Example > 100 top universities such as :
1) Michigan State University
2) Texas A&M University
3) Stony Brook University
4) University of Florida
* Yeah .. India the only cheaper choice I have now ..
Studying in US V1
Feb 23 2011, 05:56 PM
2,972 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: OSINT |
I know I would never pursue my PhD in US due to financial constraint ... but can anyone give a rough idea how much is the living cost to live there? Let's put aside the tuition fees .. how much minimum per year do I need to live as a student?
Example > 100 top universities such as : 1) Michigan State University 2) Texas A&M University 3) Stony Brook University 4) University of Florida Thanks * Yeah .. India the only cheaper choice I have now .. |
Mar 1 2011, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Feb 23 2011, 06:30 PM) Aerospace engineering . Is it 10K per year or month? Well the cost of living depends on where you are. Say if you live in NY or massachusetts or even in chicago , the cost of living would be very high. maybe around 15-20k USD. but if you stay in the midwest countries like...iowa, minnesota or indiana , living cost would be cheaper. prob around 10k. |
Mar 1 2011, 08:26 PM
Mar 2 2011, 12:39 AM
for 500K own money ... I should banned myself from entering this thread liao ...
thanks for the estimated figure |
Mar 2 2011, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 2 2011, 09:40 AM) Irzani, Just do some reading ... thanks for keep highlighting about the teaching assistantWhat is WRONG with your BRAIN?? I guess it is probably not good enough for Phd material?? People had told you that if you are doing Phd, you probably pay NOTHING and get an allowance for teaching assistant job too. Those numbers has to do with people not doing Phd... Dreamer QUOTE Funding your studies [QUOTE]The average “sticker price” of US graduate education is US$21,000-34,000 per year, which covers both public and private institutions. For PhD students, this rises to US$28,000-40,000 per year. But as Welch points out, due to the amount of money invested in research, the majority of PhD students in science and engineering will get significant amounts of funding and roughly half of students doing an arts-based qualification will. One of the best ways of earning funding is through assistantship schemes. “In exchange for funding the students provide service to the university for between 15 and 20 hours a week,” says Welch. “This can include teaching, or helping with research. It is a real benefit to the student, for not only are they earning money but they are also building up their CV as they go through their course. The work helps the students to network.” Combined with Fellowships, where students receive funding with no strings attached, over 43% of international students receive the main chunk of their funding from the institution, compared with just 3% of students who receive their funding from their home government or university. For students looking to top up their funds 20 hours a week paid employment is allowed on campus; during vacations, this allowance increases to 40 hours. “They can apply to work off campus, but this is only for students for whom this will be essential,” says Welch. “For instance, some students will need to do an external internship, but for the majority there are a lot of opportunities on campus.” But how easy to get the funding? In Malaysia, most of the Malaysian master/phd candidate (UPM) will get their GRF/GRA opportunities. For foreigners, it's very hard to get one ... |
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:13 PM |