QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 1 2010, 02:24 PM)
Can easily guess, tiles all that can easily guess and pricing can easily be found in tile shop. For my friends case it's MML homogenous 2X2 tiles.
Number of lighting points can roughly guess by counting the number of downlights.
For build in wardrobe can take outside wardrobe specialist price to compare to.
Same for kitchen. Everything can be counted pfr.
For wood it's either solid wood or melamine or plywood or chipboard. Thickness you can see and can compare with outside market. Again everything can be compared.

no offence Drian, but did you really check in details all those items in depth? Lighting points , who knows he re-wire the whole house with better quality wires? Even the downlights, a better built d/l cost $30 a piece as opposed to maybe 10 ringgit one... Built-in wardrobe, a melamine board any plywood won't be the same, same goes to what solid surface(local or samsung makes a huge difference) he has chosen? Yes, unless we compare apple to apple, hard to tell really if he has paid 100K more premium than the usual..
btw. The most cut-throat item in my whole reno quotation is the tiles actually...by getting the tiles myself i'm saving at least 40%-50% of the cost quoted from my ID... Anyhow in general i do agree that by engaging ID it cost more than dealing direct, but when you don't have much time to follow through the entire renovation period , engaging ID is the key and it becomes a necessity.
This post has been edited by numbertwo: Dec 1 2010, 03:40 PM