136 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

Tiles, Cost and Installation

paintmyhaus
post Jan 4 2021, 03:50 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(rajah143 @ Jan 4 2021, 01:36 PM)
guys I am new here and need your opinion.
I want to change old tiles (1.5X1.5) to new ones (2x2) in my living room apartment (400sqft).

I have checked some shops in Jalan Ipoh but not sure how to differentiate grade 1, 2 etc and good brand. I think they have Citygres

can someone please advise where to get affordable and good quality tiles?

and please pass contact of cheap contractor...bangla also ok as long good workmanship. I have received ridiculous quotation like RM10K without tiles.

please help

In a nut shell, Grade 1 tiles means good to sell tiles. Grade 2 tiles means, tiles with minor defects, like dimension issue, tonality issue, scared surface, surface chipping and etc. Hence, Grade 2 tiles is usually sold at half the price of Grade 1 tiles.

If you are looking for tiles that is affordable, i would suggest you to check out BMS or Superceramics. As far as affordability is concerned, the average price for a 2' x 2' tiles will be between MYR 11 and MYR 13 per piece. Tiles under promotion will usually cost around MYR 9 per piece. It is advisable to select tiles with a minimum thickness of 9mm.

Godbl3ssyou
post Jan 12 2021, 02:02 PM

Is there anyone here who bought tiles from taobao and hire workers to install the tiles?
C0deXeus
post Jan 15 2021, 08:49 PM

136 posts

Hi sifus, I'm seeking for opinions.

I just re-grouted portion of the tiles at dining area. I find the new grout is powdery and can easily wipe off with damp cloth even after 24 hr. Is grout usually behave like this or is something wrong? I mix the grout with water and stir like a bit moist than toothpaste cuz first time do, scare too fast dry tongue.gif

This is the new grout I used.

Re-grouted wall:

Tq smile.gif
Zot
post Jan 17 2021, 07:16 PM

7,936 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jan 15 2021, 08:49 PM)
Hi sifus, I'm seeking for opinions.

I just re-grouted portion of the tiles at dining area. I find the new grout is powdery and can easily wipe off with damp cloth even after 24 hr. Is grout usually behave like this or is something wrong? I mix the grout with water and stir like a bit moist than toothpaste cuz first time do, scare too fast dry  tongue.gif

Tq smile.gif
Probably just takes more time to dry since more water but on tile surface still able to scrape off even after dry.

Looks good.
senscents
post Jan 22 2021, 03:23 PM

418 posts

I'm in the mist of Reno the kitchen.
Thinking of using a bigger piece of porcelain tiles for the countertops, maybe like 48" or 60".
Anyone used before a larger format porcelain?

How do they size up the large porcelain? Any recommend sifu. Will be using plywood base carcass with porcelain countertops.
What type of good adhesive for porcelain and wood? Thsnks

Edit: Add photo. Something similar design using a bigger porcelain tiles.

This post has been edited by senscents: Jan 22 2021, 04:52 PM

paintmyhaus
post Jan 22 2021, 11:48 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jan 22 2021, 03:23 PM)
I'm in the mist of Reno the kitchen.
Thinking of using a bigger piece of porcelain tiles for the countertops, maybe like 48" or 60".
Anyone used before a larger format porcelain?

How do they size up the large porcelain? Any recommend sifu. Will be using plywood base carcass with porcelain countertops.
What type of good adhesive for porcelain and wood? Thsnks

Edit: Add photo. Something similar design using a bigger porcelain tiles.
Large porcelain tiles usually comes in either 60cm x 120cm or 90cm x 180cm. These dimensions are basically designated for wall and floors and it does very little difference to kitchen top when it comes to joint line. Furthermore, these high end porcelain tiles are quite costly. You may want to opt for quartz, a tough mineral with mohs scale of hardness exceeding 7. It is both high scratch & stain resistance. More importantly, it eliminates joint line to just one on the top surface, making the the entire kitchen looks neat and tidy.

China quartz has a large variety of colours and the supply & installation price starts from MYR 80/sqft. However, the resin used in China quartz agglomerate is not of top quality thus owner may faced tonality issue within 4 to 5 years time once exposed to sunlight (uv ray). If owner has deeper pocket, they may go with branded quartz like Cosentino or Caesarstone where supply & installation price starts from MYR 180/sqft. The colour last longer and comes with extended warranty that goes as high as 25 years (for Cosentino quartz, Silestone).

senscents
post Jan 23 2021, 01:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(paintmyhaus @ Jan 22 2021, 11:48 PM)
Large porcelain tiles usually comes in either 60cm x 120cm or 90cm x 180cm. These dimensions are basically designated for wall and floors and it does very little difference to kitchen top when it comes to joint line. Furthermore, these high end porcelain tiles are quite costly. You may want to opt for quartz, a tough mineral with mohs scale of hardness exceeding 7. It is both high scratch & stain resistance. More importantly, it eliminates joint line to just one on the top surface, making the the entire kitchen looks neat and tidy.

China quartz has a large variety of colours and the supply & installation price starts from MYR 80/sqft. However, the resin used in China quartz agglomerate is not of top quality thus owner may faced tonality issue within 4 to 5 years time once exposed to sunlight (uv ray). If owner has deeper pocket, they may go with branded quartz like Cosentino or Caesarstone where supply & installation price starts from MYR 180/sqft. The colour last longer and comes with extended warranty that goes as high as 25 years (for Cosentino quartz, Silestone).
Thanks for your input, you seem knowledgeable on. Need to gauge the pricing and quality between quartz, porcelain tiles and branded quartz.

Based on my recent survey :
Low price/quality quartz as excepted, we will not know the quality or % of quartz and material. Some will be good, some acceptable and some bad but for the price we pay it's a gamble.

Branded quartz as we all know it's a great product that comes with a higher cost.

As for large format porcelain tiles it's gaining traction here in asia. Eupore has been producing and using it then the US and now it's available to us in Asia.

Porcelain tiles has been around for quite some time and proven to be versatile and durable, now couple with new Modern digital printing production methods have largely contributed to the success of Large format and Extra Large format tiles that can reinterpret marble, stone and onyx has to offer.

As for the total cost of constructing a countertops, cabinet, floor or wall with this large format tile vs the branded quartz, 🤔

paintmyhaus
post Jan 24 2021, 09:26 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jan 23 2021, 01:25 PM)
Thanks for your input, you seem knowledgeable on. Need to gauge the pricing and quality between quartz, porcelain tiles and branded quartz.

Low price/quality quartz as excepted, we will not know the quality or % of quartz and material. Some will be good, some acceptable and some bad but for the price we pay it's a gamble.

Branded quartz as we all know it's a great product that comes with a higher cost.

As for large format porcelain tiles it's gaining traction here in asia. Eupore has been producing and using it then the US and now it's available to us in Asia.

Porcelain tiles has been around for quite some time and proven to be versatile and durable, now couple with new Modern digital printing production methods have largely contributed to the success of Large format and Extra Large format tiles that can reinterpret marble, stone and onyx has to offer.

As for the total cost of constructing a countertops, cabinet, floor or wall with this large format tile vs the branded quartz, 🤔
Yes, porcelain tiles has been around for a very long time. The only reason why there have started producing the larger dimension as of recent is mainly due to the technological advancement in porcelain making press machine and the improved ingredient in porcelain tiles. A heavy pressed machine with high compressive force is needed in producing a flat surface or otherwise resulting to warping (bulging). Porcelain is only available in the largest dimension of 90cm x 180cm due to the limited manufacturer ability to ensure the surface flatness whereas quartz agglomerate manufacturers are able to produced larger dimensions in exceeding 300cm x 140cm (some 325cm x 160cm) mainly owe it to their expensively large pressing machine and the hardness of the ingredient (quartz) to handle the compressive force.

With recent technological advancement in producing large porcelain tiles, the manufacturer is able to print even in cut grooves and quartz agglomerate do not have to do so since the product itself is a homogeneous product. The whole cross sectional area of quartz agglomerate has colour on it, allowing end user to have any desired edging.

Well, I can go on and on with the advantages of having to own a quartz agglomerate as kitchen top especially when it comes to high scratch and stain resistance. By the end of the day, just like any other materials, it all depends on client budget allocation on their renovation.
Zot
post Jan 25 2021, 08:30 AM

7,936 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jan 23 2021, 01:25 PM)

You will regret using tiles because grouting line will collect dirt and become square dirt lines. Maybe okay for some but periodical cleaning is not something people tend to follow smile.gif

Marble and quartz stone is not cheap and can darken over time but for me it is not glass friendly.

I'd go for solid surface countertop material like Corian (expensive due to well known brand). It is made of resin and acrylic. There will be no joint. Can stand heat and very durable. I use this for mine. Even the backsplash also at the hob is also jointless to the table. Easy to clean. It was probably 15 years already and I can't remember the cost. It is common now than it was then
senscents
post Jan 25 2021, 08:17 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(paintmyhaus @ Jan 24 2021, 09:26 AM)
Yes, porcelain tiles has been around for a very long time. The only reason why there have started producing the larger dimension as of recent is mainly due to the technological advancement in porcelain making press machine and the improved ingredient in porcelain tiles. A heavy pressed machine with high compressive force is needed in producing a flat surface or otherwise resulting to warping (bulging). Porcelain is only available in the largest dimension of 90cm x 180cm due to the limited manufacturer ability to ensure the surface flatness whereas quartz agglomerate manufacturers are able to produced larger dimensions in exceeding 300cm x 140cm (some 325cm x 160cm) mainly owe it to their expensively large pressing machine and the hardness of the ingredient (quartz) to handle the compressive force.

With recent technological advancement in producing large porcelain tiles, the manufacturer is able to print even in cut grooves and quartz agglomerate do not have to do so since the product itself is a homogeneous product. The whole cross sectional area of quartz agglomerate has colour on it, allowing end user to have any desired edging.

Well, I can go on and on with the advantages of having to own a quartz agglomerate as kitchen top especially when it comes to high scratch and stain resistance. By the end of the day, just like any other materials, it all depends on client budget allocation on their renovation.
QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 25 2021, 08:30 AM)
You will regret using tiles because grouting line will collect dirt and become square dirt lines. Maybe okay for some but periodical cleaning is not something people tend to follow  smile.gif

Marble and quartz stone is not cheap and can darken over time but for me it  is not glass friendly.

I'd go for solid surface countertop material like Corian (expensive due to well known brand). It is made of resin and acrylic. There will be no joint. Can stand heat and very durable. I use this for mine. Even the backsplash also at the hob is also jointless to the table. Easy to clean. It was probably 15 years already and I can't remember the cost. It is common now than it was then
Thanks for the insights. Good to have people giving sound advises. 😁
Is it feasible to use a bigger porcelain tiles with epoxy grout to minimise the joints and have a better tolerance of stains? Anyone has recommend epoxy grout?

What about the curing time for the cement after laying the porcelain tiles on the flooring? As I'm planning to renovate the entire kitchen.

squidsquid
post Feb 12 2021, 11:58 AM

124 posts

Hi sifu

Recently i bought a subsale house and the flooring is vinyl underneath being tiles.

A few areas of the vinyl starting to pop up. So far noticed 1 of the tile also broken. it is feasible for me to remove the vinyl all together and opt for tiles cleaning service?

Appreciate if you have any good contact to share for cleaning too. Thanks
SUSceo684
post Feb 12 2021, 02:43 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jan 25 2021, 08:17 PM)
Thanks for the insights. Good to have people giving sound advises. 😁
Is it feasible to use a bigger porcelain tiles with epoxy grout to minimise the joints and have a better tolerance of stains? Anyone has recommend epoxy grout?

What about the curing time for the cement after laying the porcelain tiles on the flooring? As I'm planning to renovate the entire kitchen.
Concrete/mortar fully cures in 28 days for full strength.

Bigger tiles will mean lesser tiles required (and thus a corresponding reduction in grout lines) for 2x2 vs 1x1 (i.e. for each 4 sq ft you will have 4 border lines instead of 16 border lines).
There are such things called large format tiles* (loosely defined as anything bigger than 2x2, such as 2x4 and up), even from local mfg like

https://www.feruni.com/large-format-tiles

https://www.nirogranite.com/vogue-grande/

https://jubinbms.com.my/product_list/tiles?...d8aApKPEALw_wcB

https://www.quadrasurface.com.my/?gclid=Cj0...HwaAu5KEALw_wcB

being large tiles, if you can get the required length in 1/2/3 pieces depending on how massive is your countertop you will defo have lesser grout lines.
However large format = large price, if budget limited 2x2 is decently sized and priced.
Jitty
post Feb 13 2021, 10:08 AM

1,046 posts

Good morning all sifus and brod here.
Happy cny to all ya.

I am moving in to my new house soon that come with fresh new tiles.

I plan to add up a new layer of 3mm of vinyl flooring.
Issit recommended to do that?

Is tiles or vinyl flooring more prefer?
funnymoney P
post Feb 13 2021, 12:13 PM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Feb 13 2021, 10:08 AM)
Happy cny to all ya.

Congratulations upon moving to a new house. yes, you may do so provided if your tiles has no lippage issue (assuming the workmanship is on acceptable level). 3mm thk vinyl plank + recommended adhesive thk usually works well within the gap between the door and the existing floor tile.

It is feasible to do so since it is the most economical way, but not recommended.
funnymoney P
post Feb 13 2021, 12:41 PM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Feb 13 2021, 10:08 AM)
Happy cny to all ya.

The last question is the tricky one as it is based on individual preference. IMO, it is much better to address your question based on product integrity. Regular tiles has better scratch resistance compared to vinyl planks. Always take extra precaution when moving your furniture around ok?
Jitty
post Feb 13 2021, 05:26 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(funnymoney @ Feb 13 2021, 12:41 PM)
The last question is the tricky one as it is based on individual preference. IMO, it is much better to address your question based on product integrity. Regular tiles has better scratch resistance compared to vinyl planks. Always take extra precaution when moving your furniture around ok?
Thanks for the advice.

Another question, should I take vinyl flooring 3mm or SPC 3.7mm?

Some say in Malaysia hot humid weather, SPC would be a better choice
funnymoney P
post Feb 14 2021, 09:44 AM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Feb 13 2021, 05:26 PM)
Thanks for the advice.

Another question, should I take vinyl flooring 3mm or SPC 3.7mm?

Some say in Malaysia hot humid weather, SPC would be a better choice
Good morning & good question! The option on thickness usually depends on the existing condition of the substrate. For residential, a 3mm thk vinyl plank will do. Yes, SPC would be my choice when it comes to the 2 (not because of the hot and humid weather in MY) and you may go with 4mm thk.
feringgee
post Feb 15 2021, 02:15 PM

45 posts

How much does it cost for floor tiling work including hacking? Per sqft using normal tiles.
funnymoney P
post Feb 16 2021, 09:04 AM

Probation
22 posts

QUOTE(feringgee @ Feb 15 2021, 02:15 PM)
How much does it cost for floor tiling work including hacking? Per sqft using normal tiles.
Bro,

That depends on the total area involved. It is usually quoted on a lumpsum basis. It would helps if you were to advise us on your intention.
Jitty
post Feb 16 2021, 10:25 AM

1,046 posts

sang ka la contractor and pro contractor for tiling different pricing

136 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:39 AM