Travel South Korea V2

teikwing
post May 27 2011, 10:54 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

Hi all,

I am heading to Seoul & Jeju next month (14-20 June) & is wondering what would be the hotel recommended for a family for 4 adults? Budget is around US$100-120 a day. Found 4-star PJ Hotel Seoul for $100 a night but not sure if that's a good choice. Anyone can introduce good hotels in Jeju within the budget? Thanks a bunch! smile.gif
nadbagus
post May 27 2011, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(kavcom @ May 26 2011, 03:36 PM)
hi guys,can i ask u all opinion? ermm.. if i go to on feb izzit still freezing there ? possible travel on feb month? coz i d booking my AAx tic for nex year.
Early february is still freezing, altho not that much snow anymore, sometimes in daytime the tempreture can go down to -5C, I was there in february recently, the final 2 or 3 days the weather was very pleasant, but still below 10 and that was around 16-18feb.

QUOTE(DCboii @ May 27 2011, 02:03 AM)
thanks for the reply. biggrin.gif anyway, reduced it to around 6 days. Doing mostly slightly sightseeing n little shopping(souvenirs) at the end. Any recommended budget guest house/motels u might know of? tongue.gif hoping to spend little on accomodation cuz will be mostly out moving about. biggrin.gif
I stayed at blu guesthouse, and the common area was very cutely designed, but the rooms and toilets were simple, plus the rooms were really big, we took the 4 bed all to ourselves, and altho there were beds, we brought down the quilts and sleep on the floor coz, the have floor heating lol...a tip for those travelling by foot and public transports, the best way to heal those aches and pain you acquire while travelling is by sleeping on the heated floor, it was like therapy, once you woke up the next morning, u'll be good as new, trust me..i think this guesthouse is quite cheap if u travel in groups tho, and they provide simple breakfast, plus it is near line 2 and around hongdae area...hmm i guess that'd be great if u are into nightlife. I spend almost rm600 only for accomodation for 8 nights, here u'll get 1 free night for every 7 nights stay..the price is for one person. Hope that helps, why didn't i know abt this thread before i went would've helped me alot.
fcuk90
post May 27 2011, 06:04 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(DCboii @ May 27 2011, 02:03 AM)
thanks for the reply. biggrin.gif anyway, reduced it to around 6 days. Doing mostly slightly sightseeing n little shopping(souvenirs) at the end. Any recommended budget guest house/motels u might know of? tongue.gif hoping to spend little on accomodation cuz will be mostly out moving about. biggrin.gif
i will recommend sinchon backpakers backpaker . the worker here are helpful , they even help us to bid for 2molo dream concert ~

the price around 440k won for 8 night

http://www.backpackerskorea.com/ just email them

the location is easy to found , plenty of night life activities.

can wash your shirt , free using washing machine and detergent

see their web ,

wanted to find money changer , but hardly can found it ..
do anyone know around sinchon area or nearby?

This post has been edited by fcuk90: May 27 2011, 06:15 PM
wiNd
post May 27 2011, 07:45 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

My 7 days itinerary

Day 1
Reached at night
Chill around Hongik Uni. area

Day 2
Gyeongbukgung Palace
Changdeokgung Palace
National Folk Museum
Samcheongdong-gil
Bukchon Hanok Village
Cheonggyecheon Stream
Anguk Streets

Day 3
DMZ Tour (3rd Tunnel, Dora Observatory, Dorasan Station, Imjingak, Freedom of Bridge, Unification Park)
Itaewon
War Memorial of Korea
I'Park Mall

Day 4
Myeong-dong
Dongdaemun Fashion Zone

Day 5
Gangnam area
Coex Mall
Apgujeong Rodeo Street
Cheongdam-dong Fashion Street
Dosan Park
Hangang River

Day 6
Namsan Park
Seoul Tower
Dongdaemun Fashion Zone
Namdaemun Market

Day 7
Times Square
Yongsan Electronic Market

Back to KL

This post has been edited by wiNd: May 27 2011, 07:53 PM
herher
post May 27 2011, 09:54 PM

anyone studied at KU?? or ewha, yonsei?
tanch78
post May 28 2011, 01:20 AM

712 posts

Anyone try Jjimjilbang and Saunas in Korea? There is one near Seoul station that recommended by my friend.

http://www.silloamsauna.com/site_en/main/main.asp

Also the MUST TRY EXPERIENCE is a body scrubbing!!!! brows.gif

Blog review: http://saunasinkorea.blogspot.com/2010/03/...na-jjimjil.html

This post has been edited by tanch78: May 28 2011, 01:34 AM
michaelyii1988
post May 28 2011, 10:18 AM

:)
1,291 posts

fcuk90,the backpackers hotel u stay right, Sinchon or Dongdaemum location better?
and im a bit confused abt Korea Pass and T-Money..
Korea Pass can use as transportation pass too rite? but T-Money also transportation card. rclxub.gif
turion64
post May 28 2011, 01:21 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

stay at myeongdong better. dongdaemun looks like petaling street. and not very clean too.
lexy
post May 28 2011, 04:41 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ May 28 2011, 01:20 AM)
Anyone try Jjimjilbang and Saunas in Korea? There is one near Seoul station that recommended by my friend.

http://www.silloamsauna.com/site_en/main/main.asp

Also the MUST TRY EXPERIENCE is a body scrubbing!!!!  brows.gif

Blog review: http://saunasinkorea.blogspot.com/2010/03/...na-jjimjil.html
Do people go Sauna in Korea during summer time?
mkaz
post May 28 2011, 06:21 PM

208 posts

myeondong, namdaemun and dongdaemun all nearby right ??
thinking about a place to stay between there ..
MasterDC
post May 28 2011, 07:30 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 6 2011, 09:16 PM)
Continue from V1 : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/369047

Link to Korea Tourist Website:
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/index.kto

More info & even learning Korean from:

Korea Plaza
Ground Flr, Menara Hap Seng (Formerly MUI Plaza)
Jalan P Ramlee KL
Tel: 03-20722515
24hr info: Dial 1330
email: klkoreanplaza@gmail.com
Business Hours: 9Am -6PM

Learning Korean/ Hangul: http://language.snu.ac.kr/site/kr/klec/cli...orean/index.jsp  or  http://korean.sogang.ac.kr/

Getting to Seoul from Airport

http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/GK/GK_EN_2_2_2_3.jsp

More options & Combi AREX/MRT: http://english.arex.or.kr/jsp/eng/index.jsp

Metro maps:

MRT route planning (Very usefull tool. http://www.seoulmetro.co.kr/station/eng/linemap.action

English Reference maps of South korea (better than Googlemaps) : http://emap.visitkorea.or.kr/Scripts/EngMap.aspx

Useful Travelogues/tips from this thread:

ycl90: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=34152729

Huiyin_hsu: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=34223631

Fazdrock: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=34333642

zstan Seoul trip: http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2010/11/seou...to-incheon.html

aeiou228 - Nami island: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38009685

Korea Tour Agents/Guides mentioned in this thread:

http://www.seoulcitytour.net/English/eng_menu_02_02.html
http://www.tiktourservice.com/tour/?c_id=8
http://english.triptokorea.com/english/viewforum.php?f=441
Locations of famous attractions (Wikimapia images):

Gyeongbokgung - Palace http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5790044&lon=1...=b&search=seoul
Changdeokgung - Palace http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5800247&lon=1...=b&search=seoul
Changgyeonggung - Palace http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5789874&lon=1...=b&search=seoul
Deoksugung - Palace http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5656879&lon=1...04&z=16&l=0&m=b
Gyeonghuigung - Palace http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5709774&lon=1...02&z=16&l=0&m=b
Dongdaemun gate - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.57119&lon=127...=b&search=seoul
Namdaemun Gate - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5600026&lon=1...earch=namdaemun
Insa-Dong art market (Area) http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5738005&lon=1...rch=insa%20dong
Myeong-Dong Shopping area: http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5628644&lon=1...99&z=16&l=0&m=b
Cheonggyecheon Stream (Rehabilitated stream)  http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5688557&lon=1...=Cheonggyecheon
Rodeo Street & Garak Wholesale market - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4942689&lon=1...yangin%20market
Naryangin Market: http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5150703&lon=1...39&z=14&l=0&m=b
Jongmyo Shrine http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5734264&lon=1...96&z=16&l=0&m=b
King Seongjong royal tomb park http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5089918&lon=1...ch=royal%20tomb
Donggureung Royal Tomb (The largest & 2009 Unesco list) - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.6206222&lon=1...m=b&search=guri
Suwon Hwaseong Fortress (1997 Unseco list) http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.2777067&lon=1...eong%20fortress
Suwon Haenggung palace (Inside Hwaseong Fortress) http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.2594694&lon=1...=folk%20village
Korean Folk Village (Suwon) http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.2594694&lon=1...=folk%20village
Namiseom (Winter Sonata) - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.79154&lon=127...search=namiseom
DMZ -JSA Pamunjom (North Korea) - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.9563801&lon=1...&m=b&search=DMZ
COEX Mall - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.512296&lon=12...m=b&search=coex
Lotte World: http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.5110535&lon=1...=b&search=lotte
Everland: http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.289822&lon=12...search=everland
Mt Sorak (area only. Not sure where is teh ski resort)- http://wikimapia.org/#lat=38.1615561&lon=1...=b&search=sorak
Yongpyong Ski Resort http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.643937&lon=12...ch=ski%20resort
Muju Ski Resort: http://wikimapia.org/#lat=35.892666&lon=12...ch=ski%20resort
Elysian Ganchon Ski resort (Near Nami Island): http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.8210396&lon=1...75&z=14&l=0&m=b
Jisan Ski Resort (Near to Seoul) - http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.2150188&lon=1...forest%20resort
Konjiam Ski Resort (Near to Seoul) http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.3324945&lon=1...m=b&search=muju
Additional readings/blogs about Korea travelogues

http://chrisinsouthkorea.blogspot.com/2010...-seoul-and.html
http://bredainkorea.blogspot.com/2010/07/a...-itinerary.html
Seoul Weather chart

Money Changers Exchange Rate in Korea Vs Malaysia:

http://www.visitseoul.net/en/info/exchange...4007002007&p=07

http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

The rate offered by Shinhan Bank is marked to the market compare to the inflated rate in Malaysia as above. However changing at Incheon airport is not really cheap and thus, it is recommended to either change abit of won in M'sia & thereafter decide to withdraw via ATM there (Citibank card no proble. Maybank - Having problem there) or change from US$ to Won at those money changers downtown (nandaemun Myeongdong or Dongdaemun)

Budget Hotels/Hostel:

http://innostel.visitseoul.net/en/

http://www.agoda.com/asia/south_korea/seoul.html

Tips/Warning

- ALL of the restaurants, GST refund & duty free shops @ Incheon airport SATELLITE building close at 9:30pm. However there are 24 hours KFC & MC Donald at Ctr court Arrival Hall (Level 1) Therefore please do not enter the departure hall to early..Go for the last dinner at McD & KFC st - the pricing is exactly like Seoul downturn!  thumbup.gif
- https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1651834
- Phone rental:
Halal Food & Mosque ~ Seoul
Seems like there isnt any halal food in Jeju Island?
Still considering on a trip to Jeju Island due to this issue as most of my colleagues are Muslim...
any suggestion?
terryykf
post May 28 2011, 09:55 PM

175 posts

hi guys,
i'm online-ing at Kensington Flora Hotel,Korea,haha
turion64
post May 28 2011, 10:18 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ May 28 2011, 06:21 PM)
myeondong, namdaemun and dongdaemun all nearby right ??
thinking about a place to stay between there ..
myeongdong and namdaemun is walking distance.
dongdaemun is 2 subway station away

i prefer to stay at myeongdong.
dongdaemun is like petaling street IMO. lol
reina_carmen
post May 28 2011, 10:39 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ May 28 2011, 09:55 PM)
hi guys,
i'm online-ing at Kensington Flora Hotel,Korea,haha
Haha...like. I'm an exchange student in Gimhae, Busan...was freezing when i reached here 2 weeks ago but now it's slowly warmer...

And for those who's coming to Korea, please be careful when crossing the roads. Koreans are like F1 drivers (no offence). I just saw a girl got hit by a van right in front of me today. Please just be careful.

And I went to the market today. They sell dogs. Dead, cut, and opened rclxub.gif
turion64
post May 29 2011, 02:51 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(reina_carmen @ May 28 2011, 10:39 PM)
Haha...like. I'm an exchange student in Gimhae, Busan...was freezing when i reached here 2 weeks ago but now it's slowly warmer...

And for those who's coming to Korea, please be careful when crossing the roads. Koreans are like F1 drivers (no offence). I just saw a girl got hit by a van right in front of me today. Please just be careful.

And I went to the market today. They sell dogs. Dead, cut, and opened  rclxub.gif
care to share which market ?

btw, r u muslim? u know any place in korea can find halal food?

fcuk90
post May 29 2011, 07:00 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

maybank debit card using latest rate ? just swipe few time .@@
Listiani
post May 29 2011, 07:23 PM

Pls go the the first page of this thread. I posted several halal makan place in Korea including mosques.

QUOTE(turion64 @ May 29 2011, 02:51 PM)

Shazzac
post May 29 2011, 07:39 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 29 2011, 07:00 PM)
maybank debit card using latest rate ? just swipe few time .@@
Since MBB Debit Card is a Visa, it will be based on Visa's rates.

FYI, when you swipe your card overseas, for eg, Korea (like you are in now), Visa will have the Won converted to USD and then MBB will have the USD converted to MYR.

Hope you get my explanation.
terryykf
post May 29 2011, 07:48 PM

175 posts

hi there,greetings from Youngrangho Resort ^^

wud like to ask u guys, Ehwa Women University shopping district close at what time?
gyver
post May 29 2011, 08:06 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ May 29 2011, 02:51 PM)

Just stay at Itaewon area, all the halal restaurants are located here, I would say more than 10 restaurants are located here. Please visit Korea Plaza (in KL) to get the special discount coupon book. You get up to 20% discounts smile.gif

You have turkish, pakistani, bangladesh, indian and whatnot. All within walking distance of the subway. If you prefer trying any Korean halal dish, then walk towards the mosque, you will find a few Korean restaurants aim for muslim tourist.

There are a few cheap motels not listed on the web. If you are on a relaxing holiday I would recommend staying at the hotels here since it can be a bit noisy at night. A lot of muslim tourist would recommend Hamilton but I would recommend Doro Hotel. It's cheaper compared to Hamilton and the room is ok too.

At night there are halal kababs sold by minivans hawkers. 4000 won get you one kabab with free soda drink. Don't forget to ask for the hot sauce, very nice one if you like spicy food. The strawberries and grapes are cheap and nice too as desserts. Didn't try the Korean melon since didn't bring any knife to cut open. I was really surprise to find a box of pringles imported from Malaysia. Why do we get pringles manufactured from Thailand then? So weird.

If you own a ipod touch or iphone, don't forget to purchase the metro app. You will constantly use this to navigate the subways. For people with digicam and videocams, please visit Yongsan Electronic market. I purchase a 16GB SDHC at 10,000 won only! That is not even RM30, can you believe that. It's cheap because it's the Korean made brand.

The new KIA Sportage spied in front of the Itaewon mosque. Rumored to enter Malaysian market this October.

This post has been edited by gyver: May 29 2011, 08:36 PM

127 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0233sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:35 PM