Studying in US V1

soitsuagain
post Mar 1 2011, 05:04 PM

Let's do it together!
3,801 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Feb 28 2011, 02:08 PM)
Theres no paper-based test for TOEFL in Malaysia if im nt mistaken. All are IBT and must be done in ELS centers. Or maybe its just a norm that people do it there.

@soitsuagain, I plan to venture into airplane field. maybe work for boeing/lockheed martin/FAA or anything related to airplanes as test engineers or model designers etc etc. If not, i might take up a maintenance license for aircrafts when I'm back in MY. if not , i can still work in companies that require mechanical engineers. Its almost the same field. smile.gif
Ok, so you're more interested on the field of work not that field of study. But wow your work back home is damn boring lol and I bet you will be hitting your face in the wall if you do that. FYI, Boeing/Lockheed, etc employs as many ME, EE and Software Engineers as they employ Aerospace Engineers. Essentially aerospace engineering is one engineering discipline that is a foot wide and a mile deep unlike ME which is the complete opposite. Let's say by the time you graduate, green tech is all the rage in the US. You can't move into that industry as an aerospace engineer as easily as a mechanical engineer. Even though the foundation and fundamental is all they need as you will be working on computers (like wtf you do with learning hard partial differential equations anyway, laplace equations?? duh) but ME stills holds sway. Since what you do now is is mostly general education requirements and maybe statics laugh.gif you can't really gauge whether your interest is real or not. Just make sure that the university you're entering has your 2nd engineering discipline of your choice so you can do an internal transfer easily without having to go through the trouble of changing school.
LZ Zach
post Mar 1 2011, 05:40 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 1 2011, 03:35 PM)
Hey, take your time. I started research at about this time too, last year. Finalized my decision on one of the days that I was sitting for SPM.

Haha, it's okay, you're not bothering me at all. You can ask as many questions as you like, after all this is a place to discuss. smile.gif

Yes, you have to take TOEFL. Each university have a different mininum requirement for TOEFL score (usually around 75-90, depending on school). The maximum score is 120. Yes, you can sit for TOEFL this year too if you want. But I suggest you do it after you have chosen several universities that you have really strong intention of going to, because when you register for the TOEFL iBT, they'll ask you for the name of the institutions that you're going to so that they can send your score along with your application directly to the universities of your choice. Keep in mind that you should have started the application for the university by that time.. they can't send your TOEFL score if the colleges there don't have your name in their database. smile.gif

I suggest you take your time to shortlist the colleges you wanna go to in the next few months, apply when their Fall 2012 application is open (around October or something, depends on college) and then register for TOEFL iBT online and take it at your nearest TOEFL test centre. I registered in late December and sat for my TOEFL on February 12, the results came out a few days ago. smile.gif
Wow, it's seemed like you did a lot of preparation before too smile.gif, thanks for sharing.

Another question, should I start discussing with my parents in this? I did tell my dad about animation courses but not specifically like where or when.

And do I score really well as in straghts A's for my SPM?

And how do you officially translate the school-relevant transcripts?
I think I'm asking too many questions for now blush.gif
invinciblebunny
post Mar 1 2011, 05:48 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 05:40 PM)
Wow, it's seemed like you did a lot of preparation before too  smile.gif, thanks for sharing.

Another question, should I start discussing with my parents in this? I did tell my dad about animation courses but not specifically like where or when.

Do check out the Q&A at http://usapps2010.wordpress.com/
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:14 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 1 2011, 01:58 PM)
It depends a lot on where you go and what field. I would definitely ask up front and show your portfolio before you even take the time and effort to apply. If they say yes they can consider giving you advanced credits then go ahead and apply.

The only thing is if you're going to one of the top universities, they most likely won't accept these kinds of advanced placements but as with all things, it doesn't hurt to ask.
Yeap. Totally agree. The point is, no matter what, you should at least try. U will nvr know.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:18 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:04 PM)

Thanks! Actually I'm just about to start my four-year degree haha..

Ooo... After spm and degree, i guess it would be ADP? biggrin.gif
Haha, when I was in Form 5 (last year) I went to several American Education Fairs in KL to talk to the college representatives about my options. Many of them offer animation. They're very helpful and will talk to you (and your parents) about what you can do, etc, etc.

In fact there's one coming up, I received this from an email. They regularly email me about the education fairs heheh. Open the spoiler to view the details of the event.

Which website did u subscribe? Mind sharing? Im utterly interested! drool.gif
I see. Where are you taking up your ADP? And what's your concentration?

Most probably Inti smile.gif Chemical engineering!

TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:26 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 03:24 PM)
Ok, thanks for the emotional lift-up, I'll try my best to research more into detail and get myself prepared:)
Thanks for the info, really appreciate it icon_rolleyes.gif Right now, I'm battling all out on what can I do now other than scoring As on my next exam, had real head-aching sessions these few days.
I'm not really sure where to get started...
I hope I'm not really bothering you, but one question; Do I have to take TOEFL? Can you sit for TOEFL even though you're a Form 5 student?
No problem. Just bear in mind. Stay positive and everything will turn out well icon_rolleyes.gif

You can actually sit for TOEFL and enhance ur english. Future proof too. If u're free, why not?

IINM, if u r taking ADP program, you dont have to take SAT, and onli TOEFL when u transfer to US.

BTW, SPM, just take it easy, honestly, from my experience, its very easy, compared to my school's standard. Just pay attention in your class when teacher is teaching. And do some revision maybe once or twice a week? That would be more than enough for normal students. Unless u r reli slow then u have to buckle up and do extra revisions. Last minute revision (approximately 1-2 weeks b4 exam) can get you a good result too if u paid attention in your class.

PS. Im not encouraging u yea whistling.gif im just saying.

I know, sometimes, in class, you can't resist the urge to chit-chat in the class, to be with the "cool gang" to do something naughty, be rebellion, trying to get, maybe the girls attention? by doing something unusual and end up neglecting your teacher in front. Its ok for few times, but always please. You should enjoy secondary school times but make sure u dont go over the limit.

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM
chew1991
post Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM

176 posts

Thenemesis ,
you got one point wrong. EVEN with ADP, you STILL need TOEFLs to transfer.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM

342 posts

Wow, it's seemed like you did a lot of preparation before too  smile.gif, thanks for sharing.

There is never too many questions. Do clear ur doubt b4 its too late. Dont go "AIYA WHY I DUNO GOT SUCH THING ONE" when u r in the US. DOOM whistling.gif

Yes u should discuss with ur parents. I duno ur parents but mostly all parents are the same. They may show "duno dun care" face in front of u but deep down their heart they are very curious about their own children interests and future. They would be glad to hear ur say. After all, they would be ur bank wat tongue.gif

Of course, dont tell me just because a college will accept u with 5 credits so u just neglect ur studies because 5 credits is like peanuts. You should do your best. Straight As ease your application for scholarship and entrance to uni/college.

What do you mean by officially translate?

Added on March 1, 2011, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM)
Thenemesis ,
you got one point wrong. EVEN with ADP, you STILL need TOEFLs to transfer.
oh yea. no wonder i felt abit fishy

Thx for pointin out. will edit it.

But SAT is excluded right?

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 07:34 PM
chew1991
post Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Mar 1 2011, 05:04 PM)
Ok, so you're more interested on the field of work not that field of study. But wow your work back home is damn boring lol and I bet you will be hitting your face in the wall if you do that. FYI, Boeing/Lockheed, etc employs as many ME, EE and Software Engineers as they employ Aerospace Engineers. Essentially aerospace engineering is one engineering discipline that is a foot wide and a mile deep unlike ME which is the complete opposite. Let's say by the time you graduate, green tech is all the rage in the US. You can't move into that industry as an aerospace engineer as easily as a mechanical engineer. Even though the foundation and fundamental is all they need as you will be working on computers (like wtf you do with learning hard partial differential equations anyway, laplace equations?? duh) but ME stills holds sway. Since what you do now is is mostly general education requirements and maybe statics  laugh.gif you can't really gauge whether your interest is real or not.  Just make sure that the university you're entering has your 2nd engineering discipline of your choice so you can do an internal transfer easily without having to go through the trouble of changing school.
No worries mate , i study because of interest and I'm aware of the future job path.
But yeah , most of the universities who offer AE , would definitely have ME and EE on their list also, i might Minor in ME. biggrin.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:36 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM)
No worries mate , i study because of interest and I'm aware of the future job path.
But yeah , most of the universities who offer AE , would definitely have ME and EE on their list also, i might Minor in ME. biggrin.gif
Always have your backup plan smile.gif
edge_seraph
post Mar 1 2011, 07:36 PM

213 posts

You can translate the documents yourself, keeping the format the same. Then, get it certified by your principal or any senior assistants.

Hope this helps. smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:38 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(edge_seraph @ Mar 1 2011, 07:36 PM)
You can translate the documents yourself, keeping the format the same. Then, get it certified by your principal or any senior assistants.

Hope this helps.  smile.gif
Now i get it, u mean certify is it? it is called translate or certify?

In my school, you have to get ur principal/vice principal to sign on ur certificate smile.gif
edge_seraph
post Mar 1 2011, 07:41 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 07:38 PM)
Now i get it, u mean certify is it? it is called translate or certify?

In my school, you have to get ur principal/vice principal to sign on ur certificate smile.gif
He wants officially translated transcripts. The translate part comes from yourself whereas the official part would be getting the documents certified by the principal/vice principal.
LZ Zach
post Mar 1 2011, 07:41 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 07:26 PM)
No problem. Just bear in mind. Stay positive and everything will turn out well  icon_rolleyes.gif

You can actually sit for TOEFL and enhance ur english. Future proof too. If u're free, why not?

IINM, if u r taking ADP program, you dont have to take SAT, and onli TOEFL when u transfer to US.

BTW, SPM, just take it easy, honestly, from my experience, its very easy, compared to my school's standard. Just pay attention in your class when teacher is teaching. And do some revision maybe once or twice a week? That would be more than enough for normal students. Unless u r reli slow then u have to buckle up and do extra revisions. Last minute revision (approximately 1-2 weeks b4 exam) can get you a good result too if u paid attention in your class.

PS. Im not encouraging u yea  whistling.gif im just saying.

I know, sometimes, in class, you can't resist the urge to chit-chat in the class, to be with the "cool gang" to do something naughty, be rebellion, trying to get, maybe the girls attention? by doing something unusual and end up neglecting your teacher in front. Its ok for few times, but always please. You should enjoy secondary school times but make sure u dont go over the limit.
Lol, good tips, but I wouldn't dare attempt the '11th-hour' studying before the exams tongue.gif risky@

Actually,I might get distracted by people's action, a bit too much of observation on my part.. blush.gif I draw too much sometimes xD

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM)
There is never too many questions. Do clear ur doubt b4 its too late. Dont go "AIYA WHY I DUNO GOT SUCH THING ONE" when u r in the US. DOOM  whistling.gif

Yes u should discuss with ur parents. I duno ur parents but mostly all parents are the same. They may show "duno dun care" face in front of u but deep down their heart they are very curious about their own children interests and future. They would be glad to hear ur say. After all, they would be ur bank wat  tongue.gif

Of course, dont tell me just because a college will accept u with 5 credits so u just neglect ur studies because 5 credits is like peanuts. You should do your best. Straight As ease your application for scholarship and entrance to uni/college.

What do you mean by officially translate?

Added on March 1, 2011, 7:34 pm
oh yea. no wonder i felt abit fishy

Thx for pointin out. will edit it.

But SAT is excluded right?
Yeah, I guess doing your best is being the best smile.gif

By 'officially translate', I mean how to get your transcripts translated into Eng? Because isn't it the fact that the SPM cert and the school-leaving cert will be BM not Eng?

invinciblebunny
post Mar 1 2011, 07:51 PM

597 posts

63 Colleges With the Best Financial Aid

http://moneywatch.bnet.com/saving-money/bl...col1;blog-river

To a certain extent this is true for international students. Some colleges might have a diff. financial aid policy for international students.
chew1991
post Mar 1 2011, 07:53 PM

176 posts

You can actually get your university placement counselors to chop and certify the documents for you too. So if you're studying adp out of your hometown, this would be the best alternative smile.gif
latias93
post Mar 1 2011, 07:56 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

You're welcome!

Yes, you should discuss with your parents. It is important that the parents are involved in this process.. after all they've been taking care of you all your life and they will fund your studies there in the States. Have a talk with them. I discussed this a lot with my father as well as my relatives as they've all studied in the US and thus can share their experiences. smile.gif

Your SPM results doesn't really matter.. I mean, don't get like 9G for your SPM! Like 5A's should be fine too (that's what I'm aiming for!). Most of them don't really look at your SPM results, they just want it to make sure that you are a certified high school leaver.

You can translate it yourself and get your school to chop it (I made a thread on this a couple of months ago!) or you can find translation services by notary publics (according to my cousin) and also the state education office. smile.gif

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 07:18 PM)
Ooo... After spm and degree, i guess it would be ADP? biggrin.gif

Which website did u subscribe? Mind sharing? Im utterly interested!  drool.gif

Most probably Inti smile.gif Chemical engineering!
Haha, ADP is for those who want to stay in Malaysia for 2 years first lah. I didn't want to. tongue.gif

I didn't subscribe at any website, I just attended one of the fairs and filled up a form. They'll start emailing you with emails about upcoming fairs after that! laugh.gif

Nice! Chem Eng, fairly hard subject.. you must have really good marks in school for your science subjects!
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:05 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:56 PM)
You're welcome!

Yes, you should discuss with your parents. It is important that the parents are involved in this process.. after all they've been taking care of you all your life and they will fund your studies there in the States. Have a talk with them. I discussed this a lot with my father as well as my relatives as they've all studied in the US and thus can share their experiences. smile.gif

Your SPM results doesn't really matter.. I mean, don't get like 9G for your SPM! Like 5A's should be fine too (that's what I'm aiming for!). Most of them don't really look at your SPM results, they just want it to make sure that you are a certified high school leaver.

You can translate it yourself and get your school to chop it (I made a thread on this a couple of months ago!) or you can find translation services by notary publics (according to my cousin) and also the state education office. smile.gif
Haha, ADP is for those who want to stay in Malaysia for 2 years first lah. I didn't want to. tongue.gif

I didn't subscribe at any website, I just attended one of the fairs and filled up a form. They'll start emailing you with emails about upcoming fairs after that! laugh.gif

Nice! Chem Eng, fairly hard subject.. you must have really good marks in school for your science subjects!
Haha. Thanks.

For adp, it is not a must to do it 2+2. it can be 1+3, 1.5+2.5, 0.5+3.5

The choice is yours.

Hmm, they should insert a link to their website along with the infos u get what, mind checking?
Irzani
post Mar 1 2011, 08:21 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Feb 23 2011, 06:30 PM)
Aerospace engineering . biggrin.gif
Well the cost of living depends on where you are.

Say if you live in NY or massachusetts or even in chicago , the cost of living would be very high. maybe around 15-20k USD.
but if you stay in the midwest countries like...iowa, minnesota or indiana , living cost would be cheaper. prob around 10k.
Is it 10K per year or month? sweat.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:22 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2011, 08:21 PM)
Is it 10K per year or month?  sweat.gif
of coz its year.

33 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top