2,294 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Feb 22 2011, 02:47 PM)
cant blame the speculators..
it is a free market out there...

rich will get richer...
the poor like us will only get poorer..

too bad.
u r right, and one day will become wat happen in middle east now........ sweat.gif hmm.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 02:06 PM

1,121 posts

sure boh? biggrin.gif
v2 liao alredi? theory & practical is 2 different things tongue.gif when reach v20
we can look back at all this thread & say 'damn, should hav bought, since we going to high income status, sure up'

I am a speculator & like gambling drool.gif
izit good idea put excess duit into fd & earn peanuts flex.gif if age 70, its good idea
remember scared money earns nothing. better get something, than hav nothing, do make sure its affordable brows.gif

cranx
post Feb 22 2011, 02:17 PM

1,360 posts

Singapore for example, property price went up and rental increase at the same time yet demand is still there.
Malaysia (Klang Valley) however is different. Sharp increase in property prices but stagnant rental. Most fresh grades share a condominium/apartment in the range of RM1.5k the most.
CKHong
post Feb 22 2011, 02:19 PM

1,380 posts

b4 we reach high income status..
we need to stop corruption.. rasuah.. unknown money bring out from msia..
dun think can stop those in 3~5 years time..
unless BN lose la.. hahahahahhahahahahaha...
so high income nation.. can slow slow wait ba...
sampool
post Feb 22 2011, 02:25 PM

2,294 posts

i think the lottery company need to increase the payout... milllion $$ only can effort a house...
darius30
post Feb 22 2011, 02:26 PM

59 posts

Mark my words.....

Will drop in 6 months....
sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 02:29 PM

1,121 posts

irregardless of high income nation or wateva, property prices r not down nod.gif
tis debate will go to v2020 & ur cucu might learn from it smile.gif
now, where is the bubble? if bolehland banks have strict lending standards
we r not the usa giving out subprime loans doh.gif
while u guys debate, I'm buying thumbup.gif properties is a good inflation hedge, but do stick to ur own analysis
sampool
post Feb 22 2011, 02:34 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Feb 22 2011, 03:29 PM)
irregardless of high income nation or wateva, property prices r not down  nod.gif 
tis debate will go to v2020 & ur cucu might learn from it  smile.gif
now, where is the bubble? if bolehland banks have strict lending standards
we r not the usa giving out subprime loans  doh.gif
while u guys debate, I'm buying  thumbup.gif properties is a good inflation hedge, but do stick to ur own analysis
if this is the price we need to pay for v2020...nothing need to be proud of....
Pai
post Feb 22 2011, 02:36 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

1st QUARTER 2011 PROPERTY BAROMETER
Posted Date: Feb 18, 2011
By: iProperty.com

NEW YORK

New York City’s housing market nished 2010 with a 10% increase in sales prices over the last 3 months of the year. According to the Real Estate Board of New York, Manhattan saw the highest prices and the biggest surges, with average prices increasing 13% during Q4 2010 to US$1.45 million. Nouriel Roubini and John R. Taylor, known as the "Dr. Dooms" of nance, and John Paulson, the hedge fund manager who made hugely successful bets on when the housing bubble would burst, are some of the Wall Street heavyweights who have recently purchased New York residential property. This is perhaps the most positive sign for the Manhattan property market since the nancial crisis and we expect prices will continue to increase during 2011.

KUALA LUMPUR

Malaysia had a very strong year during 2010. The implementation of two economic stimulus packages, allied with the encouraging performance of the manufacturing and services sectors, which both expanded by 7.5% and 5.4% respectively during Q3 2010, led to an estimated GDP growth of 6.5% during 2010. The Malaysian Ringgit, the best Asian emerging market currency in 2010, is expected to continue its strong performance in 2011 with a 4.7% gain, after its 12% appreciation last year. We expect the Kuala Lumpur property market to remain stable during 2011 and estimate growth levels of 5% on the back of increasing transaction volumes during 2010 and an ambitious economic transformation program. According to the World Economic Forum, Malaysia was the only emerging market to enter the top 20 list of countries in the world’s financial development index.

LONDON

The London property market is expected to continue a similar pattern to 2010. Supply of new housing is expected to remain limited as funding for construction remains tight and mortgage lenders continue to favour the equity-rich. London’s lack of real estate stock, along with local buyers’ diculty securing nancing, is expected to continue to spur London’s rental markets. Rents performed well in 2010, rising by 16% and this trend is expected to continue in 2011. What has been key to the UK market is the low interest rates; the UK base rate remained at 0.50% after the Bank of England’s January meeting; however economists expect it to rise to 1% later in the year. Even with this increase, interest rates would still be at a historic low; interest rates averaged 5.18% from 1997 to 2007. IP Global does not see a particularly steep recovery, but with low interest rates and high rental yields the UK will still oer strong value over the next 12 to 18 months.

CHINA

China's Economic Forecasting Institute has estimated that during 2011 the country’s GDP will expand by 9.8% with ination forecast to average 3.7% for the year. Ination is expected to reach its highest level in Q1 2010 as a result of rising commodity prices and salaries. China’s central bank has raised interest rates twice since October 2010 to curb the country’s rampant growth and has also recently announced property purchase limitations for second and third-tier cities as a result of property prices still increasing by 0.3% during December to end 6.4% higher y-o-y. The level of restrictions now faced by property investors and the likelihood of more during 2011 gives IP Global the view that investment elsewhere in a less speculative market will oer investors more security.

DUBAI

Recent data has highlighted that Dubai house prices are almost 60% below their peak levels. According to Reuters, this is set to drop further by 5% during 2011, as new units are released onto the market, therefore increasing supply. With rents in the city decreasing, interest rates still high and service charges inated, many buyers are expected to wait and review the Dubai market later in 2011.

GREECE

The outlook for Greece continues to look bleak. The Euro currency continues to struggle and Greece’s debt levels remain high at 140% of their GDP. Desperate to raise funds, Greece oered 6000 of their Islands for sale in 2010, which were previously o-limits to citizens and foreigners. Greece only just avoided the danger of default by securing a multi-billion Euro rescue package from the EU and International Monetary Fund (IMF) over a three-year period, agreeing to painful austerity measures and reforms. Greece’s economy is expected to contract by 3% this year and whilst their economy continues to deate, IP Global does not suggest investment in this market.

ivanachang
post Feb 22 2011, 02:40 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(darius30 @ Feb 22 2011, 02:26 PM)
Mark my words.....

Will drop in 6 months....
depend on where u looking at and what u are looking at le doh.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 02:42 PM

1,121 posts

aiyo, when market down & property not move much during the previous pm era
rakyat complain, wan hope & change, govt abolish rpgt & invite ff in & relax the standards for them
now market up & property up, rakyat oso complain hmm.gif got mrt, oso bising, bantah here & there doh.gif

any complain king who had not gone thru a recession eg. 1998 financial crisis, u hav no idea wat it means
bank is takut to giv loan, job is uncertain & int rate is high nod.gif
if it really happens, do u even hav 6 months standby savings to ride thru it rolleyes.gif or u gonna invest?

QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 22 2011, 02:34 PM)
if this is the price we need to pay for v2020...nothing need to be proud of....
jeff_ckf
post Feb 22 2011, 02:42 PM

857 posts

Not sure whether it's going to be up or down but I just bought an extra unit for own stay / rental / capital appreciation in Penang. Can afford to pay the loan even without any tenants tongue.gif If it jacks up in price better still but I just treat it as another place to stay if needed. Cheers!
ivanachang
post Feb 22 2011, 03:09 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ Feb 22 2011, 02:42 PM)
Not sure whether it's going to be up or down but I just bought an extra unit for own stay / rental / capital appreciation in Penang. Can afford to pay the loan even without any tenants tongue.gif  If it jacks up in price better still but I just treat it as another place to stay if needed. Cheers!
yeah .. i am going in this year ... tongue.gif

suka tak suka one in KL , one in Cyberjaya , one in Melaka/Penang ...

$$$ sitting in FD is no fun ...

This post has been edited by ivanachang: Feb 22 2011, 03:10 PM
sameday
post Feb 22 2011, 03:27 PM

221 posts

the bubble is not going to blow, don't see it happen, as there are still room to grow more. no property price going to drop, and don't think the property can form it's own bubble as people still have money, unless the share market crash to 400 points and stay for a year or 2, then that's a good blow. btw, have we ever seen a property market crash before ? not really right, except share market crash which affect everyone.

As government is pumping lots of money into local development, more money will be in more hand.

so, still BBB for your own stay either condo or landed, else the price will still raise very fast. Now
places like Klang is catching up to Puchong (example setia alam, bukit raka), and kajang price is catching up to klang price..

sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 03:44 PM

1,121 posts

as the heated debate continues. one side, go iproperty, make calculation, survey area, calculate affordability & do a nike thumbup.gif

I got a fren, had a double story freehold house in puchong, near sri kesidang apt
he sold for 350k & keep in fd coz expect bubble to explode few years back
now... cry oso no use la. alredi told him to keep it & rent out, even though the rent kenot pay the loan at tat time
now it is in fd & he await the bubble. the property price, as a hedge against inflation, did its job but without the owner

another side, read all the doom, gloom & negative report to back up each negative with another negative report doh.gif
meet up all the negative & complain king frens over teh tarik in new developed areas
topic is y got rakyat still buy property, they talk on kura-kura & arnab story. they r willing to wait & wait & wait yawn.gif

however, things which they can see with their own eyes moves up. alas, the kura-kura & arnab story is jus a story nod.gif
time to get back to reality, nasi lemak price over 50 years ago is alwiz up (do check with nenek) due to inflation

sampool
post Feb 22 2011, 03:48 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Feb 22 2011, 04:44 PM)
as the heated debate continues. one side, go iproperty, make calculation, survey area, calculate affordability & do a nike  thumbup.gif 

I got a fren, had a double story freehold house in puchong, near sri kesidang apt
he sold for 350k & keep in fd coz expect bubble to explode few years back
now... cry oso no use la. alredi told him to keep it & rent out, even though the rent kenot pay the loan at tat time
now it is in fd & he await the bubble. the property price, as a hedge against inflation, did its job but without the owner

another side, read all the doom, gloom & negative report to back up each negative with another negative report  doh.gif
meet up all the negative & complain king frens over teh tarik in new developed areas
topic is y got rakyat still buy property, they talk on kura-kura & arnab story. they r willing to wait & wait & wait  yawn.gif

however, things which they can see with their own eyes moves up. alas, the kura-kura & arnab story is jus a story  nod.gif
time to get back to reality, nasi lemak price over 50 years ago is alwiz up (do check with nenek) due to inflation
ok lah, let me burn one altis loh..... sweat.gif
shyhhua
post Feb 22 2011, 03:51 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 22 2011, 03:48 PM)
burn an altis and get a camry back tongue.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 03:52 PM

1,121 posts

relax, take some time to digest the prop info as per affordability. never do things in a rush wink.gif
eg. buy property tomolo or nex week is rush! analyse it but do not take too long nod.gif

QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 22 2011, 03:48 PM)
prody
post Feb 22 2011, 03:55 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

V1 is giving some interesting information.

Simple check tells me that either people are getting more fed up with property prices and/or speculators are trying harder to defend the high prices.

Time it took for 500 postings in v1:
0-500: 551 days
501-1000: 250 days
1001-1500: 65 days
1501-2000: 45 days
2001-2500: 42 days

124 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0155sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:02 AM