American Express® Cards v3, Treatpoints & Membership Rewards™

guanteik
post Oct 3 2024, 02:15 PM

2,656 posts

BenChiewI used to use CIMB TWE but I have finally decided to cancel it as the benefits doesn't seemed well. What I am lacking is an AMEX so probably I might consider this.
Chiet
post Oct 3 2024, 04:56 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Oct 3 2024, 10:17 AM)
Hey Everyone:-
It's me again with another question on the Maybank Platinum Charge Card. Now that I am arguably fine with the high AF, I need to evaluate if I am gonna reap the max benefit out of it.

The paper benefits is aplenty for this card, I could find them in the MBB website. But what I really hope to get some input is how did you guys who are holding this card right now, able to reap this benefit totally to be justified with that AF fees.

From my perspective it's the supplementary 4X + Priority Pass membership they are offering, coupled with lower MR to redeem miles. What else really?

BenChiew sifu your input is much appreciated too!
It really depends on your lifestyle and holiday plans.

1. I try to charge everything to the card as much as possible, Lazada, Shopee, hotels, restaurants, etc.
2. I have claimed 1,300,000 MR into Krisflyer already. There's another 560,000 MR sitting in my account - waiting for the next Hunger Games.
3. Priority Pass is good, but in Singapore it doesn't allow shower facilities - I use my HSBC card for that
4. I used the Centurion lounge and Delta lounges (with a valid Delta airlines ticket) in the USA and found it beneficial
5. Golf privileges as well but not easy to book, must be very flexible
6. Travel insurance - but I forgot to apply for my flight delay
guanteik
post Oct 3 2024, 05:06 PM

2,656 posts

QUOTE(Chiet @ Oct 3 2024, 04:56 PM)
It really depends on your lifestyle and holiday plans.

1. I try to charge everything to the card as much as possible, Lazada, Shopee, hotels, restaurants, etc.
2. I have claimed 1,300,000 MR into Krisflyer already. There's another 560,000 MR sitting in my account - waiting for the next Hunger Games.
3. Priority Pass is good, but in Singapore it doesn't allow shower facilities - I use my HSBC card for that
4. I used the Centurion lounge and Delta lounges (with a valid Delta airlines ticket) in the USA and found it beneficial
5. Golf privileges as well but not easy to book, must be very flexible
6. Travel insurance - but I forgot to apply for my flight delay
Thanks for the valuable insights!
skty
post Oct 4 2024, 03:12 AM

There is only one thing I know. That is I know nothing.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Oct 3 2024, 10:17 AM)
Hey Everyone:-
It's me again with another question on the Maybank Platinum Charge Card. Now that I am arguably fine with the high AF, I need to evaluate if I am gonna reap the max benefit out of it.

The paper benefits is aplenty for this card, I could find them in the MBB website. But what I really hope to get some input is how did you guys who are holding this card right now, able to reap this benefit totally to be justified with that AF fees.

From my perspective it's the supplementary 4X + Priority Pass membership they are offering, coupled with lower MR to redeem miles. What else really?

BenChiew sifu your input is much appreciated too!
QUOTE(guanteik @ Oct 3 2024, 01:24 PM)
Dozz and zaft005 P
Thanks for the wonderful input. I have to say that the Charge Card status isn't my consideration all...

In all I guessed it's the Priority Pass unlimited access justified for the high AF...
when you need to justify some spending, probably that is a signal that spending is not for you in all aspect.
devilaaron
post Oct 9 2024, 05:29 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 23 2024, 03:09 PM)
Excluding e-wallet etc. Exclusion same as other Maybank cards.
Can anybody confirm that exclusion same as other maybank cards?

Planning to use it for utility
as it is not TP, is KF so whether izit RM2 for 1KF , or straight no , because TNC no mention any exclusion or restriction as it specify on category only local or online
1stLaksamana
post Feb 3 2025, 04:25 PM

277 posts

hi all,

i'd like to ask about maybank plat charge card. ive tried to search the forum but cant find any previous answer.

maybank card page quote :-

"300,000 Welcome points!*

Earn 300,000 welcome Membership Reward points* with minimum spend of RM20,000 within 90 days of card issued and annual fee payment. Applicable for the first year only.

*Offer is valid till 31 December 2025"

meaning, next year when we renew our card with AF and if this offer is still valid, we will get another 300k welcome points?

fruitie
post Feb 3 2025, 04:27 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(1stLaksamana @ Feb 3 2025, 04:25 PM)
hi all,

i'd like to ask about maybank plat charge card. ive tried to search the forum but cant find any previous answer.

Earn 300,000 welcome Membership Reward points* with minimum spend of RM20,000 within 90 days of card issued and annual fee payment. Applicable for the first year only.

meaning, next year when we renew our card with AF and if this offer is still valid, we will get another 300k welcome points?
It says "first year only"?
1stLaksamana
post Feb 3 2025, 04:39 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 3 2025, 04:27 PM)
It says "first year only"?
yes, you are right fruitie. thats what i thought too at first. but then i also read "and annual fee payment". for context, as per my understanding, annual fee is after using the card for 1 year.

hence i'm curious, seeking advise and clarification.

This post has been edited by 1stLaksamana: Feb 3 2025, 04:40 PM
fruitie
post Feb 3 2025, 04:42 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(1stLaksamana @ Feb 3 2025, 04:39 PM)
yes, you are right fruitie. thats what i thought too at first. but then i also read "and annual fee payment". for context, as per my understanding, annual fee is after using the card for 1 year.

hence i'm curious, seeking advise and clarification.
Only first year, after that no more.
1stLaksamana
post Feb 3 2025, 04:45 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 3 2025, 04:42 PM)
Only first year, after that no more.
thank you fruitie smile.gif
Chiet
post Feb 4 2025, 02:56 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(1stLaksamana @ Feb 3 2025, 04:25 PM)
hi all,

No, it's only a welcome (one-time) offer.
sihamsedap
post Feb 7 2025, 06:22 AM

93 posts

couldnt be arse to redeem MR for a long time due to hunger games but did it last week as they open up the quota and i need to book some itinerary with it

almost a week with my MR now shown as redeemed in M2U, still nothing in KF... is this normal? TP redemption is always a day max...

read some post earlier takes up to 21 days??? is it still the same in 2025?
Chiet
post Feb 8 2025, 11:42 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Feb 7 2025, 06:22 AM)
couldnt be arse to redeem MR for a long time due to hunger games but did it last week as they open up the quota and i need to book some itinerary with it

almost a week with my MR now shown as redeemed in M2U, still nothing in KF... is this normal? TP redemption is always a day max...

When I did it in Dec it took me close to 2-3 weeks. The last time I did it when it reopened in February it only took a couple of days. So I have no clue. rolleyes.gif
sihamsedap
post Feb 9 2025, 11:42 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Chiet @ Feb 8 2025, 11:42 PM)
When I did it in Dec it took me close to 2-3 weeks. The last time I did it when it reopened in February it only took a couple of days. So I have no clue.  rolleyes.gif
Ahhh 3k+ annually to get this level of service… premium indeed
francis226
post Feb 10 2025, 11:40 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Feb 7 2025, 06:22 AM)

It depends. I redeemed to KF this month too and received on 2nd Feb. My friend till now not receiving it yet.

From what i understand from RM, MR redemption is different than TP, TP can be instant but MR redemption need to submit to Amex
fruitie
post Feb 10 2025, 05:58 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

In 2025, is this card still worth applying? Let's take out the hefty AF reason for now.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Feb 10 2025, 05:58 PM
francis226
post Feb 11 2025, 09:49 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 10 2025, 05:58 PM)
In 2025, is this card still worth applying? Let's take out the hefty AF reason for now.
For local spend, yes!
fruitie
post Feb 11 2025, 12:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Feb 11 2025, 09:49 AM)
For local spend, yes!
How so? Let’s say compare to KF AmEx?
francis226
post Feb 12 2025, 09:38 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 11 2025, 12:31 PM)
How so? Let’s say compare to KF AmEx?
Amex Plat RM1.40/KF for local spend, while KF Amex is RM2.50/KF

Miles validity for Amex Plat is 6 years, KF Amex is just 3 years

The only cons is that, for Amex Plat, you need to fight for redemption. LOL!
fruitie
post Feb 12 2025, 11:00 AM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Feb 12 2025, 09:38 AM)
Amex Plat RM1.40/KF for local spend, while KF Amex is RM2.50/KF

Miles validity for Amex Plat is 6 years, KF Amex is just 3 years

The only cons is that, for Amex Plat, you need to fight for redemption. LOL!
Oh yeah. I think I saw the wrong card. laugh.gif That’s not bad to be honest.
But the fighting part hmm. sweat.gif

163 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 >Top

0.0189sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:50 PM