Travel South Korea V2

wiNd
post Mar 14 2011, 11:38 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Mar 11 2011, 06:02 PM)
I only saw 4-pax dorm in Stay Korea II. Apparently it's the same for Stay Korea I..

http://www.staykorea.co.kr/english/03-2.html

It's really a cosy place, feels like a home smile.gif

Added on March 11, 2011, 6:25 pmI haven't been to Stay Korea I because both are located between 1-2 streets away. The owner is manning Stay Korea I and a nice gal called Noelle is managing Stay Korea II for half a day. Noelle will clean the house in the morning and leave @ 3pm daily. This gives us a lot of freedom and space to relax. Not that having someone around is bad but I felt more carefree and more at home in this way. Noelle and Sun (the owner) are friendly and speak good english. Both of them are able to recommend and suggest places to visit, eat and shop too.

Since the hostel is only a 2-sty house-size big, the place is cosy warm and easy for travelers to interact easily smile.gif We met people from HK, Netherlands, China, Thailand and France during our stay.

From Incheon Airport, take the blue line (Arex/Airport Railroad) direct train and alight at Hongik Univ station. Go to Exit 2 and you'll see 7-Eleven near/next to petrol kiosk. Walk down the street between 7-E and petrol kiosk and you'll see WA Bar. Follow the map accordingly smile.gif

http://www.staykorea.co.kr/english/04-2.html

P/S:
If you haven't been to Seoul before (like us), once you arrived @ airport - take the elevator down to B2 and walk about 5-8min to AREX station (underground). Buy T-Money at the big metal machine there or go to the counter to purchase single journey ticket (4000won) to Hongik Univ station. If you want to play safe, approach the Transportation counter in airport (arrival hall, near to tourist info desk) for help. Those men in yellow uniform can speak english to help you (that was how we found the train stn..)

T-Money:
We tried to buy from the GS25 mart in Incheon Airport but they said they don't sell.. so, how come other forumers managed to get them there? We managed to get T-Money from Hongik Univ station with the help of the staff there. We didn't even know the machine is to purchase T-Money =.= Remember to top it up right after the purchase (same as Singapore's EZLink card) either at the same machine or those next to it.
Stay Korea looks comfy and decent...btw, does it have private bathroom, etc? or we have to share all the facilities? thx
wiNd
post Apr 19 2011, 01:37 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

guys, any recommended hotel/guesthouse at Hondae area?

and if i want to book a domestic flight from Seoul to JEJU ISLAND...where shld i go?

thx

This post has been edited by wiNd: Apr 19 2011, 01:37 PM
wiNd
post May 12 2011, 10:12 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ May 12 2011, 10:07 PM)
For those taking the late flight back from incheon, please remember to buy onboard meal or else will regret~
cannot buy on the spot?
wiNd
post May 22 2011, 07:19 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

In seoul now, nice weather....not hot not that cold smile.gif

wiNd
post May 25 2011, 02:54 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

just back from Seoul...darn, miss it very much ! smile.gif
wiNd
post May 27 2011, 07:45 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

My 7 days itinerary

Day 1
Reached at night
Chill around Hongik Uni. area

Day 2
Gyeongbukgung Palace
Changdeokgung Palace
National Folk Museum
Samcheongdong-gil
Bukchon Hanok Village
Cheonggyecheon Stream
Anguk Streets

Day 3
DMZ Tour (3rd Tunnel, Dora Observatory, Dorasan Station, Imjingak, Freedom of Bridge, Unification Park)
Itaewon
War Memorial of Korea
I'Park Mall

Day 4
Myeong-dong
Dongdaemun Fashion Zone

Day 5
Gangnam area
Coex Mall
Apgujeong Rodeo Street
Cheongdam-dong Fashion Street
Dosan Park
Hangang River

Day 6
Namsan Park
Seoul Tower
Dongdaemun Fashion Zone
Namdaemun Market

Day 7
Times Square
Yongsan Electronic Market

Back to KL

This post has been edited by wiNd: May 27 2011, 07:53 PM
wiNd
post May 30 2011, 10:32 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

u can see lots of sports car @ Gangnam area

Ferrari, Bentley, Porsche, Jaguar, BMW, etc
wiNd
post Jun 1 2011, 02:58 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Jun 1 2011, 02:32 PM)
Back to Malaysia,huhu
welcome back to Bolehland rolleyes.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 3:00 pm
QUOTE(tulip3 @ Jun 1 2011, 09:04 AM)
Hi there! just so u know that the T-money can't be used on the AREX Express train (non-stop from Incheon airport to Seoul Station)..u can use T-money on the AREX commuter train only which the train stops at a few big stations including Hongik Uni station if i'm not mistaken..
yeah, Incheon Airport (AREX) to Hongik U...around 45 mins.

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jun 1 2011, 03:00 PM
wiNd
post Dec 13 2011, 12:21 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

i miss Hongik U area...biggrin.gif
wiNd
post Jan 3 2012, 03:07 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jan 2 2012, 11:58 PM)
may i know roughly how much will a trip for 2 person for 5D4N be??
on budget = RM2.5k per pax

else = RM3-3.5k per pax
wiNd
post Jan 6 2012, 10:07 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

those who want more information or a brochure/travel guide on Korea...can visit KOREA TOURISM AND CULTURAL CENTER @ Menara Hap Seng, KL

i just got a travel guide book from there, free...

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jan 6 2012, 10:09 AM
wiNd
post Feb 1 2012, 05:54 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 31 2012, 05:13 PM)
May I know whether is it really tough for backpackers to go South Korea due to language problem? How's their english or even mandarin, is it somewhere near hong kong?

I don't actually like to go with travel tour. Prefer go by myself, but worry language barrier.
dont worry about language barrier...

u can always ask the ppl around you...students, youngsters, professionals or US soldiers (they r more willing to guide you) smile.gif

there are Tourist Centers/booths around..with English-speaking personnels

This post has been edited by wiNd: Feb 1 2012, 05:55 PM

0.0187sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:42 PM