Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

ronnie
post Jan 18 2011, 12:50 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 18 2011, 12:43 AM)
huh? can keep sending sms meh?
I thought one can only sms once and that's all?
The T&C didn't say cannot send multiple SMS.
Are SCB expecting 100,000 cardmembers with RM4k spends ?
chemistry
post Jan 18 2011, 12:54 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 18 2011, 12:50 AM)
The T&C didn't say cannot send multiple SMS.
Are SCB expecting 100,000 cardmembers with RM4k spends ?
this is what I doubt.
If one sms is worth RM4k, 200000 sms will imply a RM800 million ! Unbelievable!

Update:
I just rang SCB CS. He said "One can send multiple sms as many as he can". brows.gif

This post has been edited by chemistry: Jan 18 2011, 01:06 AM
bingozero
post Jan 18 2011, 07:27 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

Maybank announce 4 new free for life credit card

Maybankard 2 Gold Card
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Maybankard 2 Platinum Card
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

http://www.maybankard2cards.com.my/

This post has been edited by bingozero: Jan 18 2011, 07:34 AM
tgeoklin
post Jan 18 2011, 07:33 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 18 2011, 12:08 AM)
I have to agree with you. I was a "victim" before. vmad.gif
Every block of RM20 will need cumulative spending of RM400 (assume 5% cashback).
I don't like this.

Added on January 18, 2011, 12:10 am
What time do you think is the first 1000th sms? tongue.gif
Are there really so many RM4k SCB spenders ? hmm.gif
Based on historical trends, the number of SCB card holders who spent above RM5K per month are between 5 to 6 thousand pax fyi. But with the ipad thrown in, figure is expected to increase but doubt it would exceed 15 thousand pax max hmm.gif
roy918
post Jan 18 2011, 07:35 AM

558 posts

New cards offering by Maybank starting April - "Maybankard 2 Card", a combination of Maybankard 2 AMEX and Maybankard 2 Mastercard or Visa.
Probably the total value of Treat Point and cash rebate is higher than OCBC 5% cash rebate and not limited to certain merchant as OCBC 5% cash rebate.

Benefit:
1. Finance charge - 8.88% p.a.
2. 5x TP on AMEX or 1x TP on Mastercard/Visa anywhere.
3. 5% weekend cash rebate for ALL spending on AMEX. Cap at RM50.
4. Pay only 1 GST, lifetime annual fee waiver with no T&C, minimum annual income of RM30k, minimum payment of RM25.

Product Disclosure Sheet:

Do read:
Promotion Page on Maybank
Product Disclosure Sheet.
Terms & Conditions

This post has been edited by roy918: Jan 18 2011, 07:54 AM
lamode
post Jan 18 2011, 07:35 AM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 18 2011, 12:08 AM)
I have to agree with you. I was a "victim" before. vmad.gif
Every block of RM20 will need cumulative spending of RM400 (assume 5% cashback).
I don't like this.

Added on January 18, 2011, 12:10 am
What time do you think is the first 1000th sms? tongue.gif
Are there really so many RM4k SCB spenders ? hmm.gif
same thing apply to the shell card?

if i have got RM25 rebate now, I can only redeem RM20? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
ronnie
post Jan 18 2011, 07:51 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 18 2011, 07:27 AM)
It's good if a lot of Merchant supports AMEX
5% cash rebate on ALL Weekend purchases is better than OCBC Titanium (since both is cap at RM50)
5X TreatPoints is equivalent to ~2.5% rebate (I wonder we can chnage to cash credits like Membership Rewards)

ahucks
post Jan 18 2011, 08:14 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 18 2011, 07:51 AM)
5% cash rebate on ALL Weekend purchases is better than OCBC Titanium (since both is cap at RM50)
5X TreatPoints is equivalent to ~2.5% rebate (I wonder we can chnage to cash credits like Membership Rewards)
nice, too bad only available on april... nice reward low interest card thumbup.gif ....2 card 1 GST i like this concept...
gerrardling
post Jan 18 2011, 08:19 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

For the mbb new card, just have to pay rm50 gst for two cards ? The benefit is really awesome, can I apply now and get the card on March and start spending on April?

bingozero
post Jan 18 2011, 08:21 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 18 2011, 08:19 AM)
For the mbb new card, just have to pay rm50 gst for two cards ? The benefit is really awesome, can I apply now and get the card on March and start spending on April?
Just only pay RM50 tax for both cards, I already leave my contact number at the webpage, now wait they call wub.gif
Gen-X
post Jan 18 2011, 08:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Jan 18 2011, 07:35 AM)
New cards offering by Maybank starting April - "Maybankard 2 Card", a combination of Maybankard 2 AMEX and Maybankard 2 Mastercard or Visa.
Probably the total value of Treat Point and cash rebate is higher than OCBC 5% cash rebate and not limited to certain merchant as OCBC 5% cash rebate.

Benefit:
1. Finance charge - 8.88% p.a.
2. 5x TP on AMEX or 1x TP on Mastercard/Visa anywhere.
3. 5% weekend cash rebate for ALL spending on AMEX. Cap at RM50.
4. Pay only 1 GST, lifetime annual fee waiver with no T&C, minimum annual income of RM30k, minimum payment of RM25.

Product Disclosure Sheet:
This Maybank 2 cards is good especially the AMEX, even better than AMEX Gold CC. In is stated that 1 sign up, 1 statement and 1 Service TAX. 5X Treat points for anything is excellent but how about overseas coversion rate for the AMEX card i.e. 2.5%? It comes with Travel Insurance so it is good for air ticket pruchase as we get 5X points with any airlines.

However since it is Treat Points does not it mean we can't redeem like AMEX's 200MR points for RM1?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 18 2011, 08:24 AM
zenquix
post Jan 18 2011, 08:24 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 18 2011, 07:51 AM)
Yeah. Agree the strong point of the promo is Amex. I find the 2nd card just meh.

Historically treatpoints do not have cash credits, but who knows.

This is actually very strong for those already holding a Maybankard combo.

If it is RM50 GST for 2 cards (Amex is waived according to the product sheet), it is already a savings of RM50.

Added on January 18, 2011, 8:27 am
QUOTE(ahucks @ Jan 18 2011, 08:14 AM)
nice, too bad only available on april... nice reward low interest card  thumbup.gif ....2 card 1 GST i like this concept...
It's available now. Only Mastercard is in April.

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 18 2011, 08:35 AM
bingozero
post Jan 18 2011, 08:27 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 18 2011, 08:23 AM)
This Maybank 2 cards is good especially the AMEX, even better than AMEX Gold CC. In is stated that 1 sign up, 1 statement and 1 Service TAX. 5X Treat points for anything is excellent but how about overseas coversion rate for the AMEX card i.e. 2.5%? It comes with Travel Insurance so it is good for air ticket pruchase as we get 5X points with any airlines.

However since it is Treat Points does not it mean we can't  redeem like AMEX's 200MR  points for RM1?
I wonder does Amex gold cc is replace by this card soon?
zenquix
post Jan 18 2011, 08:34 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 18 2011, 08:27 AM)
Frankly Amex Gold CC is weak compared to this new Amex.

I was thinking of changing to Amex Plat but now have new contender. Too bad it doesn't have principal + supplementary lounge access @ KLIA and LCCT
Gen-X
post Jan 18 2011, 08:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 18 2011, 08:27 AM)
yah, no point getting the AMEX Gold CC with this new benefits - 5X Treatpoints for anything. Actually, no point having other cards (except OCBC Titanium) if merchant accept AMEX. But since not all accept AMEX, that;s why they give you Visa/MC for standby I guess. The single GST is excellent. Great thinking by MBB. With this Maybank 2 cards, next half of the year would make the credit card market more interesting.

Soon, OCBC Titanium and Maybank 2 Amex are the must have cards in your wallet.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 18 2011, 08:40 AM
ronnie
post Jan 18 2011, 08:39 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

When we spend on weekend and get 5% cash-back on Maybankard2 AMEX, would we also get 5X TreatPoints ?

I wonder if they would waive the first RM50 GST at roadshows ;-)
ronnie
post Jan 18 2011, 08:40 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 18 2011, 08:34 AM)
Soon, OCBC Titanium and Maybank 2 Amex are the must have cards in your wallet.
My thoughts EXACTLY... if they offer cash credit wth TreatPoints. Then it's a BIG BIG PLUS.
Is the Maybank CEO in LYN ?
Gen-X
post Jan 18 2011, 08:56 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 18 2011, 08:40 AM)
My thoughts EXACTLY... if they offer cash credit wth TreatPoints. Then it's a BIG BIG PLUS.
Is the Maybank CEO in LYN ?
No lah, he and his ma chais are reading my blog, haha

I just called Maybank CS and asked two questions only:

1) Can the Maybank 2 Amex redeem points for cash like AMEX? Answer given no for the moment as this card give Treat Points and not Membership Reward Points.

2) Admin charge for oversesas transactions is similar to AMEX at 2.5% or MBB CC? Answer given is that it is subjected to 2.5% admin fees.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 18 2011, 08:57 AM
ahucks
post Jan 18 2011, 08:57 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 18 2011, 08:24 AM)
Yeah. Agree the strong point of the promo is Amex. I find the 2nd card just meh.

Historically treatpoints do not have cash credits, but who knows.

This is actually very strong for those already holding a Maybankard combo.

If it is RM50 GST for 2 cards (Amex is waived according to the product sheet), it is already a savings of RM50.

Added on January 18, 2011, 8:27 am

It's available now. Only Mastercard is in April.
owh however i already got petronas visa... maybe i'll wait until april then...
ronnie
post Jan 18 2011, 09:08 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 18 2011, 08:56 AM)
No lah, he and his ma chais are reading my blog, haha

I just called Maybank CS and asked two questions only:

1) Can the Maybank 2 Amex redeem points for cash like AMEX? Answer given no for the moment as this card give Treat Points and not Membership Reward Points.

2) Admin charge for oversesas transactions is similar to AMEX at 2.5% or MBB CC? Answer given is that it is subjected to 2.5% admin fees.
The 2.5% admin fee is written in the T&C and Product Disclosure already.
Overseas transaction conversion fee for Maybankard 2 American Express Cards: Conversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount. A charge that is made in foreign currencies other than U.S. Dollars will, when the conversion is done by American Express, be converted into U.S. Dollars before being converted into your billing currency.

I guess if you use the Maybankard2 Mastercard, we can get 0.5% admin fee ?

128 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:02 AM