Tiles, Cost and Installation
Zot
Mar 1 2018, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 28 2018, 10:04 PM) hmm i though the perks of epoxy is that it doesn't turn yellowish easily like white cement? that epoxy is waterproof so i'm saying waterproof combo cement cost alot more. Sika Tile cement 88 cost rm13 per bag. Sika Tile Cement Water Proof Part B cost rm80 per bag. if you buy a Sika 88 & a Davidco Waterproofing cement Part A + B (rm37 per liter), it's cheaper as you just need a thin wet layer of waterproof cement then use normal tile cement. i saw some tile shops got tons of color choices for their grout not sure what material, got a piece of sample with many colors like paint catalog. but i never seen people or shop use it though. Color grout is for those who want to match the grout color with the tile color. Color can be normal cement type or can be epoxy type as well
AgnesB
Mar 4 2018, 11:03 AM
floor tile i will recommend guocera u1729ag(500 mm x 500 mm), gloss white ,rm1.98 per sqft (rm5.51 per pcs inclusive of GSt) http://www.guocera.com.my/product/alto-dol...238#variant=440typical 2 ft x 2ft tiles from china is 600 mm x 600 mm,it has to be done by wet laying,normally ppl only do dry laying for you if dry laying it will pop up very soon this guocera has no such problem as compared to 2feet x 2feet from china ,and guocera is much cheaper this is the experience from my dad who have over 50 yr of laying tiles p/s :will show you soonafter my house done in 2 week This post has been edited by AgnesB: Mar 4 2018, 11:53 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
whitejack
Apr 21 2018, 12:32 AM

The tiles in my living room having the grout like this... The grout is not flushed with the the tiles surface Anyway for me to fix it myself? can use what to fill it? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=9747337]
This post has been edited by whitejack: Apr 21 2018, 12:33 AM
Zot
Apr 22 2018, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(whitejack @ Apr 21 2018, 12:32 AM) The tiles in my living room having the grout like this... The grout is not flushed with the the tiles surface Anyway for me to fix it myself? can use what to fill it? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=9747337]
Just buy tile grout from DIY shop and apply it yourself. Easy to find. Very easy. No special skill required. You can youtube on how to apply grout.
Zot
Apr 22 2018, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(AgnesB @ Mar 4 2018, 11:03 AM) floor tile i will recommend guocera u1729ag(500 mm x 500 mm), gloss white ,rm1.98 per sqft (rm5.51 per pcs inclusive of GSt) http://www.guocera.com.my/product/alto-dol...238#variant=440typical 2 ft x 2ft tiles from china is 600 mm x 600 mm,it has to be done by wet laying,normally ppl only do dry laying for you if dry laying it will pop up very soon this guocera has no such problem as compared to 2feet x 2feet from china ,and guocera is much cheaper this is the experience from my dad who have over 50 yr of laying tiles p/s :will show you soonafter my house done in 2 week Nowadays, there are tiles that needs no soaking. It is also depends on what type of mortar you use for tiling. Normal cement on cheap tiles most likely need soaking to ensure proper adhesion of tiles to its base. However, there are now mortar designed specifically for tiles which require no soaking. This was not available 50 years ago The problem with big size tile from China is the flatness. You will find that many are not flat thus making the surface uneven. Local tiles are way better in this regard.
whitejack
Apr 23 2018, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 22 2018, 05:26 PM) Just buy tile grout from DIY shop and apply it yourself. Easy to find. Very easy. No special skill required. You can youtube on how to apply grout. glad to hear it... i will go diy shop find...im thinking to grind it first like this, the just apply the tile grout...will see the result first. [attachmentid=9749419] This post has been edited by whitejack: Apr 23 2018, 12:55 AM
magnesium
Apr 23 2018, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(whitejack @ Apr 23 2018, 12:54 AM) glad to hear it... i will go diy shop find...im thinking to grind it first like this, the just apply the tile grout...will see the result first. [attachmentid=9749419] no no no dont use grinder to remove grout cement u are not pro later ur tiles damage even contractors dont use this method just use scrapper to remove grout and apply grout cement it is better if u using vacuum to clean the left over grout
whitejack
Apr 23 2018, 08:07 AM

QUOTE(magnesium @ Apr 23 2018, 01:03 AM) no no no dont use grinder to remove grout cement u are not pro later ur tiles damage even contractors dont use this method just use scrapper to remove grout and apply grout cement it is better if u using vacuum to clean the left over grout Ah……i see, ok, will try it out. Thanks
Zot
Apr 23 2018, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(whitejack @ Apr 23 2018, 08:07 AM) Ah……i see, ok, will try it out. Thanks This is a good advise from A to Z on re-grouting. The tool you showed is nor really the tool for the job but I'd say if you have steady hand and the gap between tiles are 1/4", it should still be okay. The guy in the video is using what is called multi-tool (what Bosch and several others called) or oscillating tool. China made is cheap and other known brand probably around same price as Bosch, around RM500+. The blade is exchangeable to cutting wood, metal and many other thing. Using this you can ensure the blade is perpendicular to tiles surface. https://www.westlakehardware.com/videos/ask...d-regrout-tile/
Student111
Apr 27 2018, 05:10 PM

Hi Guys,
I am doing some reno work and got a quote for tiling and etc. I notice my contractor is quoting me almost RM40k for tiling (labour only) as I will need to provide material ie the tile.
My first floor surface is 29.33 by 51.25 ( I am assuming the whole ground floor surface) being the work area + 3 bath room (floor plus wall) of about 180 sq floor area + another 180 sq of wall area. All calculation is in feet and this gives me about RM 21 per feet.......his quote is inclusive of skirting, side and etc.
My question is - This price is acceptable? I am having him renovating other part of the house too and I hope sifu here can help with your opinion.
Student111
Apr 27 2018, 05:13 PM

Oh yeah, he needs to remove the existing tile and I think he factor that cost in it too....
Zot
Apr 27 2018, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(Student111 @ Apr 27 2018, 05:13 PM) Oh yeah, he needs to remove the existing tile and I think he factor that cost in it too.... That is why I laminate the floor instead No gap and dirty grout. No cold feet. Easy to clean
Student111
Apr 27 2018, 11:04 PM

Any bro lately did tiling that can share the rate?
BuzzGeng
Apr 30 2018, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(Student111 @ Apr 27 2018, 11:04 PM) Any bro lately did tiling that can share the rate? have you officially hire the contractor or still at quotation stage?
Student111
May 1 2018, 12:36 PM

I am still at quotation stage
BuzzGeng
May 1 2018, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Student111 @ May 1 2018, 12:36 PM) I am still at quotation stage I think mine is relatively cheaper.
Zot
May 2 2018, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(Student111 @ May 1 2018, 12:36 PM) I am still at quotation stage For me, 40k for labor only is way expensive. It is probably a week job to complete. Removing old tiles is easy with power tool. With new mortar, no need to remove much of the tiles base. Are you sure it is just the labor only?
Student111
May 3 2018, 10:23 AM

Yup, the quote states owner to supply tiles. Certainly that is for me to buy the tiles separately
cyclone9
May 19 2018, 05:25 PM
my floor tiles are sticky, any way to DIY polish it?
POLISHED PORCELAIN BONE WHITE
Zot
May 19 2018, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(cyclone9 @ May 19 2018, 05:25 PM) my floor tiles are sticky, any way to DIY polish it? POLISHED PORCELAIN BONE WHITE Sticky floor needs no polishing, it is because it is not clean. Need to mop with proper detergent and rinse and rinse and rinse the mop