4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel South Korea V2

rsralf
post Mar 9 2011, 10:00 AM

25 posts

aigoo.. the cherry blossoms are expected to bloom earlier? anyone know how long normally they bloom? approx 2 weeks right?
My flight is only on 19 April.. hopefully it will still blooming in Yeouido at that time (expected bloom on 8 April), if not the best bet is to see it in Incheon (expected bloom on 15 Apr).. but do anyone know where to view it in Incheon?? hmm.gif
rsralf
post Mar 9 2011, 01:51 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ashcrimson @ Mar 9 2011, 12:42 PM)
imho Incheon Grand Park is better than Yeouido. more activities as well. last year it rained on 23rd April. better check the weather first brows.gif

it's a waste going to korea to see the cherry blossoms. for this, japan is the best. korea is best during autumn. the view when mountclimbing is just awesome...
haha thanks ashcrimson for the tips.. for me it's not a waste to go to korea for this since I have some other interest to pursuit.. so it's kind of all-in-one package for me hahaha.. and april is the best time for me to apply leave coz not many projects in the office. It's difficult to go in autumn, coz of lots end-of-year projects and deadlines.. but i will try to slot in at least one autumn trip there in future.. By the way viewing the cherry blossoms is a plus coz in Malaysia we cannot view it..

The only place i want to go in japan is hokkaido, but i need tour package coz i can't understand nor speak Japanese. Last I checked the package is about RM10K.. huhu.. i'm putting that aside first.. maybe 5 or 6 years later??

This post has been edited by rsralf: Mar 9 2011, 01:54 PM
rsralf
post Mar 10 2011, 01:45 PM

25 posts

eh, got cherry blossom in penang meh?
hahaha.. poor me.. didn't know about that.. sweat.gif but surely couldn't compare to japan & korea hehehe
nvm next time will check out the Malaysia one..

tomorrow the MATTA FAIR will start.. am going to check out KTO's booth if there are anything interesting for my trip in Apr..
normally they have more info & brochures during the fair compared to walk-in at Korean Plaza..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Mar 10 2011, 01:46 PM
rsralf
post Mar 11 2011, 02:42 PM

25 posts

Hi Sophie,
have just checked out the Stay Korea website.. seems good.. and comfy..
may I know for the dormitory, do they have an 8 person dormitory?
rsralf
post Mar 16 2011, 03:25 PM

25 posts

ah.. muslim readers.. do take note that most sundae / sundae soup are non-halal ya..
just afraid that the muslim readers later try to order coz the pic of the food looks tempting.. kekeke

This post has been edited by rsralf: Mar 16 2011, 03:52 PM
rsralf
post Mar 16 2011, 05:03 PM

25 posts

sophi, did u manage to take pic at all 8 photo spot in Bukchon Village?
rsralf
post Mar 17 2011, 02:18 PM

25 posts

Ah.. Gyeongju is really very beautiful at night.. i wish i can stay a night there... can only see it during the day..

This post has been edited by rsralf: Mar 17 2011, 02:18 PM
rsralf
post Mar 23 2011, 09:35 AM

25 posts

Laily,
Could i know how much you pay for the van rental (with driver) in Jeju per day? Do you rent the van via Jeju Hiking Inn?
I'm looking at it as one of the option..

off topic.. my mind is still reeling because of SJ's SS3 last Saturday.. haha.. so am really in the mood to finalise things for my korea trip next month ;P

QUOTE(laily enelya @ Mar 22 2011, 08:27 PM)

2nd & 3rd day
Took the Arex to Gimpo airport. Fly to Jeju for 2 days (not enough!). Stayed at Hiking Inn and rented a van with a driver for the 2 days. The owner, Kevin was very nice, and the van driver, Mr Kim was super nice! He took us to beautiful places around Jeju.

rsralf
post Mar 24 2011, 08:50 PM

25 posts

anyone ever been to namsangol hanok village and also bukchon hanok village?
Which one is more interesting?
rsralf
post Mar 28 2011, 09:07 AM

25 posts

Laily, you have been a great savior! With your info, i manage to look out on the van from Jeju Hiking Inn..
They quoted me KRW160,000 for 9 people. It is cheap compared to Yeha tour! and we can plan our itinerary as well...

Thanks a lot!! biggrin.gifD

QUOTE(laily enelya @ Mar 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
Yup,we rent the van from Jeju Hiking Inn, which costs us KRW120,000 per day from 9am to 6pm.The van could accomodate 6-7 people.
rsralf
post Mar 28 2011, 11:04 AM

25 posts

would like to check your opinion on the following flights to & fro Jeju (if any of you has ride on the followings):
1) Eastar Jet
2) Air Busan
3) Jeju Air
rsralf
post Mar 31 2011, 09:19 AM

25 posts

To anyone who has gone to Mt Seorak before, how far is the entrance to the cable car? How many minutes does it take to walk from the entrance to the cable car station?

And then, does anyone know if we could ride a bus from Sokcho to Gangneung?

Added on March 31, 2011, 9:25 amLaily, I am wondering whether we need to give tips & pay for the driver's lunch?

QUOTE(laily enelya @ Mar 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
Yup,we rent the van from Jeju Hiking Inn, which costs us KRW120,000 per day from 9am to 6pm.The van could accomodate 6-7 people.
This post has been edited by rsralf: Mar 31 2011, 09:25 AM
rsralf
post Apr 1 2011, 02:43 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 1 2011, 12:36 PM)
Laila, my sisters and I plan to visit Korea somewhere in October. Can you pls kindly post the contact for the van and Hiking Inn accommodation? Perhaps their website link??

Thank you
Perhaps I can answer on behalf of Laily.
Details for the accommodation can be found through Jeju Hiking Inn website: http://www.hikinginn.com
For van, you will have to contact Mr Kevin Kim via email jeju@hikinginn.com as it is not stated in the website.

This post has been edited by rsralf: Apr 1 2011, 02:44 PM
rsralf
post Apr 5 2011, 08:59 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Apr 4 2011, 06:27 PM)
@Rsralf: Here's the pic of Gyeongju city tour bus routes.. and I just realized they don't have night tour.. haha so you're right about the new tour bus then?
Hi Sophie, I think i'm opting for the night tour since I can catch KTX back to Busan afterwards.. Need to free up my itinerary for other places.. sweat.gif well, hope I can come back next trip for day tour..

For the rest who want to explore this Gyeongju night tour (start operation in April), these are the details:

☞ ‘Night City Tour’ hours of operation: Every Friday and Saturday / 18:30 – 21:30
☞ Fees
Adults (ages 19 and up): 15,000 won
Teens (ages 13-18): 13,000 won
Children (ages 7-12): 11,000 won
** Admission fees for all tour stop destinations are included in the tour price.
☞ Night City Tour Course
Gyeongju Express Terminal → Bomun Lake Resort (보문단지, Drive-by view)
→ Seochulji (서출지) → Anapji Pond (안압지) → Cheomseongdae Observatory (첨성대)
→ Tomb of General Kim Yushin (김유신장군묘, Drive-by view)
→ Gyeongju Arts Center (경주예술의전당, Drive-by view) → Bomun Lake Resort (보문단지)
☞ 1330 tt call center: +82-54-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
☞ Inquiries: +82-54-743-6001 (Korean)

Alternatively, you can go visit this link Official Site of Korea Tourism

rsralf
post Apr 6 2011, 08:37 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Apr 6 2011, 08:26 AM)
Sophie,Laila. Pls give me their website link. I read in the earlier post that we need local code to book domestic flight in Korea. Really puzzle and doesn't make sense to me but somehow several forumers agree to this statement.
Dear Listiani,

The websites are as follows:

Air Busan

Eastar Jet

Asiana

Note that in order to view flight fee for Asiana, you have to be a member first. You can view the fee for Eastar & Air Busan even though you are non-member.

This post has been edited by rsralf: Apr 6 2011, 08:38 AM
rsralf
post Apr 8 2011, 03:32 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(nagaraputra @ Apr 8 2011, 03:12 PM)
hi,

just got Won from money changer in Masjid India area.
quite cheap compare to wawasan.

hi there, how much is the rate there? am planning to go & change tomorrow...
rsralf
post Apr 8 2011, 04:11 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(nagaraputra @ Apr 8 2011, 03:59 PM)
i got 1000 = 2.84 - cheaper if compared from wawasan today.
the rate shown on the board = 2.86
went there to change RM 7K but they only managed to give me around RM 6.2k only. that was after waiting several minutes for the boss to get from other premises. the note received also still new. just like our RM5 new note.

asked whether i can get better rate tomorow, the boss said, u may try to come again but he can't promise. so i changed to USD.
1USD = 3.02
official on the board = 3.028
ouch.. went up already.. regret not changing it when the rate is 2.79, that was last month i think cry.gif
rsralf
post Apr 9 2011, 11:12 AM

25 posts

Did anyone here has Air Busan ID?
I can't seem to register as a member..
rsralf
post Apr 9 2011, 11:51 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(rsralf @ Apr 9 2011, 11:12 AM)
Did anyone here has Air Busan ID?
I can't seem to register as a member..
Ah, it's okay now..
I figured out how to purchase without registering as a member.. rclxms.gif
I wish I found this option earlier.. The hassles that I had to go through make me rclxub.gif

rsralf
post Apr 14 2011, 12:06 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Apr 14 2011, 11:38 AM)
For anyone planning to rent iPhone there, the free 5 days rental promotion had ended. I had to pay the rental but got 50% discount la because we have coupon.
when we rent iphone there, can we download the application like translator, facebook, twitter etc or we're only allowed to use whatever application has been installed in the phone? Am thinking to rent one via KT.. And does the iphone's map application works fine in Korea??

originally intend to activate my internet roaming for my iphone, but since my tenure is less than 6 months with digi has to pay some deposit which will only be returned to me 2 months later (after 6 months tenure)... aahhh.. (is it because they are afraid i will never return to Malaysia??)

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:55 PM