:49 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 1 2013, 11:48 AM)
Everybody know what is the media player for. If they put a cinavia into it, that mean the player is useless. It is better grab the realtek player now before they too implement it in future. Sigh...

Yeah Cinavia in a Media player sounds like a contradiction?

Ok for those that don't know "Cinavia technology is used in Blu-ray Disc players to identify and limit the use of copies of these movies, television shows, and other professionally produced videos that have been made without the permission of the copyright owner."
Cinavia Web Site - Click Here

Now I would guess a high proportion of Media Player users are downloading movies from the Internet and want to store / play them. I'm not sure how many will use a 3TB hard drive to store 100% 'back-up' copies of movies for which they have genuine originals. Despite all the disclaimers the Media Player makers know this is the usage pattern of most of their customers. Having said that, the way I read it, Cinavia wont even let you play a back-up copy.

As I understand it Cinavia is a audible copy protection system and will even thwart those who CAM a movie in the theatre. I'm sure in the fullness of time someone will bring out something to strip out the Cinavia embedded codes or a Sigma SMP8911 'firmware' adjustment to ignore the alert or switch it off.

But in the meantime, if my understanding is right I would see limited use for a Cinavia equipped Media Player.
TSgo4pch
post Jan 8 2013, 10:53 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 30 2012, 10:38 PM)
To clear the air. A-400 do not have Cinavia Protection, that's precisely why full navigation is not supported.

TSgo4pch
post Jan 8 2013, 10:54 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 1 2013, 11:46 AM)
I believe it does not hv Cinavia as it only uses BD Lite menus. As long as it does not do full menus and does not hv a BD ROM, Cinavia is not mandatory.
Yes, you are absolutely, right.

gsshaw
post Jan 8 2013, 12:09 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jan 8 2013, 10:53 AM)
To clear the air. A-400 do not have Cinavia Protection, that's precisely why full navigation is not supported.
Mmmm I love the smell of clean air in the morning! Thanks for the clarification!

As I now understand it, Full Blu-ray Disk Navigation is where the menu looks EXACTLY as it does when you insert the Blu-ray into a Blu-ray player and has all the enhanced menu features / options AND CINAVIA security.
This would only be applicable if the Media Player had a Blu-ray player built in, or at the least the ability to add one, otherwise it serves no purpose.

Example:
The A-200 is only BDLite, no Blu-ray player no way of fitting one.
The C-200 is full BD playback for when you are playing a Blu-Ray disc in the Blu-Ray Player of the unit AND also an option for BDLite playback when you are playing a Blu-ray format / 'back-up' from a HDD.

Again as I now understand it, if you have for instance a AVI or MKV file on a HDD drive all this talk of menu's and CINAVIA is mute, irrelevant, does not apply, since you won't have any 'Menu' anyway. You will have basic REMOTE controls like pause, fast forward, rewind, continue, re-play but you will never get DISC BASED Menu options, things like Chapters, Play full movie, "how it was made special', 'Actor interviews', 'still photo's' etc.

As the A-400 like the A-200 has no Blu-ray player built in Full DB Playback would be pretty much pointless.
Please correct me if I'm wrong?

Would for instance an ISO back-up of a Blu-ray disc play / show full menu; played from NAS HDD on a A-400, I'm not sure?
Kiding
post Jan 8 2013, 03:02 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(gsshaw @ Jan 8 2013, 12:09 PM)
Mmmm I love the smell of clean air in the morning! Thanks for the clarification!

As I now understand it,  Full Blu-ray Disk Navigation is where the menu looks EXACTLY as it does when you insert the Blu-ray into a Blu-ray player and has all the enhanced menu features / options AND CINAVIA security.
This would only be applicable if the Media Player had a Blu-ray player built in, or at the least the ability to add one, otherwise it serves no purpose.

Example:
The A-200 is only BDLite, no Blu-ray player no way of fitting one.
The C-200 is full BD playback for when you are playing a Blu-Ray disc in the Blu-Ray Player of the unit AND also an option for BDLite playback when you are playing a Blu-ray format / 'back-up' from a HDD.

Again as I now understand it, if you have for instance a AVI or MKV file on a HDD drive all this talk of menu's and CINAVIA is mute, irrelevant, does not apply, since you won't have any 'Menu' anyway. You will have basic REMOTE controls like pause, fast forward, rewind, continue, re-play but you will never get DISC BASED Menu options, things like Chapters, Play full movie, "how it was made special', 'Actor interviews', 'still photo's' etc.

As the A-400 like the A-200 has no Blu-ray player built in Full DB Playback would be pretty much pointless.
Please correct me if I'm wrong?

Would for instance an ISO back-up of a Blu-ray disc play / show full menu; played from NAS HDD on a A-400, I'm not sure?
The A200/A210 has full BD menu playback, you can play full ripped BD ISO file with full BD menu.
kevin_kwfoong
post Jan 8 2013, 03:27 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Jan 7 2013, 05:08 PM)
2TB.

You can used BitTorrent P2P / Usenet downloader to download your contents onto the HDD and playback from the HDD.

And all these P2P downloaders can run directly from the player, right?
TSgo4pch
post Jan 8 2013, 03:47 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kevin_kwfoong @ Jan 8 2013, 03:27 PM)
And all these P2P downloaders can run directly from the player, right?
Yes, from the HDD attached to the player.
kevin_kwfoong
post Jan 9 2013, 05:13 PM

92 posts

I hope this is not too noob a question to ask, sorry if it is. What's the difference between the A and C series? I assume the latest models are A-400 and C-200?
TSgo4pch
post Jan 9 2013, 05:53 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kevin_kwfoong @ Jan 9 2013, 05:13 PM)
I hope this is not too noob a question to ask, sorry if it is. What's the difference between the A and C series? I assume the latest models are A-400 and C-200?
"A" Series:
1. Usually come in compact size.
2. BD Lite Menu
3. 1 USB Slave Port
4. 2 USB Ports

"C" Series:
1. Bigger casing which can add in optical drive (optional)
2. LCD/LED Display in front panel
3. Full BD Navigation
4. Support MiniPCI MII Interface for 11n WiFi card
5. 2x SATA Ports
6. RF Remote Control
7. Power Button
8. 4+1 USB Ports

raif
post Jan 10 2013, 09:30 AM

126 posts

I believe, the latest C model is C-300 (which I'm using) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by raif: Jan 10 2013, 09:39 AM
kevin_kwfoong
post Jan 10 2013, 12:12 PM

92 posts

Really? How's it? Care to give a brief review?
raif
post Jan 10 2013, 12:51 PM

126 posts

Compared with my old C-200, the C-200 is better in terms of stability. C-200/300 has almost the same functionality but the 300 has better LED screen and higher model chipset. In a week, I have to reset the 300 like 5 times while 200 maybe twice a month.
I have two TVs, so the c-200 is being used with my older tv.

I believe the pch people are still working with the 300 fw but future fw will be slower to come out as they are concentrating on the A-400 at the moment.
TSgo4pch
post Jan 10 2013, 06:06 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Jan 10 2013, 12:51 PM)
Compared with my old C-200, the C-200 is better in terms of stability. C-200/300 has almost the same functionality but the 300 has better LED screen and higher model chipset. In a week, I have to reset the 300 like  5 times while 200 maybe twice a month.
I have two TVs, so the c-200 is being used with my older tv.

I believe the pch people are still working with the 300 fw but future fw will be slower to come out as they are concentrating on the A-400 at the moment.
Hi raif,

Thank you so much for your understanding and patient. I admits 300 FW have a bit delay due to they are pushing for 400. Overall functionality 300 have more features and better picture quality.

Anyhow we already pushing them (Syabas) very hard for the new 300 FW.

kwackers
post Jan 10 2013, 07:26 PM

350 posts

I'm interested in an A-400. PM the price please. Thanks...
kevin_kwfoong
post Jan 16 2013, 03:52 PM

92 posts

Can PM me the price too?
reader
post Jan 20 2013, 12:25 AM

117 posts

best price for A-400 please
TSgo4pch
post Jan 20 2013, 03:24 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(reader @ Jan 20 2013, 12:25 AM)
best price for A-400 please
UGPM !
Alt_Picker
post Jan 23 2013, 03:28 PM

15 posts

Please PM me the best price for A400.
nomar
post Jan 23 2013, 05:27 PM

132 posts

Can give me price for A400 too, TQ
shon133
post Jan 25 2013, 12:54 PM

14 posts

Please PM me the best price for A400
Kassimy
post Jan 26 2013, 04:34 PM

Please PM me your best price for the A400

TSgo4pch
post Jan 26 2013, 05:03 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Jan 23 2013, 05:27 PM)
Can give me price for A400 too,  TQ
UGPM !
TSgo4pch
post Jan 26 2013, 05:04 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(shon133 @ Jan 25 2013, 12:54 PM)
UGPM !
TSgo4pch
post Jan 26 2013, 05:05 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Kassimy @ Jan 26 2013, 04:34 PM)
UGPM !
superyaw
post Jan 26 2013, 07:51 PM

197 posts

Bro. Pls pm me best price for A-400 to Kuching.
kolabong
post Feb 3 2013, 12:45 AM

33 posts

May I know the price for the A400? thx

This post has been edited by kolabong: Feb 3 2013, 12:45 AM
carpathia
post Feb 3 2013, 12:48 AM

2,619 posts

Please PM me the best price for A400.
TSgo4pch
post Feb 6 2013, 03:33 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(superyaw @ Jan 26 2013, 07:51 PM)
Bro.  Pls pm me best price for A-400 to Kuching.
PM!
TSgo4pch
post Feb 6 2013, 03:34 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kolabong @ Feb 3 2013, 12:45 AM)
May I know the price for the A400? thx
PM!
PZROE
post Feb 7 2013, 02:33 PM

14 posts

Pls pm me best price for A400. Thanks
neekun
post Feb 12 2013, 12:22 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

Kindly PM me the price for A400. Please send link for A400 spec too smile.gif
shadowblack
post Feb 14 2013, 12:15 PM

857 posts

How much is a-400? And can we use external dvd drive so it can read dvd?
darick84
post Feb 26 2013, 05:15 PM

57 posts

cbau1234
post Mar 1 2013, 09:02 PM

If the A400 has a 3.5" slot for a disk would mean I could also use this slot for a Blue Ray player?
Are there plans knows for a C400?

I am using right now a C200 but quite unhappy. Very slow, loosing often network connection and since the last firmware update, all is damm slow. No way to get back to the last firmware.

I am thinking between the Dune HD Max 3D and the A400 or C300 Popcorn. Has anybody made here experiences?

cbau1234
zeese
post Mar 18 2013, 12:18 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

roughly, how much is a-400?
seed80
post Mar 19 2013, 01:51 PM

127 posts

PM me price pls, TQ.
zeese
post Mar 20 2013, 08:49 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

hi.. newb question here..

Can this thing stream a video/movie to the internet by itself.. in other words, can I watched/stream a video from anywhere in the world to my own movie stored inside the popcorn hour at home?

tq
ozak
post Mar 20 2013, 09:00 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Mar 20 2013, 08:49 AM)

Can this thing stream a video/movie to the internet by itself.. in other words, can I watched/stream a video from anywhere in the world to my own movie stored inside the popcorn hour at home?

tq
You need a NAS for this job.
TSgo4pch
post Mar 20 2013, 09:53 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Mar 20 2013, 08:49 AM)

tq
Popcorn Hour itself also have built-in NAS function. You required some configurations to make it work with your internet router.

zeese
post Mar 21 2013, 08:31 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

thanks for the answer. I'm glad it has that capability..
dynasty88
post Mar 22 2013, 12:43 PM

55 posts

Please PM me the spec and best price for A-400. Thanks...
SIWIS
post Mar 23 2013, 09:56 AM

262 posts

zeese
post Mar 23 2013, 06:18 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi. Can we connect external bd drive to the USB port of a400 ?
w'lock
post Mar 24 2013, 02:53 AM

93 posts

HI,
PM me price for A400 please, tq. Is it available now ?
ryuken_rukawa
post Mar 26 2013, 02:43 AM

Please PM me best price for the A-400 + WN-160 as well.
Is there any warranty?

Thank you so much smile.gif

This post has been edited by ryuken_rukawa: Mar 26 2013, 02:45 AM
Clueless07
post Mar 26 2013, 08:35 AM

1,372 posts

Hi bro, could you PM A-400 price?

coolg77
post Apr 8 2013, 07:54 PM

HI,
PM me price for A400 please.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 11 2013, 06:52 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(cbau1234 @ Mar 1 2013, 09:02 PM)
If the A400 has a 3.5" slot for a disk would mean I could also use this slot for a Blue Ray player?
Are there plans knows for a  C400?

I am using right now a C200 but quite unhappy. Very slow, loosing often network connection and since the last firmware update, all is damm slow. No way to get back to the last firmware.

I am thinking between the Dune HD Max 3D and the A400 or C300 Popcorn. Has anybody made here experiences?

cbau1234
BD drive support is dropped to maintain a cinavia free status.

Enabling support for bd drives warrants a cinavia compliant firmware.

ds2k
post Apr 12 2013, 02:40 PM

Can you please PM me about the price and availability of PCH A400? Where I can pick it up?

wympeter
post Jun 1 2013, 07:08 AM

elmer
post Jun 4 2013, 11:06 AM

219 posts

Please PM me price for A400
Dannyoski
post Jun 5 2013, 10:38 PM

226 posts

Hi , mind to share if anyone had sucvedsfulky match this a400 with a 3d ready projector to play 3d sbs movie?
99gloomy
post Jun 15 2013, 09:29 PM

36 posts

Please PM me price for A400. tq.
nyunyu
post Jul 22 2013, 07:05 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

Do you have A400 in stock?

TSgo4pch
post Jul 22 2013, 10:12 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 22 2013, 07:05 AM)
Do you have A400 in stock?
A-400 In-Stock. TQ.
post Jul 28 2013, 09:00 PM

176 posts

Please PM me price for A400.
kktong83
post Aug 10 2013, 02:01 AM

96 posts

Pm best price
nicholastze85
post Aug 10 2013, 07:11 PM

294 posts

pm me best price
TSgo4pch
post Aug 10 2013, 08:30 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kktong83 @ Aug 10 2013, 02:01 AM)
Pm best price
PM.
TSgo4pch
post Aug 10 2013, 08:33 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(nicholastze85 @ Aug 10 2013, 07:11 PM)
pm me best price
PM.
waisky
post Sep 5 2013, 02:38 AM

31 posts

hi can pm me

1. price
2. payment method
3. delivery

thx
TSgo4pch
post Sep 5 2013, 10:33 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(waisky @ Sep 5 2013, 02:38 AM)
hi can pm me

1. price
2. payment method
3. delivery

thx
PM!
sypw
post Sep 14 2013, 09:00 PM

I just bought a popcorn hour a400 . Do i need to register for the warranty?

How long is the warranty ?

By the way , would i be getting a free Wifi Dongle as well ? smile.gif

thanks and cheers cheers.gif

This post has been edited by sypw: Sep 14 2013, 09:43 PM
TSgo4pch
post Sep 15 2013, 10:49 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(sypw @ Sep 14 2013, 09:00 PM)

I just bought a popcorn hour a400 . Do i need to register for the warranty?

How long is the warranty ?

By the way , would i be getting a free Wifi Dongle as well ? smile.gif

thanks and cheers cheers.gif
No registration required. All Popcorn Hour products carry 1 year warranty against manufacturing defect.

BTW, where you bought it from?

sypw
post Sep 16 2013, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(go4pch @ Sep 15 2013, 10:49 PM)
No registration required. All Popcorn Hour products carry 1 year warranty against manufacturing defect.

BTW, where you bought it from?
Thanks for the reply . I bought it from audio perfectionist sdn bhd

cheers
yeoperyeope
post Sep 17 2013, 03:48 PM

TSgo4pch
post Sep 18 2013, 09:32 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(sypw @ Sep 16 2013, 08:34 AM)
Thanks for the reply . I bought it from audio perfectionist sdn bhd
cheers
Great.
TSgo4pch
post Sep 18 2013, 09:50 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(yeoperyeope @ Sep 17 2013, 03:48 PM)
PM.
aaronlai
post Sep 28 2013, 09:38 AM

22 posts

pm me price. Tq.
TSgo4pch
post Sep 28 2013, 09:43 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(aaronlai @ Sep 28 2013, 09:38 AM)
pm me price. Tq.
PM
sypw
post Sep 29 2013, 04:39 PM

Hi ,

Do you have this item for sale?

Is the casing for pch a 400 sits in it

http://www.popcorn-hour-fr.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=6166

regards

cheers

This post has been edited by sypw: Sep 29 2013, 04:41 PM
TSgo4pch
post Aug 12 2014, 11:23 PM

162 posts

The new A-410 !!

The A-410 is based on successful A-400, re-engineered and improved. Now bosted with 1024MB DDR2 memory and on-board ESS Technology Sabre Audiophile class DAC. Powered by latest Sigma Designs (Dual Core) CPU, its support 3D Blu-rays and enchanced video performance with the VXP Video Processor.

Features:
Chipset: Sigma Designs SMP8911 Dual-Core 800Mhz with 512KB L2 Cache with VXP video processing
Memory: 1024MB DDR2, 256MB SLC NAND Flash
Audio/Video: HDMI, Component, CVBS, Stereo Audio, S/PDIF, Digital Optical
Network: Ethernet 10/100/1000Mbps
Power: 12V DC, 3.5A Max
Dimension: 182mm (W) x 158mm (L) x 56mm (H)
Casing: Designed by Silverstone Aluminium Case, Fanless Operation
Other Interface:
-Power/Standby LED
-2x USB 2.0 Host
-1x USB 3.0 Slave
-1x eSATA
-Quick Dock mounting for 2.5" or 3.5" SATA HDD
-Infra-Red Remote Control
-SD Card Reader
-IR-Receiver Port

mpyw
post Aug 13 2014, 08:44 AM

3,603 posts

A410 can play BD 3D ISO with menu navigation?
minde
post Aug 13 2014, 11:52 AM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

got any wifi version of this? Pm pricing if got thx!
dirtrun
post Aug 13 2014, 12:19 PM

3,136 posts

Curious on how much tis cost? Pm.. pls..

Comparing wif de Dunes..

TSgo4pch
post Aug 13 2014, 04:10 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 13 2014, 08:44 AM)
A410 can play BD 3D ISO with menu navigation?
No Full BD Navigation due to Cinavia. Only come with BD Lite Menu.

on9world
post Aug 14 2014, 09:42 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Aug 13 2014, 11:52 AM)
got any wifi version of this? Pm pricing if got thx!
I don't think so there is a Wifi version.
TSgo4pch
post Aug 16 2014, 11:22 AM

162 posts

A-410 come with DSD Direct-Stream Digital

Enjoy better CD quality with DSD codec support on the A-410! DSD stores music data in 1-bit and a sampling rate of 2.8224Mhz which is 64 times the CD Audio sampling rate of 44.1kHz.
sorun
post Oct 30 2014, 09:00 AM

Please pm me the price for a410
TSgo4pch
post Oct 30 2014, 08:41 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(sorun @ Oct 30 2014, 09:00 AM)
PM.
alucard_my
post Nov 4 2014, 07:31 PM

320 posts

Please PM the full Audio support (DTS, AC3, DTS-HD, AAC, blah blah, etc). Of course the price as well.

on9world
post Nov 4 2014, 11:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Nov 4 2014, 07:31 PM)
Please PM the full Audio support (DTS, AC3, DTS-HD, AAC, blah blah, etc). Of course the price as well.

Almost any Popcorn Hour models can support the above functions.
C-200, C-300, A-300, A-400, A-410
aaronlai
post Nov 8 2014, 04:39 PM

22 posts

can play bluray disc with usb bluray drive?

TSgo4pch
post Nov 9 2014, 10:08 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(aaronlai @ Nov 8 2014, 04:39 PM)
can play bluray disc with usb bluray drive?
Only those C models can feed in the Slim BD drive.
h11g
post Nov 30 2014, 10:34 PM

2,114 posts

hi TS , i have a Synology NAS, which model will you recommend for me to stream to my tv?
TSgo4pch
post Dec 1 2014, 09:37 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 30 2014, 10:34 PM)
hi TS , i have a Synology NAS, which model will you recommend for me to stream to my tv?
Its depend on your usage and storage capacity.
h11g
post Dec 1 2014, 10:09 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 1 2014, 08:37 AM)
Its depend on your usage and storage capacity.
i have a 4 bay NAS and i stream 1080p movies. i dont need any storage capabilities on the media player since i already have a NAS
TSgo4pch
post Dec 2 2014, 03:50 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 1 2014, 10:09 AM)
i have a 4 bay NAS and i stream 1080p movies. i dont need any storage capabilities on the media player since i already have a NAS
So, just stream from your NAS will do.
h11g
post Dec 2 2014, 04:37 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(go4pch @ Dec 2 2014, 02:50 PM)
So, just stream from your NAS will do.
my tv old model, so cant stream directly from nas to tv
on9world
post Dec 2 2014, 05:24 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 2 2014, 04:37 PM)
my tv old model, so cant stream directly from nas to tv
bro, actually what you need. Can explain in more details. I think TS also a bit confusing already.

Initially you said you have NAS. Then what is the purpose you buy NAS which can't stream to your TV?

h11g
post Dec 3 2014, 09:41 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(on9world @ Dec 2 2014, 04:24 PM)
bro, actually what you need. Can explain in more details. I think TS also a bit confusing already.

Initially you said you have NAS. Then what is the purpose you buy NAS which can't stream to your TV?

It's ok I solve the problem already.
seanlock85
post Feb 18 2015, 04:07 PM

Best price for a410, thanks
on9world
post Feb 18 2015, 06:29 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(seanlock85 @ Feb 18 2015, 04:07 PM)
Best price for a410, thanks
PM!
rjflyguy
post Feb 19 2015, 11:18 PM

324 posts

Please PM me the best CNY price for A410.... smile.gif
on9world
post Feb 23 2015, 02:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rjflyguy @ Feb 19 2015, 11:18 PM)
Please PM me the best CNY price for A410.... smile.gif
PM!
cartoon_liew
post Feb 25 2015, 11:28 AM

krabby
post Feb 25 2015, 12:05 PM

Please also PM me the best CNY price for A410....TQ
TSgo4pch
post Feb 26 2015, 11:44 AM

162 posts

Introducing new "Popcorn Hour - VTEN"

World first 4K Ultra HD Media Player

Popcorn Hour VTEN features:
-Sigma Chipset (SMP8757)
-Support 4K Ultra HD
-Fanless and Aluminium Body
-1GB DDR3 Ram
-Gigabits Ethernet / Wireless (Wifi Dongle Optional)
-2x USB2.0 Host / 1x eSATA / 1x SD Card Reader
-Connection: HDMI, S/PDIF optical, S/PDIF Coaxial
-Audio Passthrough: DTS, DTS-HD HR, DTS-HD MA
-Video Format: BDISO, BDMV Simple Navigation, 3D-BD
-Subtitle: SRT, MicroDVD SUB, SSA, SUB/IDX, Opensubtitle
-Award Wining NMJ Media Jukebox
-NMJ Navigator Companion Screen (iOS AppStore & Andrioid Google Play)

Chuckiekey
post Feb 27 2015, 01:22 AM

Chuckie Cotton
1,502 posts

this thread is a lilttle obselete already
toughgshock
post Mar 2 2015, 05:02 PM

196 posts

Pls pm me price of A410 & Vten. What are the difference?
on9world
post Mar 3 2015, 10:03 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(toughgshock @ Mar 2 2015, 05:02 PM)
PM!
aerobowl
post Mar 6 2015, 02:24 PM

556 posts

just curious

VTEN is cheaper than A410?

VTEN exterior design look nice
on9world
post Mar 7 2015, 08:06 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Mar 6 2015, 02:24 PM)
just curious

VTEN is cheaper than A410?

VTEN exterior design look nice
Less features...
feelfree
post Mar 20 2015, 11:05 PM

174 posts

PM me the VTEN and A410 price as well!
orange1263
post Mar 21 2015, 03:21 PM

20 posts

kinwai88
post Mar 22 2015, 12:14 AM

964 posts

monching
post Mar 24 2015, 03:39 PM

pls pm price of A410 and Vten as well. thanks
superyaw
post Jun 3 2015, 09:26 PM

197 posts

Pls pm me price for A410 & Vten. My Dunhe power supply just spoilt so now survying for media media. Is A410 & vten software stable and play every files format?
KIntos
post Jun 4 2015, 05:18 PM

1,132 posts

Pls pm me price of A410 & Vten. kindly provide side by side comparison

ASAP
post Jun 6 2015, 02:10 PM

1,645 posts

Pls pm me price of A410 & Vten and where to get it.
raif
post Dec 12 2015, 04:23 PM

126 posts

Please pm me price for vten and COD place
soundspace
post Apr 15 2016, 11:36 AM

Hi Popcorn Hour owner,

how about C-300 HD Audio issue, settle?

i bought the unit since 2012.

I send email to the manufacture they asking me to wait. 4 years already i keep in my store room.

Any solutions !

0.6547sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:07 AM