Pet Help Planted Aquarium V6, a garden inside a glass cube

radver
post May 16 2011, 10:13 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 09:08 AM)
yeah, just finish my 3 feet tank.
so how long i need to cycle my water to add shrimp?
this SAE and otto will eat my baby shrimp?
Get some bio media from established aquarium and the cycling can be shorten to about 3 weeks... From my experience... blush.gif
tyja
post May 16 2011, 10:44 AM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

QUOTE(radver @ May 16 2011, 10:13 AM)
Get some bio media from established aquarium and the cycling can be shorten to about 3 weeks... From my experience... blush.gif
actually i bought second hand filter eheim 2217, with all bio rio media.
so can i just plug n play?

just wonder, submerse and immerse got diff on leave or colour of plant?

Added on May 16, 2011, 10:48 am
QUOTE(Superdude @ May 16 2011, 09:42 AM)
3 months to be safe. Otherwise you will see some shrimp give you abnormal swimming style and die.

SAE will eat your baby shrimp.
Otto is herbivore... don't worry.
if SAE not getting along with shrimp, what fauna i need to have to take care of algae?
yamato and otto only? is it enough? i thought each of them got their own appetite and not cover others appetite..

so, if i decide not to have SAE on my tank, no need to have shrimp's shelter right?

water tab got clorine, and it is not food for fish or shrimp, is it also apply to plant?

Added on May 16, 2011, 10:56 am
QUOTE(weijie @ May 16 2011, 10:02 AM)
Yamato is digging up my newly plant HC sad.gif
same fate with my glosso, but the culprit is not yamato, but golden algae eater.
always make my water cloudy....by digging my soil and it is big. i try to catch, but it so fast, i plan to put chemical to kill it, but pity to my plant and other fish. haha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tyja: May 16 2011, 10:59 AM

radver
post May 16 2011, 11:20 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 10:44 AM)
actually i bought second hand filter eheim 2217, with all bio rio media.
so can i just plug n play?

just wonder, submerse and immerse got diff on leave or colour of plant?

Added on May 16, 2011, 10:48 am

if SAE not getting along with shrimp, what fauna i need to have to take care of algae?
yamato and otto only? is it enough? i thought each of them got their own appetite and not cover others appetite..

so, if i decide not to have SAE on my tank, no need to have shrimp's shelter right?

water tab got clorine, and it is not food for fish or shrimp, is it also apply to plant?

Added on May 16, 2011, 10:56 am

same fate with my glosso, but the culprit is not yamato, but golden algae eater.
always make my water cloudy....by digging my soil and it is big. i try to catch, but it so fast, i plan to put chemical to kill it, but pity to my plant and other fish. haha tongue.gif
Cannot, you need to get it from running tanks. The bio rings you got already dried up one right? That means all the beneficial bacteria all dead already, no point. You cycle the tank so that beneficial bacteria will grow on the bio media and all the surface of the tank for their nitrifying properties.

I think if your yamatoes are big enough you won't need shelter. Unless you putting in Red cherry shrimps or Crystal red shrimps la. SAE is treasured only for their appetite for young BBA, they are the only ones who eats them. Yamatoes can take care of the rest.

Fro the chlorine part, yes, but not as apparent as its effects on the fauna.

Better take the golden algae eater(a.k.a chinese algae eater) out, they are aggressive and they will grow very big. Might kill your yamatoes also... tongue.gif
tyja
post May 16 2011, 11:25 AM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

QUOTE(radver @ May 16 2011, 11:20 AM)
Cannot, you need to get it from running tanks. The bio rings you got already dried up one right? That means all the beneficial bacteria all dead already, no point. You cycle the tank so that beneficial bacteria will grow on the bio media and all the surface of the tank for their nitrifying properties.

I think if your yamatoes are big enough you won't need shelter. Unless you putting in Red cherry shrimps or Crystal red shrimps la. SAE is treasured only for their appetite for young BBA, they are the only ones who eats them. Yamatoes can take care of the rest.

Fro the chlorine part, yes, but not as apparent as its effects on the fauna.

Better take the golden algae eater(a.k.a chinese algae eater) out, they are aggressive and they will grow very big. Might kill your yamatoes also... tongue.gif
but it is so fast, and it always hide below rock and the rock cannot be remove.
i try to catch it first la. no choice..damn golden algae eater
ciohbu
post May 16 2011, 11:29 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

never share my tank after so long here... so ....

pics taken by crap iphone 3gs and edited with photoshop on iphone sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 16 2011, 11:30 AM
tyja
post May 16 2011, 11:37 AM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

My glosso got brown colour as attach photo. is it algae?
if yes, how do i control?

Attached image(s)
weijie
post May 16 2011, 11:39 AM

18 posts

Golden algea eater is not same as chinese algea eater
As known as golden, it is pink/white in color. Some shop call it as albino algea eater

Chinese algea eater, Siamese algea eater, flying fox is like 3twin brothers smile.gif
They looked almost alike
Try google for more information
I can put up an article about how to diff them if you guys wants smile.gif

Added on May 16, 2011, 11:41 am
QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 11:37 AM)
My glosso got brown colour as attach photo. is it algae?
if yes, how do i control?
I dont think so. It looks like it is dying sad.gif
It seems growing upwards in stead of doing carpet on your soil?

This post has been edited by weijie: May 16 2011, 11:41 AM
tyja
post May 16 2011, 11:58 AM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ May 16 2011, 11:39 AM)
Golden algea eater is not same as chinese algea eater
As known as golden, it is pink/white in color. Some shop call it as albino algea eater

Chinese algea eater, Siamese algea eater, flying fox is like 3twin brothers smile.gif
They looked almost alike
Try google for more information
I can put up an article about how to diff them if you guys wants smile.gif

Added on May 16, 2011, 11:41 am

I dont think so. It looks like it is dying sad.gif
It seems growing upwards in stead of doing carpet on your soil?
at first, i plant glosso like stem plant. then i trim until it is level with soil.
then, the leaves change colour like attach photos. makes me worry.
the shop im buying from, he said that the leaves will die first because changing state from immerse to submerse.
now waiting for new leave to come out..
there is another said that, it is becuase, the left over or dirt cover the leaves..
Superdude
post May 16 2011, 12:42 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 11:25 AM)
but it is so fast, and it always hide below rock and the rock cannot be remove.
i try to catch it first la. no choice..damn golden algae eater
Use mineral water to create fish trap.

Check this link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKtvPMcpc_g
Fins_and_Greens
post May 16 2011, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(ayiesz @ May 16 2011, 07:32 AM)
guys, will shop be open tomorrow (due to Wesak Day) or not?

esp @Fins_and_Greens and the CO2 shop.
my CO2 needs a refill.
at the same time need some ferts, shrimps and tetras.
we are open tomorrow... rclxms.gif
tyja
post May 16 2011, 03:19 PM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

guys, can you share fish that known rare species that you keep?
i think i'm fall in love with galaxy rasbora...damn nice
Fins_and_Greens
post May 16 2011, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 03:19 PM)
guys, can you share fish that known rare species that you keep?
i think i'm fall in love with galaxy rasbora...damn nice
rainbow tetra
swordtail characin rclxms.gif
tyja
post May 16 2011, 04:18 PM

-I Just Want To Share-
913 posts

QUOTE(Fins_and_Greens @ May 16 2011, 04:10 PM)
rainbow tetra
swordtail characin rclxms.gif
swordtail characin - it is big right? not like tetra or barb version?
weijie
post May 16 2011, 04:29 PM

18 posts

There are one member looking for aquarium cabinet right?
Who d ya?
Fins_and_Greens
post May 16 2011, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(tyja @ May 16 2011, 04:18 PM)
swordtail characin - it is big right? not like tetra or barb version?
nope, its like 1" only

Foxngn
post May 16 2011, 06:13 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 16 2011, 11:29 AM)
never share my tank after so long here... so  ....

pics taken by crap iphone 3gs and edited with photoshop on iphone  sweat.gif
eii.. what plant is it on the foreground ah ?
Namgor2006
post May 16 2011, 06:13 PM

397 posts

sigh.... he just thinking that he can earn from somebody but that somebody can't earn any from him tongue.gif

firash93
post May 16 2011, 07:53 PM

18 posts

hello can someone tell me..can HC plant grow well in my tank with this setup..my tank is 2x1 feet..im using t5 14watt x3 (6400k)..diy co2..please help me..thnx
osment1016
post May 17 2011, 07:20 AM

this things can use on Co2 or not??
for more planted tank... small and big size tank..
ciohbu
post May 17 2011, 09:54 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(osment1016 @ May 17 2011, 07:20 AM)

this things can use on Co2 or not??
for more planted tank... small and big size tank..
dun think so.. those are for normal air pump... unless it stated its for CO2.. normal splitter can't support pressure of the co2 icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 17, 2011, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(Foxngn @ May 16 2011, 06:13 PM)
eii.. what plant is it on the foreground ah ?
which one ar ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 17 2011, 02:34 PM

134 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:50 PM