5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Milk powder, Cow, Lactose-Free, Soya

nicKit
post Aug 11 2011, 10:46 PM

374 posts

stupidbump, ur baby is just 2 weeks old is it? if so then it's normal that ur baby waking up at nite... breast milk is easier to digest that y ur baby gets hungrier faster... 10ml for 1 hr is normal... i used to get 10ml for 2 hrs during the 1st mth... i dun wanna b a wet blanket but i've been thru it n so i'll say it... u should get more info abt bf n not intro fm yet to ur baby as nothing is better than breast milk... u can get info at kellymom.com... ur baby stomach is just a size of a pea... go to ur fridge n c how big is a pea... then u imagine if u force feed a pea to finish 1-2oz of fm just because u wanna sleep thru the nite... i dun mean to b harsh but in a good intention smile.gif can anyone remember the china milk scandal? how many babies died? wat if their mum bf their babies? i dun wanna think abt it... then how abt the milk powder that shows u that other milk powder contains sugar? imagine ur baby is drinking sugar n up to 14 tablespoon of sugar... would u put 14 tablespoon of sugar into ur drink? if u wanna bf there's no short cut... ur baby will learn to sleep thru the nite when s/he is ready... we all been thru it so u n ur wife is not alone smile.gif sorry if i have offended anyone... but i just can't get it... dun complain if u say price is increasing or no money... bf is FOC tongue.gif notworthy.gif
phythia79
post Aug 11 2011, 11:41 PM

398 posts

Nickit...well said!
stupidbump
post Aug 11 2011, 11:43 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Aug 11 2011, 10:46 PM)
stupidbump, ur baby is just 2 weeks old is it? if so then it's normal that ur baby waking up at nite... breast milk is easier to digest that y ur baby gets hungrier faster... 10ml for 1 hr is normal... i used to get 10ml for 2 hrs during the 1st mth... i dun wanna b a wet blanket but i've been thru it n so i'll say it... u should get more info abt bf n not intro fm yet to ur baby as nothing is better than breast milk... u can get info at kellymom.com... ur baby stomach is just a size of a pea... go to ur fridge n c how big is a pea... then u imagine if u force feed a pea to finish 1-2oz of fm just because u wanna sleep thru the nite... i dun mean to b harsh but in a good intention smile.gif can anyone remember the china milk scandal? how many babies died? wat if their mum bf their babies? i dun wanna think abt it... then how abt the milk powder that shows u that other milk powder contains sugar? imagine ur baby is drinking sugar n up to 14 tablespoon of sugar... would u put 14 tablespoon of sugar into ur drink? if u wanna bf there's no short cut... ur baby will learn to sleep thru the nite when s/he is ready... we all been thru it so u n ur wife is not alone smile.gif sorry if i have offended anyone... but i just can't get it... dun complain if u say price is increasing or no money... bf is FOC tongue.gif notworthy.gif
Thanks for your encouragement!! really appreciate it! will try to advise my wife on this aspect.

phythia79
post Aug 11 2011, 11:58 PM

398 posts

Stupidbump...what Nickit said is true...she is the best person to give her views as she has gone thru all kinds of obstacles during bf. BF...the journey is a rough one but the rewards is extremely greater...in terms of health for both mommy and baby...and of coz your pocket. I hv saved sooooo much of money for the first year as my son refused any other milk. Only now I'm giving him powdered milk while I'm at work and bf when I'm around.

Once u have kids...in fact...u can say bye bye to sleep. First sleepless nights coz baby wakes up every hour for milk...then also worry...coz of SIDS...then when bigger...they may still wake up in the middle of the night due to night terror etc..

Being a mommy for 2 yrs now...I actually got used to it Liao. First month was the toughest as everyone (including mommy, baby and daddy) are adjusting to new routines.
stupidbump
post Aug 12 2011, 08:41 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:58 PM)
Stupidbump...what Nickit said is true...she is the best person to give her views as she has gone thru all kinds of obstacles during bf. BF...the journey is a rough one but the rewards is extremely greater...in terms of health for both mommy and baby...and of coz your pocket. I hv saved sooooo much of money for the first year as my son refused any other milk. Only now I'm giving him powdered milk while  I'm at work and bf when I'm around.

Once u have kids...in fact...u can say bye bye to sleep. First sleepless nights coz baby wakes up every hour for milk...then also worry...coz of SIDS...then when bigger...they may still wake up in the middle of the night due to night terror etc..

Being a mommy for 2 yrs now...I actually got used to it Liao. First month was the toughest as everyone (including mommy, baby and daddy) are adjusting to new routines.
Thanks for the encouragement yea phythia79.
Actually there is not much problem waking up in the middle of the night for both of us.
My wife starts to get frustrated at times, when after waking up and breastfeeding, the baby still continues crying his lungs out. tongue.gif
Anyway, these 2 days had been quite ok. The rascal woke up only thrice last night!
BTW, is it really common for the breastmilk supply to be low for the starting few weeks?
My wife had tried all sorts of remedies to increase the supply by pumping, massaging, placing hot towels etc, and it still seems low in supply.
We were also told that good mentality and determination helps alot. These, i can say done.

phythia79
post Aug 12 2011, 09:42 AM

398 posts

you can go over to this forum on bf http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1617572/+1100

nickit and I..and other mommies are there to assist you.

And yes..for some women..the milk supply during this 2 weeks are little as supply has yet to be established. During this time, it's very important to bf as frequently as the baby wants so that this will tell your wife's body to produce more milk.

Remember that for bf...more demand..more supply.

go over to the other forum..and there has some remedies to boost supply.
Mommy_2011
post Aug 12 2011, 09:51 AM

28 posts

stupidbump... yes it's quite normal for mommies to have less milk during 1-2weeks after baby is born. Same situ wif me cos I had very little milk and my baby also used to be awake most of the time through the night. but don't worry, after 2motnhs or so, u r wife will have more milk and thus baby will tend to sleep longer during the night.

Believe me, my baby was lower than his birth weight when he was 2 weeks due to less intake of milk, but I never gave up. Luckily I have enuf milk to feed my baby now... Unfortunately I had to giv FM to my baby at 2 motnhs when I send him to Babysitter cos he refused to take EBM when I returned to work... sigh...

We're all there to support u & ur wife so don't worry... Don't introduce FM now itself cos baby might get used to FM and might not take BM anymore due to nipple confusion, and also the bottle nipple is easy to suck than mummy's one.

BTW one time my milk supply dropped, phythia adviced to take fenugreek tea, which I tried and it really worked for me... Maybe ur wife can try that?
stupidbump
post Aug 12 2011, 12:49 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(Mommy_2011 @ Aug 12 2011, 09:51 AM)
stupidbump... yes it's quite normal for mommies to have less milk during 1-2weeks after baby is born. Same situ wif me cos I had very little milk and my baby also used to be awake most of the time through the night. but don't worry, after 2motnhs or so, u r wife will have more milk and thus baby will tend to sleep longer during the night.

Believe me, my baby was lower than his birth weight when he was 2 weeks due to less intake of milk, but I never gave up. Luckily I have enuf milk to feed my baby now... Unfortunately I had to giv FM to my baby at 2 motnhs when I send him to Babysitter cos he refused to take EBM when I returned to work... sigh...

We're all there to support u & ur wife so don't worry... Don't introduce FM now itself cos baby might get used to FM and might not take BM anymore due to nipple confusion, and also the bottle nipple is easy to suck than mummy's one.

BTW one time my milk supply dropped, phythia adviced to take fenugreek tea, which I tried and it really worked for me... Maybe ur wife can try that?
where can we find these fenugreek tea, mind to share?
phythia79
post Aug 12 2011, 12:54 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Aug 12 2011, 12:49 PM)
where can we find these fenugreek tea, mind to share?
stupidbump...kindly go over to the other forum topic...coz..if not..this would be the next bf topic. nicKit has posted it on the first post on the fenugreek seeds tea..and other recipes for confinement.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1617572

This post has been edited by phythia79: Aug 12 2011, 12:58 PM
stupidbump
post Aug 12 2011, 01:49 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Aug 12 2011, 12:54 PM)
stupidbump...kindly go over to the other forum topic...coz..if not..this would be the next bf topic.  nicKit has posted it on the first post on the fenugreek seeds tea..and other recipes for confinement.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1617572
on my way there right away.... tongue.gif
pigglet
post Aug 15 2011, 05:27 PM

26 posts

hi all need some advise my daughter i already 1yr3mths i been feeding her millk only 3 scoop but got feed solids too is it alright and 1 more thing will it cause brain damage if i feed her lesser than the instruction says i need to give her 5 scoop
nicKit
post Aug 15 2011, 05:31 PM

374 posts

pigglet, this is the first time i hear it... how did u come to this conclusion? ur daughter should get all vital nutriens from her solid food ma... not milk... pls enlighten me...
pigglet
post Aug 15 2011, 05:46 PM

26 posts

i also dont know someone just told me this so im abit clueless and also im a first time mum..not much experience tho,so yeah im confuse thats y i ask over for more advise =S

phythia79
post Aug 15 2011, 06:36 PM

398 posts

Aiyo....less or more won't coz any brain damage lar...sigh...and btw...if u give more also won't give u better results.
nicKit
post Aug 15 2011, 06:53 PM

374 posts

pigglet, i think the person that informed u has this tot... u know all milk advertisement always say their milk will do wat wat wat for brain developement... so less milk = brain damage... ur girl should get all those "essentials" for brain developement from her solids like salmon, cod liver oil, etc... those who knows more pls help me out laugh.gif let's say u dun drink milk coz u're allergic to it... then where u get calcium from? if u dun drink milk then ur body kenot get any calcium lo... then u should have sever esteoporosis now... if u dun then where did u get all the calcium? u get calcium from ur food~! vege like brocolli, fruits like kiwi... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nicKit: Aug 15 2011, 06:58 PM
phythia79
post Aug 15 2011, 06:56 PM

398 posts

It's always best to get the nutrients naturally from solids aka food...rather than it being added chemically.
StrawberryGirL
post Aug 16 2011, 01:32 AM

381 posts

i give my daughter drink dugro since newborn until now shes 4 years old. still the same milk powder.. never change.
when she was 1 month old , she have colic can't sleep will every night. bring her to see doc and give her colic medicine.. even put the chinese ointment after her bath and also fei zai sui when she was about 3 month old. i also bought her anti colic bottle for her to drink her milk. it was work. no more colic happen anymore.
sbux
post Aug 16 2011, 02:42 AM

225 posts

oh my god... where did u hear such remarks? BRAIN DAMAGE??? From drinking lesser than what the packaging says?

Then i think breastfed babies are in trouble... including my daughter as i also make the formula thinner than stated... Hmmm .....
phythia79
post Aug 16 2011, 09:06 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(sbux @ Aug 16 2011, 02:42 AM)
oh my god... where did u hear such remarks? BRAIN DAMAGE??? From drinking lesser than what the packaging says?

Then i think breastfed babies are in trouble... including my daughter as i also make the formula thinner than stated... Hmmm .....
hehehe..same here...
nicKit
post Aug 16 2011, 12:17 PM

374 posts

ohmy.gif phythia, let's grab our kids n send them to c a neurologist immediately tongue.gif

this is wat happens if information is passed out wrongly... dry.gif if give baby more milk powder than the label will the kid grow up become einstein? laugh.gif sorry sorry... can't help it...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0255sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:48 PM