14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V10, All About Tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Jan 28 2011, 10:48 AM

866 posts

I am not saying baseline rallies are boring.....tennis is a International sport, there a huge sponsors, spectators that bring alot of $$$ to tournaments....you have to understand when Becker and Goran, Krajicek were around, points were serve, volley point over......less than 3 seconds....alot of people were turned off....tennis ratings started to decline....the general consensus at the time, were points were to be longer, should they limit the serve to just 1 serve, make the tennis balls heavier/bigger.....in the end , they made the balls slightly heavier and bigger...bigger by how much? I am not 100% sure may be a mm or so........

Nowadays serve and volley is a dead game, with the introduction of poly, mediocre players these days can still take huge cuts of the ball and the ball will land in.....

Also these days juniors are taught to play 'baseline bashing', its the way to get sponsorship and make some money, if you are a serve and volleyer may be at the social level you can win matches games, easily, but at the ATP Pro level its really not practical.....people use to serve and volley on the 2nd serves, now even on 1st serves they dont serve and volley....

If you want to see players with a all court game, those players have to exceptionally athletes, as they will need to utilize lateral and forward footwork techniques, all the great all court players McEnroe, Becker,Sampras,Edberg,Federer, Rafter,all of them could rally with the best BUT at some point in time, they would try and come forward and attack the net, you would notice that these guys were most primarily serve and volleyers that developed their baseline game, BUT its almost impossible for a baseliner to adapt and develop their serve and volley game.....
praetorian
post Jan 28 2011, 12:22 PM

866 posts

Hahahah I am just playing with you guys, its good to see some competitive spirit! Of course to a certain extent lah, if battle hard make sure its on the court only, don't say lost a match later beat the winner in parking lot.....no sportsmanship lah, tennis as they say is a gentlemans game.

Regarding Edberg, his serve and volley game made you cry he was smooth and glided on the court, almost Federer like, but Federer has slightly better footwork, most likely due to new found techniques.

Edberg's serve was a kick serve, on his 1st and 2nd serve, apparently more on his 2nd.If you compare his kick to, today's game may be you can say ahhh kacang his serve, but Edberg could back his serve up very well, the reason was his forward movement to the net, his 1st volley usually is inside the service box, or closer...people have a huge misconception the harder they serve the more easier the 1st volley depending on the return that may be true, but in actual fact the bigger the serve, the bigger the return, the less time you have to move forward, and close in at the net, Edberg's serve allowed him to get in nice and tight, he did not care if you could return his serve, if you passed him on the return and or if he committed a unforced error, that did not change his mentality, he lived and died serving and volleying, only later in life did he sometime's not serve and volley 100%...

Edberg's serve when he first started out I suspect he was using a continental grip, he arched his back and his tennis ball toss was very far out in front hence he was sometimes called for footfaults, he would kick the ball very high and wide to his opponents backhand, you must remember during his era there were not that many double handed backhand players, so it was pretty difficult to return serve with a single handed backhand.

During his era the people that were using Double handers were Mats Wilander, Anders Jarryd,Joakim Nystrom,Mikael Pernfors, these are all Swedish players who played a Bjorn Borg game, only Stefan was different.

Here are some youtube video's of Edberg.

praetorian
post Jan 29 2011, 01:47 AM

866 posts

I support Novak......I want him be have more than 1 grandslam, otherwise people call him one slam wonder all the time.......
praetorian
post Jan 30 2011, 08:08 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jan 29 2011, 08:22 PM)
Had my nerves injured in two parts of my shoulder since visiting ATP malaysian open, thats why cannot serve, went to Chiro today after a good session in sunway and had a sensationally good experience

first part nerve manipulation nearly got me shitting my pants, the second part nearly fainted......

Moral of the story, WARM UP THOROUGHLY before any tennis.....

Thanks guys for playing with me today in sunway eventhough my underarm and push serve bored u guys to death hehehe
Vobs my advice, is REST .......recover from your injury 100% lah, you betul keras kepala one,spend $$$ on chiro......THEN go and play bola after session......rest, do shoulder exercise, for strengthen your muscles, to prevent injury.......ask chiro for specific help on what exercise to perform lah....DON"T GO AND PLAY TENNIS!!!!

praetorian
post Jan 31 2011, 07:41 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Jan 31 2011, 12:16 AM)
I want to buy some apparels for new year, anyone bulking from tennis warehouse ? sad.gif
Hahahahh me too! <3

Great match by Novak, congrats to him, this year he has a high chance to win a calender grand slam, since he already has won the first of the year,all he needs to do is skip some tournaments and concentrate on the Slams!!!
praetorian
post Feb 3 2011, 09:13 AM

866 posts

HUH....what time is it......knnnnnnn damn the chivas.......no more mixing my old body cannot take this kind of abuse anymore......

Just wanna wish those celebrating CNY 'Gong Xi Fatt Choy"

Let me go back and nap again x-p
praetorian
post Feb 4 2011, 07:58 AM

866 posts

what number am i???/?
praetorian
post Feb 4 2011, 10:01 AM

866 posts

Ouch inv.......nice one......*runs off and checks his pants*
praetorian
post Feb 5 2011, 07:26 PM

866 posts

wow...what the hell happened? how come ppl can fall down and get partial memory lost when playing with you guys one......x-files.....type court.....
praetorian
post Feb 7 2011, 06:15 PM

866 posts

vobs.....since you started the 'huating' you open house first lah! :-p
Potluck also can mah.........
CTO when start, I wanna kipas some ppl......
praetorian
post Feb 8 2011, 08:36 AM

866 posts

I give face only lah CK......:-p

Added on February 8, 2011, 9:09 amI just got Dunlop Black Widow in 16G, does anyone have any experience with this string? I'd like to hear your views, I will most likely string this higher than my normal 48lbs, heard it drops tension, and then maintain later on.Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by praetorian: Feb 8 2011, 09:09 AM
praetorian
post Feb 8 2011, 11:11 AM

866 posts

Use GPS ...sure can find one!
Old Klang famous for BKT no?
praetorian
post Feb 8 2011, 12:01 PM

866 posts

wah so siong one....your treatment, wish you speedy recovery bro.....
I just strung my k6.1 with black widow at 55lbs, and just fooled around with it, the string is very shiny like the shampoo commercials, the model's hair is that shiny, feels quite comfortable,and soft, dunno how spin will be like as I have not whack with it yet, need to give this babe a test drive later and hopefully if weather permits play a couple of sets with it, will post a more detailed review in the future......

fidel hahahah do you know how many ppl want me to come to KL!?!! If I go down have to be around 7-10 days as I have ALOT of people that either have 'challenge' me to a set or just wanna meet up, I definitely wanna meet up with the lowyat gang, hopefully can swing in and meet bro kev as well, need to spend him kau kau for all the help he has given me, for tt-bulk, of course wanna meet you too fidel and everyone else!
<3
praetorian
post Feb 8 2011, 08:01 PM

866 posts

Ok I played 1 set of doubles with my k6.1 tour strung with Dunlop's Black Widow at 55lbs....my first impression and I agree with angel-ice, this string is incredibly soft.......I highly recommend this to people who are using stiff rackets, and have arm trouble....talk about ED....heheheheh, Spin production was quite good, can't complain, didn't any touch shots, so cannot comment, overall its a very good string, worth a try.
praetorian
post Feb 9 2011, 07:20 AM

866 posts

wah ck.....these days you are up early........hehehehe
praetorian
post Feb 9 2011, 08:24 AM

866 posts

wah you very 'sweet mouth' as well in the morning!!! <3
praetorian
post Feb 9 2011, 09:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Feb 9 2011, 08:55 PM)
wau...... that price was back 2 yrs ago..... Good Lubang........

datuk prae 10 cartons?!
.....uh first fidel thinks I go to Bali frequently which I don't.....vobs was the last to go to Bali in Dec if I am not mistaken.....now TK think I am gonna order 10 cartons....of tennis balls, if tennis balls, I prefer and suggest Dunlop Fort Elite, now these balls can take a beating.....
praetorian
post Feb 10 2011, 07:21 AM

866 posts

Hahahaha as long as you are happy , I am happy loh.....yalor klboy like never post anymore.....I think klgirl 'lock' him up kau kau......woooi klboy you have 3 apdgt ,rite......if cannot use, better sell them asap, 50% off!!! *grin*
praetorian
post Feb 11 2011, 10:36 AM

866 posts

Wassup fella's? I guess forums are abit quiet than normal, mostly due to the fact , going for secret training for the upcoming CTO tourny..........I wish you guys the best, start kickin ass, and start takin numbers!

This post has been edited by praetorian: Feb 11 2011, 10:55 AM
praetorian
post Feb 11 2011, 11:13 AM

866 posts

The more tennis balls you have, the less time, you spend picking the balls up, especially if you are a beginner, if you have 3 balls........my bet is you will picking more balls than actual playing....my advice, get 3-4 tubes, equals to 9-12 balls, hit more balls less picking up time, means you get more quality time, for your practice, naturally if you have financial constraints, buy what you can afford....

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:27 PM