Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !
fubs
Feb 16 2011, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(hapeace @ Feb 16 2011, 05:01 PM) Hye guys, wanna ask for ur opinion. My wife n me suddenly got an invitation to go holiday to new zealand this july (winter season dat time). What lens should i bring there? Actually im funding to buy 70200 but dun think its suitable for travel right.. Or should i stick to my plan buying 70200 and start building muscles now? Budget is around price for 70200, less then rm7k. Thank you. carry less/lighter gear if you want to enjoy the holiday. if you want to take pics first, holiday second, by all means, get the 70200. at least that's how i do it. carrying kilograms on your back is not fun!
fubs
Feb 16 2011, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Feb 16 2011, 10:54 PM) p/s: dont judge the bags by its price. sometimes, it more better that expensive one  *sometimes lah. not most of the time  i used to think that. but then i tried a friend's domke bag. worth every penny i don't have guess we won't know how good it is until we've used it
fubs
Mar 2 2011, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:38 AM) http://dofmaster.com/dofjs.htmlSelect Nikon D3X, D3s, D3, D700 as camera. Select 85mm as focal length. Select f stop of 1.4. Select subject distance of say 6 meters (20 feet). You can choose whatever you want. Press calculate and check out how thin the DoF is. In this case for subject distance of 6m, you should get 0.42m. Now change the focal length to 135, select f/2.0 and press calculate, you'll get the DoF as 0.23m. This is what I mean when I say that the out of focus happens more immediately as DoF is thinner on the 35mm f/2.0 even though the 135mm has 1 stop less aperture than the 85mm. Try, 200mm and f/2.0 and you see how razor thin the DoF is. Then again, all the above is just some observations. Choosing either one would depend on your shooting style. In case anybody ask, yes, I do own the 85mm and 135mm. My wish is for the 200mm.  but to get the same framing/subject size, you will need to stand further back lah compared to 85mm thus increasing the dof. subject distance is a variable, not a constant. if it's a constant, you get two different kind of pictures  comparing lenses using a dof calculator does not reflect real world shooting at all
fubs
Mar 3 2011, 09:25 PM

just use manual focusing. the video industry use manual focus all the time as they require perfect focusing.