9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 08:50 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Jan 25 2011, 05:38 PM)
hsbc say 12 swipes per year then no annual fee for the card., is the 12 swipe also include use in petrol station mah? no minimum amount per transaction?
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 05:46 PM)
no minimum amount. But why want use HSBC at petrol station, no points.
1. yes 12x swipe include petrol transaction.

2. hsbc give rm5 rebate for each rm200 accumulated at caltex till 28/2. its equal to 2.5% cashback.

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 25 2011, 08:53 PM
erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 09:00 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 08:56 PM)
true, but as you mentioned there's term and conditions. So now you pump at Caltex and no more ESSO?
no lah.
but i did i pump hsbc at caltex on nov while waiting for my PBB esso/mobil.
swipe rm400 and received the rm10 already.

btw, the t&c is not so strict.
just, rm360,000 in cash rebate will be given away throughout the Promotion Period on a first-come-firstserved basis.
not sure now how much already being given.

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 25 2011, 09:02 PM
erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 09:06 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 05:21 PM)
I have a UOB PREFERED PLATINUM (since 2009) which I HARDLY USE. Could that be used as a reference to apply for the MBB 2 Platinum cards?

but my regular annual salary is RM51200 & bonus rm4300  and other tax-exempt income > RM30k. I might not qualify if based on my BE form and salary slips.
follow this:
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 06:59 PM)
just fill in RM85K in the annual income portion and since your UOB card more than 1 year, no need submit BE form. Don't see any problems for you not getting your MBB 2 Plat unless your CCRIS report is bad. But if MBB call your office, which I doubt they will,  to verify then it's a different story.

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 08:47 PM)
FYI, I have the normal UOB Platinum. I am not stressing or shouting about owning this card, just want to be specific becos there is another UOB Privilege Platinum. I thought by being specific, someone nice here would give more accurate advice. And UOB Pref Plat keep on appearing becos I copy & paste, lazy to type.

So I need to have CL < rm10K (or <rm20K) to have a better chance of getting the card (or u err should be '>')? I thought the higher the CL the better the chance. My CL is rm30K (pls I am not bragging just stated the fact, in case u bombard me again) so I dont qualify?
1. usually if apply new card with current >1 year card, new card will follow the type of the current card.

example u applying using plat card, possibility u will also get plat card~

2. CL had nothing to do with a chance to get a new card.

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 25 2011, 09:11 PM
erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 10:10 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 09:24 PM)
When I said normal, I meant  UOB Prefered Plat which is nothing to SHOUT about compare with UOB Privilege Platinum.

1. UOB Prefered Plat same type as MBB2Plat?

2. I am merely asking whether he made a mistake with "<" or ">" when talk about the CL of 10K & 20K.
1. UOB Preferred Plat can access Plaza Lounge while MBB2 Plat cannot sweat.gif

2. He means u can apply unless ur CL is < rm10k. no mistake there.

regarding the SHOUT...
i believed it starts here:
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 07:52 PM)
If you have a UOB Preferred Plat with the words Privilege Banking embosed on the card then maybe something to shout about. Else Preferred Plat is just normal plat.

I don't see any problems you getting a plat MBB 2 as long as your credit history is good or your CL for the Preferred Plat (which you keep stressing) is less than RM10K (**Edited** or less than RM20K).
then the reply:
QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2011, 08:47 PM)
FYI, I have the normal UOB Platinum. I am not stressing or shouting about owning this card, just want to be specific becos there is another UOB Privilege Platinum. And UOB Pref Plat keep on appearing becos I copy & paste, lazy to type.
Gen-X clarify here:
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 25 2011, 08:56 PM)
Maybe you  not aware, by typing CAPITALS you are deemed to be shouting. Please read forum rules.
so next time better type than copy paste? sweat.gif

sorry if my reply is not what u are looking for.
now, just go apply the mbb2 with ur uob pref plat and good luck! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 25 2011, 10:38 PM
erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 10:26 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Jan 25 2011, 09:30 PM)
I have a lil' bit prob here. I use a Maybank debit card that sort of function like a credit card also la. It's VISA. But when I want to purchase online items, they say don't know what denied. Is it because I'm 18 or is there any other reason I'm not aware of?
have u activate the Maybankard Secure Online Shopping (MSOS)?

MSOS

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 25 2011, 09:38 PM)
There is another Caltex promotion that gives 5x points for each Ringgit charged to the card. This offer is valid until 31st March 2011 and it is applicable only to the new HSBC Premier World MasterCard.
5x at Caltex only for World MC sweat.gif

erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 10:40 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 25 2011, 10:30 PM)
I received a call from one of the Maybank branch today to ask to pick my new CC but the problem is that I didn't apply any CC recently. Somemore, no new CC information is shown in M2U.

At first, I thought that my replacement card for my spoiled Visa Petronas has arrived but the staff told me that it's an AMEX. sweat.gif
some bank just give extra card to cust for free without applying.

(so they can charge gst and annual fee if applicable? brows.gif)

congrats anyway for the amex! thumbup.gif

erry-
post Jan 25 2011, 10:43 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 25 2011, 10:41 PM)
If it's the Maybankard 2 AMEX, I don't mind for getting it. But if it's other AMEX CC, I don't want it since I already got my Ikhwan AMEX.
u didnt clarify it while on the phone? sweat.gif

hopefully its mbb2 amex brows.gif

erry-
post Jan 26 2011, 03:04 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 26 2011, 01:16 AM)
quick question, is there any monetary penalty/fee for replacing damaged/lost/stolen AMEX cards (both charge and credit)?

thanks!
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 26 2011, 01:28 AM)
You don't need to double-post in CC and AMEX thread...  vmad.gif  mad.gif
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 26 2011, 01:30 AM)
RM50 per card... stolen gets a waiver with a police report.

sweat.gif

erry-
post Jan 26 2011, 10:44 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 26 2011, 10:33 AM)
Must we submit the autopay form provided by TM itself in order to get autopay rebate?
to get rebate from card/bank, need to submit form provided by bank.

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jan 26 2011, 12:18 PM)
My Maybank card credit limit is finally 18k. Took me 5 years.  sweat.gif
actually u no need to wait for auto increase CL.

u can apply it using this form - http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/inclimit_100210.pdf

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 26 2011, 01:30 PM)
Current my CC look like almost broken. Can i request a replacement for it?
Do it need charge??
If needed the charges, can i said the card is lost or any other reason so i wont get charges due to replacement

my cc is: MBB petronas
as long as the chip can be read, no need to replace actually.

like my case (HSBC) - if u refer previous thread. haha laugh.gif

replacement card fee usually is only rm10.
some bank can give it free.

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Jan 26 2011, 02:12 PM)
Maybankard Visa Debit. Basically, can be used anywhere a credit card can be used except with credit limit of the balance in your account. I have used it successfully overseas when people don't know it is a debit card.

But Digi staff say cannot use for Auto-Billing. Maybe cannot do recurrent payment or Digi just don't want to accept.
debit card is confirm cannot do auto-billing sweat.gif

erry-
post Jan 26 2011, 10:45 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(nicky_85 @ Jan 26 2011, 09:29 PM)
hi, im holding AMEX gold now, can i convert it to this dual credit card?if yes, all my MR point will be convert also?how about GST?i jz been charged GST last week, if convert, do i stil pay the GST for new card?thx for reply
cant convert.

continue using ur current amex gold, 1-2 months before annivessary (in ur case, take it november 2011), redeem all ur MR then cancel the card.

meanwhile u can apply new mbb2 and u need to pay the gst.

QUOTE(nicky_85 @ Jan 26 2011, 10:15 PM)
can i apply maybank dual credit card without cancel my current AMEX gold?holding 2 AMEX at the same time
of coz. no problem smile.gif

QUOTE(cantona7 @ Jan 26 2011, 09:31 PM)
Does 5X expresspay for utility bills still valid for Maybankard2?
5x MR points for express autopay is only for amex without mbb logo.

mbb2 will give u 5x TP instead of 5x MR.

QUOTE(mustang @ Jan 26 2011, 10:30 PM)
Is friday considered as "weekend" in MBBKard 2 card?
no. will follow federal state - saturday and sunday.

erry-
post Jan 26 2011, 11:50 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 26 2011, 11:40 PM)
Why is HSBC making their promotion so cumbersome?

You have to spend the qualifying amount, then SMS your credit card number, and your transaction number to them between 10am to 10pm, for each transaction. And then if you are selected you have to correctly answer a question via SMS.

Couldn't they possibly make things a little easier by automatically recording all transactions that qualify and simply randomly selecting the winning entries? Honestly, I just couldn't be bothered to go through all that rigmarole for a very minuscule chance of winning anything.
so only for 'alert' cust can get the cashback (promo).

for min amount, if not being set, any1 can just swipe rm4.50 (like me @ kfc. haha. but thats with DA, not HSBC) and can get cashback while another people swipe rm220 dont get anything sweat.gif

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 09:21 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 27 2011, 07:36 PM)
If my memory serves me correctly, I saw people paying their TM and water bills at Kedai Tenaga.
yes but only with cash. card payment only for TNB bill.

QUOTE(nicky_85 @ Jan 27 2011, 07:44 PM)
since i jz apply AMEX 2 months ago and oledi paid GST, i hv to wait until my card almost 1 year, then only i plan to cancel it and apply this dual credit card. my question: my salary is 2.5k, entitle to apply this dual credit card now, but few months later i will work at my hometown, my salary will be lower than current salary, so during tat time, can i apply the dual credit card successfully?(my salary doesnt meet the requirement during tat time)
just go apply now!!! dont waste ur time!

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Jan 27 2011, 09:01 PM)
All my VISA, MASTERCARD includes my Petronas VISA Gold, Sony Cards, Maybank Amex Gold, Amex Gold Credit Card and my new Maybankard 2 Platinum VISA & Amex carry the same expiry date AUGUST but different year.
So I am to pay the GST on August this year for all my cards.
wah lucky you. even redeem TP/MR also will be very easy.

oh btw i redeem 'travel bag' using TP from my mbb visa since sep last year, till now still not receiving it.
TP also not deducted yet. already call CS on oct, they said no stock doh.gif
and till now, no updates sweat.gif

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 09:39 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Jan 27 2011, 09:29 PM)
Oh, thanks...haih my hsbc actually collected quite many points dy so felt a bit sayang to cancel it atm lol. do u knw how many points to waive RM50 GST? n yeah have to thank that agent, actually an OCBC staff n very good!
redeem (convert) all the points into cash! 12,500 points = rm50.

gst waiver is 9,500 points.

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 09:54 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

guys, wanna ask here on behalf of my sis-in-law, regarding Balance Transfer (BT).

sorry i ask here coz BT thread since not so active like here notworthy.gif
and me myself never do BT sweat.gif

she's looking to apply new card just for BT and wont use the card at all.

the question is:
BT amount will be convert into fixed-monthly-installment, or just pay any amount but must settle within the period?

example, BT rm4.5k for 6 months 0% fee, then which 1 it will be?

A. monthy fixed rm750 x 6, or

B. can pay like this - 1st month rm500, 2nd rm1200, 3rd rm600, 4th rm1200, 5th rm500, 6th rm500.

or both method is correct, but by diff bank? example PBB using A, while CIMB & OCBC using B?

another question (still not being answered in BT thread):

QUOTE(leanman @ Jan 27 2011, 11:32 AM)
want to know, Can i do a BT to settle off another BT?
e.g. Currently I have a BT with DA for 12 months (1% pa interest).
As MBB also offers 12 months (0%, not sure still available?) So can i switch my BT from DA to MBB? The BT in DA has a separate account no which starts with 5482.

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:00 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 09:54 PM)
why use hard-earned points to redeem GST waiver when she is at the moment considering to cancel the card? laugh.gif
bcoz she asked that! sweat.gif

QUOTE(tzeling @ Jan 27 2011, 09:29 PM)
Oh, thanks...haih my hsbc actually collected quite many points dy so felt a bit sayang to cancel it atm lol. do u knw how many points to waive RM50 GST? n yeah have to thank that agent, actually an OCBC staff n very good!

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:07 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 10:03 PM)
AFAIK, there are three types of balance transfer program.
1. Installment
2. Merged with credit card account (5% minimum payment of approved balance, must beware of payment hierarchy)
3. Separate account (5% minimum payment)

Maybank & PBB are Type 1.
OCBC & HSBC are Type 2.
CIMB is Type 3.
thanks for the info notworthy.gif

what 5% min payment means?
BT amount rm4.5k can just pay rm225? how about the remaining balance? will be charged with interest?

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 27 2011, 10:12 PM
erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:10 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(nicky_85 @ Jan 27 2011, 09:56 PM)
actualy i jz apply OCBC titanum last week, now wait for approval, should i cancel it and apply maybankard 2?OCBC titanum can collect point?
OCBC Ti dont have points, just cash back.

if u spend rm10k/year, u will get rm50 bonus credited to ur statement (consider this as next year gst waiver).

Added on January 27, 2011, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 10:10 PM)
I see ...Sorry~~ notworthy.gif
By the way, never heard HSBC offers free points for cardmembers to redeem GST waiver. Citibank as well.
AFAIK, all bank with points reward can redeem it for GST notworthy.gif

they shows it at their website, usually on rewards catalogue smile.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 27 2011, 10:14 PM
erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:15 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Jan 27 2011, 10:13 PM)
OCBC Ti VS Maybankard 2, which is better then?
if u only spend on weekend for petrol and groceries, of coz mbb2 is better notworthy.gif

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:24 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 10:15 PM)
I'm afraid 7k pts is not enough to redeem FULL GST waiver but 50% waiver.
After using 5,000 pts to redeem RM25 GST waiver, you have only 2,000 pts remaining. What can 2k pts redeem? sweat.gif  unless you keep spending to accumulate points.

HSBC RM25 Service Tax need 5,500 points.
5,000 points can use for RM20 Cashback.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 10:18 PM)
What you mentioned was using our own hard earned pts to redeem.
I meant the bank offers free points wor...like Maybank did as I heard
oh ok. free points. sorry mislooked that notworthy.gif

well, what u heard is me actually? i'm the 1 who maybank give free 10k TP to offset the gst laugh.gif

erry-
post Jan 27 2011, 10:26 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Jan 27 2011, 10:15 PM)
Yes, 5% of the approved balance (BT amount). The remaining balance is interest-free, hence the name 0% BT.

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 27 2011, 10:17 PM)
Depending what type of BT that you go for, the 5% minimum payment has different impact.

To keep the answer simple ... only type 3 you won't be penalized with interest so long you pay off the BT within the BT period. Type 1 and 2, you will hit with interest should you opt for minimum payment as you should be paying the full due amount every month.

** Chemistry got a different answer. Emm .... nevermind.

so for type 3, if continue to pay the min amount every month, last month must settle - pay full amount, correct?

btw, can BT the remaing BT? (this question is asked by some1 in BT thread)

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:55 PM