post Apr 6 2011, 01:55 PM

659 posts

if possible without forking extra money to get a more powerful adapter, why not
carbonytte
post Apr 6 2011, 07:18 PM

659 posts

there's one shop in Subang Jaya selling some performance notebook stuff, not sure if they sell mobile GPU as well.Found the shop name, ModernoPC, not selling mobileGPU haha sleep.gif"

Nearest would be Mucro which seems to be selling at their website (although, weird thing is that there got a page of Mobile GPU, but I'm seeing no products at all~)

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 6 2011, 07:21 PM
carbonytte
post Apr 6 2011, 09:28 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(giinn @ Apr 6 2011, 08:48 PM)
@kahjye from Mucro smile.gif see my sig

Called DHL, the package still with them, unfortunately my laptop have to go to their hub at Kuantan first tomorrow THEN they will

pass to Pos Laju to my house at Kota Bharu....i think need 2 days... sad.gif
eyyh. DHL uses Pos Laju eventually aa? wow, talk about a multinational courier service which even got its own airplane.
carbonytte
post Apr 6 2011, 09:41 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ Apr 6 2011, 08:10 PM)
Hi guys. I'm from Singapore.  smile.gif

Can I check whether those who have received the laptops, have any of you experienced random freezes as described in NBR threads?
oh. been a few weeks, no random freeze seen. only issue is with driver 267.76, Dragon Age 2 will sometimes hang. but nothing wrong when I played other games (Crysis 2, Metro 2033/ WoW / Transformers / Civ5).

Even right now, my laptop has been on for more than a day (System uptime reports 1:02:51:28).

Added on April 6, 2011, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 6 2011, 09:33 PM)
lool

who was that guy who received his laptop from customs ?

gosh i dont remember.
`
me, and i'm not really sure if it's either customs or FedEx (since in the USPS document, it stated that the courier they used was FedEx). But anyway, they went all to way to sending it at 10 pm haha. Really 1st class job wan

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 6 2011, 09:43 PM
carbonytte
post Apr 6 2011, 09:56 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 6 2011, 09:44 PM)
wah....really siao ....

FedEX....sad..mucro uses DHL cry.gif
note that LPC-digital actually used USPS only wor (similar to PosLaju, but this is US wan, US Postal Service). Luckily for International Express, they mentioned the Exporting Carrier to be FedEx Express smile.gif

for this case, suprisingly a multinational carrier (DHL) is using local/national carrier (PosLaju).

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 6 2011, 09:57 PM
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 12:43 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 6 2011, 11:23 PM)
hi carbonytte,

Just wanna check with you since you purchased the laptop from U.S. I have 3 questions for you and I hope to get some answers biggrin.gif

The USPS shipping cost covers till which part? a or b?
a) U.S. to Malaysia then in Malaysia, from KL to your staying place.
b) U.S. to Malaysia only but there will be extra cost from KL to your staying place

The tax that you need to pay to release your laptop in U.S to be exported to Malaysia.
Is it included in the shipping cost that you pay for USPS or you need to pay extra and how much?

Is there any import duty and sales tax charged on you when you receive the laptop? I can hardly find a list of items that are tax and duty free from Malaysia Custom website.
Thanks in advance for answering :]
No tax of anykind. Shipping costs covered right from US till Penang (my house). smile.gif Lucky us, notebooks (or it should be a full package computer system) are tax-free. Only for computer parts, I believe you need to pay the tax.

@cyrogenist : I know some are saying about the random freezes, but I still doubt it happen to the 2nd batches of Sandy Bridge. At least not mine (more than 1 day uptime, actually it was more than 1 day but I kept installing certain things which required a reboot haha). Also, RAM is cheaper in SG/MY? Doubt so. At least not MY, since MY is one of those HPC-listed countries, whereby the price is higher than normal.

KVR1333 DDR3 SoDIMM in PCDepot Malaysia = RM145
KVR1333 DDR3 SoDIMM in newegg.com = USD 49.99 == RM136.

8GB DDR3 1333 (2x4GB) (+$90.00) << Taken from LPC-Digital.

So if you buy the pre-slotted RAM, it should be cheaper since there's no tax if you buy them altogether with the laptop smile.gif

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 7 2011, 12:55 AM
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 06:44 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 7 2011, 06:04 AM)
Any problem with DHL?
It took 3 working days for Mucro/DHL to deliver my Sager to my doorstep. I don't see a service failure.

Added on April 7, 2011, 6:06 am
Are you sure DHL needs Poslaju to do the delivery job?
this was the original post : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41339793
DHL site says it still with DHL transit at KL. But my shipping address is in Kota Bharu, usually they pass it to local courier(POSLAJU) to send it

carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 02:08 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 7 2011, 02:07 PM)
No life without SSD eh?
loool..

wow original games smile.gif

couldnt afford one myself sad.gif
wait till you earn you own money tongue.gif
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 02:21 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ Apr 7 2011, 02:17 PM)
I'm studying in Digipen Singapore now. 2+ years more of HELL. It is a game development institute btw.
wonder if they give you free game samples then (who knows, maybe for research) like Crysis 2 or Dragon Age 2. Walaowei if got like that I was to enroll to that uni~.
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 02:52 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 7 2011, 02:45 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif

when u ordered it bro?

damn..wheres mine!  doh.gif  doh.gif
maybe u nid to do the same. non-stop spamming over mucro's email (hopefully the fella representing mucro in LYN doesn't read diz biggrin.gif
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 03:10 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Apr 7 2011, 02:59 PM)
Thanks kahjye and carbonytte for the quick reply.

I think it is good to include such information regarding the shipping cost and tax free information in the main post for reference.

Oh yea, This is a lamp, I came across one of your topic in xoticpc regarding making payment from one country, but sending the laptop to another country.
In your case, you made the payment in Australia and requested the laptop be sent to Holland.
How did that work out? Did they allow you to do it in that way?

And is the shipping cost flat rate across the world? No matter you are shipping to Holland, Malaysia, Australia or any part of the world, the shipping cost is still the same?

Thank you. Forgive me for throwing lots of questions, just wish to get some answers for my doubt before placing an order smile.gif
Shipping cost varies from one country to another.

For payment, most company would use PayPal, while some uses Wire Transfer. But the easiest would be PayPal since you just need to link it to your credit card (or can even use RHB PayPal method).

No worries about the questions, as TS will usually pickup new Questions and put it at 1st post. So in a way, you're helping others by asking questions (so long that you have read the FAQ at 1st post and don't repeat the questions tongue.gif )

Added on April 7, 2011, 3:20 pm
QUOTE(cryogenist @ Apr 7 2011, 03:04 PM)
Wait long long lor. Haha
Who knows, maybe being a gaming institute, they actually give you chance to try major games (more like Beta version, but internal Beta version lor with maybe some NDA between the game company and your uni in case someone pirate the Beta~)

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 7 2011, 03:20 PM
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 03:46 PM

659 posts

wow. cheaper transportation cost from RJTECH. Well, not sure but could be that for my case, LPC-Digital was sending from Nevada. Maybe that's why mahal a bit (although the shipping cost was less than $100, but wat to do, reseller oso want to carik makan~)
carbonytte
post Apr 7 2011, 06:01 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Apr 7 2011, 05:15 PM)
@jimmykvt
I'm sure you won't regret to own sager laptop. Once you use it, you will fall in love instantly and won't looking on other models biggrin.gif
agreed though. the only thing you need to be careful is that the edges might be a lil bit sharp compared to other laptops la. but wat would you expect, this is like a Saga BLM on outside, but got Ferrari engine inside it.
carbonytte
post Apr 8 2011, 06:55 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Apr 8 2011, 06:07 AM)
I don't know but I still think the GTX 460m is a good card...many underestimate it. I've seen users run Crysis 2 900p Extreme settings with it.
agreed. I've been playing Crysis 2 at 1080p Extreme resolution, FPS is at 20-24.

Usually we're being underestimated due to having more powerful brother (485m, or even the AMD HD6970m), while people tend to forget that 460m is still a GTX class and not GT smile.gif
carbonytte
post Apr 8 2011, 09:54 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Apr 8 2011, 08:20 AM)
The limitation only lies with your power adapter being able to handle higher powered cards (e.g. 485m and 6970m).

Other than that, it is definitely possible to put the new GPU in the NP8130 to replace your 460m. I'd suggest waiting for the 6970m though, if you're tight on monies!
which comes to a point that it is still possible to use the 180W adapter on NP8130 (under assumption that the battery code between NP8130 and NP8150 seems to be the same).

I know some people at NBR said about some thermal solution that could also affect any kind of GPU upgrade to NP8130, but from the looks at XoticPC video review on NP8130 and NP8150, looks like the design is exactly the same.

So, someone could try this (I would but not now, planning to buy the adapter when I'm in US later in the coming 1-2 months)
carbonytte
post Apr 8 2011, 10:07 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 8 2011, 10:05 AM)
Wow so many replies already smile.gif

looks like no one likes the gtx460m thou hahaa
i like tongue.gif (until nVidia releases the GTX 5 series, only then the stakes would have changed)
carbonytte
post Apr 8 2011, 11:03 AM

659 posts

just for anyone who wanted to see performance from GTX 460M -> HD 6970M -> GTX485M (more people would be interested in 6970M vs 485M, I believe smile.gif )

This post has been edited by carbonytte: Apr 8 2011, 11:04 AM
carbonytte
post Apr 8 2011, 09:28 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(cryogenist @ Apr 8 2011, 09:08 PM)
Guys guys, can I clarify something?

The 8150-S1 model, it has a matte option now. Is it always been there or it has been just added recently?
if I'm correct a matte option has always been there at Sager's website, but resellers sometimes just doesn't give that option.
carbonytte
post Apr 9 2011, 12:40 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 9 2011, 12:23 PM)
guys , possible to cancel preorder from mucro? lol
Is it being built right now or being sent from Sager to Mucro? If still being built, possible la. If being sent from Mucro, no idea wor~
carbonytte
post Apr 9 2011, 12:48 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 9 2011, 12:44 PM)
hmm i already paid them the deposit lol..cant claim it back right? :S
kinda regret buying from mucro .

abit ignorant to me.
dude.

chillax. your item will arrive one

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top