124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

C_Sagi
post Mar 2 2011, 10:46 AM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

So far I went to a few cons only. But the most memorable ones for me are Anime Expo and AFA. smile.gif
Heard the one organize by MMU quite nice but never got the chance to go yet.
Agito666
post Mar 2 2011, 10:47 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:44 AM)
its a Nikon Malaysia 10th Anniversary bash ... got lots of activities, chance to test out their latest gadgets & talks from pros as well ...
its a Nikon Malaysia 10th Anniversary bash ... got lots of activities, chance to test out their latest gadgets & talks AS pros as well ...

somehow i was read as this laugh.gif
guess i haven't fully wake up haha... *rub eyes.

Added on March 2, 2011, 10:49 am
QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 2 2011, 10:46 AM)
So far I went to a few cons only. But the most memorable ones for me are Anime Expo and AFA. smile.gif
Heard the one organize by MMU quite nice but never got the chance to go yet.
never have money and guts travel so far laugh.gif
i'm not even got chance go to singapore... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Mar 2 2011, 10:49 AM
celciuz
post Mar 2 2011, 11:06 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:28 AM)
P - paiseh mode  laugh.gif

no la...last time read instruction seems like can set many things in D70s...but i end up just point and shoot ....
so what is P mode usage actually?  hmm.gif
Program, aka fully auto.

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Mar 2 2011, 10:31 AM)
Nikon Malaysia throwing 10th anniversary bash. Anyone Going?

Wonder what is that Nikon Club about biggrin.gif.
jchue73
post Mar 2 2011, 11:07 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 1 2011, 10:04 PM)
Eh guys, I have a question. Does anyone find the image quality reduces when you set the ISO to lower than the base ISO(ISO200) for example LO.1(ISO100)?
When using the expanded ISOs, you are reducing the dynamic range of the sensor.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 1 2011, 10:08 PM)
So do you find quality reduce when using 100?
I find sometimes picture still too bright when using 1.4 with 1/8000 sec, so no choice but put ISO to 100 to lower the brightness sad.gif
This is when you need the 1 or 2 stops ND filter.

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 1 2011, 11:37 PM)
damn flash just too harsh i guess
kitlens
Go easy on the USM. Too much sharpening.

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 1 2011, 11:01 PM)
agree, even my motorcycle use Ron97, long term investment..HAHAHHA, Ron97 FTW
Even thought I personally use RON 97 (I don't travel far), there's actually no harm using RON 95. Your engine's ECU will know how to compensate for different fuel and altitude.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 1 2011, 10:59 PM)
I took 85G instead of 135 f/2 because of the f/1.4 factor tongue.gif More lethal under low light hehe.

Can use slower shutter + bigger aperture -> more light than the 135 f/2.
Actually, f/1.4 aperture on the 85mm is not for low light but more for the bokeh.

If you count the out of focus bokeh, it's actually "easier" to create with the 135mm f/2 as the out of focus happens more immediately than say the 85mm f/1.4 for same subject distance.
celciuz
post Mar 2 2011, 11:12 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:07 AM)
When using the expanded ISOs, you are reducing the dynamic range of the sensor.
This is when you need the 1 or 2 stops ND filter.
Go easy on the USM. Too much sharpening.
Even thought I personally use RON 97 (I don't travel far), there's actually no harm using RON 95. Your engine's ECU will know how to compensate for different fuel and altitude.
Actually, f/1.4 aperture on the 85mm is not for low light but more for the bokeh.

If you count the out of focus bokeh, it's actually "easier" to create with the 135mm f/2 as the out of focus happens more immediately than say the 85mm f/1.4 for same subject distance.
Well, I picked the 85G instead of 135 f/2D due to f/1.4 factor.

f/1.4 is faster than f/2 which translates to faster shutter speed. Also, 85mm versus 135mm, you can shoot 85mm with lower shutter than what you can manage on a 135mm.

For the point I bold it, I can't exactly get what you are trying to say. Is it using 85mm and 135mm shooting from the same distance from subject, eg. 1.5 meter?
jchue73
post Mar 2 2011, 11:38 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 11:12 AM)
Well, I picked the 85G instead of 135 f/2D due to f/1.4 factor.

f/1.4 is faster than f/2 which translates to faster shutter speed. Also, 85mm versus 135mm, you can shoot 85mm with lower shutter than what you can manage on a 135mm.
I am fully aware on shutter speeds that can be achieved with f/1.4 vs f/2.0. But in broad daylight, all this is moot when you push up ISO 200 to ISO 400. You automatically gain 1 stop. smile.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 11:12 AM)
For the point I bold it, I can't exactly get what you are trying to say. Is it using 85mm and 135mm shooting from the same distance from subject, eg. 1.5 meter?
Try playing around with the website I posted earlier;

http://dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Select Nikon D3X, D3s, D3, D700 as camera. Select 85mm as focal length. Select f stop of 1.4. Select subject distance of say 6 meters (20 feet). You can choose whatever you want. Press calculate and check out how thin the DoF is. In this case for subject distance of 6m, you should get 0.42m.

Now change the focal length to 135, select f/2.0 and press calculate, you'll get the DoF as 0.23m. This is what I mean when I say that the out of focus happens more immediately as DoF is thinner on the 35mm f/2.0 even though the 135mm has 1 stop less aperture than the 85mm.

Try, 200mm and f/2.0 and you see how razor thin the DoF is. sweat.gif

Then again, all the above is just some observations. Choosing either one would depend on your shooting style. In case anybody ask, yes, I do own the 85mm and 135mm. My wish is for the 200mm. rclxm9.gif
TSKTCY
post Mar 2 2011, 11:50 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Paper talk -__
kakisemut
post Mar 2 2011, 12:26 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:44 AM)
its a Nikon Malaysia 10th Anniversary bash ... got lots of activities, chance to test out their latest gadgets & talks from pros as well ...
when?
celciuz
post Mar 2 2011, 01:19 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:38 AM)
I am fully aware on shutter speeds that can be achieved with f/1.4 vs f/2.0. But in broad daylight, all this is moot when you push up ISO 200 to ISO 400. You automatically gain 1 stop.  smile.gif
I have flexibility of f/2.0 or f/1.4 with the 85G instead of just f/2 with the 135mm smile.gif. Your condition is for broad daylight, but for low light the f/1.4 rocks. I bought the 85G for low light, if I really need the range I still have a 70200 VR2 for that purpose although its f/2.8 but the VRII compensates for it.

Try playing around with the website I posted earlier;

Select Nikon D3X, D3s, D3, D700 as camera. Select 85mm as focal length. Select f stop of 1.4. Select subject distance of say 6 meters (20 feet). You can choose whatever you want. Press calculate and check out how thin the DoF is. In this case for subject distance of 6m, you should get 0.42m.

Now change the focal length to 135, select f/2.0 and press calculate, you'll get the DoF as 0.23m. This is what I mean when I say that the out of focus happens more immediately as DoF is thinner on the 35mm f/2.0 even though the 135mm has 1 stop less aperture than the 85mm.

Try, 200mm and f/2.0 and you see how razor thin the DoF is.  sweat.gif

Then again, all the above is just some observations. Choosing either one would depend on your shooting style. In case anybody ask, yes, I do own the 85mm and 135mm. My wish is for the 200mm.  rclxm9.gif
LOL, I tested 85mm f/1.4 at 1.5m distance. 2.5cm of DOF? ._. but when I shoot portrait this close the other eye 1cm back also blur already :S.
C_Sagi
post Mar 2 2011, 01:45 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 09:45 AM)
GACC in MMU Melaka one caota jor~
Bro, what does caota mean ? Can't figure out. tongue.gif
celciuz
post Mar 2 2011, 02:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 2 2011, 01:45 PM)
Bro, what does caota mean ? Can't figure out. tongue.gif
Ops sorry, caota -> hangus haha.. no more this year ._.
C_Sagi
post Mar 2 2011, 02:12 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 02:02 PM)
Ops sorry, caota -> hangus haha.. no more this year ._.
Oh, haha. Any idea why? hmm.gif
fubs
post Mar 2 2011, 02:17 PM

201 posts

Try, 200mm and f/2.0 and you see how razor thin the DoF is.  sweat.gif

Then again, all the above is just some observations. Choosing either one would depend on your shooting style. In case anybody ask, yes, I do own the 85mm and 135mm. My wish is for the 200mm.  rclxm9.gif
but to get the same framing/subject size, you will need to stand further back lah compared to 85mm thus increasing the dof. subject distance is a variable, not a constant. if it's a constant, you get two different kind of pictures smile.gif

comparing lenses using a dof calculator does not reflect real world shooting at all smile.gif
TSKTCY
post Mar 2 2011, 02:29 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(fubs @ Mar 2 2011, 02:17 PM)
but to get the same framing/subject size, you will need to stand further back lah compared to 85mm thus increasing the dof. subject distance is a variable, not a constant. if it's a constant, you get two different kind of pictures smile.gif

comparing lenses using a dof calculator does not reflect real world shooting at all  smile.gif
@bold : That's why I say paper talk sleep.gif
jchue73
post Mar 2 2011, 02:31 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 2 2011, 11:50 AM)
Paper talk -__
Paper talk? Books on photography are considered paper talk? Those are very fundamental theories that one needs to put into practice. Don't know about you lah but if I I like to understand my equipment and use it to it's full potential, I would like to understand why it's doing what it's doing.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 01:19 PM)
I have flexibility of f/2.0 or f/1.4 with the 85G instead of just f/2 with the 135mm smile.gif. Your condition is for broad daylight, but for low light the f/1.4 rocks. I bought the 85G for low light, if I really need the range I still have a 70200 VR2 for that purpose although its f/2.8 but the VRII compensates for it.
So far I've only seen shots with your 85mm f/1.4 in daylight. You shoot in low light too? I've not seen them.

Like I said, it you're hard pressed for higher shutter speed, a bump in the ISO would help solve most problems.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 01:19 PM)
LOL, I tested 85mm f/1.4 at 1.5m distance. 2.5cm of DOF? ._. but when I shoot portrait this close the other eye 1cm back also blur already :S.
Some questions... Are you sure your subject is 1.5m from the camera? From which point are you measuring? Subject to edge of lens hood?

From the calculations, the focus should be sharp 1.24cm in front of subject and 1.26cm behind the subject (2.5cm DoF). Paper talk says that what you experience in the field shooting (i.e. the other eye 1cm back also blur already) and what is predicted is about close to correct. You're talking about 24 to 26 mm difference here.

Now the thing is assuming you have taken a measuring tape and measured 1.5m accurately the subject distance, there is a possibility that the lens + camera combo is front focusing a little (perhaps by 24 to 26mm maybe?). This may mean that the eye that you're focusing might still be in the DoF range and therefore it's still sharp.

I'm just putting hypothetical numbers here. All this can happen of course and perhaps explain what you're actually seeing.

QUOTE(fubs @ Mar 2 2011, 02:17 PM)

comparing lenses using a dof calculator does not reflect real world shooting at all  smile.gif
That's correct. That's why I mention at the end that choosing 85mm or 135mm is based on shooting style and preference.
TSKTCY
post Mar 2 2011, 02:36 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 02:31 PM)
Paper talk? Books on photography are considered paper talk? Those are very fundamental theories that one needs to put into practice. Don't know about you lah but if I I like to understand my equipment and use it to it's full potential, I would like to understand why it's doing what it's doing.
So far I've only seen shots with your 85mm f/1.4 in daylight. You shoot in low light too? I've not seen them.

Like I said, it you're hard pressed for higher shutter speed, a bump in the ISO would help solve most problems.
Some questions... Are you sure your subject is 1.5m from the camera? From which point are you measuring? Subject to edge of lens hood?

From the calculations, the focus should be sharp 1.24cm in front of subject and 1.26cm behind the subject (2.5cm DoF). Paper talk says that what you experience in the field shooting (i.e. the other eye 1cm back also blur already) and what is predicted is about close to correct. You're talking about 24 to 26 mm difference here.

Now the thing is assuming you have taken a measuring tape and measured 1.5m accurately the subject distance, there is a possibility that the lens + camera combo is front focusing a little (perhaps by 24 to 26mm maybe?). This may mean that the eye that you're focusing might still be in the DoF range and therefore it's still sharp.

I'm just putting hypothetical numbers here. All this can happen of course and perhaps explain what you're actually seeing.
That's correct. That's why I mention at the end that choosing 85mm or 135mm is based on shooting style and preference.
Reading the info online to understand your equipment ? unsure.gif
skycrawler
post Mar 2 2011, 02:55 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

Manual is boooooooorrrrrriiiiiinnnnnnkkkkkk ~ ~ ~ laugh.gif
jchue73
post Mar 2 2011, 03:08 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 2 2011, 02:36 PM)
Reading the info online to understand your equipment ? unsure.gif
Hmmm, I wonder why do people go onto forums like this?

No worries. If you can understand your equipment by just using it alone, more power to you ! I guess I'm not too surprised anymore with so much misinformation going around.
TSKTCY
post Mar 2 2011, 03:14 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 03:08 PM)
Hmmm, I wonder why do people go onto forums like this?

No worries. If you can understand your equipment by just using it alone, more power to you ! I guess I'm not too surprised anymore with so much misinformation going around.
Forum for me is to TCSS, shares photos, poison each other, gathering !
And I won't be surprise to person at your age reads all the technical data. I do have friends around me did that when come to TT talk, no one knows better than him because he knows all the things about a single lens right from the weight to MFD !

I lose to him as well because I hates technical stuff. sad.gif
I'm solely gearhead that collecting beautiful gears especially big aperture lens blush.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Mar 2 2011, 03:19 PM
aldosoesilo
post Mar 2 2011, 03:29 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

The only poison which makes me able to knock my head of is razu's Christmas theme and it was Nikon thread version 1 if I am not mistaken. tongue.gif
nowadays poison-less.

share photos? from 125 pages there might only 10 pages of photos maximum tongue.gif
Well.. never see any gathering in Nikon thread. or there is gathering-gonna-be? hmm.gif

most of this thread discussing gears lohh lens particularly.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Mar 2 2011, 03:30 PM

124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:45 PM