Tiles, Cost and Installation

post Oct 8 2013, 04:31 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(BeeB88 @ Oct 8 2013, 12:33 PM)
Guys, can I ask your opinions please?

Developer has provided wall tiles up to ceiling height.
I would like to add a few electrical points (currently only 2).
Does this means only some wall tiles needs to be hacked off in order to do rewiring?

One contractor suggested for me to change all wall tiles as the replacements tiles will not look the same as the existing.
Not too long ago saw this item in an exhibition..an aluminium rail of which the socket points are flexible..mean can slide to any position in horizontal..the rail is purchased in length that you require 2ft,3ft or 4 ft..and on the rail you can chose to put in how many socket head..unfortunately I dont know what it is really call thus cannot google any photo for it..perhaps you could search for it in an electrical shop or electrical lighting shop..this will look neat as you only need to connect the power source to the connectors on the aluminium rail..whether it is good/safe for use like water heaters/high amps application, I am not sure

maybe you could find this in coming homedec on 20th Oct in KLCC..i remember I saw this when scouting thru for LED lightings

This post has been edited by Avatar II: Oct 8 2013, 04:32 PM
sovietmah
post Oct 8 2013, 04:32 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 8 2013, 04:01 PM)
Look like need 9 pieces tiles.
should be 9 pieces haha.
mox123
post Oct 10 2013, 10:07 PM

244 posts

Hi Guys,

My contractor quoted me to hack existing and lay new 2x1 tiles (I supply tiles only) for about 230Sqft kitchen wall area for about 3k which I think is quite expensive and below are the reason he told me why more expensive:

1) My condo only allow noisy work carry out until 2pm. That's mean no hacking/grinding or whatsever noisy work can be carried out

2) All tiles are lay by skillful chinese sifu, not indo or foreign workers

3) Cleaning and other necessary materials (sand, susu, etc) all supply by them

4) The area is small, if more than 500Sqft, can get cheaper

5) A small markup from him

What do you guys think?

This post has been edited by mox123: Oct 11 2013, 12:08 AM
Sydneguy
post Oct 11 2013, 12:36 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(mox123 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hi Guys,

My contractor quoted me to hack existing and lay new 2x1 tiles (I supply tiles only) for about 230Sqft kitchen wall area for about 3k which I think is quite expensive and below are the reason he told me why more expensive:

1) My condo only allow noisy work carry out until 2pm. That's mean no hacking/grinding or whatsever noisy work can be carried out

What do you guys think?
From what I understand of local Chinese sifu tiler rates are about RM 5-8 /sqft including materials (but not tiles) and to hack the tiles it should be about RM2-3sqft.

So thats RM7-10 /sqft total x 230sqft = RM1,610 - 2300. now your contractor will be looking to make about 20-30% gross profit > RM 2,012 - 3,285 Total

So your contractor quote seem to be toward the top end of the range, but not completely unreasonable.

BTW did this contractor come recommended by others or you used him before? If there is some assurance (via past experience or recommendation) of high standards of work then its worth paying a bit extra for.

Regarding his reasoning;

1) My condo only allow noisy work carry out until 2pm. That's mean no hacking/grinding or whatsever noisy work can be carried out. <<<< 230sqft should only take 2 days to hack so maybe it takes 3 days instead due to early finishing time but that other time after 2pm can be used to carry up materials, carry down waste fromt he days hacking etc so not totally wasted time.

2) All tiles are lay by skillful chinese sifu, not indo or foreign workers <<< Already allowed for in cost calcs

3) Cleaning and other necessary materials (sand, susu, etc) all supply by them <<<<< Already allowed for in cost calcs

4) The area is small, if more than 500Sqft, can get cheaper. <<<<< Some what true, but the job will take about 5 days so not a tiny small job either.

5) A small markup from him <<<< Already allowed for in cost calcs.

Taking all into account I think RM2,500 would be a bit cheap, RM3000 a bit expensive and RM 2, 750 Just right for Goldilocks!

See if you can haggle him down to 2500 but be prepared to settle for 2750 or even 3k.

Goodluck!
mox123
post Oct 11 2013, 12:57 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Sydneguy @ Oct 11 2013, 12:36 AM)
From what I understand of local Chinese sifu tiler rates are about RM 5-8 /sqft including materials (but not tiles) and to hack the tiles it should be about RM2-3sqft.

So thats RM7-10 /sqft total x 230sqft = RM1,610 - 2300. now your contractor will be looking to make about 20-30% gross profit > RM 2,012 - 3,285 Total

So your contractor quote seem to be toward the top end of the range, but not completely unreasonable.

BTW did this contractor come recommended by others or you used him before? If there is some assurance (via past experience or recommendation) of high standards of work then its worth paying a bit extra for.

Regarding his reasoning;

1) My condo only allow noisy work carry out until 2pm. That's mean no hacking/grinding or whatsever noisy work can be carried out. <<<< 230sqft should only take 2 days to hack so maybe it takes 3 days instead due to early finishing time but that other time after 2pm can be used to carry up materials, carry down waste fromt he days hacking etc so not totally wasted time.

2) All tiles are lay by skillful chinese sifu, not indo or foreign workers <<< Already allowed for in cost calcs

3) Cleaning and other necessary materials (sand, susu, etc) all supply by them <<<<< Already allowed for in cost calcs

4) The area is small, if more than 500Sqft, can get cheaper. <<<<< Some what true, but the job will take about 5 days so not a tiny small job either.

5) A small markup from him <<<< Already allowed for in cost calcs.
Taking all into account I think RM2,500 would be a bit cheap, RM3000 a bit expensive and RM 2, 750 Just right for Goldilocks!

See if you can haggle him down to 2500 but be prepared to settle for 2750 or even 3k.

Goodluck!
Thanks for your detail explanation.

Actually, I was expecting something like not more than 2.5k.....

This contractor is actually recommended by my kitchen cabinet supplier. I already engaged him to do my other renovation (already started) and this tiles changing thing is something come in later in my mind.....so far, his job is ok and other items price he quoted is ok too.

If I really want to do this tile changing thing, I don't think is a good idea to engage someone else.....and from your explanation, I'll try to negotiate with him to about 2.7k.

Thanks again biggrin.gif

ganesher85
post Oct 12 2013, 01:06 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Feb 28 2011, 07:57 PM)
0126636962, he's from SK area, did my house few days ago thumbup.gif
Anyone used this contractor service? How was the quality?
ganesher85
post Oct 12 2013, 01:15 AM

77 posts

Hi sifu, need your advice on the following matter.

i am about to hire contractor to install tiles on my first floor of my house. Contractor need to peel off the existing wood type floor(2 inch x 2 inch) covering and lay the tiles. Contractor told me that after peel of, he will need to plaster the floor to level the floor before applying the tiles.

What is the price range (all cost including hack+material+labor EXCEPT tiles)for me to look for as a reasonable range quoted by the contractor. Chinese contractor. Installation doesnt cover toilet area. Im going to use 2x2 tiles for area of 600sqft.

S'aimer
post Oct 12 2013, 09:11 PM

637 posts

Avator II, that would be eubiq you are talking about right? It originates from singapore so safety issue is not a problem. This eubiq system is pretty interesting as in it has a insulation to prevent any electric shock or current passing through your fingers if you stick your finger in, based on the explanation by the eubiq staff. That is what I understand la and also said to be child safe due to this unique feature of theirs.

The only thing is that, the eubiq system cannot take in the amp of the electrical appliances such as electrical hob, i.e: induction hob, vitroceramic hob, oven and fridge as the amp is too high and will cause overloading issues on the current wall socket which this track is attached to. This is good for eliminating the need for more wall sockets and can hold up to probably 4-6 external socket adaptors for the 600mm-800mm track for example. The no of external socket adaptors depends on the length of the track itself. (The tracks comes in 600mm, 800mm, 1m and 1.2m length if I'm not mistaken?)

The eubiq system comes in 2 forms, flushed within the wall which means embedded in the wall (the cons is if spoil, have to hack that wall, take out for repair if any under warranty) and external track which attaches to a sole existing wall socket. The socket adaptors on the other hand, comes in 2 versions which are the british and german types. You can check eubiq out at www.eubiq.com

QUOTE(Avatar II @ Oct 8 2013, 05:31 PM)
Not too long ago saw this item in an exhibition..an aluminium rail of which the socket points are flexible..mean can slide to any position in horizontal..the rail is purchased in length that you require 2ft,3ft or 4 ft..and on the rail you can chose to put in how many socket head..unfortunately I dont know what it is really call thus cannot google any photo for it..perhaps you could search for it in an electrical shop or electrical lighting shop..this will look neat as you only need to connect the power source to the connectors on the aluminium rail..whether it is good/safe for use like water heaters/high amps application, I am not sure

maybe you could find this in coming homedec on 20th Oct in KLCC..i remember I saw this when scouting thru for LED lightings
This post has been edited by S'aimer: Oct 12 2013, 09:12 PM
stabella
post Oct 13 2013, 03:01 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(mox123 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hi Guys,

What do you guys think?
Ur price is at about rm13 psf.

My contractor also quote me the same price, but including tiles (can choose the tiles up to rm4psf)

Work done by china sifu

My whole house renovate by him, not small project.
But he worth for this price as his responsibility, good workmanship

I would say u can negotiate with him to include the tile at this price

Immunityx7
post Oct 13 2013, 12:08 PM

111 posts

hey guys can intro me any shop/place that is doing some tiles promotion nao? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
anonymous000
post Oct 14 2013, 10:16 AM

45 posts

Hi guys, any recommendations for tiling contractor with good workmanship? I'm looking for a skillful chinese sifu that does the tiling job himself instead of foreign workers. I'm living in PJ.

This post has been edited by anonymous000: Oct 14 2013, 11:51 AM
seongmeng
post Oct 14 2013, 02:17 PM

570 posts

all bro here, I have an area (Cheras area) about 50sqft only need to lay tile (40cm x 40cm tile) + skirting, any contractor willing to do this? And how much ? (tiles by me) THANKS!
moonmoon1985
post Oct 14 2013, 03:13 PM

moonmoon
340 posts

Hey guys, 2 questions from a sad houseowner here.. I got a Indon contractor to do the extension and tiling for me. Lesson learned, there is a lesson why the term 'tiling specialist' exists. the tiling was done at a mess. I am now in need a tiling specialist to do some small work, and my area is Rawang. Below are the services I needed

1. Hack existing tiles and lay new tiles (approx 5'*3' area) and some chipped off tiles.

2. re-laying of pebble stones around my car porch.

anyone has a good contact for this?

Thanks in advance?
ghho
post Oct 16 2013, 11:44 AM

37 posts

any recommended tiles for the table top?
sovietmah
post Oct 16 2013, 12:00 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(moonmoon1985 @ Oct 14 2013, 03:13 PM)
Hey guys, 2 questions from a sad houseowner here.. I got a Indon contractor to do the extension and tiling for me. Lesson learned, there is a lesson why the term 'tiling specialist' exists. the tiling was done at a mess. I am now in need a tiling specialist to do some small work, and my area is Rawang. Below are the services I needed

1. Hack existing tiles and lay new tiles (approx 5'*3' area) and some chipped off tiles.

2. re-laying of pebble stones around my car porch.

anyone has a good contact for this?

Thanks in advance?
What they did to ur car porch?
the pebble stones is not cheap also i think.
lil^pig
post Oct 21 2013, 06:16 PM

57 posts

Anyone knows if the tiles shops along Jalan Ipoh are opened on Sundays?
weikee
post Oct 21 2013, 06:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(lil^pig @ Oct 21 2013, 06:16 PM)
Most open on Sunday.
pskhoo
post Oct 22 2013, 12:39 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(lil^pig @ Oct 21 2013, 06:16 PM)
For tiles installation can call me 016-2622285
RM 5.5/sf included sand and cemment
Yamma
post Oct 22 2013, 03:02 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(pskhoo @ Oct 22 2013, 12:39 PM)
For tiles installation can call me 016-2622285
RM 5.5/sf included sand and cemment
how much you charge including hacking the existing tiles?
pskhoo
post Oct 22 2013, 03:07 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Yamma @ Oct 22 2013, 03:02 PM)
how much you charge including hacking the existing tiles?
Rm1.50/sf for dismantle fee.

136 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:22 PM