Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 4 2010, 08:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 4 2010, 05:35 PM)
Reducing the life span of NAND memory is not true.
That's what the professionals told me SIFU
check this thread on the multiboot
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=66317
Only time can prove that.

Darn...I'm addicted to Asphalt5 now...

Got bored so changed boot video again.Now my N900 really feels like computer sweat.gif

Download link - http://www.mediafire.com/?zj5a4xqjdgbsohd

@jananan
You removed google application in Android by Maemo's terminal?
Android terminal sucks big time.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 4 2010, 09:41 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Tho those who are using NITDroid & have problem installing Angry Birds Season,do the following :

Download Astro File manager or Root Explorer
Save your apk file in internal memory(MyDocs)
Open File manager or Root Explorer & move the apk file to data -> app
Change the permission so you can move the file
Unmount the SD Card - In NITDroid case it's our Internal Memory aka MyDocs
Lauch the apk file with File Manager or Root Explorer now The application should install fine.

But the Halloween Episode keep on crashing.I'll try to find out the problem later.

Added on December 4, 2010, 9:53 pmEdit:Ok,this isn't exactly the best solution but muting the sound in Angry Birds Seasons make the game runs fine.
No stutter any any other issue with the game.Enjoy yourself.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 4 2010, 09:53 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 12:43 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 4 2010, 11:20 PM)
root explorer's good eh ?  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on December 4, 2010, 11:23 pmWARNING : do not remove any other files other than what you see listed above, dire consequences.

believe me, i have experimented and i know the extreme.

you'll have a lean and mean NITdroid installation after removing all these files.

and you should have around 150MB - 160MB RAM after fresh boot, meaning apps will launch faster and have more RAM to work with (esp. web browsing is smooth)
Pretty good.Very lightweight.But I'm using Astro File Manager as my backup file manager.Got some extra functions.

I guess for coming few days I'll be raping the NITDroid.Too bad the terminal support in Android is really crappy.
I'm trying to enable ADB Shell with N900 now.
My 1st priority is to enable USB Flash mode in NITDroid.

Can't even type "echo /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/gadget/lun0/file" in Android terminal doh.gif
No idea how to type " < " symbol.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 02:16 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 5 2010, 01:30 AM)
dude, press the blue function key (the upward pointing arrow) and then hit the CTRL key.

you will get the extra characters < > and the rest

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:32 amand there is a mistake in the command....

its actually...

echo /dev/block/vold/179:9 > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/gadget/gadget-lun0/file

and you type this is maemo...

then reboot to nitdroid and connect usb

it detects the emmc when plugges in, drive appears but it says cant access filesystem... weird...
Eyes closing fast right now...Maybe I'll try this tomorrow.

I copy paste the wrong code doh.gif

Maybe need extra scrip to enable the read/write permission? hmm.gif

QUOTE(vaizard @ Dec 5 2010, 01:47 AM)
already update to PR 1.3
but still cant get good signal...
it cause by my simcard or this device itselft?
Try with other sim card.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 02:34 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Nokia N9 rumoured specs: 4.2″ AMOLED, 1600mAh, 190 Million Polygon/s power, 768MB RAM, 1GB ROM, 12MP

I found it somewhat too far fetch. unsure.gif

Found out that some Android phone - even some high end,cannot play Angry Birds Seasons for some reason.
N900 can play without much issue brows.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 03:04 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 5 2010, 03:01 AM)
If it's true... My wait was worth it...

Make it happen Nokia, for the love of God, make it happen. Oh and the 720p screen too? Show the fruit how HD is supposed to be done lol.
If the specs were real I have to rob banks to buy N9 sweat.gif

However, sdc* is not visible in /proc/partitions, but launch of fdisk /dev/sdc fixes this.

@jananan
maybe this related to the not detected problem?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 03:12 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 5 2010, 03:08 AM)
they are talking about executing the command in nitdroid...

but i executed in maemo with the /dev/mmcblk0p5 mounted....

weird...
hmm.gif
That command didn't work for me.I installed my NITDroid in mmcblk0p4.
Terminal replied me that the the directory don't exist...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 12:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Oi...Mana update for Angry Birds Maemo version???

Nokia OVI team really screwing up things...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 02:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 5 2010, 02:35 PM)
Why want to update? Got update?...

Added on December 5, 2010, 2:36 pm
N9 is like the purfect phone if it seriously packs those specs biggrin.gif

Added on December 5, 2010, 2:39 pmMinimum specs for Meego 1.2+ is 512mb RAM, means N900 is not clear for Meego 1.2+ ?sad.gif
One of the guy working for Rovio mentioned that they have submitted new level for OVI.The OVI team supposed to release the update within 5 working days.But no update so far doh.gif

So far no official announcement about the hardware spec for MeeGo but I don't think the 512MB RAM of minimum requirement.
Only real thing is you need a larger NAND memory than N900(256MB) because MeeGo image is much larger compared to Maemo.

P/S:Don't you have exam tomorrow?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 5 2010, 02:53 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 05:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Kernel power 46 + h-e-n works very well now.

Doodle Jump time whistling.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 06:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 5 2010, 06:12 PM)
Means the USB host mode is working fine now? smile.gif
It always been working fine,at least for me.
Now it's refined a bit more.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 5 2010, 07:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 5 2010, 07:07 PM)
doh.gif      doh.gif       doh.gif      doh.gif 
Damn big picture...Barely fit my 22" screen laugh.gif

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 5 2010, 07:15 PM)

Change the date for every level lor biggrin.gif
Nope.Even the Android version is same.You'll need to connect to internet in order to unlock the particular dates level.I'm stuck in level 5 too.
Only plus thing in Android is we have the access to the Angry Birds files.Some of the users are trying to hack the level limitation.

Halloween is unlocked.
I can say 1 thing for sure,the Christmas edition of Angry Birds is the hardest episode ever.

I'm not big birthday cake fan but I don't mind if someone give me cake like this tongue.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 5 2010, 10:27 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 02:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 6 2010, 02:18 PM)
owh..it seems u already abandoned the uboot ya grandmaster?

Then i shall folo sifu..
The only reason i stick to v45 to uboot for meego..

but now, evryone talking bout nitdroid, game on it,
Make me feel to forgetting the meego for a while, and switch to nitdroid..huhu

I really addicted with the doodle jump and really wanna try the new angry birds..huhu
I'm still gathering info on uboot.Remember,there is no proper guide for the uboot so I have to start from scratch.
It may take some time...

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 6 2010, 02:19 PM)
im not sure what is happening .. but every time i go 5 days W/O reboot my N900 will
become very slow and non responsive..
How long can your phone last with single charge?
I feel like my battery running down too fast.About 20% gone in 8 hours.

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 02:29 PM)

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 03:03 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 6 2010, 01:43 PM)
Guys, one question..

I've experiencing something..just recently figured it out..(after many2 time occur)

If the phone being on for 3 days(w/o reboot/off)
The cpu usage will be quite weird..even not in use..
hmm...Below was the screenshoot of the usage..
Juz see at the 1am to 5am ---No activity on that time b'coz i'm still sleeping..

[attachmentid=1922974]  <----After 3days uptime
[attachmentid=1922977]  <----Not yet 3days..

Did i miss anything about this at this thread??

Btw..i've got the swappolube install already..
This is normal.
You'll only have problem your CPU spikes for no reason.

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 6 2010, 02:36 PM)
I think all sifu/Grandmaster here 4sure didn't arrive at this prob since they keep switching between maemo & Nitdroid..  tongue.gif

Or maybe they keep reboot the phone after tweaking done  tongue.gif
I've gone 21 days without reboot during my PR 1.2 days.You can use some tricks to refresh RAM so the lag won't be noticeable.
But now I'm rebooting only daily basis because of my constant hacking that requires reboot to see whether changes works or not.

QUOTE(nncl @ Dec 6 2010, 02:37 PM)
you guys can gaming on NITDROID?  i feel so lag when my phone on that OS, don't know why.I only hope is the NITDROID GPS port perfect ,then I can  use the PAPAGO gps navigate software.
I'm assuming you installed NITDroid on microSD?What class of microSD are you using?
Previously I've tried NITDroid on Class 4(Toshiba & Kingston) & Class 10(Kingmax).The OS run ok with these cards.Asphalt5 runs great.

You can try moving your NITDroid into internal memory to get performance boost.

I'm thinking of writing another guide on installing NITDroid in internal memory but trouble is there are too many methods of partitioning internal memory.
one1002 says GParted is the easiest way but I got stuck with it.I prefer fdisk method.
Aside from this which partition method to choose there is also the size & number of partition matter.
Some like small 2GB partition,some prefer 5GB & there are also people who want multiple partition to store other stuff.

I think we need to choose a single best method of partitioning before I can write any uide.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 03:57 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 03:13 PM)
OK problem here...
I have the preenv deb file ( cant find preenv in app manager .. which repo?)
And operation failed.. Incompatible package.. why?
Enable extra devel - It won't show at any repo

Type apt-get install preenv

What's the response now?

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 04:02 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 04:00 PM)
typed this to got it working

root
apt-get install libgles1-sgx-img
ap-get install preenv
apt-get install libsdl-net1.2
That means you didn't type the dependencies program earlier.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 04:26 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 04:14 PM)
yeah true.. anyway thanks..
sifu.. u got any knowledge of python?
Nope.Never bother to learn python.
Because I found most most of the python related stuff script/app is memory hogger & hard to write also.

Why do you think the h-e-n team dumped python to QT for their GUI?

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 04:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Dec 6 2010, 04:27 PM)
hehe power46+h-e-n works flawlessly. btw i try only power46 and h-e-n. didnt dl all the  sript.figured everything is inside hen.

test playing a mkv from pendrive. no problemo.

prolly gonna buy a usb-ethernet adapter next month and test it out.

big thanks to super_evil_alien
Yeah.The mounting in h-e-n is working well now.
But MuhammadAG mentioned that once h-e-n upgrade from beta the mount function will be dropped.
I assume there will be automount.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 04:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 6 2010, 04:36 PM)
Oooo ok.. how about c++ on n900?
tried that before?
Nope.Don't think c++ will be compatible with maemo.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 6 2010, 06:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

^Read this
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=34412&page=8

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:18 AM