125 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

EthanWong
post Jan 24 2014, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Jan 24 2014, 12:37 AM)

Just finished watching Her.

I think that movie just trumped Forest Gump as my personal favourite movie of all time.

The movie is sci-fi, but it feels very real.. the emotions...
The feels...
This!

My personal fav film of the 2010s
OperaGhost
post Jan 24 2014, 04:55 PM

474 posts

Her is a breath of fresh air. The screenplay by jones is so beautiful n original (kinda scary as we're heading to this direction, human are very much depending to tech/inno that will create a huge gap in social skill)... plus the film is captured amazingly under the lens of this cinematographer that will bring us nolan's interstellar this summer. Joaquin acting is so raw and heartfelt that we the audience can relate to him.

Not forgeting the score and the fragile yet beautiful voice of Karen O's The Moon Song.

Guys... do support this movie in cinema. We need to show them that moviegoer here got taste. Boleh Land needs to bring in movies like Blue Jasmine, American Hustle, Before Midnight, Dallas Buyer Club etc etc. We had enough of dumb loud stupid michael bayish crash boom bang type of movies tongue.gif

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Jan 24 2014, 05:00 PM
G_KeN
post Jan 24 2014, 08:08 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

About Time

Dont let the generic poster fool you. This is not your typical Rachel McAdams romantic movie.

Better than Ive initially expected.

One of the better movie out there about love (and im not just talking about love between couples tongue.gif )
OperaGhost
post Jan 28 2014, 08:11 PM

474 posts

Done with blue is the warmest color. Overrated and quite a borefest. Was expecting a cross between The Dreamer + Brokeback Mountain, not even close. It was okie nt good nor great. Predictable coming of age plot... the acting was okie nothing to shout about. I think the movie get all the hoo haa due to the "very long les love making scene". I prefer the one in GIA with A.Jolie tongue.gif

Trivia: The blue haired girl is the sweet french girl from Midnight in Paris

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Feb 5 2014, 10:22 AM
Mickey C
post Jan 30 2014, 03:05 PM

616 posts

Last night watched special premiere:
Robocop (2014) - High tech, in the end Robocop return to his original colour... smile.gif haha... thumbup.gif Btw, it should call Cycborgcop instead... The original Robocop, that one look more like robot... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

------------------------------------------

Mirror (2008) - Surprisingly effective horror films thumbup.gif
Mirror II (2010) - All victims died with reasons... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Jan 31 2014, 04:23 PM
Mov_freak
post Feb 1 2014, 01:51 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

RoboCop (2014)

Okay, I was blown away by the original RoboCop (1987) by Paul Verhoeven. Paul Verhoeven's "in your face" violence and humor (tongue in cheek) blew me away!!

I am sad that he does not really direct movies anymore, well, at least not in the US. His works tend to surprise me. He views the Americans from a different point angle and he usually makes fun of them in a subtle way, so much so that they end up laughing with him (at their stupidity...)

Confession, I watched the latest incarnation, because of the original, and it is... not bad.

It is much much better Total Recall (2012), which was also originally done by Paul Verhoeven. Michael Keaton plays Raymond Sellars, a tech guru (can anyone say Steve Jobs). Samuel L. Jackson who basically took over Leeza Gibbons role as news commentator (nice role, illustrates how media can be used as a propaganda tool), Jay Baruchel (sleazy sales man), Jackie Earle Haley (from Jamie Boyle, to Freddie Krueger to A$$h0le??), Abbie Cornish (much bigger wife role) & Joel Kinnaman (whom I believe, like Peter Weller, is given the role, more on because of his body type more then his thespian skills)

Story is actually decent. You get invested into the storyline. And the juiciest part goes to Gary Oldman as Dr. Dennett Norton.

In some aspect, this movie did go to place that the original did not venture into, so what I'm saying is, it is different enough from the original for it to work.

If you like a story driven action movie, give this a go why don't you!!

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Feb 1 2014, 04:44 PM
G_KeN
post Feb 4 2014, 12:39 AM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

Hunger Games: Catching Fire

saw the first one, well, okay lah, not bad lah

so today i got myself the opportunity to watch the second one

definitely much better than the first one.
Omega Z
post Feb 4 2014, 01:34 AM

269 posts

Rush 2013

A bit slowpoke but, yeah just done watching Rush. Easily could have become my top picks for 2013 alongside with Star Trek II.

Totally glued to my seat from the moment Niki returned to racing track all the way to the end. Couldnt predict either the winner of the final race. Damn it, I was so gan jiong that Hunt would ended up the same shit like Niki.

Love that intense rivalry. You could see how both Hunt and Niki would go the extra mile to prove one another and themselves.

And my God, Daniel Brühl really nailed Niki's role. I'll give him a cookie or a medal for that. Two thumbs up for his acting. Hans Zimmer at his best again.

Rating: 4.5/5

This post has been edited by Omega Z: Feb 4 2014, 01:36 AM
OperaGhost
post Feb 4 2014, 10:31 AM

474 posts

August: Osage County:
Powerhouse performance by M.Streep (As always) and J.Roberts. I felt the plot meant to work better on stage rather than movie. Certain character seems overacting (Juliet Lewis, Cumberbatch, Martindale) maybe thats hw the character are written for stage. The plot centre around the destruction of a dysfunctional family. I couldn't bring myself investing in the characters though... normally this kinda destruction movie are difficult and hard to watch (think revolutionary road where ur heart ache for k.winslet struggle). Here I just sit back n enjoy the destruction... hmm not sure if it's good or bad... I did like it though. Overall a good movie showcasing some really great performance by M.Streep n J.Roberts.

Mov_freak
post Feb 6 2014, 12:25 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

A "miracle" had happened!!

I Just watched

The White Storm 掃毒 (2013)

and... LIKED IT!!

Casting is good. You actually care for the characters!!

The storyline is actually pretty strong.

Okay, some of the car chasing sequence is downright impossible (do they show Mythbusters in Hong Kong tongue.gif)

This is probably on the of the better movie to come out for Hong Kong for the pass... 5 years!!

This is a Cop & Robber movie.

One thing bugs me though...

Good job Benny Chan (director)!!

My Two Sen
Angel of Deth
post Feb 6 2014, 07:22 AM

1,242 posts

TRICKY BRAINS (1991)

Just finished watching this on Screen RED (HyppTV channel 226).

Typical Wong Jin movie, but a damn good one. Starring Stephen Chow, Andy Lau, Rosamund Kwan, Ng Man-Tat and one other beauty (unfortunately I don't know who she is). Stephen Chow played as a professional trickster. He is hired to make sure Andy Lau life a living hell and hit rock-bottom. With Stephen Chow as the main star, hilarity ensues. Ng Man-Tat I believe this is one of his funniest work in his career.

I'm always hard on Andy Lau because I think he's not a very actor, but in this movie he is surprisingly very charismatic and silly. He holds nothing back, not the typical "macho" Andy like in most movie he starred late in his career. He's not overshadowed by anybody in this movie. A combination of strong acting and directing.

Finally Rosamund, that's what I called a real beauty, but backed with talent. Shame they don't produce one these days.

That's all for my lame review.
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Feb 6 2014, 10:59 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Feb 6 2014, 12:25 AM)
A "miracle" had happened!!

I Just watched

The White Storm 掃毒 (2013)

and... LIKED IT!!

Casting is good. You actually care for the characters!!

The storyline is actually pretty strong.

Okay, some of the car chasing sequence is downright impossible (do they show Mythbusters in Hong Kong tongue.gif)

This is probably on the of the better movie to come out for Hong Kong for the pass... 5 years!!

This is a Cop & Robber movie.

One thing bugs me though...

Good job Benny Chan (director)!!

My Two Sen
"she" is a transgender whistling.gif whistling.gif
OperaGhost
post Feb 6 2014, 11:27 AM

474 posts

Done with Inside Llewyn Davis. Well ensemble cast but not at the level of American Hustle. Love the mood, the era the music and the cinematography. The plot grounded very much to reality which means it's not the typical rise and fall of a star in showbiz. Very well made art house movie.

By the way.... I also saw Enough Said.... Simple and Sweet with heart love story of 2 divorcee. Not your typical rom com.
Mov_freak
post Feb 6 2014, 12:26 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Feb 6 2014, 10:59 AM)
"she" is a transgender  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

Mov_freak
post Feb 8 2014, 05:29 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

LEGO: The Movie (2013)

What does one say, when words fail him...

You say it with song

Jamie Cullum - Pure Imagination

My Two Sen
Mickey C
post Feb 10 2014, 01:08 AM

616 posts

CNY drama:
It took me roughly 2 weeks to finish off 24 Season 7 (2009).
I know this is not movie, but 24 is just too good, 24 die hard fans, all the way... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Feb 11 2014, 12:38 AM
Darrenkls
post Feb 10 2014, 09:28 AM

83 posts

Watched this yesterday on FOX Movies channel.
Personally think that the movie's concept is good.
its kinda interesting if there is really 2 worlds upside down.
Angel of Deth
post Feb 12 2014, 08:00 AM

1,242 posts

Just finished watching this movie on Youtube. It wasn't bad, true it is action-heavy, less emphasize on characters but still a good movie by its own standard. Maybe because Leslie Cheung isn't the main cast this time, some fans couldn't accept it. "I prefer long face, slight buck tooth and at least 6 inches taller than me", Tony Leung perfectly described Joey Wong, and I actually laughed at that line.

I'm waiting for HK to produce another film like this. Probably not in 100 years.

Edit:
Disappointing if the rumour about Joey went under the knife (plastic surgery) is true. I remember she look stunning in 2011, it was age-defying for a 45 years old. These actors and actresses need to learn to embrace ageing. Take a look at Anthony Wong, sure he's now fat, ugly and balding, but at least he's happy with himself. Anyway it's up to the individual, we the outsider know nothing and have no business about their private life.

This post has been edited by Angel of Deth: Feb 12 2014, 01:52 PM
Mov_freak
post Feb 12 2014, 04:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Feb 12 2014, 08:00 AM)

Just finished watching this movie on Youtube. It wasn't bad, true it is action-heavy, less emphasize on characters but still a good movie by its own standard. Maybe because Leslie Cheung isn't the main cast this time, some fans couldn't accept it. "I prefer long face, slight buck tooth and at least 6 inches taller than me", Tony Leung perfectly described Joey Wong, and I actually laughed at that line.

I'm waiting for HK to produce another film like this. Probably not in 100 years.

Edit:
Disappointing if the rumour about Joey went under the knife (plastic surgery) is true. I remember she look stunning in 2011, it was age-defying for a 45 years old. These actors and actresses need to learn to embrace ageing. Take a look at Anthony Wong, sure he's now fat, ugly and balding, but at least he's happy with himself. Anyway it's up to the individual, we the outsider know nothing and have no business about their private life.
I definitely like this much much better than the Chinese Ghost Story 2 and Chinese Ghost Story 2011 sad.gif

Tony Leung's monk was actually interesting

blueblueoutofblue
post Feb 12 2014, 07:13 PM

1,683 posts

I just watch The Wolverine 2013

After the ending, Logan met Pro. X and Magneto at the airport..

The sequel will be the X-Men: Days of Future Past?

This post has been edited by blueblueoutofblue: Feb 12 2014, 07:14 PM

125 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:03 AM