9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Qatar to host World Cup 2022, Is this a Joke?

SGSuser
post Dec 4 2010, 03:18 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 4 2010, 03:14 PM)
cant qualify for knockout.
SA also didnt qualify? did they?
got la...98(iirc) and definitely 02

Added on December 4, 2010, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 4 2010, 02:43 PM)
You sure? I thought host is automatically qualified?
he means qatar has 2014 and 2018 to try and qualify...if they can't, then they will be the first host to not qualify for fifa wc before..but of coz they will auto qualify for 2022

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Dec 4 2010, 03:21 PM
z21j
post Dec 4 2010, 06:44 PM

1,307 posts

Probably, this is "planned" to let the asian nations win the 1st ever wc? Since most asian countries can tahan high temperature, and for europe country, if they cant tahan the temperature,... then.... eliminate in group; so that can go back home country faster... hehe...

faris21
post Dec 4 2010, 07:35 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

this is why Qatar 2022 is a joke

Qatar World Cup may be held in January

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar could take place in January or February to avoid the scorching temperatures of the summer months in the desert state, FIFA Executive Committee member Franz Beckenbauer has said.

Beckenbauer, who won the 1974 World Cup as West Germany captain and also coached his nation to the 1990 title, said hosting the tournament during the winter would be an alternative.
The World Cups are traditionally held during the northern Hemisphere's summer months after the end of the domestic league competitions.

Qatar, which beat bid rivals Australia, Japan, South Korea and the United States, said it would deploy climate-control technology to keep the temperature on the pitch to 27 degrees Celsius while outside it was a scorching 50 degrees.

sure they can built mega stadium which can give u 27 degrees Celsius but for the whole month player and fan need stay in Qatar oven

maybe most of us will end at mamak, it didn't mean we cant talk and discuss about this, what done is done, all player and fan should face this temperature issue, beside with our global warming problem then they will have more problem there
SGSuser
post Dec 4 2010, 07:49 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

can't see that happening tbh
Envoy
post Dec 4 2010, 08:00 PM

88 posts

one another problem is tht qatar population is only 1.5m so i doubt the stadium will be full.

only 1m came to SA so total=2.5 and not all of qatar people will go, and there will be 112 matches to play and each myt have 60,000

60,000 X 112 =6,720,000 where will qatar get t 6.7m people to watch the game unless the stadium will be small

This post has been edited by Envoy: Dec 4 2010, 08:12 PM
pyroboy1911
post Dec 4 2010, 08:06 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

NO WAY will a World Cup be held in january. What, all major league paused for World Cup? or resume, and let 10 of their 1st team players go for World Cup? 1 for African Nations Cup, and a few for this coming Asian Cup already leave premier league managers fuming, a january World Cup will cause a World War 3!

Like i said the main problem is heat, but doesnt mean its a joke. Dont tell me just because its not ideal, World Cup would never ever be played in Arab soil? For all you know they might build a giant glass dome within the 30km stadium radius, which is fully airconed laugh.gif anything can happen in the next 12 years, so we just wait patiently. Cant use the scenario now to predict 12 years from now.
rEDs
post Dec 4 2010, 08:48 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

For me the real problem is the high humidity, you sweat like taking bath out of no where. its not mentioned much compare to temperature/heat.
the high temperature is still sustainable. this year i taste 51C , feel like still ok. just wear shades and walk. that time 50C humidity still low.
but when come to july-aug , you give me 44C but high humidity...i prefer 50C but lower humidity. the summer humidity here is awesome.

I wonder how they will solve putting mega-air conditioner for people walking from vehicle parking to LONG queue entrance prior to game match. all sweat like hell.

p/s the national game for qatar is basketball(pinoy) and cricket(kerala) ,if follow by majority drool.gif

This post has been edited by rEDs: Dec 4 2010, 08:49 PM
Ken
post Dec 4 2010, 10:22 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

world cup in january ?

then european country will miss it for sure. they wont give up their luxury league.

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 4 2010, 06:44 PM)
Probably, this is "planned" to let the asian nations win the 1st ever wc? Since most asian countries can tahan high temperature, and for europe country, if they cant tahan the temperature,... then.... eliminate in group; so that can go back home country faster... hehe...
south america country might have advantage over the european on the temperature

This post has been edited by Ken: Dec 4 2010, 10:23 PM
aressandro10
post Dec 4 2010, 11:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 4 2010, 02:43 PM)
You sure? I thought host is automatically qualified?
Japan qualify to the world cup for the first time for France 98 by the play-off before they host 2002.

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(Envoy @ Dec 4 2010, 08:00 PM)
one another problem is tht qatar population is only 1.5m so i doubt the stadium will be full.

only 1m came to SA so total=2.5 and not all of qatar people will go, and there will be 112 matches to play and each myt have 60,000

60,000 X 112 =6,720,000 where will qatar get t 6.7m people to watch the game unless the stadium will be small
they will depend on nearby arab nations for fans..

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Dec 4 2010, 08:06 PM)
NO WAY will a World Cup be held in january. What, all major league paused for World Cup? or resume, and let 10 of their 1st team players go for World Cup? 1 for African Nations Cup, and a few for this coming Asian Cup already leave premier league managers fuming, a january World Cup will cause a World War 3!

Like i said the main problem is heat, but doesnt mean its a joke. Dont tell me just because its not ideal, World Cup would never ever be played in Arab soil? For all you know they might build a giant glass dome within the 30km stadium radius, which is fully airconed laugh.gif anything can happen in the next 12 years, so we just wait patiently. Cant use the scenario now to predict 12 years from now.
not impossible... of course everything has to stop during world cup month.. its just a matter scheduling.. leagues just have to start earlier and stop later..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Dec 4 2010, 11:15 PM
matyrze
post Dec 5 2010, 01:23 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

I've hit the report button twice already for post no.25. Hopefully mods will delete it soon.
SGSuser
post Dec 5 2010, 01:30 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

maybe you should try harder tongue.gif
aressandro10
post Dec 5 2010, 01:52 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Dec 5 2010, 01:23 AM)
I've hit the report button twice already for post no.25. Hopefully mods will delete it soon.
whats wrong with post no.25?
matyrze
post Dec 5 2010, 02:47 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Dec 5 2010, 01:52 AM)
whats wrong with post no.25?
Nvm, it's already been deleted. thumbup.gif

Added on December 5, 2010, 2:52 amLOL I just realize there are several post that quote #25 post. Why don't just delete all of them? People should not insult flags of other nation, that is idiotic to put it mildly doh.gif doh.gif Please delete all of them mods. Thx.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Dec 5 2010, 02:52 AM
leymar7
post Dec 5 2010, 02:52 AM

86 posts

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/20...-cup-2022-qatar
Duke Red
post Dec 5 2010, 02:01 PM

6,112 posts

The heat and humidity will definitely be an issue for players and fans but if you think about it, African and South American players have to play in temperature 10-15 degrees below what they are accustomed to. Same goes for Scandanavian countries when they play is South America or Asia. At one point Rio was the hottest city on earth at 40 degrees celcius. The climate has always been a factor.

Another challenge has popped into mind. Out of Qatar's population, only some 200,000 are Qatari. Most are foreign workers and I'm guessing it's because Qataris are of "high society" and don't perform manual work. With the huge influx of fans, where are all the bus or cab drivers, construction workers, cleaners etc going to come from? More foreign imports? It will be like being in a can of sardines there.
pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 05:23 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 5 2010, 02:01 PM)
The heat and humidity will definitely be an issue for players and fans but if you think about it, African and South American players have to play in temperature 10-15 degrees below what they are accustomed to. Same goes for Scandanavian countries when they play is South America or Asia. At one point Rio was the hottest city on earth at 40 degrees celcius. The climate has always been a factor.

Another challenge has popped into mind. Out of Qatar's population, only some 200,000 are Qatari. Most are foreign workers and I'm guessing it's because Qataris are of "high society" and don't perform manual work. With the huge influx of fans, where are all the bus or cab drivers, construction workers, cleaners etc going to come from? More foreign imports? It will be like being in a can of sardines there.
dont worry, apart from the city central, the whole lot of the country is land, land and more land laugh.gif Though it will need strategic and careful planning to avoid congestion.
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM

144 posts

man, pyro and volrath. you both should stop following each other around just to back each other up in arguments. how gay is that? this isn't highschool man, grow up. you and your mob mentality. if you're gonna join the discussion, bring in some valid points yeah? first the Chelski thread and then here. you both are really wannabe mods, man. is it so important to you? and pyro, just cos' you go around acting polite when you're really not, doesn't mean everyone is the same as you. shall I quote you in here, brat?

be a man, say it like you mean it. don't be a wimp, just to score some bonus points with the mods or whatever. even a red scum has the guts. and you both, a devil and chelski. heh, new generation of "fans" indeed.

so carry on the banter. Qatar? who cares? FIFA is inept as it is.

pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 06:18 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(katnl @ Dec 5 2010, 06:14 PM)
man, pyro and volrath. you both should stop following each other around just to back each other up in arguments. how gay is that? this isn't highschool man, grow up. you and your mob mentality. if you're gonna join the discussion, bring in some valid points yeah? first the Chelski thread and then here. you both are really wannabe mods, man. is it so important to you? and pyro, just cos' you go around acting polite when you're really not, doesn't mean everyone is the same as you. shall I quote you in here, brat?

be a man, say it like you mean it. don't be a wimp, just to score some bonus points with the mods or whatever. even a red scum has the guts. and you both, a devil and chelski. heh, new generation of "fans" indeed.

so carry on the banter. Qatar? who cares? FIFA is inept as it is.
i really have no freaking idea what drugs u're on mate.

EDIT: Oh now i get it, the butthurt Everton fan laugh.gif carry on, quote here. I have no worries, coz i dont think what i said is wrong. go on, quote. let everyone see what you said, and why Chelsea fans are angered, and why i dont think going around trolling, especially in their own thread, is appropriate. go on, i dare you.

Wanna comeback against what i said, do in Chelsea thread la. why do it here? reli laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Dec 5 2010, 06:22 PM
SUSkatnl
post Dec 5 2010, 06:33 PM

144 posts

you can stop pretending now, pyro. and using your kiddy 'butthurt' line. nobody is butthurt, I'm not the one who got his feelings hurt in here and went over to the Chelski thread to back up his 'brother' Volrath even though he has no idea what the discussion is about and everything. just to vent his frustration =/. so there, there's nothing to 'comeback' to your statements in the other thread, that's you being a tosser. or should I say...a troll.

and really, you can convince yourself and your friends. but nobody cares really. most with a sensible mind thinks you're annoying, brat. and stop being a wannabe mod can? you very "senior" in LYN? can tell others to do what you think they should do?

you're the actual "TROLL", I say. with your wannabe mod act, disrupting topics and such for personal glory.

done here, sorry for thread hijack TS. want to continue, go start a thread in /k/ or something pyro. goodnight to you.

pyroboy1911
post Dec 5 2010, 06:42 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

oh wow, my secret revealed! Volrath is my brother in arms, and i really really REALLY wanna be a mod!

oh well, i guess its not important now, people just think i am annoying brat anyway. OOOHhhh~~ *pee in pants*

OK la, not butthurt la. When someone warn you not to use the term "chelski" in Chelsea thread and u retaliate by calling them lot "rudeness sheathed in fake courtesy" and a "bunch of elitist", that's not butthurt. That's just being a man. i get it now rolleyes.gif

bye bye!

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0262sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:47 AM