Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 08:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nncl @ Dec 6 2010, 07:00 PM)
i am installed on emmc , don't know why feel laggy , wanna try oc in nitdroid , after installed leafpad, mount mmcblk0p5 (emmc) and follow front page method, but don't know why come out a blank page.

Added on December 6, 2010, 7:02 pm

btw, sea master , do you successful mount NTFS with power v46+ h-e-n?
I don't get what you're trying to say.
Are you saying you transfered NITDroid files to eMMC after installing in microSD?

Yup.I can mount NTFS drive with h-e-n.
I've been able to this even with kernel power v45.

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 6 2010, 07:03 PM)
Sifu my battery lasts about 1 1/2 day.
More or less similar to mine...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 11:04 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

^I think he only flashed root?

Anyway he's using the lethos method of OC.Not kernel power.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 11:12 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 11:01 PM)
Thanks sifu SEA..
but i guess i would learn C++
Qt is like c++ with GUI implementation..
Is like VB with c++ commands and more GUI functions..
correct me if im wrong ^^
More or less correct.
If you're IT student learning this should not be too hard.
But for engineering student like me it's very hard to learn multiple computer program language.We were only taught C.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 11:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 11:10 PM)
latest method is how? fiasco image flashing?
Yup.Simple fiasco flash.
It's a simple method but the OC isn't as flexible as kernel power method.

Anyway since the OTG/Hostmode is now based on the kernel power kernel even letho's OC users need to use kernel power if they want to use OTG/Hostmode.
But I have no idea whether kernel power & letho's fiasco flashing OC method will work together.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 11:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 6 2010, 11:17 PM)
i trying to boot gparted cd at my pc, but cannot..
Haish.. referring to the tutorial, it seems quite easy compared to fdisk method..huhu

btw..why dun u  as a grandmaster juz suggest the optimum size for nitdroid..
Maybe 3 partition, maemo, meego, Nitdroid..

but for current being, maybe i'll just stick to installing to microsd card..

"ape guna beli class 10 kalau tak pakai..RM 85 tu..." lol

i read at tmo, uboot can working together with multiboot, but need to install the multiboot 1st than uboot..

then..bye2 meego... see u later... laugh.gif
I'm using 3GB for NITDroid & leaving 4GB blank for MeeGo.
GParted should be the easier method because of the GUI support.I'll ask one1002 on how to use it properly(I'm old school fdisk loving guy)

I may no longer using my class10 microSD for OS loading but I have no regret buying it.
I'm using it to store songs & video files now.As I prove with the benchmark screenshot,this is card is very fast & more suitable for file storing purpose.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 04:20 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuLaNaR @ Dec 7 2010, 03:31 AM)
lol..i've need to check at my phone to knew what pr u referring about..

btw..what ver of sygic u currently using?
im not using, just collect my phone at nokia care, they installed new firmware for me maybe. how to check pr? version 10. i think i just copy from link provided here last time. i mean sygic
I think some of the broken Sygic installer can cause error during installation.

Type *#0000#
Compare your firmware with frontpage.

Some of NITDroid screenshot.Nothing special.

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 01:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

After watching Nexus S & Honeycomb preview I feel like yelling "RELEASE THE DAMN MEEGO NOKIA! laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 02:59 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Anyone still on default kernel?
Post your battery graph screenshot here if you do.

Kernel power v46 definitely have power draining issue.
I've been alternating between kernel power & default kernel for the past 4 days.Default kernel gives a much better battery usage period.

For example from 3am to 12pm with with default kernel will only use around 5% battery.But with kernel power(oced) it'll use around 15%.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 06:53 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Dec 7 2010, 06:50 PM)
sifu i need help....

i try installing the filebox earlier but it keep failed
then it keep prompting has broken package.... check said got dependencies have problem call bzip2.

Wat should i do?
Try downloading Faster Application Manager download filebox with it.
It'll auto install dependencies.

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 7 2010, 06:50 PM)
ubuntu +2GB and Fedora also +2GB
Ubuntu not that smooth right?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 07:09 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Dec 7 2010, 07:02 PM)
meLi is using ubuntu running LXDE..yes it's smooth..however, you cannot view your files in Maemo if u are running those distros..eg: if u want to listen to mp3 in ubuntu, you will need to copy the mp3 from maemo, and paste it inside the ubuntu folder so that ubuntu can read it..

atm, ubuntu cannot read/view/execute files on maemo..
The last time I tried it the whole thing felt laggy.Used LXDE too.

Anyway I don't think I can give it another shot.Running out of space doh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 07:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Dec 7 2010, 07:27 PM)
i am using the faster application manager.
not only this but same goes mobile hotspot also having same problem.
Can you provide screenshot?

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 7 2010, 07:39 PM)
not much laggy. I'm running stock kernel.

tq
Tempted to try again but no space sweat.gif
Anyway to upgrade eMMC to 64Gb? laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 08:07 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 7 2010, 07:51 PM)
use mmc instead of emmc  notworthy.gif

Added on December 7, 2010, 7:52 pm

install manually for bzip2 and see what error come out. Once successful install bzip2 then continue install filebox. If not check your repository

apt-get install bzip2
See 1st..
My MMC full of stuff.

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 7 2010, 08:01 PM)
@sifu SEA
remember about ur thought on running terminal and automatic gain root access?
i thought of an idea
Write a execution command widget.. some sort like a shell script
errm
run xterminal
sudo gainroot..
something like that
This is the surefire way.
What I want to do is edit the sudoers file instead.If this was done properly everytime you open terminal it'll be opened with root permission.
I know there are plenty of ways to achieve this but I just want to mess with the sudoers file. laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 10:10 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 7 2010, 08:19 PM)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=528303
maybe this link would help?
finished with ur exams ad SIFU?
Yeah.On holiday now.

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 7 2010, 08:52 PM)
enable extras devel repository

apt-get update
apt-get install bzip2
Seems like bzip out of repo?
http://maemo.org/packages/view/bzip2/

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 7 2010, 09:47 PM)
Anyone here using digi with nitdroid... when using maemo my sim no issues.. once boot to Nitdroid sim error pops out.. any idea guys..
No such issue with me.And my sim card is quite old.

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 7 2010, 09:56 PM)
tried rebooting for about 5 times no changes... but then now my N900 is hot and also battery drained form  50 %  to  9%
Rebooting will reduce approximately 5% of your battery.So your battery should only reduce around 25%.
Anything else you did during the reboot?

Added on December 7, 2010, 10:11 pmNITDroid homescreen wallpaper making sucks big time doh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 7 2010, 10:11 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 7 2010, 11:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Incoming call - yes(works everytime)
Outgoing call - yes(works everytime)

Main issue is no voice transmission yet.

Incoming message - yes
Outgoing message - not sure,never try

NITDroid project is not dead.It's just eyes(the main contributor) just started working in new workplace.He's still improving things with NITDroid.
Expect good result with NITDroid v0.0.9
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 8 2010, 12:43 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Dec 8 2010, 12:27 AM)
ok sifu... now i install the latest enhance Linux kernel and restart my phone and follow through all the steps in the USB on-the-go.... when i open the H-E-N it tells me

"Your kernel has no proper matching version of hostmode API!
Version 20101110 required.
Kernel-power v46 is suggested."

below it shows a
ERROR! Current kernel version:2.6.28-omap1
so my question is the Enhance Linux kernel i download frm the Faster Application Manager isnt the v46 is it?

Sorry this is my first time messing with custom kernel.
Yes.That's the 1.
The h-e-n team no longer release their own kernel.You'll need kernel power v44/45/46 to make h-e-n work.

The instructions are at frontpage.

QUOTE(kertas_a4 @ Dec 8 2010, 12:34 AM)
hi. new n900 owner reporting. tongue.gif

juz played with my n900 for a few days, done nitdroid multiboot. currently i have
1-omap kernel (maemo)
2-v46 (maemo)
3-nitdroid

wanna try h-e-n. download and installed. but, read on the internet it will replace current power kernel and OC will not work. is it true? will it effect the v46 kernel?

also, how to reverse the OC?

and, which is better, multiboot or uboot?

hehehe..1st post already ask so many question. is it ok? LOL

also, i already bought female-female usb adapter for h-e-n.
The h-e-n related kernel function has been integrated to kernel power v46.You can start using OTG/Hostmode by installation h-e-n application from App Manager.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 02:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 10 2010, 12:45 AM)
Nitdroid is not integrated with uboot yet
here is the link for u
Not exactly true.
uboot is sort like GRUB which normally used to install windows & linux in standard PC.
As long as you know how to configure it in theory it'll work in any OS.

QUOTE(kertas_a4 @ Dec 10 2010, 12:49 AM)
wow, so long the process...  rclxub.gif

gonna try tomorrow nite. heheh... tq2

btw, is it true multiboot will affect the hardware?
Yet to be proven myth.

Well,I'm back after 3 days.Busy picking up my parents from KLIA,got severe allergy till I cannot even type doh.gif & messing with my sisters iPhone 4.
5 minutes with safari is enough to tell me that microB is a better browser.Safari is a good mobile browser but it's no match to microB's site display.
Another 5 minutes was enough to tell me that as long as iOS remain in current "locked" condition I'll never buy/own iPhone.
Mind you,even my sister who's a doctor keep complaining about the darn OS limitation.Unfortunately most of her work related stuff/app only work with iPhone.
She asked me to jailbreak it after using it for 1 day.Steve Jobs,you phailed big time.

Back to Nokia site,I heard bunch of good stuff about N9.Seems like Nokia committed to release MeeGo device only when the OS is matured.This is big change from past experience with Symbian & Maemo.Seems like the UI will be something new & interesting too.From what I can gather it seem there is already prototype version with MeeGo 1.2 alpha version.1 of the feedback was very encouraging.

Simply said it's look the force is strong with Nokia now.Let the empire strike back.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 03:34 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Dec 11 2010, 03:18 PM)
yeah..see the N9,Most likely just an upgrade look from N97..just a sight maybe..
will run meego,hope they will be on N900 also..for the official one.. blush.gif
Ok.I'll say something bit don't start flame war.

For me N97 is "garbage" in term of smartphones.It has too much of issues simply not suitable for current time.
Your assumption is slightly wrong.N9 should be N900's successor.Majority of the review praised N900 but made comment that the OS need some revamp that suits average users.
Another prove that N900 is well received is even though it's widely known that N900 is a testing device there were a lot demand for it.

N9 or whatever Nokia called their MeeGo phone will definitely be a much polished product hardware wise & software wise compared to N97.But the million dollar question is will it be as polished as iPhone & Android based device?

I've included iPhone a s good device because no matter how much I dislike this phone I cannot deny that the OS feels really super smooth.

P/S:Did I mention that I feel iPhone is like high end Nokia 3310? laugh.gif

Added on December 11, 2010, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 11 2010, 03:23 PM)
gsmarena already show the spec of N9. it is superb. but N9 seem kinda like E7 thou. hopefully when N9 launch, it have all black color like N900. tongue.gif
Correction:Alleged spec.
Only Nokia know the real spec for now.
Not even Eldar Murtazin know much about this.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 11 2010, 03:37 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 04:09 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 11 2010, 04:03 PM)
the demand is not big enough thats why nokia let it go.
It was never targeted for mass market anyway.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 04:32 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Dec 11 2010, 04:16 PM)
if buy n900 now, is it too late ? worry about new OS or new gen of n900 coming soon on next year.......
You can buy N900 after 5 years there would still be a support from Maemo community.
Most of the Maemo based Internet Tablets depends on the community for the apps & updates.

There are 2 N810 users here & there are pretty happy with their device eventhough it's an old device.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 06:37 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 11 2010, 06:20 PM)
It's a great product with great OS, but let down by Nokia. If they just continue to work on it, improve it, etc. It'll surely turn out very special, different from the rest; but they decided to end it off. MeeGo is kind of different from Maemo, very different feel, more towards Android feel.

Anyway, despite all that, thanks to the community, the Maemo OS is still kicking and surviving, getting more and more features/functionality; Right now, I would say this N900 is being held back by it's limitation in terms of hardware, else it'll be even more kicking *ss...
However the developers said they will keep MeeGo a class above Android.
Although Android is also linux based but it does carry some limitation.Hopefully MeeGo don't have such limitation.
My biggest concern is the MeeGo team won't trade Maemo's power as desktop class OS for a fancy UI full of Android imitation.

MeeGo do have some advantage over iOS & Android.
MeeGo is basically an OS targeted to multiple devices(handset,media center,netbook,in vehicle assistance etc2)
In theory all version have basic structure of OS but the functions are programmed differently to suit the specific need.
So with theory it's very easy to port this OS to upcoming devices.
Once the OS is consumer I expect Nokia & Intel to promote this OS for every single devices.

In other case iOS & Android(at least till v2.3) actually only suitable as smartphone OS.For those who have used iPad & Android tablets you guys should know that the tablets are actually a giant smartphones.MeeGo hopes to bring a proper tablet functions(I've no idea what are the stuff that'll be added).

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:54 PM