QUOTE(wingster @ Dec 28 2010, 11:49 PM)
It depends your shooting style / perspectives, for me I prefer wider primes (20mm/24mm) for street shooting because I can crop during PP
i think i wont buy lah cos i oredi got 17-50Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V49!, The Orange Legion
Dec 28 2010, 11:55 PM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 29 2010, 12:16 AM
3,070 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Damansara |
seems quite a debate on what is the suitable setup for beginners...body+kitlens+f42...enuff said...you wont know your route in photography just by saying you already tried the camera...i used to work in a camera shop...molested all the Canons and Nikons and even did strobist with my boss in the shop...its all for knowledge sake...Canon pushpull 100-300 we just play2 like nothing...how about 6 580exll play2 during no customer?
anyway,best is to organize a TT...then only you will know what to buy...im satisfied with my setup right now...A300+f42+kitlens+50mm...enough for landscape and potrait...when you think to get your so called "entry setup",for sure one of the gears will be under utilize...trust me...before this i have this mindset also...after getting my a300 and after 10k snaps of rubbish,i dont need telelens in my setup as i rarely use it....if budget is non of your concern,well nothing stopping you... This post has been edited by hazril: Dec 29 2010, 12:17 AM |
Dec 29 2010, 09:25 AM
2,540 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL |
QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 29 2010, 12:16 AM) seems quite a debate on what is the suitable setup for beginners...body+kitlens+f42...enuff said...you wont know your route in photography just by saying you already tried the camera...i used to work in a camera shop...molested all the Canons and Nikons and even did strobist with my boss in the shop...its all for knowledge sake...Canon pushpull 100-300 we just play2 like nothing...how about 6 580exll play2 during no customer? Agreed! Last time I had the 18-250mm lens. Could say I have all the focal range to play with and end up I found that I use mostly the wide angle range and around 50mm to 70mm on the tele range. Other than that? Very seldom use. I upgraded to the A850 because I want wide. Sold off the 18-250mm and I don't miss the tele range at all.anyway,best is to organize a TT...then only you will know what to buy...im satisfied with my setup right now...A300+f42+kitlens+50mm...enough for landscape and potrait...when you think to get your so called "entry setup",for sure one of the gears will be under utilize...trust me...before this i have this mindset also...after getting my a300 and after 10k snaps of rubbish,i dont need telelens in my setup as i rarely use it....if budget is non of your concern,well nothing stopping you... So now I have the 20mm prime and 50mm prime that I use most of the time. I also have a Minolta 24-85mm zoom borrowed from friend for usage occasionally. If and when I buy the 85mm f2.8 SAM, I can safely chuck the zoom away and feel no loss whatsoever. Most people who are new into the DSLR realm thinks that they need all the focal range from 18mm to 300mm. It is only after you have shot more than 10k pictures will you realize that you shoot only certain ranges. Until you find that few focal range, you are better off not buying any lens. Saves you money. |
Dec 29 2010, 09:36 AM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
ehahehea shootkk, I agree with u, I thought I needed the extra range to end up buying the beercan and made it a permanent resident in my drybox ehahehea sold it for the 24-70 instead, better range that i use...
so I guess it boils down to individual preference........oh btw if u think u need 70-200 for sepang, well my fren only use his 50mm and did shots all throughout the race.......so I guess its based on individual..... |
Dec 29 2010, 09:38 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
yeah, for me i dun need a 50mm. a 50mm lensbaby would work better for me.
Dec 29 2010, 09:58 AM
1,286 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Home |
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Dec 28 2010, 10:03 AM) wah u come to me lah. we'll learn together, i think can (at least) master the manual (not including exposure lah) in like 2 months hehehe.. the key is practise and ask for opinion from others.. Sure sure..! QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 28 2010, 10:54 AM) Wow.. Can adjust length in seconds.. But the only complain about crumpler straps is its too thick.. Lols. Brb googling for Singapore Sling. p/s Aiyooh.... Not in Malaysia yet.. QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 29 2010, 12:16 AM) seems quite a debate on what is the suitable setup for beginners...body+kitlens+f42...enuff said...you wont know your route in photography just by saying you already tried the camera...i used to work in a camera shop...molested all the Canons and Nikons and even did strobist with my boss in the shop...its all for knowledge sake...Canon pushpull 100-300 we just play2 like nothing...how about 6 580exll play2 during no customer? Admire you. anyway,best is to organize a TT...then only you will know what to buy...im satisfied with my setup right now...A300+f42+kitlens+50mm...enough for landscape and potrait...when you think to get your so called "entry setup",for sure one of the gears will be under utilize...trust me...before this i have this mindset also...after getting my a300 and after 10k snaps of rubbish,i dont need telelens in my setup as i rarely use it....if budget is non of your concern,well nothing stopping you... This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Dec 29 2010, 09:59 AM |
Dec 29 2010, 10:04 AM
8,753 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
tele lens is nice for macro and portrait too woo..
Dec 29 2010, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(shootkk @ Dec 29 2010, 09:25 AM) Most people who are new into the DSLR realm thinks that they need all the focal range from 10mm to 400mm. QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Dec 29 2010, 09:58 AM) Sure sure..! not to say poison proof just use what gears you have available...no point having a good body but under utilize its function...something like having a superbike but you just ride just to go buy roti canai... Wow.. Can adjust length in seconds.. But the only complain about crumpler straps is its too thick.. Lols. Brb googling for Singapore Sling. p/s Aiyooh.... Not in Malaysia yet.. Admire you. |
Dec 29 2010, 10:49 AM
guys..how far is pudu plaza from the pudu LRT station? walkable distance?
Dec 29 2010, 10:53 AM
830 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
hazril & shootkk: well said. totally agree!
Dec 29 2010, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 29 2010, 10:49 AM) according to google maps it about 1km away only....http://bit.ly/gOk45c |
Dec 29 2010, 12:33 PM
1,358 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
anyone going for basic alpha training part 2 at 9 Jan?
Dec 29 2010, 12:57 PM
Dec 29 2010, 02:00 PM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
my pic published and commented in canon magazine....PhotoYou Winter 2010 issue..
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i m a proud sony user!! dont know got any prize or not for this.. |
Dec 29 2010, 02:04 PM
wooot congrats!
Dec 29 2010, 02:08 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
On the street, with the Opteka 85mm F1.4 on A900:
![]() 8tvt: Send it in, though if you want faster service just go to Studio Zaloon. shukrie: d4rkholeang3l: Or you could look at the 85mm F1.4 for low-light telephoto. Codyx: Uhhh I still think you should get the F58 flash. It is the cheapest OEM 'big flash' there is. There are plenty of 3rd party flashes in the Minolta/Sony iISO hotshoe mount. I am pretty sure that we have told you why you should get Sony flashes already - the third-party cheap flashes either: - don't support manual power - don't support wireless flash in manual power - don't support wireless flash in TTL - have lousy exposure consistency - hang and freeze You definitely do not want your flash hanging and freezing, if you are ever asked to shoot an event or wedding (which you might end up doing, in order to get more money to get more gear.) Any customer can test Sony Alpha bodies and lenses. We here in this forum test them all the time! I would put your purchases in this order: Sony SLT-A55 + 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 DT SAM Sony HVL-F58AM Sony 35mm F1.8 DT SAM The 35mm is a great perspective - you will love it as it's not too long, and can be used in more situations compared to the 50mm on APS-C. Which Sony Style outlet are you at? evilhomura89: You turned and jerked while shooting #2, causing the J shape. If you turn smoothly before pressing the shutter, and continue turning even after releasing the shutter, you will get a clean motion line. I like #5. Clever! fansoption: I would prefer the Sony 30mm F2.8 DT SAM Macro for the macro function alone. The scratch on the Minolta 28mm F2.8 is not a big deal. Or, for low light, the Sony 35mm F1.8 DT SAM. Has everybody forgotten about this lens? gjtan: You forgot Times Square! porkchop: Got, got people selling the Minolta 85mm F1.4G - you know where it's at. zstan: Yes, walkable. You don't need to follow Google Maps' suggestion as that is too long! Just cut through the back of Sek Yuen, Maybank, and pass the road and you're there already. ![]() ahpingko: Congratulations! |
Dec 29 2010, 02:28 PM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
albnok, thanks for the headsup...i saw the minolta one... still contemplating to get.....sked i don't use the range and end up in dry box...
Dec 29 2010, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 29 2010, 02:04 PM) thx.. QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 29 2010, 02:08 PM) thx..albnok..btw, got people say my pic all not ori...say photoshop...is it photoshop for correcting saturation,contrast or cropping is not allowed... pro photographer do not do editing? well, i no money to get so many filters, tools,macro lens, full frame camera,etc..i just maximise what i currently have ma.. |
Dec 29 2010, 02:45 PM
ahpingko, u submit the pic?
Dec 29 2010, 02:47 PM
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:59 PM |