LYN gathering mainly KL I guess. My own gang, all Penangkia
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !
Mar 2 2011, 03:31 PM
12,505 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Triumph in the Skies Status:In LoV3 Again |
That's why TCSS priority
LYN gathering mainly KL I guess. My own gang, all Penangkia |
Mar 2 2011, 03:37 PM
7,863 posts Joined: May 2007 From: highbury |
TCSS? talk cock sing song ?
Mar 2 2011, 03:47 PM
Mar 2 2011, 04:26 PM
483 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: shah alam |
Mar 2 2011, 04:28 PM
2,966 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Macross Galaxy |
AFA is an international event, with plenty international cosplayer, anime voice actors and anime song artists attending, of course it's awesome.
CF is already one of the best for Malaysia standard. Not to mention Daicon in Cyberjaya MMU also. I go GACC is because it's at my hometown and lots of my ex classmates going. The rest like ACG or Animangaki I usually don't go unless someone invites me. |
Mar 2 2011, 04:37 PM
14,037 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 02:31 PM) Paper talk? Books on photography are considered paper talk? Those are very fundamental theories that one needs to put into practice. Don't know about you lah but if I I like to understand my equipment and use it to it's full potential, I would like to understand why it's doing what it's doing. jchue73, if because you've not seen them it doesn't mean I don't shoot under low light.So far I've only seen shots with your 85mm f/1.4 in daylight. You shoot in low light too? I've not seen them. Like I said, it you're hard pressed for higher shutter speed, a bump in the ISO would help solve most problems. Some questions... Are you sure your subject is 1.5m from the camera? From which point are you measuring? Subject to edge of lens hood? From the calculations, the focus should be sharp 1.24cm in front of subject and 1.26cm behind the subject (2.5cm DoF). Paper talk says that what you experience in the field shooting (i.e. the other eye 1cm back also blur already) and what is predicted is about close to correct. You're talking about 24 to 26 mm difference here. Now the thing is assuming you have taken a measuring tape and measured 1.5m accurately the subject distance, there is a possibility that the lens + camera combo is front focusing a little (perhaps by 24 to 26mm maybe?). This may mean that the eye that you're focusing might still be in the DoF range and therefore it's still sharp. I'm just putting hypothetical numbers here. All this can happen of course and perhaps explain what you're actually seeing. That's correct. That's why I mention at the end that choosing 85mm or 135mm is based on shooting style and preference. Examples of my lowlight shots with the 85G, ![]() Camera Nikon D700 Exposure 0.013 sec (1/80) Aperture f/1.4 Focal Length 85 mm ISO Speed 3200 How do I measure the distance from camera to the subject, I use the EXIF data. But I need to look for such images first for images shoot at 1.5m distance. |
Mar 2 2011, 04:40 PM
I used to fine dine at hotel, ISO 3200 with 50/1.4 shutter speed just 1/10.
I wish I have better camera or bigger aperture lens with me |
Mar 2 2011, 04:41 PM
14,037 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Haiya, I was just telling the reason why I picked 85 f/1.4 instead of 135 f/2 mah. My main priority was due to the f/1.4 for low light capability... don't know why he keep questioning me
Mar 2 2011, 04:42 PM
1,095 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Oggie Oggie Oggie!!! |
Too bad eh nikon don't release any f/1.2 afs lens.
Mar 2 2011, 04:43 PM
7,863 posts Joined: May 2007 From: highbury |
Mar 2 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 2 2011, 04:41 PM) Haiya, I was just telling the reason why I picked 85 f/1.4 instead of 135 f/2 mah. My main priority was due to the f/1.4 for low light capability... don't know why he keep questioning me Bear with it or ignorance is bliss QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 2 2011, 04:42 PM) Soon soon. Rumour is there |
Mar 2 2011, 04:46 PM
Finger cross then... Hope that it would be my coming prime lens =) Will it be the nift fifty? Which focal length u guys prefer if they ever release a f/1.2? 24, 35,50,85?
Mar 2 2011, 04:47 PM
1,457 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur |
Yeah.. a friend of mine going to borrow me her fish eye lens.
This weekend will be my first time using fish eye lens. Will be fun yow! hahaha Added on March 2, 2011, 4:48 pm QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 2 2011, 04:46 PM) Finger cross then... Hope that it would be my coming prime lens =) Will it be the nift fifty? Which focal length u guys prefer if they ever release a f/1.2? 24, 35,50,85? I think mostly will be 50 and 85mm to compete with canon's line up. anyway bro spam pictar of your 70-200 please wanted to see the poison. This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Mar 2 2011, 04:48 PM |
Mar 2 2011, 04:49 PM
511 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 2 2011, 04:28 PM) AFA is an international event, with plenty international cosplayer, anime voice actors and anime song artists attending, of course it's awesome. Hmm, any idea when Daicon start ? Since GACC gone with the wind liao.CF is already one of the best for Malaysia standard. Not to mention Daicon in Cyberjaya MMU also. I go GACC is because it's at my hometown and lots of my ex classmates going. The rest like ACG or Animangaki I usually don't go unless someone invites me. |
Mar 2 2011, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 2 2011, 04:46 PM) Finger cross then... Hope that it would be my coming prime lens =) Will it be the nift fifty? Which focal length u guys prefer if they ever release a f/1.2? 24, 35,50,85? 24/1.2 ? I doubt can make it. have you see the current 1.4 size ? it's already quite huge !Probably 50/1.2G Other range, quite hard to have it. Even Leica only have nottylux as their biggest aperture lens |
Mar 2 2011, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 2 2011, 04:47 PM) Yeah.. a friend of mine going to borrow me her fish eye lens. Hey mate! Sorry bout it recently quite busy on the new sem. Will probably spam some pics this end of the week since I'm going to join a photoshoot trip in a nearby park. But don't expect me to post sexy girls potraiture hehe not like bro ktcy and celciuz. Instead I will try to hunt for some wildlife like birds or so...This weekend will be my first time using fish eye lens. Will be fun yow! hahaha Added on March 2, 2011, 4:48 pm I think mostly will be 50 and 85mm to compete with canon's line up. anyway bro spam pictar of your 70-200 please wanted to see the poison. QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 2 2011, 04:50 PM) 24/1.2 ? I doubt can make it. have you see the current 1.4 size ? it's already quite huge ! Yea 50 will be awesome though! Probably 50/1.2G Other range, quite hard to have it. Even Leica only have nottylux as their biggest aperture lens |
Mar 2 2011, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 2 2011, 04:59 PM) Hey mate! Sorry bout it recently quite busy on the new sem. Will probably spam some pics this end of the week since I'm going to join a photoshoot trip in a nearby park. But don't expect me to post sexy girls potraiture hehe not like bro ktcy and celciuz. Instead I will try to hunt for some wildlife like birds or so... you're from Penang right ? When you going ? Let's tag along and meet up Yea 50 will be awesome though! |
Mar 2 2011, 05:03 PM
1,457 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(elainor @ Mar 2 2011, 04:59 PM) Hey mate! Sorry bout it recently quite busy on the new sem. Will probably spam some pics this end of the week since I'm going to join a photoshoot trip in a nearby park. But don't expect me to post sexy girls potraiture hehe not like bro ktcy and celciuz. Instead I will try to hunt for some wildlife like birds or so... Haha.. wildlife is good bro!Yea 50 will be awesome though! me as well. will go to redang by this weekend. hopefully can spam good pictar |
Mar 2 2011, 05:04 PM
2,966 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Macross Galaxy |
Mar 2 2011, 05:07 PM
Added on March 2, 2011, 5:07 pm@ktcy: yea I'm from Penang, but now I'm pursuing my studies in Australia=( too bad though. Most of my friends here using canon but with L lens whoosh... For some reason I think their Whitty lens looks cooler hehe This post has been edited by elainor: Mar 2 2011, 05:09 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0184sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:52 PM |