MY house renovation START, step by step, portion by portion

TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 07:22 PM, updated 15y ago

253 posts

its my turn to start the renovation since i got the key for a years and consider too long tongue.gif

and since im poor, no budget to hire ID, so i decide to do it by my self, looking for contractor one by one, and ask for quotation from each of them.
i try my best to reno for the part that really useful of it since my budget not allow me to do luxury reno

i divide the renovation part by part as following:

1) construction work(such as:cement, etc) - approx rm12k
- place cement at the place behind the house, (35X10)psft
- place cement at the place beside the car porch, b4 its lawn, (20X6)psft
- build up a store room at corner under staircase
- add one door at first floor master bedroom to belcony, b4 tat its window there
- add one concrete table top at dry kitchen, 11 feet
- add one concrete table top at wet kitchen, L shape, total 9 feet
- heighten the ditch border to prevent mug go into it, 60 feet
- enlarge main gate place, remove the pillar and re-build it at correct place

2) wiring
3) alarm - approx rm3000
- 23 vibration sensor
- 6 magnetic sensor
- 1 motion sensor
- 3 keypad
- hacking and conceal for all cable

4) plaster ceiling - approx rm5.6k
[color=purple][size=5]- 1st floor corner------ 8 X 9(feet) plain board + L Box light thru
- living hall ------ 15 X 19(feet) plain board + L Box light thru
- dining + stair corner---- 11 X 25(feet) plain board + cornice
- dry kitcthen------ 12 X 17(feet) plain board + cornice
- wet kitchen------- 7 X 10(feet) plain board + cornice
- utility room------- 6 X 10(feet) plain board
- master bedroom 2----- 21 X 16(feet) plain board
- 2nd flr living hall ------ 11 X 25(feet) plain board
- master bedroom 1----- 21 X 16(feet) plain board + L Box light thru

5) cabinet (kitchen, wardrobe, tv console, etc)
6) tinted
7) painting - aproxx rm4k

- painting for whole internal of my house as 2900psft built up area semi-d
- painting part of external bcoz some part of it become dirty when do reno.

8) auto gate system
9)grill door & window
10) maingate
11) plumbing
12)

these all already make me faint rclxub.gif , hope i can last until all the jobs done.

ori house b4 reno

This post has been edited by well: Mar 25 2011, 01:19 AM
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 07:37 PM

253 posts

plaster ceiling

cement works
place behind the house, place the cements on it and thinking of want to tiling or not

remove the main gate, b4 that just a "small" main gate, now want to enlarge the main gate and add on one small gate at right side, the floor still think of want to tiling or not

wet kitchen stove place, build up this "table top" and move the water pipe from left to right

build up store room, b4 that just a corner under the staircase

add this door so that can go out to the "belcony". b4 tat no door at this place

This post has been edited by well: Nov 27 2010, 11:26 PM
Shazzac
post Nov 27 2010, 08:07 PM

427 posts

I wonder how one will need to clean the plaster ceiling at the corner part (where it sinks in) as over time it will collect lots of dust and maybe our friendly bugs might live in.
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 08:19 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 27 2010, 09:07 PM)
I wonder how one will need to clean the plaster ceiling at the corner part (where it sinks in) as over time it will collect lots of dust and maybe our friendly bugs might live in.
tats y alot ppl dun like do the L-box like tis, since want to make it, then need to clean it by ourselve oledi thumbup.gif
wrb7878
post Nov 27 2010, 08:37 PM

843 posts

Hi TS, where your house location?

I mind want to look contractor for quotation, do share with us your price here and workmanship comment.

I try to give all job to 1 ID but seems like the price is very high. They normally will give u lump sum amount.

Example, L Box at 10X11 cost 3K include the light, painting,wiring...all in 1. so very hard to split the price. unless i get the diff contractor quote on plaster ceiling price/psf ,wiring price, downlight....in this case i need to arrange my own which contractor need to start the job and which is last job.

please share with us ....
Shazzac
post Nov 27 2010, 09:56 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 27 2010, 08:19 PM)
tats y alot ppl dun like do the L-box like tis, since want to make it, then need to clean it by ourselve oledi thumbup.gif
Agreed, but i still see alot of friends and members in LYN wanting to do the ceilings like this. tongue.gif I think it will be a hassle to climb up every 3 days to clean up that ceiling.

TS: Overall - looks ok.
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 27 2010, 10:25 PM

582 posts

Why hiring ID is so call expensive?
Shazzac
post Nov 27 2010, 10:57 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 27 2010, 10:25 PM)

I don't think anyone here said that hiring an ID is expensive. One of the commenter just said that the ID has quoted him a very high price.

Please read through properly before commenting yea.

This post has been edited by Shazzac: Nov 27 2010, 10:57 PM
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 11:01 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 27 2010, 09:37 PM)
Hi TS, where your house location?

I mind want to look contractor for quotation, do share with us your price here and workmanship comment.

I try to give all job to 1 ID but seems like the price is very high. They normally will give u lump sum amount.

Example, L Box at 10X11 cost 3K include the light, painting,wiring...all in 1. so very hard to split the price. unless i get the diff contractor quote on plaster ceiling price/psf ,wiring price, downlight....in this case i need to arrange my own which contractor need to start the job and which is last job.

please share with us ....
hi there,

thanks for the support, sure i will share out my price with my comment, just give me sometime, i try my best to list down one by one, mayb the quotation i got is not the cheapest in the market, but its already the cheapest among the quotations from those contractors sent me. and sure we need to consider the workmanship rite? notworthy.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 27 2010, 11:25 PM)
hi bro,

ya what i mean is, i gave to those ID to quote me for my house reno, but they price is really expensive and i don't think so i can afford it.
and no choice then i only choose to do it myself.
i didn't mean for all ID for sure.
no hard feeling ya icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 27 2010, 11:57 PM)

I don't think anyone here said that hiring an ID is expensive. One of the commenter just said that the ID has quoted him a very high price.

ya thanks for it notworthy.gif u got wat i mean

This post has been edited by well: Nov 27 2010, 11:07 PM
yothim
post Nov 28 2010, 12:09 AM

182 posts

btw, did u lay steel frame when u lay those cement/concrete on the lawn or earth? if not, be prepare to have 'cave in' later........if there is too much weight over it....just telling my experience.
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 12:25 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Nov 28 2010, 01:09 AM)
btw, did u lay steel frame when u lay those cement/concrete on the lawn or earth? if not, be prepare to have 'cave in' later........if there is too much weight over it....just telling my experience.
blink.gif after tat what happen on urs??
numbertwo
post Nov 28 2010, 12:34 AM

1,787 posts

Many IDs actually sub-contract out the works so it is more often more expensive then you directly deal with the contractor.. But if the ID is taking care of your renovation from start to end, the extras is well worth .
epalbee3
post Nov 28 2010, 12:43 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 27 2010, 07:22 PM)
its my turn to start the renovation since i got the key for a years and consider too long tongue.gif

and since im poor, no budget to hire ID, so i decide to do it by my self, looking for contractor one by one, and ask for quotation from each of them.
i try my best to reno for the part that really useful of it since my budget not allow me to do luxury reno

i divide the renovation part by part as following:

1) construction work(such as:cement, etc) - approx rm12k
- place cement at the place behind the house, (35X10)psft
- place cement at the place beside the car porch, b4 its lawn, (20X6)psft
- build up a store room at corner under staircase
- add one door at first floor master bedroom to belcony, b4 tat its window there
- add one concrete table top at dry kitchen, 11 feet
- add one concrete table top at wet kitchen, L shape, total 9 feet
- heighten the ditch border to prevent mug go into it, 60 feet
- enlarge main gate place, remove the pillar and re-build it at correct place

2) wiring
3) alarm
4) plaster ceiling
5) cabinet (kitchen, wardrobe, tv console, etc)
6) tinted
7) painting
8) auto gate system
9)grill door & window
10) maingate
11) plumbing
12)

these all already make me faint rclxub.gif , hope i can last until all the jobs done.

ori house b4 reno

Your house very nice... where is it?

I assume u should b very faint now.. smile.gif grill first, then reno, then buy furniture, then electrical stuffs...

I don't see anyway to do it below 60k, unless u want to make it kampung house..

TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 12:44 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 28 2010, 01:34 AM)
Many IDs actually sub-contract out the works so it is more often more expensive then you directly deal with the contractor..  But if the ID is taking care of your renovation from start to end, the extras is well worth .
ya agreed. just i dun have the budget for it, so i force to use off my time to deal direct with contractor notworthy.gif
epalbee3
post Nov 28 2010, 12:46 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 28 2010, 12:44 AM)
ya agreed. just i dun have the budget for it, so i force to use off my time to deal direct with contractor notworthy.gif
but making the big house full is really a big job right?

Added on November 28, 2010, 12:47 amwow.. u already one year get key but not yet renovate..

people will rush to move in one..
where is your place?

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 28 2010, 12:47 AM
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:14 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 01:43 AM)
Your house very nice... where is it?

I assume u should b very faint now.. smile.gif grill first, then reno, then buy furniture, then electrical stuffs...

I don't see anyway to do it below 60k, unless u want to make it kampung house..
lol, my house located at kampung area, but doesn't mean to make it like kampung style, i will try to make it become modern.
and u r right, faint from the day 1 i start reno it, and one of the reason of faint is bcoz i wan to control the reno cost not over 100k.
60k? drool.gif i also want it
epalbee3
post Nov 28 2010, 01:17 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 28 2010, 01:14 AM)
lol, my house located at kampung area, but doesn't mean to make it like kampung style, i will try to make it become modern.
and u r right, faint from the day 1 i start reno it, and one of the reason of faint is bcoz i wan to control the reno cost not over 100k.
60k? drool.gif i also want it
do u mean 100k only for reno, or include everything like furniture and appliances?

i think people advise us not to choose branded.. shop around during year end sale will help..

i see my small house already want to faint already.. wink.gif
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:17 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 01:46 AM)
but making the big house full is really a big job right?

Added on November 28, 2010, 12:47 amwow.. u already one year get key but not yet renovate..

people will rush to move in one..
where is your place?
for me is quite big job bcoz i didnt make it b4, i didn't rush sure got reason, one of it is busy on my work, another one is bcoz i still got house to stay currently flex.gif
and my house located at kampung like area, not kl for sure smile.gif

Added on November 28, 2010, 1:19 am
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 02:17 AM)
do u mean 100k only for reno, or include everything like furniture and appliances?

i think people advise us not to choose branded.. shop around during year end sale will help..

i see my small house already want to faint already.. wink.gif
unfortunately, 100k only for reno, not yet include furniture and appliances, my pain.
i dun think i will choose branded, but i also need to see the quality 1st nod.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 28 2010, 01:20 AM
epalbee3
post Nov 28 2010, 01:21 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 28 2010, 01:17 AM)
for me is quite big job bcoz i didnt make it b4, i didn't rush sure got reason, one of it is busy on my work, another one is bcoz i still got house to stay currently flex.gif
and my house located at kampung like area, not kl for sure smile.gif
100k is already a lot.. and it must be cash too..

after spending big bucks on house, still need to pay for reno...

in fact developers should have done the normal things like grills and kitchen..

TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:30 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 02:21 AM)
100k is already a lot.. and it must be cash too..

after spending big bucks on house, still need to pay for reno...

in fact developers should have done the normal things like grills and kitchen..
depend on house size i think, nod.gif 100k i still headache on lack of fund, especially if wan to make it become modern and nice.
ya nowadays most of the developer just give the "basic" things for new house, and those things are useless and we need to change it for sure.
btw, i got saw ur post, why not u post some of ur house pic, then others forumers may can help u and quote u?just my opinion icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 28 2010, 01:42 AM
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 28 2010, 02:13 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 27 2010, 10:57 PM)

O, had you read thru what well said? he/she said "and since im poor, no budget to hire ID, so i decide to do it by my self, looking for contractor one by one" I only comment base on that, please don judge by what u think please.
Shazzac
post Nov 28 2010, 09:02 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 28 2010, 02:13 PM)
O, had you read thru what well said? he/she said "and since im poor, no budget to hire ID, so i decide to do it by my self, looking for contractor one by one" I only comment base on that, please don judge by what u think please.
Hey Eleganz, Note the top where the TS has agreed with what I've mentioned in Post#10.

The other ID in this thread Erny, has never posted such questions asking 'Why hiring an ID is expensive?' because they know ID fees are high and if the house owner can manage the whole renovation by himself, why not skip the ID part?

This post has been edited by Shazzac: Nov 28 2010, 09:06 PM
Aelous
post Nov 28 2010, 09:23 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 28 2010, 01:30 AM)
depend on house size i think,  nod.gif 100k i still headache on lack of fund, especially if wan to make it become modern and nice.
ya nowadays most of the developer just give the "basic" things for new house, and those things are useless and we need to change it for sure.
btw, i got saw ur post, why not u post some of ur house pic, then others forumers may can help u and quote u?just my opinion icon_rolleyes.gif
Totally agree. To make a modern and nice house is very hefty. I spent almost 200k on it and it still looks like a normal house sweat.gif sweat.gif
Shazzac
post Nov 28 2010, 09:52 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Aelous @ Nov 28 2010, 09:23 PM)
Totally agree. To make a modern and nice house is very hefty. I spent almost 200k on it and it still looks like a normal house  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
OMG 200k and still look normal!??!?!! I bet your house looks really grand. A friend's sister, got her apartment done with about 35k (i think maybe 10 yrs ago) looks really good.
dopp
post Nov 28 2010, 10:30 PM

1,733 posts

That is pretty thick top..... u plan to chop bbq pig there?
yothim
post Nov 28 2010, 10:49 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(well @ Nov 28 2010, 12:25 AM)
blink.gif after tat what happen on urs??
just imagine a bra without underwire..........it goes down. some tiles broke because the 'support' part is weak.........the best, put a steel bar as what my contractor said......even a tractor also can move over....
Eleganz Concept
post Nov 28 2010, 10:54 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 28 2010, 09:02 PM)
Hey Eleganz, Note the top where the TS has agreed with what I've mentioned in Post#10.

The other ID in this thread Erny, has never posted such questions asking 'Why hiring an ID is expensive?' because they know ID fees are high and if the house owner can manage the whole renovation by himself, why not skip the ID part?
I think you get me wrong, i only reply on the 1st post, which i not quote the word, so that make you think i reply to other. And i just know that, in future, i should say what ppl had say, and not give my own comment, thank to teach me about this.

This post has been edited by Eleganz Concept: Nov 28 2010, 11:18 PM
TSwell
post Nov 29 2010, 01:38 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Aelous @ Nov 28 2010, 10:23 PM)
Totally agree. To make a modern and nice house is very hefty. I spent almost 200k on it and it still looks like a normal house  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
ya, if i never reno my house, i never know the cost is so high hmm.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 1:41 am
QUOTE(dopp @ Nov 28 2010, 11:30 PM)
That is pretty thick top..... u plan to chop bbq pig there?
sweat.gif bcoz i keep telling the contractor to make it thicker, b4 he finish it, its really thin like very fragile, my mistake sweat.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 1:47 am
QUOTE(yothim @ Nov 28 2010, 11:49 PM)
just imagine a bra without underwire..........it goes down. some tiles broke because the 'support' part is weak.........the best, put a steel bar as what my contractor said......even a tractor also can move over....
shocking.gif need to double confirm with my contractor, but i think he got make it since i inform him b4 i start the reno

This post has been edited by well: Nov 29 2010, 01:47 AM
dopp
post Nov 29 2010, 11:56 PM

1,733 posts

My house currently in reno too, cant wait to see end result
TSwell
post Nov 30 2010, 12:35 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Nov 30 2010, 12:56 AM)
My house currently in reno too, cant wait to see end result
any progress to show?? rclxms.gif
wrb7878
post Nov 30 2010, 12:29 PM

843 posts

Hi well, any price to update on reno at tis moment?
ubsacc2004
post Nov 30 2010, 12:31 PM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

yes i want to renovate my kitchen with hob and gas cooker.how much leh ?
TSwell
post Nov 30 2010, 11:02 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:29 PM)
Hi well, any price to update on reno at tis moment?
ya i will update in my first post rclxms.gif compare few contractors for my kitchen cabinet, wardrobe, etc on last week;still not decide to take which one hmm.gif

Added on November 30, 2010, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:31 PM)
yes i want to renovate my kitchen with hob and gas cooker.how much leh ?
hod i also survey-ing the price now, but the gas cooker i already bought the fotile brand, price rm 6XX, will upload the picture once installed, nod.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 30 2010, 11:04 PM
Drian
post Dec 1 2010, 01:22 AM

4,999 posts

When renovating the house you have to look at the job scope done instead of price of renovation. Went to a housewarming in my friend's house and I estimated myself it can be done around 130-150k. My guess is the ID has been overcharging them for the renovation by 100k.

Well that's where I guess the impression that ID is expensive comes form.

Shazzac
post Dec 1 2010, 09:27 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 01:22 AM)
When renovating the house you have to look at the job scope done instead of price of renovation. Went to a housewarming in my friend's house and I estimated myself it can be done around 130-150k. My guess is the ID has been overcharging them for the renovation by 100k.

OMG, if it's seriously by 100k extra, that's alot of money, man.

numbertwo
post Dec 1 2010, 01:40 PM

1,787 posts

is hard to 'guestimate' if we are not aware of what material is being used... sometimes u can get a similar job done for 100K , or 150K, but both derives different material and quality.
bibibobo
post Dec 1 2010, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Dec 1 2010, 01:40 PM)
is hard to 'guestimate' if we are not aware of what material is being used... sometimes u can get a similar job done for 100K , or 150K, but both derives different material and quality.
Totally agreed with you !
Eleganz Concept
post Dec 1 2010, 02:22 PM

582 posts

Totally agree too, just example for tile, some 2 x 2 tile only cost 12/pcs, but some can go until 30/pcs, same to other material.
Drian
post Dec 1 2010, 02:24 PM

4,999 posts

Can easily guess, tiles all that can easily guess and pricing can easily be found in tile shop. For my friends case it's MML homogenous 2X2 tiles.
Number of lighting points can roughly guess by counting the number of downlights.
For build in wardrobe can take outside wardrobe specialist price to compare to.
Same for kitchen. Everything can be counted pfr.
For wood it's either solid wood or melamine or plywood or chipboard. Thickness you can see and can compare with outside market. Again everything can be compared.

furryfluffy
post Dec 1 2010, 02:33 PM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 01:22 AM)

ID can be more expensive due to coordination works with the electrical & architectural works. Unless somebody do the supervising and coordination, without these "professional", it will cost less nod.gif

numbertwo
post Dec 1 2010, 03:34 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 02:24 PM)
Can easily guess, tiles all that can easily guess and pricing can easily be found in tile shop. For my friends case it's MML homogenous 2X2 tiles.
Number of lighting points can roughly guess by counting the number of downlights.
For build in wardrobe can take outside wardrobe specialist price to compare to.
Same for kitchen. Everything can be counted pfr.
For wood it's either solid wood or melamine or plywood or chipboard. Thickness you can see and can compare with outside market. Again everything can be compared.
smile.gif no offence Drian, but did you really check in details all those items in depth? Lighting points , who knows he re-wire the whole house with better quality wires? Even the downlights, a better built d/l cost $30 a piece as opposed to maybe 10 ringgit one... Built-in wardrobe, a melamine board any plywood won't be the same, same goes to what solid surface(local or samsung makes a huge difference) he has chosen? Yes, unless we compare apple to apple, hard to tell really if he has paid 100K more premium than the usual.. smile.gif

btw. The most cut-throat item in my whole reno quotation is the tiles actually...by getting the tiles myself i'm saving at least 40%-50% of the cost quoted from my ID... Anyhow in general i do agree that by engaging ID it cost more than dealing direct, but when you don't have much time to follow through the entire renovation period , engaging ID is the key and it becomes a necessity.

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Dec 1 2010, 03:40 PM
Eleganz Concept
post Dec 1 2010, 03:48 PM

582 posts

I believe, a renovation cost RM150k and need to top up another RM100k, is not a simple renovation just about tile or wardrobe, there must be a lot of thing involve, like what numbertwo say, re-wiring for whole house, or may be change a whole house piping, change roof and doing a lot of work above the ceiling which you cant see, and so on so on.

This post has been edited by Eleganz Concept: Dec 1 2010, 03:48 PM
Drian
post Dec 1 2010, 04:34 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Dec 1 2010, 03:34 PM)
smile.gif no offence Drian, but did you really check in details all those items in depth? Lighting points , who knows he re-wire the whole house with better quality wires?  Even the downlights, a better built d/l cost $30 a piece as opposed to maybe 10 ringgit one... Built-in wardrobe, a melamine board any plywood won't be the same, same goes to what solid surface(local or samsung makes a huge difference) he has chosen?    Yes, unless we compare apple to apple, hard to tell really if he has paid 100K more premium than the usual.. smile.gif   

btw. The most cut-throat item in my whole reno quotation is the tiles actually...by getting the tiles myself i'm saving at least 40%-50% of the cost quoted from my ID...  Anyhow in general i do agree that by engaging ID it cost more than dealing direct, but when you don't have much time to follow through the entire renovation period , engaging ID is the key and it becomes a necessity.
Yes. it's an estimate but definitely not 100K extra in price.
For downlight using those aluminium 4inch and 6 inch downlight, no glass. cost approximately RM13-Rm18 a piece from lighting distributor.
Better quality wires? It's just standard 1.5mm and 2.5mm wires that comes with PVC piping. What do you mean by better quality wires, made out of gold? Build in wardrobe using standard Melamine board. Guest room using standard furniture shop wardrobe. Solid surface local RM150 , samsung 280-320 pfr. Total 14 feet top , it's either Rm1500 extra or Rm1500 cheaper. Even if it's a red apple to green apple comparison the premium should not come up to 100k.

When I ask how is it breaked down , they do not know because it was charged one lump sum by area tpe.

Eleganz Concept
post Dec 1 2010, 04:39 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 04:34 PM)
Yes. it's an estimate but definitely not 100K extra in price.
For downlight using those aluminium 4inch and 6 inch downlight, no glass. cost approximately RM13-Rm18 a piece from lighting distributor.
Better quality wires? It's just standard 1.5mm and 2.5mm wires that comes with PVC piping. What do you mean by better quality wires, made out of gold? Build in wardrobe using standard Melamine board. Guest room using standard furniture shop wardrobe. Solid surface local RM150 , samsung 280-320 pfr. Total 14 feet top , it's either Rm1500 extra or Rm1500 cheaper. Even if it's a red apple to green apple comparison the premium should not come up to 100k.
When I ask how is it breaked down , they do not know because it was charged one lump sum by area tpe.
Wow, that is horrible, if able to post thier quotation here to show, then may be can saw some item that cant be see from surface.
furryfluffy
post Dec 1 2010, 05:30 PM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

Better quality wires? It's just standard 1.5mm and 2.5mm wires that comes with PVC piping. What do you mean by better quality wires, made out of gold?

Agree. lighting only use 1.5mm wires and power point using 2.5mm wires.

If "quality", maybe use double P (PVC/PVC/Cu) but very very rare... no 1 using this unless for outdoor armoured cables (autogate).

anyway lighting points are counted per point... there is a market rate but cant remember... during my time was only Rm20-25 per lighting point
dopp
post Dec 1 2010, 07:04 PM

1,733 posts

9 feets wet kitchen $1300 ( i supply 2x2)
relocation of piping $300
hacking and lay new wall tiles( that portion) $300
* all others mats he bao.

Water proofing 3rd floor balcony, and lay tiles
he supply tiles and mats $450

Dry kitchen $7800 , without kitchen top(havent decide granite or Corian, if Corian, probably get direct from TSI-MrStuar)

More pix n progress in my camera...above pix from fone

QUOTE(well @ Nov 30 2010, 12:35 AM)
any progress to show?? rclxms.gif
This post has been edited by dopp: Dec 1 2010, 07:09 PM
TSwell
post Dec 1 2010, 08:01 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 1 2010, 08:04 PM)

Dry kitchen $7800 , without kitchen top(havent decide granite or Corian, if Corian, probably get direct from TSI-MrStuar)

wow nice man rclxms.gif
how long (feet)for your dry kitchen measurement for this quotation? nice quotation too
sonerin
post Dec 1 2010, 08:41 PM

8,739 posts

love the kitchen design
zheilwane
post Dec 1 2010, 09:57 PM

4,184 posts

u got an ID?
dopp
post Dec 1 2010, 10:17 PM

1,733 posts

I ID myself, the carpenter just draw wat i wanted.
dry kitchen exact measurement is on the pic
zheilwane
post Dec 1 2010, 10:23 PM

4,184 posts

cool, seems like those ID in penang can tapau d ahha
Eleganz Concept
post Dec 1 2010, 10:23 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 1 2010, 07:04 PM)

9ft concrete table you mean? RM144/ft? with leg or without leg? some ID charge RM140/ft included 2' x 2' homogenouse tile price around RM20
dopp
post Dec 1 2010, 10:48 PM

1,733 posts

$90- $110 penang also can get.

This is $150/fr.. .3 concrete slab legs 2x2 I buy myself, leg and bottom part of wall tiles... he supply.

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Dec 1 2010, 10:23 PM)
9ft concrete table you mean? RM144/ft? with leg or without leg? some ID charge RM140/ft included 2' x 2' homogenouse tile price around RM20
szeki
post Dec 1 2010, 11:14 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 1 2010, 10:48 PM)
$90- $110 penang also can get.

This is $150/fr.. .3 concrete slab legs 2x2 I buy myself, leg and bottom part of wall tiles... he supply.
After numerous post here in Lowyat, i thought i would share something nice for those of you who are looking to renovate your house.

I'll tell you my story. I am extremely satisfied after purchasing from FO Sin Aluminium Dan Kaca Sdn Bhd over 20 years! I met the boss of Fo Sin / New Way and it changed my life be it in real estate renovation business or my personal financing life. I saved LOTS in renovating houses of my rental properties.

I'll personally share and tell you how to get cheap curtain accessories etc in Malaysia. I have done this to 40-50 of my rental properties. THE CHEAPEST way to install curtain in your house.

All you need is
1) Curtain Railings (Aluminium <-- the best and last long)
2) Curtain Brackets (To hold railings)
3) Curtain Rollers (Self explanatory)
4) Curtain Hooks (Self Explanatory)
5) Curtain End Cap (To prevent rollers from sliding out)
6) Curtains

You can get item 1 to item 5 from:
Fo Sin Aluminium Dan Kaca Sdn Bhd
Address: No 850, Batu 4 1/2, Jalan Ipoh, 51200 Kuala Lumpur. (opposite of CIMB , MayBank, Am Bank)
Phone: 03-62577860

They are the manufacturer, distributor of aluminium extruded products. You won;t get it anywhere cheaper in malaysia. They supply to all curtain shops. Been there many times, extremely satisfied. Just thought of giving some opinion!

Try it and you'll know!

IMPORTANT TIP: Once you arrived at the retail shop, you'll see New Way Trading (Selling curtain accessories) at first floor, try not to go there. They are the same as Fo Sin Aluminium Dan Kaca Sdn Bhd. The boss/manager is usually station in Fo Sin (Ground Floor) You'll get a much cheaper price there! Remember!

Or if you really want to visit New Way, Look for Edmond. Go in the glass door and say ypu want to meet Edmond. He's the boss of Fo Sin and New Way. You;ll get a much cheaper price from him than anyone else.
New Way look for: Edmond (Managing Director)
Fo Sin look for: Mr Hong (Managing Director) /Ms Chin (Director)/ Edmond (Director)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CHEAPEST ALUMINIUM PRODUCTS IN MALAYSIA (Renovators, interior designers please note)

Cheap interior product!

Are you looking to renovate your house? are you looking to purchase aluminium but having trouble finding cheap retailers?

Let me tell you how i purchase all building materials myself and pay for labor cost for renovation in Malaysia for most of my Rental properties.

Similarly, go to Fo Sin Aluminium Dan Kaca Sdn Bhd.

They sell aluminium frames (EVERYTHING IT HAS TO DO WITH ALUMINIUM AND THEY SELL). You'll get the cheapest aluminium in KL since they extrude aluminium from Factory themself. They also sell door locks, sliding door and window rollers, door closer, ceiling Tee!

Give them a call and you'll be surprised how much you can save by purchasing renovation materials yourself and pay for worksmanship only!

Fo Sin Aluminium Dan Kaca Sdn Bhd
Address: No 850, Batu 4 1/2, Jalan Ipoh, 51200 Kuala Lumpur. (opposite of CIMB , MayBank, Am Bank)
Phone: 03-62577860

They Sell:
1) Curtain Aluminium Railings
2) All Aluminium Products
3) Door Frame
4) Window Frame
5)Casement window handle
6) Door Handles
7) Sliding Window/Door Rollers
8) Vinyl Gaskets
9) PVC Gaskets
10) Locksets
11) Door Lock
12) Curtain Accessories
13) Ceiling Tee

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now i'll tell you how to get cheap timber in malaysia.

Go to CF Timber Trading Sdn Bhd located at Kuchai Lama. They sell cheap timbers!!

Will update once i get their contact details.. left it in my office.

Admin please stick this post if possible. All questions will be answered here regarding cheap building materials in malaysia.

This post has been edited by szeki: Dec 1 2010, 11:19 PM
dopp
post Dec 1 2010, 11:35 PM

1,733 posts

Another advertisement post...
numbertwo
post Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM

1,787 posts

8**cut** When I ask how is it breaked down , they do not know because it was charged one lump sum by area tpe.
ya..typical ID quotation, charge by Area , only if you scrutinize the quotation then maybe u could get a better BQ..but 100K extra..that's a sum!
Drian
post Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM

4,999 posts

Wah so neat ... mine after hacking the tiles and cement everywhere on the floor.

This post has been edited by Drian: Dec 1 2010, 11:59 PM
furryfluffy
post Dec 2 2010, 09:22 AM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM)
Wah so neat ... mine after hacking the tiles and cement everywhere on the floor.
must have been cleaned up before snapping pic... laugh.gif
Drian
post Dec 2 2010, 11:27 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM)
ya..typical ID quotation, charge by Area , only if you scrutinize the quotation then maybe u could get a better BQ..but 100K extra..that's a sum!
Don't want to ask them any further, don't want to tell them that they've overpaid for their reno cause the seem happy with their house. Somemore they took a small loan for it. Anyway they're those type that do not know much about renovation and the market prices cause when I ask them they don't seem to know much about the fittings they're using like what type of downlight the're using, what brand of solid top they're using etc.

This is just a reminder to people out there just to do lots of survey to find out the market prices.
I have one contractor who quote me RM1650 to install 3 ceiling ventilation fan (ventilation fan provided by myself). LOL even installing aircond is cheaper than it.

Eleganz Concept
post Dec 2 2010, 11:52 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 2 2010, 11:27 AM)
Don't want to ask them any further, don't want to tell them that they've overpaid for their reno cause the seem happy with their house.  Somemore they took a small loan for it. Anyway they're those type that do not know much about renovation and the market prices cause when I ask them they don't seem to know much about the fittings they're using like what type of downlight the're using, what brand of solid top they're using etc.

This is just a reminder to people out there just to do lots of survey to find out the market prices.
I have one contractor who quote me RM1650 to install 3 ceiling ventilation fan (ventilation fan provided by myself). LOL even installing aircond is cheaper than it.

Cant see the location, so i guess that price because your fan point is 2 way, so need to have to point for 1 fan, then need to hack a lot, and then need to find tile worker to touch-up the tile. even still a bit expensive, but still able to explain because to so many thing need to be done.
koled_anie
post Dec 2 2010, 12:15 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Dec 1 2010, 05:30 PM)

Agree. lighting only use 1.5mm wires and power point using 2.5mm wires.

If "quality", maybe use double P (PVC/PVC/Cu) but very very rare... no 1 using this unless for outdoor armoured cables (autogate).

anyway lighting points are counted per point... there is a market rate but cant remember... during my time was only Rm20-25 per lighting point
got different grade of the wire inside.....some china made wire are so lousy (most use recycled material-mix material). ask ur electrical technician....there should no about this...
furryfluffy
post Dec 2 2010, 12:39 PM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Dec 2 2010, 12:15 PM)
got different grade of the wire inside.....some china made wire are so lousy (most use recycled material-mix material). ask ur electrical technician....there should no about this...
Yes please use reputable manufacturer. Some contractor do use disputable quality cables.

Cables are not specified by copper wire "grade" for common LV usage. Common specification is by insulation & cable size.

Copper grade are specified when buying copper tapes in earthing system (99.99% oxygen free annealed copper) nod.gif

BTW, to any layman, it is not possible to see the "quality/grade" of wire of the cable by naked eyes by visual inspection. copper looks copper. What is important is the sizing is sufficient amperage and insulation is not damaged. common rule of thumb = 1.5mm2 for lighting & 2.5mm2 for power (13A) & 4mm2 for aircond.

If any owner really want to check the workmanship of the wiring, carry out megger test/insulation test smile.gif

Drian
post Dec 2 2010, 02:39 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Dec 2 2010, 11:52 AM)
Cant see the location, so i guess that price because your fan point is 2 way, so need to have to point for 1 fan, then need to hack a lot, and then need to find tile worker to touch-up the tile. even still a bit expensive, but still able to explain because to so many thing need to be done.
No it's not a lot

Maximum number of tiles 1X1 need to hack is 3 . They pull the wiring from the exhaust fan through the other side of the wall of the toilet and then go down and go back in to the toilet.

Tiles is provided by myself the only amount of work needed is around one lighting point cost + cost of hacking and laying 3 (1X1) tiles which is around 50 -70 ringgit. But the contractor quote me RM550 for it so it's like 10X higher than market price.

TSwell
post Dec 3 2010, 04:24 PM

253 posts

just get qoute for my house painting, 2900 psft built up area semi-d.
i ask for 3 contractor, finally decided pass to one of them that quote me rm4k. re-paint the whole int, and do touch up for ext since some part of ext become dirty after reno.
dopp
post Dec 3 2010, 05:16 PM

1,733 posts

4k i assume not include paint?
I got quoted 3.8k for 3 storeys, no exterior but staircase rail+ all doors and staircase's step
numbertwo
post Dec 3 2010, 05:16 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(well @ Dec 3 2010, 04:24 PM)
just get qoute for my house painting, 2900 psft built up area semi-d.
i ask for 3 contractor, finally decided pass to one of them that quote me rm4k. re-paint the whole int, and do touch up for ext since some part of ext become dirty after reno.
ask them do you have a choice to choose let say Nippon paint and not any other 'less known' brand?
dopp
post Dec 3 2010, 05:18 PM

1,733 posts

Become

[attachmentid=1918969]

This post has been edited by dopp: Dec 3 2010, 05:21 PM

TSwell
post Dec 3 2010, 07:33 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 3 2010, 06:16 PM)
4k i assume not include paint?
I got quoted 3.8k for 3 storeys, no exterior but staircase rail+ all doors and staircase's step
this quote is included paint oledi hmm.gif
expensive or ?? ohmy.gif

Added on December 3, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Dec 3 2010, 06:16 PM)
ask them do you have a choice to choose let say Nippon paint and not any other 'less known' brand?
ya they got give me choice of nippon paint or mr.paint man, if wan to choose other brand also can, but need to choose the same level as rm9X/tin.
and he mention some part will undercoating some will not since this is new house, but i still worry that, so i already go there observe how they paint for it rclxub.gif

Added on December 3, 2010, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 3 2010, 06:18 PM)
Become
[attachmentid=1918969]
wow, wat kind of wood is it? look nice nod.gif

Added on March 21, 2011, 3:18 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by well: Mar 21 2011, 03:18 AM
koptalker11
post Mar 21 2011, 10:24 PM

45 posts

That looks awesome!
justin_5
post Mar 21 2011, 10:53 PM

310 posts

ur tv cabinet cost how much ah?
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 12:51 AM

253 posts

Dry kitchen with kitchen cabinet & island installed nod.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:55 am
QUOTE(koptalker11 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:24 PM)
That looks awesome!
thanks rclxms.gif

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:53 PM)
ur tv cabinet cost how much ah?
rm2.6k rclxms.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:57 amrenovation still under progress, like the island in dry kitchen still need to do the final adjustment smile.gif

This post has been edited by well: Mar 22 2011, 12:57 AM
myonedeco
post Mar 22 2011, 10:09 AM

Nice tv cabinet! you have an island in the kitchen! wink.gif
jojozep
post Mar 22 2011, 03:31 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(myonedeco @ Mar 22 2011, 10:09 AM)
Woo...tell me more...tell me more...
ccheng0085
post Mar 22 2011, 03:42 PM

123 posts

your tv cabinet 2.6k? may i know this price is including the tv back panel or not?
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 03:47 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Mar 22 2011, 04:42 PM)
your tv cabinet 2.6k? may i know this price is including the tv back panel or not?
ya 2.6k included everything can see form the pic smile.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(myonedeco @ Mar 22 2011, 11:09 AM)
thanks rclxms.gif but the island not yet done, will upload again once its complte

This post has been edited by well: Mar 22 2011, 03:52 PM
jojozep
post Mar 22 2011, 09:28 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(well @ Mar 22 2011, 03:47 PM)
ya 2.6k included everything can see form the pic smile.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 3:52 pm
thanks rclxms.gif but the island not yet done, will upload again once its complte
I was going to have an Island..but I will put a induction cooker in the island for cooking small stuff -like tacos..or even steamboat..there will be some high chairs for family to cook, eat,sit and chat...my Island will be not be in the middle..more like between dining area and kitchen..sort of like a breakfast bar...I think..
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 09:57 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Mar 22 2011, 10:28 PM)
I was going to have an Island..but I will put a induction cooker in the island for cooking small stuff -like tacos..or even steamboat..there will be some high chairs for family to cook, eat,sit and chat...my Island will be not be in the middle..more like between dining area and kitchen..sort of like a breakfast bar...I think..
good idea too!! rclxms.gif
already have the layout design for it??? thumbup.gif
Pegasus88
post Mar 24 2011, 07:10 PM

725 posts

QUOTE(well @ Dec 3 2010, 07:33 PM)

Added on March 21, 2011, 3:18 amuser posted image
Wow may i know what material is the black glossy surface which stick on ur wall behind ur tv cabinet?? thats so nice thumbup.gif

can take a closer photo? hehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pegasus88: Mar 24 2011, 07:11 PM
xepa
post Mar 24 2011, 07:47 PM

367 posts

wow ur house looks nice. i wish i am the owner tongue.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(well @ Mar 22 2011, 12:51 AM)

Dry kitchen with kitchen cabinet & island installed nod.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:55 am
thanks rclxms.gif
rm2.6k rclxms.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:57 amrenovation still under progress, like the island in dry kitchen still need to do the final adjustment smile.gif
how much is the kitchen cabinet?

This post has been edited by xepa: Mar 24 2011, 07:48 PM
TSwell
post Mar 24 2011, 10:55 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Mar 24 2011, 08:10 PM)
Wow may i know what material is the black glossy surface which stick on ur wall behind ur tv cabinet?? thats so nice thumbup.gif

can take a closer photo? hehe tongue.gif
thanks rclxms.gif
the black glossy surface is melamine wood also, will try to take another clearer photo tmr smile.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(xepa @ Mar 24 2011, 08:47 PM)
wow ur house looks nice. i wish i am the owner tongue.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 7:48 pm

how much is the kitchen cabinet?
included everything showing in the pic, approx RM7700~ smile.gif

Added on March 25, 2011, 1:15 am2nd master bedroom still empty, only installed the 8 feet wardrobe smile.gif

1st master bedroom lagi empty, wardrobe still not install, waiting for the carpenter smile.gif

This post has been edited by well: Mar 25 2011, 01:15 AM
dec08
post May 10 2011, 06:16 PM

461 posts

bet ur house is finish renovated and have a open house party already..lolz..
first thing i notice is ur dry kitchen...why part of ur kitchen skirting is not using concrete? smile.gif, must be adding it in the end and do not wish to do more wet work . U got a long height window too ...

living tv, looks like can get from any loosen furniture shop but backdrop is a nice...

home sweet home smile.gif
TSwell
post May 10 2011, 06:35 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dec08 @ May 10 2011, 07:16 PM)
bet ur house is finish renovated and have a open house party already..lolz..
first thing i notice is ur dry kitchen...why part of ur kitchen skirting is not using concrete? smile.gif, must be adding it in the end and do not wish to do more wet work . U got a long height window too ...

living tv, looks like can get from any loosen furniture shop but backdrop is a nice...

home sweet home smile.gif
not yet finish actually... still need do some touch up b4 moving in...lolz

and i still got a wet kitchen there, so this dry kitchen may not use to do kind of wet work rclxms.gif

this is the latest progress for the living room: smile.gif

keith_hjinhoh
post May 10 2011, 11:56 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

- 23 vibration sensor
- 6 magnetic sensor
- 1 motion sensor
- 3 keypad
- hacking and conceal for all cable

This is so overwhelming I reckon. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Btw, TS, how you got enough time to supervise and monitor the whole project?

I guess you must have taken a lot of time to plan and engage different contractor for different areas of work.
TSwell
post May 11 2011, 01:04 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 11 2011, 12:56 AM)
This is so overwhelming I reckon. sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Btw, TS, how you got enough time to supervise and monitor the whole project?

I guess you must have taken a lot of time to plan and engage different contractor for different areas of work.
the vibration sensors are for each door point & window, bcoz my house got lot of windows, so no choice sweat.gif

ya summore very headache especially when need to arrange schedule with those contractors bcoz some of the work need to be done then only can pass to another contractor sweat.gif

StArTRaiL191
post May 11 2011, 10:08 PM

43 posts

if u need some lighting ideas: http://www.facebook.com/PlayWithLights biggrin.gif
kin.tan10
post May 13 2011, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(StArTRaiL191 @ May 11 2011, 11:08 PM)
if u need some lighting ideas: http://www.facebook.com/PlayWithLights biggrin.gif
thanks for info
Drunken_Master
post May 20 2011, 09:08 AM

105 posts

wow, 7.7k for your kitchen cabinet is very cheap! is it inclusive of the island? also what type of material did you use for the surface?
TSwell
post May 20 2011, 10:33 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Drunken_Master @ May 20 2011, 10:08 AM)
wow, 7.7k for your kitchen cabinet is very cheap! is it inclusive of the island? also what type of material did you use for the surface?
thanks rclxms.gif
ya the price is included island, and its using solid surface as tabletop.

rivers
post May 21 2011, 01:21 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(well @ May 20 2011, 10:33 PM)
thanks rclxms.gif
ya the price is included island, and its using solid surface as tabletop.
Hi Well, do you mind sharing which KC contractor did this for you? price seems very reasonable.

TSwell
post May 21 2011, 06:34 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(rivers @ May 21 2011, 02:21 PM)
Hi Well, do you mind sharing which KC contractor did this for you? price seems very reasonable.
Hi I can PM you if you interested, but he only doing within negeri sembilan area only, my house not in Kl btw smile.gif
elaine_jing
post May 21 2011, 06:59 PM

can i know where u get ur wallpaper? very nice n love it. how much for ur KC? can you pm me ur kitchen cabinet contractor as well? thanks
maxguy
post May 21 2011, 07:07 PM

822 posts

i bought the wallpaper from this shop and with reasonable price
CSS Carpet Specialist Sdn.Bhd.
42,Jalan Puteri 5/2, Bandar Puteri, 47100 Puchong Selangor.
03-80685293 / 03-80685237

www.csscarpet.com.my
TSwell
post May 21 2011, 07:36 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(elaine_jing @ May 21 2011, 07:59 PM)
can i know where u get ur wallpaper? very nice n love it. how much for ur KC? can you pm me ur kitchen cabinet contractor as well? thanks
i got my wallpaper from LAMxX, he got show room at mid valley & sunway piramid.
and my KC cost around rm7.7k++ smile.gif
i need to find out my bill 1st bcoz the contact i cant remember, but his company name is SL sunlight furniture and doing within negeri sembilan area

Added on May 21, 2011, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(maxguy @ May 21 2011, 08:07 PM)
i bought the wallpaper from this shop and with reasonable price
CSS Carpet Specialist Sdn.Bhd.
42,Jalan Puteri 5/2, Bandar Puteri, 47100 Puchong Selangor.
03-80685293 / 03-80685237

www.csscarpet.com.my
how much for one roll? thx

Added on May 21, 2011, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(well @ May 21 2011, 08:36 PM)
i need to find out my bill 1st bcoz the contact i cant remember, but his company name is SL sunlight furniture and doing within negeri sembilan area

new photo after install window curtain

This post has been edited by well: May 21 2011, 10:52 PM
mav_850
post May 24 2011, 11:35 PM

287 posts

kenapa tak letak singki tu tengah2 tingkap kan cantik.. icon_rolleyes.gif

lizziewong
post May 25 2011, 04:37 PM

185 posts

Very nice reno... if u manage to keep cost to below 100k, then u done a very good job. The house layout and deco look very comfortable. Congrats!
SUSwankongyew
post May 25 2011, 04:57 PM

1,177 posts

Well, can you please PM me with the contact information for your renovation contractor in Negeri Sembilan? I'm planning on buying a house there soon. Thanks very much and great job with the photos and responses in your thread. It's a very useful resource for anyone planning to renovate.

Tried PMing you with this but it seems like your Inbox is full.
cmk96
post May 25 2011, 05:08 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ May 24 2011, 11:35 PM)
kenapa tak letak singki tu tengah2 tingkap kan cantik..  icon_rolleyes.gif

maybe he want to follow the old pipe location on the wall.

kelvyn
post May 27 2011, 11:38 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ May 25 2011, 06:08 PM)
could always relocate the old pipe (water incoming) slightly to accommodate the sink position at the center of the window. Just need a few pieces of wall tiles to replace the hacked tiles. This will look nice in the long run.
As for the waste piping under the sink, it should not need any hacking as the piping could always be connected to the existing water outlet. The cabinet doors will cover them anyway.
Just my humble opinion.

Overall reno work nicely done.

It really must have taken TS a lot of headache, nightmares and endless effort to get them completed. Imagine dealing with the various trades for the reno work. rclxms.gif
limch
post May 27 2011, 11:46 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(well @ May 21 2011, 07:36 PM)

Added on May 21, 2011, 10:51 pm
new photo after install window curtain
Nice curtain, how much it cost per foot? R they cotton?
TSwell
post May 27 2011, 12:11 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(lizziewong @ May 25 2011, 05:37 PM)
Very nice reno... if u manage to keep cost to below 100k, then u done a very good job.  The house layout and deco look very comfortable. Congrats!
the cost is still counting sweat.gif
i will summarize it once the job is completed, i also hope that can be below 100k

Added on May 27, 2011, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(cmk96 @ May 25 2011, 06:08 PM)
ya exactly, din notice this problem at initially

Added on May 27, 2011, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(kelvyn @ May 27 2011, 12:38 PM)
could always relocate the old pipe (water incoming) slightly to accommodate the sink position at the center of the window. Just need a few pieces of wall tiles to replace the hacked tiles. This will look nice in the long run.
As for the waste piping under the sink, it should not need any hacking as the piping could always be connected to the existing water outlet. The cabinet doors will cover them anyway.
Just my humble opinion.

Overall reno work nicely done.

It really must have taken TS a lot of headache, nightmares and endless effort to get them completed. Imagine dealing with the various trades for the reno work.  rclxms.gif
when i reliaze that already too late sweat.gif now if wan to redo, sure need to hacking again. cry.gif
ya its really headache especially when u meet those "problem" contractor flex.gif

Added on May 27, 2011, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(limch @ May 27 2011, 12:46 PM)
Nice curtain, how much it cost per foot? R they cotton?
i dunno issit cotton bcoz my mum help me to choose since she is experience on this biggrin.gif
1st of all i simply go one butik shop and get quote of rm18 per meter.
after that my mum doubt on that curtain quality and go to the shop to have a look.
when she come back then scold me kau kau rclxub.gif
so no choice i got to use this current curtain as rm35/meter rclxub.gif
i want to cry when i saw the bill doh.gif

This post has been edited by well: May 27 2011, 12:23 PM
nh71
post May 27 2011, 12:44 PM

20 posts

you could have made the window a bit higher so no water splashing on the window and grill.

BTW your living looks really nice!

This post has been edited by nh71: May 27 2011, 12:46 PM
limch
post May 27 2011, 10:19 PM

133 posts

Wa! RM35 per foot. I guess your curtain bill would come up to RM5k the least.
TSwell
post May 27 2011, 11:43 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(limch @ May 27 2011, 11:19 PM)
Wa! RM35 per foot. I guess your curtain bill would come up to RM5k the least.
doh.gif its over 5k
i just want to say alamak

Added on June 29, 2011, 4:05 amsome update for my house renovation:

master bed room:

This post has been edited by well: Jun 29 2011, 04:05 AM
orientaliew
post Jul 8 2011, 05:42 PM

331 posts

any updates?
stevenX
post Jul 10 2011, 01:55 PM

1,246 posts

woah very nice master bed room
woeijing83
post Jul 11 2011, 12:17 AM

379 posts

where you bought your curtain items?
jj5
post Jul 11 2011, 08:33 AM

17 posts

Very nice curtain at living hall. Can share the contact & the cost?
TSwell
post Jul 29 2011, 09:15 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Jul 10 2011, 02:55 PM)
woah very nice master bed room
thanks rclxms.gif

Added on July 29, 2011, 9:17 am
QUOTE(woeijing83 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:17 AM)
where you bought your curtain items?
i bought it from a shop located at my living small town - seremban smile.gif
you can try to go nilai3 if u are staying nearby, becoz nilai3 got a alot of curtain/carpet wholesaler there

This post has been edited by well: Jul 29 2011, 09:17 AM
siauann
post Jul 29 2011, 11:08 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(well @ May 27 2011, 11:43 PM)
doh.gif its over 5k
i just want to say alamak

Added on June 29, 2011, 4:05 amsome update for my house renovation:

master bed room:

nice renovation...how much damage it cost to ur wallet? smile.gif
TSwell
post Jul 29 2011, 02:37 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jul 29 2011, 12:08 PM)
nice renovation...how much damage it cost to ur wallet?  smile.gif
thanks smile.gif
you mean only this room or overall? nod.gif
siauann
post Jul 29 2011, 05:12 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

sorry..im referring to ur masterbedroom smile.gif
TSwell
post Jul 29 2011, 06:18 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jul 29 2011, 06:12 PM)
sorry..im referring to ur masterbedroom smile.gif
10k not included aircond & plaster ceiling..etc rclxub.gif
Kelvin5717
post Jul 29 2011, 11:44 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 29 2011, 06:18 PM)
10k not included aircond & plaster ceiling..etc rclxub.gif
how much it cost for the custome made design for the headboard ???? very nice la hahaha
TSwell
post Jul 30 2011, 12:34 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jul 30 2011, 12:44 AM)
how much it cost for the custome made design for the headboard ???? very nice la hahaha
tat one around 2k hmm.gif
@Adele
post Jul 30 2011, 03:05 PM

1,042 posts

ur living room curtain is really awesome. where to get?
TSwell
post Jul 30 2011, 11:39 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 30 2011, 04:05 PM)
ur living room curtain is really awesome. where to get?
Thanks smile.gif
i bought it from a shop located at my living small town - seremban smile.gif

Kelvin5717
post Jul 31 2011, 12:22 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 30 2011, 12:34 AM)
tat one around 2k hmm.gif
nice but 2k sweat.gif hmm.gif hahahaha do 3 rooms = 6k = panasonic 52" plasma full HD and got balance beli coffee table tongue.gif
TSwell
post Jul 31 2011, 04:08 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jul 31 2011, 01:22 AM)
nice but 2k  sweat.gif  hmm.gif hahahaha do 3 rooms = 6k = panasonic 52" plasma full HD and got balance beli coffee table  tongue.gif
ya expensive, but no choice since i like it drool.gif
alesi616
post Jul 31 2011, 03:03 PM

810 posts

HI, I notice all your downlights are with glass cover, is the downlight bulb insertion is vertical or horizontal type? single or double bulb? How many Watt per bulb?

I am still thinking using downlight with or without glass. I scare with glass cover the brighness is much dimmer. My living room have the L-box with hidden lights too, but I can't be always switch it on (as the total electric will cost a bomb!), so the downlights are my main source of lighting....
TSwell
post Jul 31 2011, 05:08 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jul 31 2011, 04:03 PM)
HI, I notice all your downlights are with glass cover, is the downlight bulb insertion is vertical or horizontal type? single or double bulb? How many Watt per bulb?

I am still thinking using downlight with or without glass. I scare with glass cover the brighness is much dimmer. My living room have the L-box with hidden lights too, but I can't be always switch it on (as the total electric will cost a bomb!), so the downlights are my main source of lighting....
mine is vertical bulb insertion type and single bulb only, depend on which location i want to install, living room~reading place im using 18~22watt; 11watt using on washroom~storeroom smile.gif
im also worry about this question regarding will it become dimmer if install the glass cover, but im still install it because i can remove the cover if not enough bright biggrin.gif
alesi616
post Jul 31 2011, 06:05 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 31 2011, 05:08 PM)
mine is vertical bulb insertion type and single bulb only, depend on which location i want to install, living room~reading place im using 18~22watt; 11watt using on washroom~storeroom smile.gif
im also worry about this question regarding will it become dimmer if install the glass cover, but im still install it because i can remove the cover if not enough bright biggrin.gif
hahahhhaa....!! u got a point too, remove the glass if too dim happy.gif
Kelvin5717
post Jul 31 2011, 08:53 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(well @ Jul 31 2011, 05:08 PM)
but then so far is it ok the lighthing for your house ? is there a day when u feel too dim and u remove the glass cover ? or all the while with the glass cover is also ok with u ?

how bout porch ? what is the watt usage for porch downlight ?
buzzle25
post Aug 1 2011, 11:38 AM

114 posts

actually, if not bright enough, can always change to a higher wattage bulb. Can't we?
weikee
post Aug 1 2011, 11:44 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Aug 1 2011, 11:38 AM)
actually, if not bright enough, can always change to a higher wattage bulb. Can't we?
If the opening is big, yes. Provided is using the build in Ballast. If using external ballast, the wattage is depend on the ballast.
alesi616
post Aug 1 2011, 01:03 PM

810 posts

WeiKee is right, I am going to use external ballast, so the selection (glass or no glass downlight) is very important to me, as I cant change to higher wattage bulb later >_<
Kelvin5717
post Aug 1 2011, 10:44 PM

742 posts

sorry but what is ballast ? tongue.gif
TSwell
post Aug 1 2011, 11:50 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jul 31 2011, 09:53 PM)
but then so far is it ok the lighthing for your house ? is there a day when u feel too dim and u remove the glass cover ? or all the while with the glass cover is also ok with u ?
how bout porch ? what is the watt usage for porch downlight ?
so far its ok and never remove the cover smile.gif

weikee
post Aug 1 2011, 11:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Aug 1 2011, 10:44 PM)
sorry but what is ballast ?  tongue.gif
In layman term, is call starter.
maxilife1
post Nov 4 2015, 08:32 PM

536 posts

no further update on the progress?

already 4 years now tongue.gif

0.1057sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:20 AM