SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB Official Thread V1, ..best and most portable Android tablet

Hico
post Feb 18 2011, 07:30 AM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Feb 18 2011, 02:20 AM)
so you using 2 numbers? how good if can make ONE number in TWO sim card  drool.gif  so 1 for Tab and 1 for a normal phone.
no..using one with one broadband sim inside tab...plan to get digi smartplan..but due to the size of tab, decide to take broadband easier.. tongue.gif
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 07:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Feb 18 2011, 02:20 AM)
so you using 2 numbers? how good if can make ONE number in TWO sim card  drool.gif  so 1 for Tab and 1 for a normal phone.
Maxis postpaid offers such 2 simcards one number. The other sim for data only. Have to pay additional monthly for the extra sim, i think is around rm 10

arbelnox
post Feb 18 2011, 07:53 AM

446 posts

a quick question

Which one is better?

OC Rom or Modaco Rom?

Also, does changing to EXT4 really increases the device speed by a lot or just minor that can be hardly noticed?

Am thinking of flashing my Tab after sticking to Stock ROM since my 1/12/2010 purchase...
thanks!!
shinzan
post Feb 18 2011, 07:58 AM

Born To Support Liverpool All My Life
1,360 posts

Mr Benny, need ur help now...kindly refer to my post #439...my Tab currently cannot load after changing file system to EXT4...please... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 08:30 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Feb 18 2011, 07:58 AM)
Mr Benny, need ur help now...kindly refer to my post #439...my Tab currently cannot load after changing file system to EXT4...please... icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Call me 0132288833 and describe what you did

Added on February 18, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 18 2011, 07:53 AM)
a quick question

Which one is better?

OC Rom or Modaco Rom?

Also, does changing to EXT4 really increases the device speed by a lot or just minor that can be hardly noticed?

Am thinking of flashing my Tab after sticking to Stock ROM since my 1/12/2010 purchase...
thanks!!
Both are equally good but you need to have default rfs fs converted to ext4 filesystem first. You wobt go wrong using either one.

The speed difference using ext4 is obvious
Install modaco ext4 at sametime install recovery function which is useful to flash new roms, complete backup n 100% successful restore. Keep a working nandroid copy and you need not worry experimenting with kernel n rom as modaco recovery feature is fantastically good.

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 18 2011, 08:47 AM
Hico
post Feb 18 2011, 09:06 AM

4,709 posts

my tab's battery still got 75% after 2d 0h 41m now.. i just do surfing, msn, checking email like 5 hours, then occasionally check mail using the built in email app.. seems not bad.. brows.gif anyway, i am using stock rom still..but i off the data connection and wifi when i not use it.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Feb 18 2011, 09:07 AM
arbelnox
post Feb 18 2011, 09:58 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 08:30 AM)

Added on February 18, 2011, 8:47 am

Both are equally good but you need to have default rfs fs converted to ext4 filesystem first. You wobt go wrong using either one.

The speed difference using ext4 is obvious
Install modaco ext4 at sametime install recovery function which is useful to flash new roms, complete backup n 100% successful restore. Keep a working nandroid copy and you need not worry experimenting with kernel n rom as modaco recovery feature is fantastically good.
Thank you...
but according to Modaco's XDA thread, it seems the latest ROM has RFS --> EXT4 conversion bundled together, so does that mean I can just flash my Stock ROM RFS based directly with MoDaCo ROM?

TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 10:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 18 2011, 09:58 AM)
Thank you...
but according to Modaco's XDA thread, it seems the latest ROM has RFS --> EXT4 conversion bundled together, so does that mean I can just flash my Stock ROM RFS based directly with MoDaCo ROM?
You can install this Modaco rom only through using a RECOVERY MOD program. The Samsung default recovery I don't thinlk allows you to do it. Unless you have already installed either Kousch recovery or Chainfire recovery mod - than you can use these tools.
When you do a Modaco EXT4 conversion, only will the Modaco Recovery is installed same time
shinzan
post Feb 18 2011, 10:42 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 08:30 AM)

Finally i flashed it back RotoHammer JMI... blush.gif

Dont know what happen before...will try it again later...
arbelnox
post Feb 18 2011, 10:54 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 10:18 AM)
You can install this Modaco rom only through using a RECOVERY MOD program. The Samsung default recovery I don't thinlk allows you to do it. Unless you have already installed either Kousch recovery or Chainfire recovery mod - than you can use these tools.
When you do a Modaco EXT4 conversion, only will the Modaco Recovery is installed same time
thanks.... so I guess I should do the following:

1) Download the EXT4 TAR file and Flash my File System to EXT4.
2) Make a Nandroid Backup with the installed ClockWorkMod from Step 1.
3) Download the MoDaCo's ROM and save it on the root of my SD card
4) Enter into Recovery Mode --> Wipe the Device --> Update ZIP file and wait for reboot

Is it correct with the steps above?

By the way, will the step 1 clean off all my data? Thanks
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 10:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Feb 18 2011, 10:42 AM)
Finally i flashed it back RotoHammer JMI... blush.gif

Dont know what happen before...will try it again later...
Make sure your external micro SD card has sufficient space left to do backup while the files are being backup and converted - I'd suggest at least 2 to 4 GB free space

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 18 2011, 10:54 AM)

4) Enter into Recovery Mode --> Wipe the Device --> Update ZIP file and wait for reboot

1 . Download the right TAR file : there is one which convert kernel to R3 but maintain default RFS fs system while the other convert kernel to R3 and convert fs to ext4. Changing kernel to R3 will not wipe your data
2. The nandroid backup will backup fully your current rom with all its apps/data/settings - you can later use astro file manager to rename this backup file to something simpler and recognizable ; infact is a good practice example i will rename it as 12febMOdacoR1revison3 , 11febStockrom, 11febOvercome112 etc etc. This nandroid backup is important just incase something goes wrong, you can switch off tab , go into recovery and restore back your original rom with its data

Step 4: It is good practice to wipe clean before flashing new rom - I always wipe data/factory reset, cache partition : These steps will give you a clean start and avoid issues brought about by older rom remnant files.

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 18 2011, 11:06 AM
arbelnox
post Feb 18 2011, 11:10 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 10:55 AM)
Make sure your external micro SD card has sufficient space left to do backup while the files are being backup and converted - I'd suggest at least 2 to 4 GB free space

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:06 am

1 . Download the right TAR file : there is one which convert kernel to R3 but maintain default RFS fs system while the other convert kernel to R3 and convert fs to ext4. Changing kernel to R3 will not wipe your data
2. The nandroid backup will backup fully your current rom with all its apps/data/settings - you can later use astro file manager to rename this backup file to something simpler and recognizable ; infact is  a good practice example i will rename it as 12febMOdacoR1revison3 , 11febStockrom, 11febOvercome112 etc etc. This nandroid backup is important just incase something goes wrong, you can switch off tab , go into recovery and restore back your original rom with its data

Step 4: It is good practice to wipe clean before flashing new rom - I always wipe data/factory reset, cache partition : These steps will give you a clean start and avoid issues brought about by older rom remnant files.
okay... thanks... now having clearer picture...
Just to be sure...
ClockWorldMod will only be installed upon changing of Kernel is it? Are there any Variants of ClockWorldMod out there for Tab? I'm afraid of getting a Recovery Mod Program that is not compatible with ModaCo Rom....
thanks!!
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 11:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

shinzan : If you have reflash to Roto JMI - check again to see whether your radio/modem file is OK ?? you will see no data detection and settings/mobile network is greyed. As JMI zip file does not come with the radio/modem builtin files. If so you have to reflash again using Odin 1.7 - just falsh the radio file in PHONE - select no repartition, no need PIT just select PDA. Get this JMF radio file :

http://android.modaco.com/content/samsung-...eband-download/

I'd advise to better flash Roto JME if TAB gets stuck as JME will give you back a full working rom to use temporary . Or if you wish to use back JMI when flashing include in the JMF radio file in PHONE

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:17 am
QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 18 2011, 11:10 AM)
okay... thanks... now having clearer picture...
Just to be sure...
ClockWorldMod will only be installed upon changing of Kernel is it? Are there any Variants of ClockWorldMod out there for Tab? I'm afraid of getting a Recovery Mod Program that is not compatible with ModaCo Rom....
thanks!!
YES when you install R3 kernel the clockworkmod is install same time

There are others : Chainfire CFRoot and Koush these are meant for RFS file systems

Modaco ClockworkMod can be use to flash all other types of EXT4 based roms - example Overcomes

This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 18 2011, 11:20 AM
ajay67
post Feb 18 2011, 11:18 AM

2,960 posts

benny, if i buy tab, what do u recommend for me to do first? if i maintain stock ROM, just use better UI enough for a start? am i missing something without flashing other ROM?
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 11:29 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Feb 18 2011, 11:18 AM)
benny, if i buy tab, what do u recommend for me to do first? if i maintain stock ROM, just use better UI enough for a start? am i missing something without flashing other ROM?
My usual advise to all new users - don't flash rom unless you are unhappy with the stock rom . Unless you are like me - even if stock is good but always wish to have a better one

However I will strongly recommend:

1. DUMP the stock Touch Wiz UI - it is laggy and you cannot organize apps according to alphabetical order. Once you have installed a lot of apps, it is messy and hard to locate apps . Replace it with other launchers. Samsung still cannot get their UI right to be smooth and fast - have seen its failures in previous OMNIA Windows Mobiles and last Galaxy S too

You ca try

1. ZEAM - slim build , doesn't consume much memory , very slick and smooth more features than stock UI : a FREE app

2. ADW Launcher free version or ADW EX - paid version with more features on icons n homescreens /Meny screencustomization

3. Launcher Pro - I don't know whether there is still a free trial version now - check it up another popular choice too

2. ROOT IT !!!!! You will be amaze how much more you can do with this. It is just like buying a Kancil but now able to get it to perform like a 2000 cc car

shinzan
post Feb 18 2011, 11:30 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 18 2011, 11:13 AM)
shinzan : If you have reflash to Roto JMI - check again to see whether your radio/modem file is OK ?? you will see no data detection and settings/mobile network is greyed.  As JMI zip file does not come with the radio/modem builtin files. If so you have to reflash again using Odin 1.7 - just falsh the radio file in PHONE - select no repartition, no need PIT just select PDA. Get this JMF radio file :

http://android.modaco.com/content/samsung-...eband-download/

I'd advise to better flash Roto JME if TAB gets stuck as JME will give you back a full working rom to use temporary . Or if you wish to use back JMI when flashing include in the JMF radio file in PHONE

hmm...will do that sir...thank u very much for ur kindly help...FYI, my external micro SD capacity is 8GB...still not enough ka ? hmm.gif
TSbenny888
post Feb 18 2011, 11:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Feb 18 2011, 11:30 AM)
hmm...will do that sir...thank u very much for ur kindly help...FYI, my external micro SD capacity is 8GB...still not enough ka ?  hmm.gif
More than enough - important is free space not size of the card : minimum 2 GB free, better 4 GB as your data will be backup ( a about 1 GB file will be created on your external SD card) and then space needed to convert to ext4
rayzrblade
post Feb 18 2011, 12:24 PM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Feb 18 2011, 09:06 AM)
my tab's battery still got 75% after 2d 0h 41m now.. i just do surfing, msn, checking email like 5 hours, then occasionally check mail using the built in email app.. seems  not bad..  brows.gif anyway, i am using stock rom still..but i off the data connection and wifi when i not use it..  tongue.gif
mine last a day only.

with all these running..

twitter updates.
facebook
pulse reader
data always on
but screen brightness turn to minimal..

does anyone have this issue ?

once a while the 3G connection will just get stucked. i need to on and off data only start running again.
thanks.
klwong99
post Feb 18 2011, 12:45 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Feb 18 2011, 10:54 AM)

On your step 3, If not mstaken any new ROM flash with CWM should save at mirco SD card.
This because most of the TAB ROM will wipe the whole data at internal SD card. this bit difference with SGS flashing method.
Anyone here can confirm this?

Added on February 18, 2011, 12:56 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 17 2011, 11:17 AM)
The response to my proposed meetup of Tabbbers on 20 Feb was poor - only 2 users responded. This proposed meetup is therefore cancelled.

Just a day before,  there is the monthly Mobilefest gathering - you are most welcome to join us. We will have makan/minum and "T-C" all stuffs mobile- Android, IOS, WM, Palm

Monthly MobileFest gathering
Venue: Restoran Cantina, Kota Damansara ( serves HALAL mixed cuisine food )
Time : 3 to 5 pm
Date : 19 Feb 2011
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=1882...4543247&index=1
When do we have this kind of gathering with Tabbers?
I really don't know and not really notice this have annouce before.
Where could i access this latest info from?

BTW, what normally monthly MobileFest gathering 'chit-chat' abt?

This post has been edited by klwong99: Feb 18 2011, 12:56 PM
klwong99
post Feb 18 2011, 01:03 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 17 2011, 01:47 AM)
Further to my earlier post #421 above , I noted the said user bought the TAB as a new set from USA and it was a locked T Mobile set. Besides the need to unlock the sim, his TAB cannot recieve/make calls as this function stripped off on most USA telcos. So he'd need to also have his rom reflash to allow phone functions. Even with sim unlock, the data feature limited to only internet access and no SMS/MMS sent is possible. All the solutions to unlock sim and allow phone calls are unofficial solutions from XDA .  Recieve SMS I'd think is possible

So any potential buyers thinking of getting a used or new USA set ( very much cheaper )  - better don't as I just researched and found that most USA telcos block out the phone features - T Mobile, ATT, Bell , Rogers to quote a few
Hi benny,
Just curious is there no any way (yet) to unlock this locked TAB by US telcos?
Even the locked iphone (if not mistaken) possible to unlock it and use any country.

104 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:22 AM