post Apr 13 2012, 10:36 PM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

cable faulty i assume
kembar4
post Apr 14 2012, 06:02 PM

*LYN's Premier Tablet Seller*
548 posts

Just collected my HD669 replacement from Poslaju Today. Trio sent it on Monday but I couldn't collect it then.

Had to RMA my previous unit as I heard some slight crackling on the left side of the piece. The new one sounds perfect after a few hours of burning in. Hopefully it'll stay this way.
dennisbklow
post Apr 15 2012, 01:30 PM

340 posts

Bought new cables from ssyycc to replace my stock HD661. What can I say?
Pros :Overall sound clearer and more refined bass. Feel the highs not so ear piercing as ori. With my amp with copper interconnect... sound even sweeter.Thats after onli about 6hrs of cable burn in.
Good job bro.
Con: Cable a bit stiff. Sacrifice for better sound lor.

Kokoklicious
post Apr 15 2012, 05:28 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Apr 15 2012, 01:30 PM)
Bought new cables from ssyycc to replace my stock HD661. What can I say?
Pros :Overall sound clearer and more refined bass. Feel the highs not so ear piercing as ori. With my amp with copper interconnect... sound even sweeter.Thats after onli about 6hrs of cable burn in.
Good job bro.
Con: Cable a bit stiff. Sacrifice for better sound lor.
Any photo of the setup? Can make the poison worst haha thumbup.gif
fotosintesis
post Apr 15 2012, 06:38 PM

So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?
1,002 posts

been used 668b for almost 1year.. wub.gif
today,my worst possible scenario has happen as my cable connecter *connected to the left-side can hasa problem.
just move it a bit and the left-side can wouldnt produce any sound..any help??
thought I could repair it myself.. icon_question.gif
emiya_shin
post Apr 15 2012, 09:27 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(fotosintesis @ Apr 15 2012, 06:38 PM)
been used 668b for almost 1year.. wub.gif
today,my worst possible scenario has happen as my cable connecter *connected to the left-side can hasa problem.
just move it a bit and the left-side can wouldnt produce any sound..any help??
thought I could repair it myself..  icon_question.gif
Did you tried changing the cables? If not... you might need to know how to recable in order to fix the 668B. And... if you're seeking to repair it, better get another one, cause asking a recabling might cost as much as the headphones themselves... Just my opinion, and take it with a lot of salt wink.gif
dennisbklow
post Apr 16 2012, 09:17 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(Kokoklicious @ Apr 15 2012, 05:28 PM)
Any photo of the setup? Can make the poison worst haha  thumbup.gif
My humble set up tongue.gif
Quite happy with it (at the moment)
Chyan
post Apr 16 2012, 10:54 AM

4,222 posts

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Apr 16 2012, 09:17 AM)
That's awesome. laugh.gif
dennisyeoh
post Apr 16 2012, 12:42 PM

teehee
718 posts

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Apr 16 2012, 09:17 AM)
what kind of player you are useing
Kokoklicious
post Apr 16 2012, 12:48 PM

98 posts

Sandisk Sansa Fuze. Correct me if I was wrong biggrin.gif
dennisbklow
post Apr 16 2012, 01:36 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Kokoklicious @ Apr 16 2012, 12:48 PM)
Sandisk Sansa Fuze. Correct me if I was wrong biggrin.gif
Correcto with lod. But iphone sound better.
dennisyeoh
post Apr 16 2012, 01:46 PM

teehee
718 posts

is your sensa fuze rockbox?

dennisbklow
post Apr 16 2012, 04:39 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Apr 16 2012, 01:46 PM)
is your sensa fuze rockbox?
Its rockboxed but with lod can onli use ori sansa software sad.gif
ertai
post Apr 16 2012, 07:38 PM

61 posts

Superlux HD440 Mod:
I had some time over the weekend and did a very simple 'aesthetic' mod on it that I would like to share blush.gif

Material used:
1) 2 pieces of red felt cloth (bought from Art Friend, MV Gardens @ RM1.2/pc)

you can choose any color you like, depending on your model HD330/HD660

2) Facial cotton (24 pieces) is FREE rclxm9.gif I 'stole' it from my sister XD (JK)

3) Ruler, Pencil, Compass to measure diameter and draw a circle, and scissors (no pic)
4) Small screwdriver, flat (-) shape

Basically, all I did was remove the black sponge that come with it and replaced with a red felt cloth.

The black sponge

and earpads

Remove the plastic ring that secures the black sponge (lever it out with the screwdriver)

How it looks inside

I did the necessary measurements using my tools and cut out a small donut-shaped felt

and a round shaped felt

secure it back with the plastic ring

there you go

Note: The aesthetic mod did not really change the sound even though I used felt cloth. The difference is probably too small to notice anything. But it definitely looks better, matching the red Superlux HD440 label smile.gif

OK. Now going pass the looks, the following will change the sound quite a bit..

This is where I added the facial cottons inside the earpads. I used 3pc and fold it into half (you will need 3pcx 4 = 12pc for each earcup), total 24 pieces

and sealed it with the spare felt cloth that I had, folded into half as well

Final product:

After listening with it, I noticed a few things:

Anyways, I am undecided whether to keep the cotton mod permanently or not. To my ears there are certainly pros and cons there.

Update: 17 Apr 2012
I reduced from 3pcs of facial cotton to 2 pcs each fold. 8pcs for each earpad.
On reinterpreting the sound:

This post has been edited by ertai: Apr 17 2012, 07:06 PM
kenjixx
post Apr 16 2012, 08:08 PM

my home hero
741 posts

nice detail review on the mod smile.gif
the final product looks great
Zakov
post Apr 17 2012, 12:23 PM

215 posts

I managed to grab a hold of some replacement earpads for my HD668B from taobao.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=12882886715
*These are meant for AKG K240 so it's a no brainer that it'll fit the HD668B. tongue.gif

Only managed to install after cleaning off the headphones. Couldn't test yet. But definitely way more comfy than the original pads.

Will post screenies later. biggrin.gif
Kokoklicious
post Apr 17 2012, 01:26 PM

98 posts

When are we gonna get replacement pads for HD661. hmm.gif
GenericMav
post Apr 17 2012, 01:32 PM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

QUOTE(Zakov @ Apr 17 2012, 12:23 PM)
I managed to grab a hold of some replacement earpads for my HD668B from taobao.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=12882886715
*These are meant for AKG K240 so it's a no brainer that it'll fit the HD668B.  tongue.gif

Only managed to install after cleaning off the headphones. Couldn't test yet. But definitely way more comfy than the original pads.

Will post screenies later. biggrin.gif
how much is the shipping fee? sounds like a good deal
ertai
post Apr 17 2012, 07:09 PM

61 posts

Just updated my views on the mod and sound. Check it out. Post#2514
sosot000
post Apr 17 2012, 10:27 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(ertai @ Apr 17 2012, 07:09 PM)
Just updated my views on the mod and sound. Check it out. Post#2514
not bad!! quite nice red black composition~ rclxms.gif

btw, did u own/tried any other model of superlux? wonder exactly how booming does HD440 be~ drool.gif

some more will the earcup be a little small? cos from the screenies i found that hd440's earcup was smaller than i expected~ hmm.gif will it hurt ur ear for pro-long usage? rclxub.gif

127 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 >Top

0.0489sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:51 AM