127 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE

Najmods
post Feb 8 2011, 02:55 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(kioku @ Feb 8 2011, 02:28 PM)
It's worse for the laptop actually. No heat dissipation.
You don't have to tell me the obvious. I still put it on a cooler pad but still with the speaker pointing downward it reflect nearly no sound at all
kioku
post Feb 8 2011, 03:07 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Feb 8 2011, 02:55 PM)
You don't have to tell me the obvious. I still put it on a cooler pad but still with the speaker pointing downward it reflect nearly no sound at all
My bad for assuming ure not using a cooler pad.. sad.gif
Najmods
post Feb 8 2011, 03:23 PM

5,211 posts

Nah its OK. I guess there is compromise, there isn't a perfect laptop in the first place. I just need to select which compromise I should have
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 8 2011, 04:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Feb 8 2011, 03:23 PM)
Nah its OK. I guess there is compromise, there isn't a perfect laptop in the first place. I just need to select which compromise I should have
Agreed, nothing is perfect hehe laugh.gif
I guess you've already considered/rejected the idea of using external speakers? hmm.gif
Toshiba's C640 models are non-glossy iinm, but battery life is nothing to shout about sweat.gif
[G]ooD_DaY
post Feb 8 2011, 04:54 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Feb 8 2011, 12:29 PM)
Just wondering, is there any other manufacturer like ACER that have speaker on top instead of bottom of the laptop? I found it annoying when put it on different surfaces it made different sound. Worse if put on carpeted or on the bed doh.gif

Other criteria is the same as previous post:

1. Brand: Any brand
2. Budget; under RM2k, cheaper the better
3. Specs: Non glossy body (matte screen is a plus). long battery life (5 hours+) but no Atom please
4. Size: from 10-14"
Mind asking y is ur A42Je in RMA process?
What's wrong with it?
Najmods
post Feb 8 2011, 05:32 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 8 2011, 04:31 PM)
Agreed, nothing is perfect hehe  laugh.gif
I guess you've already considered/rejected the idea of using external speakers?  hmm.gif
Toshiba's C640 models are non-glossy iinm, but battery life is nothing to shout about  sweat.gif

Its bloody inconvenient, because I don't put it on table top or someplace solid, it usually on my lap or on my bed. I just need a good speakers, like the Acer I mentioned, their speaker sounds very good to me, there is a hint of bass to it as well, and there is none on ASUS so-called Altec speakers.

Toshiba C640 looks plasticky and horrid, feels terrible as well, big no for me

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Feb 8 2011, 04:54 PM)
Mind asking y is ur A42Je in RMA process?
What's wrong with it?
In my particular laptop for some unknown reason it won't go to 2D speed when in Maximum Performance mode, emailing ASUS technical service end up bickering and finger pointing at me instead of just fixing the damn BIOS

Apart from that there's nothing wrong with it. My friend bought the same laptop as me, roughly on the same date and still working fine till this day. I haven't checked whether it exhibit same behavior or not. But I will sell this laptop once I get it. No longer interest to do heavy gaming anymore biggrin.gif
devil94
post Feb 8 2011, 08:10 PM

Hi ! =D
1,524 posts

1. Brand. Any ~ perhaps the Asus or Acer that can use up to 8 hour
2. Budget. 2.4 - 2.5k , accept other model price range higher also. wanna compare
4. Size. 14inch

wanna find those light and think with long battery life.

currently i looking the Asus UL or the Acer Travelmate series or the same range.

i saw many of the proc and it include gc also.
but wat is the advantage of these laptop ? any different with the normal 14inch 2.5k laptop ?

any of these laptop spec quite similar or higher than Asus A42J series ?

thx biggrin.gif
CloudKee
post Feb 8 2011, 08:55 PM

204 posts

Hey sifu-sifu! Suggest me a laptop can?

-ASUS N53SN-SX043V
-HP ENVY 14' Beats Edition
-Apple MacBook Pro 13' 2.4Ghz

Which one have the best performance on gaming and multimedia?
Help me please!
My budget can afford either one in the list.
ReaperOfSoul
post Feb 8 2011, 08:56 PM

648 posts

Hey guys, need some recommendation on a laptop with Rm 2k+- budget. Preferably a 13.3 or 14" light laptop without graphics card and long battery life and dvd drive.. Budget includes windows 7 too. And one more thing, no Lenovo Z460 because my bro got one last month. This laptop is for my mum by the way. Is it possible to get these configuration ? I had Dell inspiron 14r in mind but i heard that the hard disk and other vital components are hard to access so i would actually cross that out. Thanks
devil94
post Feb 8 2011, 09:35 PM

Hi ! =D
1,524 posts

QUOTE(CloudKee @ Feb 8 2011, 08:55 PM)

-ASUS N53SN-SX043V

Help me please!
if u are planning for gaming you can exclude Apple Macbook
DoubleU
post Feb 8 2011, 10:09 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(CloudKee @ Feb 8 2011, 08:55 PM)

-ASUS N53SN-SX043V

Help me please!
actually if you're leaning towards multimedia more, the mbp 13 is a better choice... nicer screen.
and cheaper than the ENVY beats edition. performance asus wins, and also, if you're not gonna do steam gaming... then using mac for gaming is kinda wonky.

imo, i would go for the macbook pro 13 if you're not into gaming so much (like dun play black ops, dun play mass effect, dragon age) cause the screen on the mbp 13 is absolutely gorgeous. and the size is pretty nice. Only downside is the design is horrible.

I would stay away from the HP envy unless you really want to showoff... i mean, macbooks aren't impressive anymore.
and the Asus? Nah... cause you might as well get a good gaming notebook if your budget so high. So i say go for MBP 13, unless you can't use OSX.... its shit hard for me to use =\

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Feb 8 2011, 10:37 PM
HanJin95
post Feb 8 2011, 11:25 PM

49 posts

Hey! any pros can give me a comparision between HP Pavilion DV6-4003TX and Asus N53SN? smile.gif does any of it has overheating problems?
eugenechiuu
post Feb 8 2011, 11:41 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(HanJin95 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:25 PM)
Hey! any pros can give me a comparision between HP Pavilion DV6-4003TX and Asus N53SN? smile.gif does any of it has overheating problems?
No overheating problems but dv6 is slightly hotter than N53SN because of it's thinner profile

Added on February 8, 2011, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(devil94 @ Feb 8 2011, 08:10 PM)
1. Brand. Any ~ perhaps the Asus or Acer that can use up to 8 hour
2. Budget. 2.4 - 2.5k , accept other model price range higher also. wanna compare
4. Size. 14inch

wanna find those light and think with long battery life.

currently i looking the Asus UL or the Acer Travelmate series or the same range.

i saw many of the proc and it include gc also.
but wat is the advantage of these laptop ? any different with the normal 14inch 2.5k laptop ?

any of these laptop spec quite similar or higher than Asus A42J series ?

thx biggrin.gif
Acer 4820TG no doubt best choice for you

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 8 2011, 11:43 PM
ken3230
post Feb 9 2011, 01:11 AM

52 posts

quite heavy gaming, multitasking , some programing , fast processor
budget around 2.5k
Avoid Toshiba sweat.gif

Have been look into Asus A42JP-VX098V , Dell XPS15

is it HD6570 a strong gc ? does 2gb realy big different from other 1gb gc ? course very less 2gb gc inside my budget range hmm.gif and the new SB processor would be out on march rite ? should i wait for it ?

i hate having many finger print on my lappy so avoid glossy cover and keyboard tongue.gif

is that glossy screen will reflect light like mirror and non glossy screen wont ?

and last question is, is both Asus A42JP-VX098V , Dell XPS15 meet the condition i want ? course only surf on the net so far thumbup.gif

sry for so many question rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ken3230: Feb 9 2011, 01:25 AM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 9 2011, 01:39 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ken3230 @ Feb 9 2011, 01:11 AM)
budget around 2.5k
Avoid Toshiba sweat.gif

is it HD6570 a strong gc ? does 2gb realy big different from other 1gb gc ? course very less 2gb gc inside my budget range hmm.gif and the new SB processor would be out on march rite ? should i wait for it ?  

i hate having many finger print on my lappy so avoid glossy cover and keyboard tongue.gif

is that glossy screen will reflect light like mirror and non glossy screen wont ?

and last question is, is both Asus A42JP-VX098V , Dell XPS15 meet the condition i want ? course only surf on the net so far thumbup.gif

A42JP is ur best choice if you want the best GPU for the price range...

Slightly below is 4820TG iwth HD6550, but beats A42JP with its battery life...

1gb n 2gb no differences....

Added on February 9, 2011, 1:39 am
QUOTE(ken3230 @ Feb 9 2011, 01:11 AM)
budget around 2.5k
Avoid Toshiba sweat.gif

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 9 2011, 01:39 AM
ken3230
post Feb 9 2011, 10:10 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 9 2011, 01:39 AM)

Added on February 9, 2011, 1:39 am

How about the cover, keyboard and screen of A42JP, it is glossy or none glossy ?
does the processor come with SB ?

This post has been edited by ken3230: Feb 9 2011, 10:10 AM
lee_what2004
post Feb 9 2011, 10:13 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Cover, screen glossy....
Keyboard no,
Not SandyBridge...

For screen, almost all consumer notebook now is glossy...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 9 2011, 10:14 AM
djronzai
post Feb 9 2011, 07:29 PM

KL ron
881 posts

ok serious case here , pls help me choose 1 of it , i need to get 1 at the end of this month ......

1. ASUS A42JP-VX098V
-i5-480m , AMD HD 6570 (never heard this graphic brand be4,nice??)

2.ACER 4820tg
-i5 -480m , ATI HD 6550M

3. ASUS N43JF
-i5-480m , nvidia 425m

budget rm2.4-2.5k , hope can play crysis 2 in medium setting , programming coding, dota as well

*first laptop[/FONT]
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 9 2011, 07:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(djronzai @ Feb 9 2011, 07:29 PM)
ok serious case here , pls help me choose 1 of it , i need to get 1 at the end of this month ......
   1. ASUS A42JP-VX098V
           -i5-480m , AMD HD 6570 (never heard this graphic brand be4,nice??)

2.ACER 4820tg
           -i5 -480m , ATI HD 6550M

3. ASUS N43JF
           -i5-480m , nvidia 425m
                   budget rm2.4-2.5k , hope can play crysis 2 in medium setting , programming coding, dota as well
                             *first laptop[/FONT]
Need to take into account the money required to extend warranty o hmm.gif
Personally my pick would be N43>4820>A42Jp, but that's just me la laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Feb 9 2011, 07:53 PM
djronzai
post Feb 9 2011, 07:50 PM

KL ron
881 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 9 2011, 07:47 PM)
Need to take into account the money required to extend warranty o  hmm.gif
Personally my pick would be N54>4820>A42Jp, but that's just me la  laugh.gif
what is N54?