124 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

TSKTCY
post Mar 1 2011, 11:58 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 1 2011, 11:57 AM)
IQ...image quality affect by what? lens quality? focal range??

by the way you guys seems really free...no need work ar?
Sensor and lens of course
aldosoesilo
post Mar 1 2011, 12:00 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(alvinX @ Mar 1 2011, 11:55 AM)
i got no info regarding sigma one. Just that 10, maybe suit his taste.

Nope, as he said he dun wan burn his bank account. In this case 1224 may come worthy. From my point of view, if 35mm able to satisfied you, with that kind of price i doubt the IQ you will ever make you regret it.

But if you look for more 1116 is your choice.

As for me, nikkor 1224 looks more complex than 1116. Just my 2 cents.
I tried sigma 10-20. my body doesn't AF with 1116 tokina. as it doesn't have AF motor.

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Mar 1 2011, 11:56 AM)
so..its mean...
116 does not hv motor but 12-24 hv motor?
Yes

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 1 2011, 11:56 AM)
D3100 more better than D90 in term of IQ and noise control !
I'd say the list goes like this.
From worst to best

DX
Sigma 10-20 f/4.5-5.6
Sigma 10-20 f/3.5
Tokina 12-24
Sigma 8-16
Nikkor 10-24 / Tamron 10-24
Tokina 11-16
Nikkor 12-24
Yeahh.. Agree D3100 IQ is good but the lacking of AF makes me difficult in choosing lens.
anyway thanks for the list bro. Will do further research. Thanks! thumbup.gif
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:03 PM

221 posts

DX
Sigma 10-20 f/4.5-5.6
Sigma 10-20 f/3.5
Tokina 12-24
Sigma 8-16
Tokina 11-16
Nikkor 12-24
this is what we want!!!
hahaha...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 12:00 PM)
I tried sigma 10-20. my body doesn't AF with 1116 tokina. as it doesn't have AF motor.
Yes
Yeahh.. Agree D3100 IQ is good but the lacking of AF makes me difficult in choosing lens.
anyway thanks for the list bro. Will do further research. Thanks!  thumbup.gif
what about upgrading to d7000??

This post has been edited by kakisemut: Mar 1 2011, 12:04 PM
eddy230379
post Mar 1 2011, 12:04 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

D3100 more better than D90 in term of IQ and noise control !
I'd say the list goes like this.
From worst to best

DX
Sigma 10-20 f/4.5-5.6
Sigma 10-20 f/3.5
Tokina 12-24
Sigma 8-16
Tokina 11-16
Nikkor 12-24
totally agree with your list bro ...

on a budget thats why i went for the Tokina cos the D90 got built in motor ...
alvinX
post Mar 1 2011, 12:05 PM

tHe l0SeR
1,041 posts

Yes
Lol! Then why u still considering Tokina. If you can live without af, just afs all the way. 1224 FTW!!!
skycrawler
post Mar 1 2011, 12:05 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

Just go 4 2nd body bro... hmm.gif hmm.gif
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:07 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Mar 1 2011, 12:04 PM)
totally agree with your list bro ...

on a budget thats why i went for the Tokina cos the D90 got built in motor ...
which tokina are u using?
celciuz
post Mar 1 2011, 12:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 1 2011, 11:43 AM)
Oh ya. I thought Nikkor 12-24.
Tokina 12-24 quite soft to my liking.
Not jumpy. laugh.gif
10-24 distortion a little complex. Prefer 11-16 smile.gif
If nikkor, 12-24 DX the best smile.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 11:45 am
Send together with you VRII for calibration ? AFAIK, it won't be. Tested the 35/1.4 and 85/1.4 before on my D90, it works accurately.
hmm.gif
I tried 4 different units (1 is mine 3 others is friends). All the same behaviour, I'm not saying you can't get sharp images with the points at the side, but the rate is lower.

For example if shoot with center it is probably 9/10, using the left hand or right hand (in horizontal mode), it could be down to maybe 7/10 instead.

The top and bottom are cross sensors so no issue at all.
aldosoesilo
post Mar 1 2011, 12:09 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(alvinX @ Mar 1 2011, 12:05 PM)
Lol! Then why u still considering Tokina. If you can live without af, just afs all the way. 1224 FTW!!!
doh.gif doh.gif
Read the post before jump into conclusion bro. some more giving feedback FTW!
I said. I am considering tokina 12-24 or tokina 11-16.
where if I want tokina 11-16 I have to upgrade my body because I don't have AF motor.
else 12-24 version II which has AF motor. so I wanted to know about the suggestion. read the previous post before saying "FTW" bro.

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Mar 1 2011, 12:05 PM)
Just go 4 2nd body bro... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
d7k second? blush.gif
eddy230379
post Mar 1 2011, 12:09 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Mar 1 2011, 12:07 PM)
which tokina are u using?
11-16 ... the distortion is easier to correct compared to the Nikkor ...
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:10 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 12:09 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif
Read the post before jump into conclusion bro. some more giving feedback FTW!
I said. I am considering tokina 12-24 or tokina 11-16.
where if I want tokina 11-16 I have to upgrade my body because I don't have AF motor.
else 12-24 version II which has AF motor. so I wanted to know about the suggestion. read the previous post before saying "FTW" bro.
d7k second?  blush.gif
d7k is good choice bro...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
aldosoesilo
post Mar 1 2011, 12:13 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Mar 1 2011, 12:10 PM)
d7k is good choice bro...
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
pretty hard to find d7k second handed.
maybe after quite sometimes. blush.gif
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:14 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 12:13 PM)
pretty hard to find d7k second handed.
maybe after quite sometimes.  blush.gif
just go ahead with new body lorr...
jchue73
post Mar 1 2011, 12:21 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 1 2011, 11:43 AM)
10-24 distortion a little complex. Prefer 11-16 smile.gif
If nikkor, 12-24 DX the best smile.gif
What kind of distortion? You mean the left and right sides of the picture when shot at 10mm? I believe all wide angles have this wide angle distortion. Limitation of the 35mm (or rather the smaller DX) frame.

Having said that, yes, Nikkors are always better but the question that remains is how much better are they compared to the rest...

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 11:47 AM)
I tried sigma 10-20. doesn't really like it.
What did you don't like about the Sigma?

From worst to best

DX
Sigma 10-20 f/4.5-5.6
Sigma 10-20 f/3.5
Tokina 12-24
Sigma 8-16
Tokina 11-16
Nikkor 12-24
How did you compile this list? Did somebody make a comparison test for all of them above?

Shooting landscapes is usually focused near infinity. Else, use hyperfocal technique and set aperture f8 to f11 and you should get everything spot on.
Tony Stark
post Mar 1 2011, 12:22 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 11:53 AM)
yeah.. I do understand that. but again with this body I can't get what I want cry.gif
D3s straight la bro. then no nid change edi rclxms.gif
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:23 PM

221 posts

what is hyperfocal technique?
aldosoesilo
post Mar 1 2011, 12:35 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 1 2011, 12:21 PM)
What kind of distortion? You mean the left and right sides of the picture when shot at 10mm? I believe all wide angles have this wide angle distortion. Limitation of the 35mm (or rather the smaller DX) frame.

Having said that, yes, Nikkors are always better but the question that remains is how much better are they compared to the rest...
What did you don't like about the Sigma?
How did you compile this list? Did somebody make a comparison test for all of them above?
Shooting landscapes is usually focused near infinity. Else, use hyperfocal technique and set aperture f8 to f11 and you should get everything spot on.
sample of sigma 10-20mm
doesn't really like the distortion. and heard tokina is better with only small difference amount of money.
Honestly I know I want 11-16 tokina it just doesn't AF sad.gif

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 1 2011, 12:22 PM)
D3s straight la bro. then no nid change ediĀ  rclxms.gif
No I mean this body doesn't have AF I need to be picky sometimes when buying lens. doh.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Mar 1 2011, 12:41 PM
kakisemut
post Mar 1 2011, 12:40 PM

221 posts

the conclusion is 116...is a good choice?
Tony Stark
post Mar 1 2011, 12:41 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Mar 1 2011, 12:35 PM)

sample of sigma 10-20mm
doesn't really like the distortion. and heard tokina is better with only small difference amount of money.
Honestly I know I want 11-16 tokina it just doesn't AF sad.gif
No I mean this body doesn't have AF you need to be picky when buying lens. doh.gif
personally, and again, i kinda like distortion tongue.gif and i also think that the G lenses looks better than the D ones so its a win win situation. u got a nice looking lens and also motor in the lens tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tony Stark: Mar 1 2011, 12:41 PM
aldosoesilo
post Mar 1 2011, 12:43 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 1 2011, 12:41 PM)
personally, and again, i kinda like distortion tongue.gif and i also think that the G lenses looks better than the D ones so its a win win situation. u got a nice looking lens and also motor in the lens tongue.gif
well.. uhmm.. Will consider of buying G lens then. Thanks for the input bro.

124 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:47 PM