5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011

Andy214
post Apr 22 2011, 05:45 PM

3,308 posts

Anybody know if we can FORCE N900 to use HighQuality MP3 rintones? I notice when we set ANY Mp3 as ringtone, the sound quality change and also jumbled up like mono quality or whatever you call it.
After some searching around, I found one thread about Maemo will convert it to lower quality wav file whenever you select custom ringing tone. To fix this, we need to manually create/convert a high quality wav file and replace the file. Troublesome if we wish to change ringingtone.

http://www.howardforums.com/printthread.php?t=1615750

I wonder if there is any code or ways we can force it to use the original settings/quality? Is there any settings for this?

QUOTE(imranzero @ Apr 22 2011, 03:52 PM)
hi, new user of n900 reporting in..may i know what is the best rom for this phone now?see the interface like no fun..wana try good rom b4 i sold my set which are on sale now.haha..
Wah,... another SEA follower!

This post has been edited by Andy214: Apr 22 2011, 05:50 PM
Andy214
post Apr 22 2011, 11:07 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 22 2011, 07:20 PM)
sifu andy i got two new friends to introduce to you

So syookkkkkk tongue.gif

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Apr 22 2011, 08:12 PM)
N900 don't have any official custom rom.We make our own custom OS based on our own experience of using this device.

BTW I did try E7 last week.I understand now why some people complain about the keyboard slide out.It is slightly different from usual keyboard slide out.
Not only the slide out that gets complain... the keyboard is not nice to type or use also. They say ergonomics and so on... N900 is way way better... The E7 is awkward to use, I tried typing, it's not easy, especially the side which is curved, kind of annoying.

Andy214
post Apr 23 2011, 10:09 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Apr 23 2011, 08:08 PM)
My only complain is the curve out design.The keypad design itself is very well designed.

@mashimarow
Installing NITDroid is only hard for the 1st time.Like for my case I install NITDroid in my eMMC.After setting up the eMMC partition the rest is just copy paste command.
Usually I'll finish installating NITDroid in few minutes.
Looks well design, but when I use it, it's not what it seems. Maybe if you compared it to the N97, maybe yes?

Andy214
post Apr 26 2011, 11:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Apr 26 2011, 10:27 PM)
Well,it seems as HTC will release a Green Robot phone with qwerty soon.
I'm gonna get it.
N900 will remain with me & that will be my Maemo/MeeGo device.There is no way I'll buy another experimental phone from Nokia again.
What about Droid 3? The leak pics, the keyboard looks kinda cool
Andy214
post May 30 2011, 10:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 30 2011, 06:20 PM)
While Nokia is playing the waiting game,
ASUS released a Meego powered Netbook biggrin.gif

Cool!

Btw, anyone tried install MeeGo 1.2 Developer Edition?

At this pace, not sure when MeeGo device going to be launch, an actual MeeGo device that is. Any news about Nokia 1st MeeGo device going to be a real MeeGo device or the 1st instance (Harmattan) as previously mentioned in tmo?

On the side note; future Moto device should have unlocked bootloader, and the Droid/Milestone 3 might be interesting.....

But then,.... WP7 looks promising too..... I like the social network integration, just like Maemo, but "enhanced".
Still lack of Flash for me tough... altough it's been mentioned that they're "still" working on it since Feb 2010?

Andy214
post May 31 2011, 07:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 31 2011, 06:47 PM)
No news from Nokia but if you respond to Nokia's developer survey, you might stand a chance to win unannounced Meego/Maemo6 or whatever device it may be. Just in short, they said the N900 replacement device. I'm guessing nobody in LYN is bold enough to test Meego yet? biggrin.gif

WP7 looks awesome even before the Mango update. I tried the LG Optimus 7 and it seems pretty sleek. The UI is so smooth and simplicity wise, it might actually be better than iOS. rclxms.gif

At the same time, I'm wondering why LG Optimus 2X though having a Dual-Core proc seems to be having some slow UI Transition or perhaps it is the transition problem and not the hardware limitation, when I pinch out to zoom out of all homescreens, selecting a homescreen will result in some pretty bad transition lag when zooming into the homescreen selected. HTC DHD on the other hand perform far better in this specific transition although having only a single core proc. unsure.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 6:47 pm
Really fast booting time biggrin.gif
Watch one video on N900 running Meego 1.2 DE RC (SF edition) posted recently. Its presented by a lady (I think HK) similar like previous. In the video, she did mention the upcoming rumoured N9/N950 will be running Meego//Maemo6. She also mention its not a full/complete Meego, but compatible... just like previously discussed in tmo... So, I guess the packaging is still different from Meego which is rpm based?

Actually, I wanted to test the Meego, but this is my primary phone... can't afford to mess with it... didn't even want to play with nitdroid...

As for Android running dual core, from what I know, the OS is not yet optimized for it, and there is many types of different processor, or whatever you call it. Not so well versed with this.
Basically, if there's only one type, everything is easier to control, built and maintain. Thus, one of the many reasons why Apple has the advantage.
Andy214
post Jun 14 2011, 02:00 PM

3,308 posts

From The Biggest Angry Birds Playground @ Low Yat Plaza, KL on 11th Jun 2011.

Nice expression from this guy in each shot:

This guy got skills! Angry Birds Master!

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 14 2011, 02:01 PM
Andy214
post Jun 16 2011, 03:12 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Jun 16 2011, 12:36 AM)
tried that and not working also sad.gif sigh...
bro im using windows xp since my windows 7 is 64bits, and the flasher only works on 32bits right?
Turn off your device (make sure it's properly off).
Hold the letter "U" on the keypad.
Plug-in the USB cable.

What's the respond from your device?
Did it turned on?

Make sure your battery is fully charge or at least > 70%? If below certain %, it will not enter/allow "update" mode.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 16 2011, 03:14 AM
Andy214
post Jun 19 2011, 11:51 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Jun 19 2011, 11:02 AM)
i'd tried meego on netbook, but not n900 (my primary hp)

very light, and fast !

btw, wanna ask bout latest kernel update, does it support HEN ? sifu ?
SHIFU,

How you try?
You install on your netbook or at shop? If shop, mana mana?

Added on June 19, 2011, 11:57 am
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 18 2011, 04:41 PM)
NITDroid definitely worth playing around for average users.MeeGo not yet.

Milestone 3...Looks nice...
Especially when rumored HTC Doubleshot aka MyTouch 4G looks ugly.
Yup..... but the specs seems nothing much to shout; seems like old model/sec pending for release for some time... The ram previous rumored 512MB, seems really low especially when it's launched here.
But then, it looks nice, especially the qwerty keyboard...
Waiting for a nice one for Windows Phone... The HTC 7 Pro is one with qwerty currently available

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 19 2011, 11:57 AM
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 12:13 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 10:52 AM)
Holy crap N9 is real beauty

Added on June 21, 2011, 10:57 amN9 DO NOT have any physical buttons

Added on June 21, 2011, 11:01 amThis is what Nokia about.Finally something new.
UI seems very interesting.
No hardware keyboard....

Specs looks outdated... ARM Cortex-A8 OMAP3630 1 Ghz, PowerVRSGX530
Seems no mentioned about ram, probably 512MB?

http://press.nokia.com/wp-content/uploads/...-data-sheet.pdf

I wonder who are the targeted market? I wonder how many hardcore N900 which choose N900 because of it's speciality, will be impressed with N9?

Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 03:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:33 PM)
apparently there'll be 2 devices... one N9 and the N950 for developers with slightly different specs...
can't wait for the video reviews to come out
Let's hope so... But, it there is, I doubt the developer version is available for Malaysian market.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 12:49 PM)
Specs don't bother me much but the lack of physical keyboard is real disappointment.
I'm sure number of N900 users will keep using their current phone.

Added on June 21, 2011, 12:51 pmOh & btw forget about Android port in N9 unless Google really removed physical buttons functionality in Android 2.4
True, the keyboard is the biggest turn-off.
Though specs is kind of important as you need at least more than recommended specs or a good spec for proper heavy multi-tasking; As with the N900, I think we all know the experience and feeling. Nonetheless, it's still a good device and there no a device that's comparable; If there is, then it'll be different story.

Another thing I hope is it'll be able to render/play HD videos or even Full HD, but looking at the specs, probably just HD. As with the N900 now, we're limited, can't even play 480p. Back when it's still new, it's still ok, but nowadays, you often see higher quality/resolution as standard. Soon, it'll be even more common thing.

Anyway, I don't think it's worth selling the N900; Just whether how long it can last OR keep up with the demand as nowadays, there're so many things available and there isn't much new things or support for those new things on the N900. We're far behind, but when N900 was first launch, we're far in front.

Added on June 21, 2011, 3:30 pmhttp://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n9_announced_based_on_the_meego_platform-news-2805.php

N9 announced....
I thing I just notice... no homescreen/Desktop???

Why does it feel more like the fruit?

One UI is all icons and it's in 1 page, imagine if you install tons of appplications....
No adobe Flash support.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 21 2011, 03:32 PM
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 04:31 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 21 2011, 04:06 PM)
So, when are we getting a stable release of Meego 1.2 for N900? User-oriented. biggrin.gif
As I watch from the video, the one N900 getting (or current Developer Edition) is the actual MeeGo, not the MeeGo Harmattan (Maemo6).

Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 04:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 04:28 PM)
Well see how things goes...
1080p was introduced before N900 was introduced so yes,in a way we was behind,
But so far the is no other format or planned format which is advanced than current 1080p.This spec should be enough to hold for while (a short while)

Anyway N950 has been confirmed.Hardware spec lower than N9,no warranty or support but with QWERTY keyboard.

No matter what you have to say Nokia knows how to design phone better than other wink.gif

For me because of lack of physical qwerty phones in market I'm embracing the thought of buying a full touch phone.N9 now certainty in my thought now...
I think soon.
The problem is, we don't know when it will launch. By the time it was launch (if year end), reach Malaysia will be Feb/March 2012? Or later? That time, I think it's far behind. We might have other "actual" MeeGo devices on the market, while this is actually Maemo6/Harmattan. But the RAM of 1GB is good.
But, as you said, and I have to agree with you, Nokia knows how to design phone better than other; I do find Nokia has more better design phones than other.

Just disappointed that, we don't get a proper and "good" N900 replacement; This one honestly, I feel like a refined and better N8 with better OS; It's more like to replace "Symbian" than replace "Maemo".

This may not replace N900, but definitely can replace other Symbian devices thumbup.gif
Looking forward WP7 phone from Nokia; Hope they come out with a good design qwerty device, it doesn't have to have the best specs (as usual, qwerty devices seems/tends to have lower specs?)
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 05:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 21 2011, 04:55 PM)

I thought we can play 480p vid on N900. My vids at 480p playable. hmm.gif

Seems right to say a refined Symbian than a direct replacement of N900. But if you were to put the physical keys out of your mind, you will see, it's the bloodline of Maemo and I can't stop admiring the design. It's so nice. laugh.gif
Can mer? Can't wor, I even tried over-clocking and play using mplayer. Maybe the bitrate/quality different?

bloodline? I don't see any wor.
No Desktop. I don't see homescreen as well, feels like iFruit.
Icon looks like Symbian Anna.
Colour is white/gray; Maemo has this cool black and glowing blue trademark, which makes it really cool.

When you first boot up Maemo for the first time to set the settings (clock, region, etc), it's already sooooo coool, standing out from the rest of the mobile phone OS.

I don't see where is the similarities with Maemo. As with the design, I don't see the similarities of bloodlines from N900, probably bloodlines from N8, while N950 from E7 (which also bloodlines from N8).
The closest design to N900 was probably the Motorola Milestone/Droid, and you can see, up till the 3rd generation, it still retain it's look, it's bloodlines.

Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 06:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 05:58 PM)
Lulz...I hacked my phone so much that it barely look like original Maemo laugh.gif
I think aside from Nokia word on the case there is no other Nokia word in my phone.Even boot video don't have "Nokia".I changed everything somewhere in last year after pissed with Nokia over crappy software support.

@N900rocks
Did you use aircrack with kernel power v47?
LoL; Actually aside from the Nokia word, the Maemo OS feel totally doesn't feel Nokia, as Nokia is usually known for their Symbian OS; You show to people, they wouldn't know it's a Nokia until they see the branding on the phone. I have few people interested people asked me, Nokia got such phone??? This one really not something that is common for Nokia.
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 06:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 21 2011, 06:16 PM)
Yes, I get all the same reaction, Nokia got this phone? biggrin.gif
Can. smile.gif Later I try again. Maybe your format or something larh.
I got few people saw my phone. "Wah, what phone is that? I looks very keng" haha;
Some people don't mind the bulkyness of the phone, they actually like it as long as it's powerful and provide many features; But if the phone is simple, then it become a question why it is so bulky.

What about YouTube video at 480p? I can't play that too, can play but very laggy and slow, audio out of sync.

Added on June 21, 2011, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 21 2011, 06:21 PM)
This is ok.
Got people asked me : "Is this China phone?"
Normal warning.Most probably because of the i2ctool.
Go ahead & install it.
LoL, now that's bad. tongue.gif

QUOTE(zdentws @ Jun 21 2011, 06:22 PM)
LOL! why N9 looks like ipod nano ???
Haha, you're same with BuFung!

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 21 2011, 06:24 PM
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 07:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 21 2011, 07:14 PM)
Youtube how to play at 480p. Mine forever stuck to 240. So crazily blur. doh.gif
SEA posted ady.SEA posted the dev site demo smile.gif But yeap, everyone should check this page out! It's so awesome. tongue.gif
The UI.
I browse using Full Desktop site, so can adjust the settings.

If not you can download it using the YouTube downloader app, you can choose the quality. I download 480p before, when playback it's very laggy, even though I skip frame, totally unwatchable.

Maybe the bitrate or quality; I remember last time when I do conversion, I did try lower bitrate and seems it can play, can't really remember. But nowadays video at 480p, seems the quality is good, thus cannot play properly.

Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 10:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Jun 21 2011, 10:29 PM)
if u see the singapore demo vid u'll see the setting clock thing is like our maemo..that's all the similarity i notice in the vid biggrin.gif
wah this makes me wanna see ur fon demo biggrin.gif
I saw the clock setting, got like Maemo? This is all plain white/gray wo? looks very iOS-ish?
Maemo is way cooler, black background, white foreground and glowing blue. Looks very "futuristic".
Perhaps you meant the rendering? Sort of like SVG type?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 21 2011, 10:41 PM
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 11:08 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Jun 21 2011, 10:48 PM)
haha dunno about iOS..i mean the way u set the clock by sliding the hour/min arrow..
iOS like that too?
No I meant the interface/UI, it's very iOS-ish; The slider one is nice yes.

Added on June 21, 2011, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 21 2011, 10:42 PM)
Just hope Nokia N9 doesnt end up like N900 again.
Hard to say, after all, this isn't actual MeeGo, it's Maemo6/Harmattan, said to be MeeGo Compatible.

The next device should be a real MeeGo device; but as long as it makes no difference to the consumer, it should be ok; but if the developer need to port between this and the actual MeeGo, then it may have some issues unless the port is very simple.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jun 21 2011, 11:10 PM
Andy214
post Jun 21 2011, 11:54 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Jun 21 2011, 11:36 PM)
looking forward for N950
Have you seen the specs and information for N950?
It'll be in beta version, no warranty, no support, and lower specs; I suspect this might be the originally planned MeeGo Harmattan device, but since it got delayed, maybe they device to use a new model? Thus this model becomes the developer edition?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0702sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:27 AM