Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

OperaGhost
post Dec 27 2013, 10:36 AM

474 posts

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty:

Awesome cinematography and soundtrack... Each frame is like a master stroke. Those are the merit. Acting wise so so... few characters feels like cartoon / card boardish. As for the plot it's a tad too predictable for my taste. Overall still a good watch for this festive season.

Rating: 3/5

* Can't wait for American Hustle and The Wolf of Wallstreet

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Dec 27 2013, 10:38 AM
OperaGhost
post Jan 9 2014, 10:21 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Dec 30 2013, 01:00 AM)
This Is the End (2013)

Having watched a really terrible Rapture-Palooza (2013) a few months back, I was a little sceptic about this movie.

I had it for a while now, and only managed to watch this today and...

It is actually, okay.

Alot of reference were made to James Franco past movies (namely The Pineapple Express 2008) and it is basically about THE Apocalypse.

The cast is staggering

James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Danny McBride!!! With surprising appearance by Michael Cera, Emma Watson, Rihanna, Paul Rudd & Channing Tatum (WHAT THE HECK MADE HIM DECIDE TO TAKE ON THAT ROLE laugh.gif)!!!!!!

The movie is very dialogue driven movie. And basically explore the neurotic tendencies of everyone (they basically played themselves).

Just one question, WHAT HAPPENED TO EMMA WATSON!!!!!

Give this a go why don't you.

My Two Sen
This line very hilarious lol.... "Channing Tatum (WHAT THE HECK MADE HIM DECIDE TO TAKE ON THAT ROLE laugh.gif)!!!!!!"
OperaGhost
post Jan 24 2014, 04:55 PM

474 posts

Her is a breath of fresh air. The screenplay by jones is so beautiful n original (kinda scary as we're heading to this direction, human are very much depending to tech/inno that will create a huge gap in social skill)... plus the film is captured amazingly under the lens of this cinematographer that will bring us nolan's interstellar this summer. Joaquin acting is so raw and heartfelt that we the audience can relate to him.

Not forgeting the score and the fragile yet beautiful voice of Karen O's The Moon Song.

Guys... do support this movie in cinema. We need to show them that moviegoer here got taste. Boleh Land needs to bring in movies like Blue Jasmine, American Hustle, Before Midnight, Dallas Buyer Club etc etc. We had enough of dumb loud stupid michael bayish crash boom bang type of movies tongue.gif

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Jan 24 2014, 05:00 PM
OperaGhost
post Jan 28 2014, 08:11 PM

474 posts

Done with blue is the warmest color. Overrated and quite a borefest. Was expecting a cross between The Dreamer + Brokeback Mountain, not even close. It was okie nt good nor great. Predictable coming of age plot... the acting was okie nothing to shout about. I think the movie get all the hoo haa due to the "very long les love making scene". I prefer the one in GIA with A.Jolie tongue.gif

Trivia: The blue haired girl is the sweet french girl from Midnight in Paris

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Feb 5 2014, 10:22 AM
OperaGhost
post Feb 4 2014, 10:31 AM

474 posts

August: Osage County:
Powerhouse performance by M.Streep (As always) and J.Roberts. I felt the plot meant to work better on stage rather than movie. Certain character seems overacting (Juliet Lewis, Cumberbatch, Martindale) maybe thats hw the character are written for stage. The plot centre around the destruction of a dysfunctional family. I couldn't bring myself investing in the characters though... normally this kinda destruction movie are difficult and hard to watch (think revolutionary road where ur heart ache for k.winslet struggle). Here I just sit back n enjoy the destruction... hmm not sure if it's good or bad... I did like it though. Overall a good movie showcasing some really great performance by M.Streep n J.Roberts.

OperaGhost
post Feb 6 2014, 11:27 AM

474 posts

Done with Inside Llewyn Davis. Well ensemble cast but not at the level of American Hustle. Love the mood, the era the music and the cinematography. The plot grounded very much to reality which means it's not the typical rise and fall of a star in showbiz. Very well made art house movie.

By the way.... I also saw Enough Said.... Simple and Sweet with heart love story of 2 divorcee. Not your typical rom com.
OperaGhost
post Oct 6 2016, 09:14 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Sep 8 2016, 11:49 PM)
Train to Busan (2016)

This movie is completely entertaining. It's fast paced and relentless. It shocks and the action is top notch but best of all it gives you characters you can root for and cringe at when the danger mounts.

If you don't already know, this is a Korean take on the zombie genre. All on a bullet train no less!

Get the tickets and board this train!

Ratings : 3 out of 5 stars
Interesting point is almost the whole film revolves in the train. Overall I find the movie overrated n overhype; if it wasnt for the ending the movie is not memorable at all. Personal view: 2/5

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Oct 7 2016, 11:20 PM
OperaGhost
post Oct 7 2016, 11:24 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(LiMi @ Oct 7 2016, 11:00 PM)
Secret Life of Pets - 3.5/5
It has great animations and visual design (as expected from a modern animation movie), simple storyline (not all movies have to be about the end of the world or super villains vs super heroes), and some slapstick humor moments in it.

A light movie that anyone can just walk in, enjoy and laugh. Shows the unknown side of pets and wild animals when humans are not around biggrin.gif
Change the pets to toys n u have a total ripoff of toy story. Protagonist jealous of newbie... Both got thrown out from home... Both strike a friendship throughout their adventure n eventually find their way home. So much for originality. My humble view - 2/5 😁
OperaGhost
post Oct 20 2016, 09:43 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Oct 16 2016, 05:51 PM)
Recently watched Nerve. Love the soundtrack, fits the movie very much. Overall, the adrenaline rush is good. Only gripe is they take things a tad too far in the final part. Other than that, I enjoyed it for what it is.

7.5/10
Blue Jay (2016)

Beautiful movie about two former lovebirds who meet again after 22 years at their hometown. It's a trip down memory lane as they chat about the past and catching up. I love this movie so much. Such a wonderful simple minimalistic indie movie shot in black and white, shot in just 7 days and still able to surpass so many other movies out there. I need more movies like this rather than cheesy superficial romance.

This feels very raw and surreal, the chemistry between Mark Duplass and Sarah Paulson are incredible. Flawless performances. They nail the awkward intermittent pauses so well. Needless to say, it's a dialogue heavy movie but that's the strength. I can watch these two talk forever and would still love it. I don't normally dig romantic films but this one is utterly heartwrenching in the most beautiful way ever.

10/10

Blue Jay reminds me of Before Sunset. Now that's a 10/10 movie. Will definitely check out Blue Jay.
OperaGhost
post Oct 25 2016, 09:02 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 20 2016, 11:58 PM)
The Accountant (2016)

Life is tough...

Had a horrible few months... With no end in sight...

The silver lining (if you want to call it that) is... being able to watch this today.

This was not my first choice of movie for today, and have to add, the timing was right and I could watch Jack Reacher immediately after this so...

How would I describe this movie?

Erm.... Rain Man (1988) meets John Wick (2014). laugh.gif

I may regret the John Wick reference, because I do not want to over sell this and cause people to watch this with the wrong expectation!

There is an "independent movie" feels to this, which is good.

The story.... is an amalgamation of many things, meaning, the movie keeps "switching" genre mid way through, which is interesting.

The pacing maybe slow for some people

And talk about highly functioning autism... I really think the writers have TAKEN ALOT of artistic licensing with this!!!

The Good

Storyline is interesting. Slow, and have to add the director does keep your interest

The Bad

Ben Affleck & Anna Kendrick pairing... Really??? Seriously???!!

The Ugly

There are two major twists in this movie. One, there is no way the audience would guess it, and the second, I kicked myself for not guessing sooner... I fell for the "misdirection"!!!

So, do I think this movie is worthy of your money?

The answer is yes.

If you like interesting, you will like this movie

My Two Sen.
I heard its a mash up between Good Will Hunting + Bourne Identity
OperaGhost
post Oct 25 2016, 11:28 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Oct 25 2016, 10:21 AM)
Hail, Caesar! - Fun escapades of Hollywood Golden Age.
So you have the expected Coen alumni mixing with some big name talents to bring out a wacky satire of the old big studio days. The joy and fun part of the film is watching everyone overacting to reflect the stiff and pretentious form of performances coming from that period. As if everyone dials up to 11, sadly the film lacks focus in the plotline. Basically, you ask yourself at the end..."It's that it?????". The silver lining is discovering Alden Ehrenreich, who in my opinion could be the next big thing and able to do a Coen's character justice.
Alden Ehrenreich - Our next Han Solo 😎
OperaGhost
post Oct 25 2016, 11:29 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 25 2016, 10:14 AM)
Haha interesting. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Ya n the irony of Matt Damon being Ben Affleck's buddy.
OperaGhost
post Oct 25 2016, 05:12 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 25 2016, 03:44 PM)
Erm... I used the term Rain Man + Johnny Wick... laugh.gif
Hahaha okie pun. Autism plays a part.
OperaGhost
post Oct 27 2016, 09:03 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 27 2016, 06:35 AM)
haha great

dr strange and accountant this weekend plan it is laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
Cinema also showing dua abang "Tom" punya wayang mar. Tak minat? Haha

Abang Tom Ham - Inferno
Abang Tom Kurus - Jack Reacher 2
OperaGhost
post Nov 7 2016, 04:27 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Yugendx @ Nov 7 2016, 02:29 PM)
waiting for live by night , silence and Arrival..
Good list 👍💪 Don't miss out Mel Gibson's new movie too 😎
OperaGhost
post Nov 10 2016, 08:27 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 9 2016, 10:02 PM)
I wonder what is thursday special after the shocking turn around in the election today laugh.gif hmm.gif
Special arrr.... Alec Baldwin gonna get a lot offers as American presidents in movies lor lol....
OperaGhost
post Jan 7 2017, 06:58 AM

474 posts

La La Land is a love letter, a walk to memory lane of the musical in 50ties n 60ties. Think West Side Story, Marry Poppins n My Fair Lady. It's ambitious, it's vibrant, it's colorful, it's beautiful n well acted. I urge ppl to give it a shot to immerse in a different kind of cinematic experience. It will pull ur heart strings in love, passion and dreams. The 3rd act and especially the montage elevated the movie to masterpiece. This rare gem is a 5 out of 5.

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Jan 8 2017, 06:40 PM
OperaGhost
post Jan 8 2017, 02:48 AM

474 posts

I went into Arrival with high expectation. The thought process and how it kept u thinking about it even after the credit rolls is haunting. In short, The movie is what I wanted Interstellar to be "And More". I wanted interstellar to be as perfect as possible n although it is good but it did left me slightly un-satisfy. Arrival on the other hand left me awestruck with its message that life is not suppose to be focusing on the end state or the end goal, it's more crucial and important to focus on the experience / journey instead. Although the plot revolve around alien invasion but the focus is more on communication and reality of how the nation are dealing with the situation like this if it really happen to us. Its a character driven n thinking movie. Not the typical bs cgi fest like Independence Day. Arrival is Brilliant story telling not to be missed. 5 out of 5.

This post has been edited by OperaGhost: Jan 8 2017, 06:41 PM
OperaGhost
post Jan 16 2017, 03:38 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jan 16 2017, 11:58 AM)
Moonlight - Powerful. La La Land you are down to #2 spot!

Screener courtesy of Jack Sparrow. Was really eager to watch this cause all the highly reputable critics (I don't mean the youtube kind) waxing lyrical poem of this freaking amazing film. It's not a misery porn or brokeback mountain clone, it's so much more than that. The formula is like Boyhood but with a proper story behind it and jaw dropping performances packaged with great cinematography. In many ways it's a coming of age archetype, but exploring topics we have seldom seen portrayed in a film before. Mahershala Ali brief appearance just cemented his ascension to the serious actor A-list club and a heartbreaking performance by Naomie Harris that question your faith in hope at all. The journey of seeing how the boy becoming the man is beautifully structured and powerfully realized. It's like watching a new auteur reinventing a wheel who just not nailed the journey payoff, but a destination that's worth the effort to reach.
Brilliant review! I'm glad to know there's movie buff that knows stuff here 😎 It's high time Malaysia bringing in more quality movies.....
OperaGhost
post Jan 18 2017, 12:09 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jan 18 2017, 10:52 AM)
In a way yes...but deeper and more gratifying! icon_rolleyes.gif
The adult protagonist too good looking to be depress lol

0.0865sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled