MY house renovation START, step by step, portion by portion

TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 07:22 PM, updated 15y ago

253 posts

its my turn to start the renovation since i got the key for a years and consider too long tongue.gif

and since im poor, no budget to hire ID, so i decide to do it by my self, looking for contractor one by one, and ask for quotation from each of them.
i try my best to reno for the part that really useful of it since my budget not allow me to do luxury reno

i divide the renovation part by part as following:

1) construction work(such as:cement, etc) - approx rm12k
- place cement at the place behind the house, (35X10)psft
- place cement at the place beside the car porch, b4 its lawn, (20X6)psft
- build up a store room at corner under staircase
- add one door at first floor master bedroom to belcony, b4 tat its window there
- add one concrete table top at dry kitchen, 11 feet
- add one concrete table top at wet kitchen, L shape, total 9 feet
- heighten the ditch border to prevent mug go into it, 60 feet
- enlarge main gate place, remove the pillar and re-build it at correct place

2) wiring
3) alarm - approx rm3000
- 23 vibration sensor
- 6 magnetic sensor
- 1 motion sensor
- 3 keypad
- hacking and conceal for all cable

4) plaster ceiling - approx rm5.6k
[color=purple][size=5]- 1st floor corner------ 8 X 9(feet) plain board + L Box light thru
- living hall ------ 15 X 19(feet) plain board + L Box light thru
- dining + stair corner---- 11 X 25(feet) plain board + cornice
- dry kitcthen------ 12 X 17(feet) plain board + cornice
- wet kitchen------- 7 X 10(feet) plain board + cornice
- utility room------- 6 X 10(feet) plain board
- master bedroom 2----- 21 X 16(feet) plain board
- 2nd flr living hall ------ 11 X 25(feet) plain board
- master bedroom 1----- 21 X 16(feet) plain board + L Box light thru

5) cabinet (kitchen, wardrobe, tv console, etc)
6) tinted
7) painting - aproxx rm4k

- painting for whole internal of my house as 2900psft built up area semi-d
- painting part of external bcoz some part of it become dirty when do reno.

8) auto gate system
9)grill door & window
10) maingate
11) plumbing
12)

these all already make me faint rclxub.gif , hope i can last until all the jobs done.

ori house b4 reno

This post has been edited by well: Mar 25 2011, 01:19 AM
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 07:37 PM

253 posts

plaster ceiling

cement works
place behind the house, place the cements on it and thinking of want to tiling or not

remove the main gate, b4 that just a "small" main gate, now want to enlarge the main gate and add on one small gate at right side, the floor still think of want to tiling or not

wet kitchen stove place, build up this "table top" and move the water pipe from left to right

build up store room, b4 that just a corner under the staircase

add this door so that can go out to the "belcony". b4 tat no door at this place

This post has been edited by well: Nov 27 2010, 11:26 PM
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 08:19 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 27 2010, 09:07 PM)
I wonder how one will need to clean the plaster ceiling at the corner part (where it sinks in) as over time it will collect lots of dust and maybe our friendly bugs might live in.
tats y alot ppl dun like do the L-box like tis, since want to make it, then need to clean it by ourselve oledi thumbup.gif
TSwell
post Nov 27 2010, 11:01 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 27 2010, 09:37 PM)
Hi TS, where your house location?

I mind want to look contractor for quotation, do share with us your price here and workmanship comment.

I try to give all job to 1 ID but seems like the price is very high. They normally will give u lump sum amount.

Example, L Box at 10X11 cost 3K include the light, painting,wiring...all in 1. so very hard to split the price. unless i get the diff contractor quote on plaster ceiling price/psf ,wiring price, downlight....in this case i need to arrange my own which contractor need to start the job and which is last job.

please share with us ....
hi there,

thanks for the support, sure i will share out my price with my comment, just give me sometime, i try my best to list down one by one, mayb the quotation i got is not the cheapest in the market, but its already the cheapest among the quotations from those contractors sent me. and sure we need to consider the workmanship rite? notworthy.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(Eleganz Concept @ Nov 27 2010, 11:25 PM)
Why hiring ID is so call expensive?
hi bro,

ya what i mean is, i gave to those ID to quote me for my house reno, but they price is really expensive and i don't think so i can afford it.
and no choice then i only choose to do it myself.
i didn't mean for all ID for sure.
no hard feeling ya icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 27, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(Shazzac @ Nov 27 2010, 11:57 PM)

I don't think anyone here said that hiring an ID is expensive. One of the commenter just said that the ID has quoted him a very high price.

Please read through properly before commenting yea.
ya thanks for it notworthy.gif u got wat i mean

This post has been edited by well: Nov 27 2010, 11:07 PM
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 12:25 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Nov 28 2010, 01:09 AM)
btw, did u lay steel frame when u lay those cement/concrete on the lawn or earth? if not, be prepare to have 'cave in' later........if there is too much weight over it....just telling my experience.
blink.gif after tat what happen on urs??
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 12:44 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 28 2010, 01:34 AM)
Many IDs actually sub-contract out the works so it is more often more expensive then you directly deal with the contractor..  But if the ID is taking care of your renovation from start to end, the extras is well worth .
ya agreed. just i dun have the budget for it, so i force to use off my time to deal direct with contractor notworthy.gif
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:14 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 01:43 AM)
Your house very nice... where is it?

I assume u should b very faint now.. smile.gif grill first, then reno, then buy furniture, then electrical stuffs...

I don't see anyway to do it below 60k, unless u want to make it kampung house..
lol, my house located at kampung area, but doesn't mean to make it like kampung style, i will try to make it become modern.
and u r right, faint from the day 1 i start reno it, and one of the reason of faint is bcoz i wan to control the reno cost not over 100k.
60k? drool.gif i also want it
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:17 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 01:46 AM)
but making the big house full is really a big job right?

Added on November 28, 2010, 12:47 amwow.. u already one year get key but not yet renovate..

people will rush to move in one..
where is your place?
for me is quite big job bcoz i didnt make it b4, i didn't rush sure got reason, one of it is busy on my work, another one is bcoz i still got house to stay currently flex.gif
and my house located at kampung like area, not kl for sure smile.gif

Added on November 28, 2010, 1:19 am
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 02:17 AM)
do u mean 100k only for reno, or include everything like furniture and appliances?

i think people advise us not to choose branded.. shop around during year end sale will help..

i see my small house already want to faint already.. wink.gif
unfortunately, 100k only for reno, not yet include furniture and appliances, my pain.
i dun think i will choose branded, but i also need to see the quality 1st nod.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 28 2010, 01:20 AM
TSwell
post Nov 28 2010, 01:30 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 28 2010, 02:21 AM)
100k is already a lot.. and it must be cash too..

after spending big bucks on house, still need to pay for reno...

in fact developers should have done the normal things like grills and kitchen..
depend on house size i think, nod.gif 100k i still headache on lack of fund, especially if wan to make it become modern and nice.
ya nowadays most of the developer just give the "basic" things for new house, and those things are useless and we need to change it for sure.
btw, i got saw ur post, why not u post some of ur house pic, then others forumers may can help u and quote u?just my opinion icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 28 2010, 01:42 AM
TSwell
post Nov 29 2010, 01:38 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Aelous @ Nov 28 2010, 10:23 PM)
Totally agree. To make a modern and nice house is very hefty. I spent almost 200k on it and it still looks like a normal house  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
ya, if i never reno my house, i never know the cost is so high hmm.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 1:41 am
QUOTE(dopp @ Nov 28 2010, 11:30 PM)
That is pretty thick top..... u plan to chop bbq pig there?
sweat.gif bcoz i keep telling the contractor to make it thicker, b4 he finish it, its really thin like very fragile, my mistake sweat.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 1:47 am
QUOTE(yothim @ Nov 28 2010, 11:49 PM)
just imagine a bra without underwire..........it goes down. some tiles broke because the 'support' part is weak.........the best, put a steel bar as what my contractor said......even a tractor also can move over....
shocking.gif need to double confirm with my contractor, but i think he got make it since i inform him b4 i start the reno

This post has been edited by well: Nov 29 2010, 01:47 AM
TSwell
post Nov 30 2010, 12:35 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Nov 30 2010, 12:56 AM)
My house currently in reno too, cant wait to see end result
any progress to show?? rclxms.gif
TSwell
post Nov 30 2010, 11:02 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:29 PM)
Hi well, any price to update on reno at tis moment?
ya i will update in my first post rclxms.gif compare few contractors for my kitchen cabinet, wardrobe, etc on last week;still not decide to take which one hmm.gif

Added on November 30, 2010, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:31 PM)
yes i want to renovate my kitchen with hob and gas cooker.how much leh ?
hod i also survey-ing the price now, but the gas cooker i already bought the fotile brand, price rm 6XX, will upload the picture once installed, nod.gif

This post has been edited by well: Nov 30 2010, 11:04 PM
TSwell
post Dec 1 2010, 08:01 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 1 2010, 08:04 PM)
[attachmentid=1915301]
9 feets wet kitchen $1300 ( i supply 2x2)
relocation of piping $300 
hacking and lay new wall tiles( that portion) $300
* all others mats he bao.

[attachmentid=1915305]
Water proofing 3rd floor balcony, and lay tiles
he supply tiles and mats $450

[attachmentid=1915314]
Dry kitchen $7800 , without kitchen top(havent decide granite or Corian, if Corian, probably get direct from TSI-MrStuar)

More pix n progress in my camera...above pix from fone
wow nice man rclxms.gif
how long (feet)for your dry kitchen measurement for this quotation? nice quotation too
TSwell
post Dec 3 2010, 04:24 PM

253 posts

just get qoute for my house painting, 2900 psft built up area semi-d.
i ask for 3 contractor, finally decided pass to one of them that quote me rm4k. re-paint the whole int, and do touch up for ext since some part of ext become dirty after reno.
TSwell
post Dec 3 2010, 07:33 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 3 2010, 06:16 PM)
4k i assume not include paint?
I got quoted 3.8k for 3 storeys, no exterior but staircase rail+ all doors and staircase's step
this quote is included paint oledi hmm.gif
expensive or ?? ohmy.gif

Added on December 3, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Dec 3 2010, 06:16 PM)
ask them do you have a choice to choose let say Nippon paint and not any other 'less known' brand?
ya they got give me choice of nippon paint or mr.paint man, if wan to choose other brand also can, but need to choose the same level as rm9X/tin.
and he mention some part will undercoating some will not since this is new house, but i still worry that, so i already go there observe how they paint for it rclxub.gif

Added on December 3, 2010, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(dopp @ Dec 3 2010, 06:18 PM)
Become
[attachmentid=1918966]
[attachmentid=1918969]
wow, wat kind of wood is it? look nice nod.gif

Added on March 21, 2011, 3:18 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by well: Mar 21 2011, 03:18 AM
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 12:51 AM

253 posts

Dry kitchen with kitchen cabinet & island installed nod.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:55 am
QUOTE(koptalker11 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:24 PM)
That looks awesome!
thanks rclxms.gif

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Mar 21 2011, 11:53 PM)
ur tv cabinet cost how much ah?
rm2.6k rclxms.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 12:57 amrenovation still under progress, like the island in dry kitchen still need to do the final adjustment smile.gif

This post has been edited by well: Mar 22 2011, 12:57 AM
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 03:47 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Mar 22 2011, 04:42 PM)
your tv cabinet 2.6k? may i know this price is including the tv back panel or not?
ya 2.6k included everything can see form the pic smile.gif

Added on March 22, 2011, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(myonedeco @ Mar 22 2011, 11:09 AM)
Nice tv cabinet! you have an island in the kitchen! wink.gif
thanks rclxms.gif but the island not yet done, will upload again once its complte

This post has been edited by well: Mar 22 2011, 03:52 PM
TSwell
post Mar 22 2011, 09:57 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Mar 22 2011, 10:28 PM)
I was going to have an Island..but I will put a induction cooker in the island for cooking small stuff -like tacos..or even steamboat..there will be some high chairs for family to cook, eat,sit and chat...my Island will be not be in the middle..more like between dining area and kitchen..sort of like a breakfast bar...I think..
good idea too!! rclxms.gif
already have the layout design for it??? thumbup.gif
TSwell
post Mar 24 2011, 10:55 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Mar 24 2011, 08:10 PM)
Wow may i know what material is the black glossy surface which stick on ur wall behind ur tv cabinet?? thats so nice thumbup.gif

can take a closer photo? hehe tongue.gif
thanks rclxms.gif
the black glossy surface is melamine wood also, will try to take another clearer photo tmr smile.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(xepa @ Mar 24 2011, 08:47 PM)
wow ur house looks nice. i wish i am the owner tongue.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 7:48 pm

how much is the kitchen cabinet?
included everything showing in the pic, approx RM7700~ smile.gif

Added on March 25, 2011, 1:15 am2nd master bedroom still empty, only installed the 8 feet wardrobe smile.gif

1st master bedroom lagi empty, wardrobe still not install, waiting for the carpenter smile.gif

This post has been edited by well: Mar 25 2011, 01:15 AM
TSwell
post May 10 2011, 06:35 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dec08 @ May 10 2011, 07:16 PM)
bet ur house is finish renovated and have a open house party already..lolz..
first thing i notice is ur dry kitchen...why part of ur kitchen skirting is not using concrete? smile.gif, must be adding it in the end and do not wish to do more wet work . U got a long height window too ...

living tv, looks like can get from any loosen furniture shop but backdrop is a nice...

home sweet home smile.gif
not yet finish actually... still need do some touch up b4 moving in...lolz

and i still got a wet kitchen there, so this dry kitchen may not use to do kind of wet work rclxms.gif

this is the latest progress for the living room: smile.gif

0.0286sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:36 AM