Travel South Korea V2

zstan
post Jul 30 2011, 10:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(NSMLady @ Jul 30 2011, 07:19 PM)
Hello again..I'm having a dilemma whether to travel on my own or by tour? Which one is better? Can you guys help out by helping me with the pros and cons? Thanks.
In my opinion, if you like to visit those tourist attractions, one of the main advantages of following the tour is that you can really save on the entrance fees and sometimes, food. Well, that's for my case when i went to Seoul last time. If i were to go on my own, i think i won't go to some of the places, forever maybe, that the tour guide brought me. A good example is the Sachoom show. The ticket costs like over RM70 per person, any backpacker will definitely not go these kind of places unless they are interested.
miyoko
post Jul 31 2011, 03:07 PM

285 posts

Hello, I hope you guys can help me out with these:

1) have anyone stay in Pencil Guesthouse and Seoul Backpackers? I'm deciding between these two, so would like to hear your opinions.
2) Can iPhone 3GS, HTC Diamond 2 and Samsung Galaxy tab roam in Korea? I understand that as long as has 3G, then we can roam there?
3) How is the power plug in Korea? Is it use universal power adapter would do? Or need any converter?

I understand that these information should have been mentioned before in this thread, but there's a lot of pages, and I apologize for not having enough time to read. I'm traveling there on next Thursday and would need urgent information. This thread is very useful and helpful in guiding me to have arough idea of where to go, what to do, what to eat and etc. I will definitely visit this thread still when I'm in Korea and keep you guys posted :-)

This post has been edited by miyoko: Jul 31 2011, 04:58 PM
divasweet_77
post Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(miyoko @ Jul 31 2011, 03:07 PM)

1) have anyone stay in Pencil Guesthouse and Seoul Backpackers? I'm deciding between these two, so would like to hear your opinions.
2) Can iPhone 3GS, HTC Diamond 2 and Samsung Galaxy tab roam in Korea? I understand that as long as has 3G, then we can roam there?
3) How is the power plug in Korea? Is it use universal power adapter would do? Or need any converter?

I understand that these information should have been mentioned before in this thread, but there's a lot of pages, and I apologize for not having enough time to read. I'm traveling there on next Thursday and would need urgent information. This thread is very useful and helpful in guiding me to have arough idea of where to go, what to do, what to eat and etc. I will definitely visit this thread still when I'm in Korea and keep you guys posted :-)
1) I never heard of pencil guesthouse but I would highly recommend Seoul backpackers. There are 3 guesthouse under seoul backpacker i.e; seoul backpacker namdaemun, seoul backpacker myeondong and zaza backpackers. usually, u need to book a few weeks in advanced, coz they're quite popular but you can try and contact them.
2) As far as I know, yes to all.
3) they use 2 pin and a normal universal adapter will do.
ae8za
post Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM

Whoot WHOOT!
724 posts

2) Still in Seoul now. My Samsung Galaxy Tab and HTC HD2 can roam automatically with my postpaid Celcom sim cards.
Sadly, both my Wife's and my iPhone 4 with Celcom sim cards can't detect the network... A bit bodoh I might say... sad.gif
So, only using our iPhones' to surf using free Wifi network at the hotel and some cafes or malls... wink.gif
3) Any universal adapter would do. No converter needed... smile.gif
QUOTE(miyoko @ Jul 31 2011, 03:07 PM)

ONGEDWIN
post Jul 31 2011, 10:42 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ae8za @ Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM)
2) Still in Seoul now. My Samsung Galaxy Tab and HTC HD2 can roam automatically with my postpaid Celcom sim cards.
Sadly, both my Wife's and my iPhone 4 with Celcom sim cards can't detect the network... A bit bodoh I might say... sad.gif
So, only using our iPhones' to surf using free Wifi network at the hotel and some cafes or malls... wink.gif
Bro, can I know how is the situation now in Seoul? I mean the flood and rain. My flight to Seoul is on 3rd Aug till 9th Aug sad.gif I am very worried when seeing tv news & newspaper reporting Seoul heavily rain non stop for many days d... is it true? Can I know also which area is affected with flood? And how is the public transport situation now? Is it working on time and no delay or etc.. ? I have book a guesthouse in Hongik University area, and plan to only move around Seoul and Nami Island. So which part is flooded? or everywhere of Seoul? The rain is it still raining nonstop til now? and any warning issue by Seoul government?

Hope you can please reply me as soon as possible as I am very very worried about the current weather & flood in Seoul sad.gif
rajatetra
post Aug 1 2011, 12:00 AM

110 posts

just comeback from seoul..not so wonderful coz of heavy rain.only yesterday the sun show up....huhu..but ok la..
rsralf
post Aug 1 2011, 08:54 AM

25 posts

Did your wife activate the international roaming with Celcom prior leaving? If not, that might be the reason she can't roam there.
My friend has to activate international roaming with Digi prior leaving, her iphone 4 has no problem there..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 1 2011, 08:58 AM
miyoko
post Aug 1 2011, 05:01 PM

285 posts

Thank you to both of you. May I ask between Hongdae and Namdaemun, which is better in terms of night time activity? which one is more lively? I know that Namdaemun is near the market, but what is there to do at night? I know Hongdae has got lots of pubs and club, but other than that?

Thanks in advance for your help yeah! blush.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM)
1) I never heard of pencil guesthouse but I would highly recommend Seoul backpackers. There are 3 guesthouse under seoul backpacker i.e; seoul backpacker namdaemun, seoul backpacker myeondong and zaza backpackers. usually, u need to book a few weeks in advanced, coz they're quite popular but you can try and contact them.
2) As far as I know, yes to all.
3) they use 2 pin and a normal universal adapter will do.
lexy
post Aug 1 2011, 11:24 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ONGEDWIN @ Jul 31 2011, 10:42 PM)
Bro, can I know how is the situation now in Seoul? I mean the flood and rain. My flight to Seoul is on 3rd Aug till 9th Aug sad.gif  I am very worried when seeing tv news & newspaper reporting Seoul heavily rain non stop for many days d... is it true? Can I know also which area is affected with flood? And how is the public transport situation now? Is it working on time and no delay or etc.. ?  I have book a guesthouse in Hongik University area, and plan to only move around Seoul and Nami Island. So which part is flooded? or everywhere of Seoul? The rain is it still raining nonstop til now? and any warning issue by Seoul government?

Hope you can please reply me as soon as possible as I am very very worried about the current weather & flood in Seoul sad.gif
Hi ONGEDWIN, I just came back from Seoul on Sunday smile.gif Dont worry, the flood is at Gangnam area ( bottom of Seoul, south of Hangang river), just avoid going to Gangnam area will do. Which means, dont go to Coex Mall, Express Bus Terminal, Apgujeong...

MyeongDong, Gyeongbukgong, Nandaemun, Hongik Universities areas are fine. Just remember to bring umbrella or rain coat. If you have rain boots, even better..

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(miyoko @ Aug 1 2011, 05:01 PM)
Thank you to both of you. May I ask between Hongdae and Namdaemun, which is better in terms of night time activity? which one is more lively? I know that Namdaemun is near the market, but what is there to do at night? I know Hongdae has got lots of pubs and club, but other than that?

Thanks in advance for your help yeah! blush.gif  rclxms.gif
Hi Miyoko, if you like clubbing/pub etc, Hongdae has a lot of this kind of place, you can find it at Hongik Univ. Stn exit 9. If you like shopping, you can stay in Nandaemun, it is walking distance to Myeongdong, the shops in Myeongdong opens until 11pm. Nandaemun market is just like Petaling street, but it is a great place for shopping dor sourvenirs.

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 1 2011, 11:27 PM
dauf87
post Aug 2 2011, 06:21 AM

569 posts

Salam & Hello!

Just wanna get ur opinion on my 'summer' trip to Korea on 9th-23th August, 2011. I'm gonna go with 3 of my friends, backpacking & just gamble all long the way wink.gif But still i hope can hear some of ur opinion about my plan:

Duration: 15 days
Places & days:

Day 1: Malaysia --> Seoul (AirAsia)

Day 2-4: Seoul

Day 5: Seoul --> Busan (via KTX)

Day 6, 7: Busan

Day 8: Busan-Jeju Island(Asiana Air)

Day 9-11: Jeju Island

Day 12: Jeju --> Busan --> Seoul

Day 13 & 14: Seoul

Day 15: Seoul --> Malaysia

And some question:

1) What do you think about my plan?

2) Can i just know how much(roughly) will the food cost at Seoul, Busan & Jeju?

3) In Busan, there are famous Island(i cant remember the name), but do you think it'll be worth it to visit it?

4) Are there any places that'll not be open on summer?

5) In Jeju, what do you think the must-go places?

6) Is it enough to round Seoul in 5-6 days?
ONGEDWIN
post Aug 2 2011, 08:33 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(lexy @ Aug 1 2011, 11:24 PM)
Hi ONGEDWIN, I just came back from Seoul on Sunday smile.gif Dont worry, the flood is at Gangnam area ( bottom of Seoul, south of Hangang river), just avoid going to Gangnam area will do. Which means, dont go to Coex Mall, Express Bus Terminal, Apgujeong...

MyeongDong, Gyeongbukgong, Nandaemun, Hongik Universities areas are fine. Just remember to bring umbrella or rain coat. If you have rain boots, even better..

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:27 pm

Hi Miyoko, if you like clubbing/pub etc, Hongdae has a lot of this kind of place, you can find it at Hongik Univ. Stn exit 9. If you like shopping, you can stay in Nandaemun, it is walking distance to Myeongdong, the shops in Myeongdong opens until 11pm. Nandaemun market is just like Petaling street, but it is a great place for shopping dor sourvenirs.
lexy, thank you very much for your precious info smile.gif I will avoid gangnam area:) Hopeefully Seoul weather will be more better & cheerful tongue.gif Hope less rain or even better no rain tongue.gif
rsralf
post Aug 2 2011, 09:11 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(dauf87 @ Aug 2 2011, 06:21 AM)
Salam & Hello!

Just wanna get ur opinion on my 'summer' trip to Korea on 9th-23th August, 2011. I'm gonna go with 3 of my friends, backpacking & just gamble all long the way wink.gif But still i hope can hear some of ur opinion about my plan:

Duration: 15 days
Places & days:

Day 1: Malaysia --> Seoul (AirAsia)
Day 2-4: Seoul
Day 5: Seoul --> Busan (via KTX)
Day 6, 7: Busan
Day 8: Busan-Jeju Island(Asiana Air)
Day 9-11: Jeju Island
Day 12: Jeju --> Busan --> Seoul
Day 13 & 14: Seoul
Day 15: Seoul --> Malaysia

And some question:
1) What do you think about my plan?
2) Can i just know how much(roughly) will the food cost at Seoul, Busan & Jeju?
3) In Busan, there are famous Island(i cant remember the name), but do you think it'll be worth it to visit it?
4) Are there any places that'll not be open on summer?
5) In Jeju, what do you think the must-go places?
6) Is it enough to round Seoul in 5-6 days?
Salam..
1) The plan looks good, plenty of time to walk about & enjoy. I just wonder on Day 12, why do you need to go back to Busan instead of going straight away to Seoul via plane? It will cost you more money..
2) Food costs varies ranging from 4000won to 10,000 won per dish. Street food normally cheaper. (Note - if you go to Itaewon for Nasi Beriyani etc price mostly from 8000won - 12,000 won).
3) Won't be able to answer as I only explore Busan market area.. I suggest you go there & share your experience with us tongue.gif
4) The places in Jeju that I like & would like to recommend
i) Seongsan Ilchubong Peak - A bit tiring for me to climb but love the view from top (lots of stairs)
ii) Seopjikaji
iii) The waterfalls : Jeongbang, Cheonjiyeon
I like scenary based location hence the above recommendation. Someone suggested to go to Jungmun Resort, but I have not enough time to go there.
5) It should be okay.

dauf87
post Aug 2 2011, 04:09 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(rsralf @ Aug 2 2011, 09:11 AM)
Salam..
1) The plan looks good, plenty of time to walk about & enjoy. I just wonder on Day 12, why do you need to go back to Busan instead of going straight away to Seoul via plane? It will cost you more money..
2) Food costs varies ranging from 4000won to 10,000 won per dish. Street food normally cheaper. (Note - if you go to Itaewon for Nasi Beriyani etc price mostly from 8000won - 12,000 won).
3) Won't be able to answer as I only explore Busan market area.. I suggest you go there & share your experience with us  tongue.gif
4) The places in Jeju that I like & would like to recommend
     i) Seongsan Ilchubong Peak - A bit tiring for me to climb but love the view from top (lots of stairs)
     ii) Seopjikaji
     iii) The waterfalls : Jeongbang, Cheonjiyeon
     I like scenary based location hence the above recommendation. Someone suggested to go to Jungmun Resort, but I have not enough time to go there.
5) It should be okay.
Thanks!

About the Day 12, what do you mean by that? Do u mean one-way ticket is cheaper than return? Bcos i;m gonna take a plane from Busan - Jeju(return ticket)..

Or do you have any better idea + cheaper cost..

Again, thanks for the tips & info! =)

This post has been edited by dauf87: Aug 2 2011, 04:11 PM
miyoko
post Aug 2 2011, 04:43 PM

285 posts

Hi guys, is there a guide on how to reload money for T-money on the machines?

Additionally, is there a guide on how to go to the airport train station?
ae8za
post Aug 2 2011, 07:29 PM

Whoot WHOOT!
724 posts

QUOTE(rsralf @ Aug 1 2011, 08:54 AM)
Did your wife activate the international roaming with Celcom prior leaving? If not, that might be the reason she can't roam there.
My friend has to activate international roaming with Digi prior leaving, her iphone 4 has no problem there..
We're both frequent oversea travellers so we kept the roaming feature on all the time even in Malaysia... smile.gif
I also don't know why our iPhone can't pickup SK Telecom's line... sad.gif
lexy
post Aug 2 2011, 07:43 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(miyoko @ Aug 2 2011, 04:43 PM)
Hi guys, is there a guide on how to reload money for T-money on the machines?

Additionally, is there a guide on how to go to the airport train station?
Hi Miyoko, tutorial on how to recharge t-money is written in here:
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/TR/TR_EN_5_4.jsp#tmoney

However, I prefer recharging t-money in convenient stores (GS25, 7-11, minostop...). Just tell the shop keeper you want to charge your t-money card. When you pronounce the word "charge" you need to pronounce it as " char-gy", then the shop keeper will understand smile.gif

You can reach airport by using subway or airport limo bus.

Check the interactive subway map here: http://www.seoulmetro.co.kr/station/eng/linemap.action

Subway will be cheaper, but if you have a lot luggages, take the airport bus is better. Subway cost about 3600 won, while airport bus is 10 000 won.

If you are travelling from Airport, you can use the airport limosine coupon. Print this: http://tourxpress.daum.net/cgi-bin/event/k...sine.cgi?step=2

Note that there is date printed on the coupon, it only valid for one month from the date you printed. Just give this coupon to the bus driver and pay him 9000 Won will do.

Listiani
post Aug 2 2011, 09:05 PM

I have Korean friend who pronounce lunch as lunchi. Mosque as mosqi. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lexy @ Aug 2 2011, 07:43 PM)
Hi Miyoko, tutorial on how to recharge t-money is written in here:
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/TR/TR_EN_5_4.jsp#tmoney

However, I prefer recharging t-money in convenient stores (GS25, 7-11, minostop...). Just tell the shop keeper you want to charge your t-money card. When you pronounce the word "charge" you need to pronounce it as " char-gy", then the shop keeper will understand  smile.gif

You can reach airport by using subway or airport limo bus.

Check the interactive subway map here: http://www.seoulmetro.co.kr/station/eng/linemap.action

Subway will be cheaper, but if you have a lot luggages, take the airport bus is better. Subway cost about 3600 won, while airport bus is 10 000 won.

If you are travelling from Airport, you can use the airport limosine coupon. Print this: http://tourxpress.daum.net/cgi-bin/event/k...sine.cgi?step=2

Note that there is date printed on the coupon, it only valid for one month from the date you printed. Just give this coupon to the bus driver and pay him 9000 Won will do.
miyoko
post Aug 2 2011, 11:19 PM

285 posts

Thanks lexy for your reply.

I'm trying to find the Korea GPS map for my garmin but cannot find. IS there any way I can buy or get it?

This post has been edited by miyoko: Aug 2 2011, 11:24 PM
lexy
post Aug 3 2011, 06:53 AM

29 posts

hi Listiani, yeah, kind of cute, yes as "ye-su", bus as "bus-su".. rclxms.gif

hi miyoko, I tried to find GPS for South Korea also, but failed. Others know where to get?

This post has been edited by lexy: Aug 3 2011, 06:56 AM
dauf87
post Aug 3 2011, 06:58 AM

569 posts

Hello, regarding flight ticket(domestic)

From Busan - Jeju (return ticket) : RM352

Is it a reasonable price?

Because i'm thinking to travel from Seoul - Busan via KTX train(RM125 or cheaper) & from Busan - Jeju(RM352)..

127 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0229sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:21 AM