Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 9 2011, 12:34 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Feb 8 2011, 10:46 PM)
hi. im interested to switch from N8 to N900. i need some advice. thanks a lot~ smile.gif
Main question,why do you want to dump N8?

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 8 2011, 11:45 PM)
walao.. dont leave n900 sifu josh...
and anyone tried metaspoilt exploitation on n900?
i cant seem to launch it

Added on February 8, 2011, 11:54 pmhttp://www.engadget.com/2011/02/08/myriad-alien-dalvik-runs-android-apps-on-any-phone-starting/

a reason master josh shud keep his n900

The thing is I don't know how exactly to get android app in maemo.Will the devs open their own repo to supply the "recompiled" program or will we have to have to install the app through the apk file using a os emulator like preenv.
I guess more will be known a MWC.

Speaking of MWC,the Nokia keynote day is near.My chance of buying next Nokia device depends on Elop's announcement on MeeGo device development.If Nokia take WP7 as primary OS then I'll bail on them.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 9 2011, 01:02 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Feb 9 2011, 12:53 AM)
not dump, i originally wants a N900 but ter'bought' N8 instead..now my past is haunting me back and i want a N900. can u advise me a bit? smile.gif
What kind of phone functions are you looking forward?
Remember that N900 is a fairly outdated model.You may have to spend some time to hack the OS to add some functions.

Simply to say:If you want good camera phone with regular software support,stick with N8 ; if you want an all rounder phone & you're willing to hack the phone,take N900
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 9 2011, 01:36 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Clearly the device has been powered up & detected but it's not mounting.
Tried manual mounting?

BTW are you using SCSI device?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 9 2011, 11:39 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Feb 9 2011, 07:34 AM)
basically i want a physical qwerty and a more fun functions in a phone. i havent made up my mind yet but im now gathering some info on the N900. kinda noob in hacking. smile.gif
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 9 2011, 09:04 AM)
Hacking is awful fun I have to agree, and you can make the N900 run a LOT of OSes and have fun. Also if you surf the Internet a lot and type a lot, you will enjoy the N900.

But if you wanna rely on it as a PRIMARY COMMUNICATION DEVICE, you better be sure you want a device that is  cool.gif very much experimental in nature.

Also, the USB OTG function of the N8 is stable and easy to use. And as one1002 mentioned above, it might just stop working on the N900 because that function TOO is experimental, like many other parts of the N900, portrait mode included.

Don't get me wrong here, the N900 is a GREAT device, if you understand and can accept it's shortcomings, as outlined above.

Also, the E7 is coming very, very soon. But keep in mind, it has an utterly crap camera module and no microSD slot.

A bit OT but I find it a pleasent surprise that a PecahPenjara TelefonSaya feels very, very much like the N900 in use. Just yesterday I played around with root terminal and dpkg to find some errant packages that was causing some trouble, crashing my Kedai Kupu-Kupu lol.

Not to mention I had to go to the /var/ themes folder to adjust some PapanMusimSejuk themes manually. Ah the freedom, confirm I can only really live with Unix derived mobile OSes (Android not included, due to the steaming pile of poo called the Dalvik VM).

I do miss the N900's hardware keyboard though, especially when posting on LYN or when composing a long email (or when messing around in terminal brows.gif )
TelefonSaya's on screen keyboard is better suited at landscape.Typing long stuff in potrait mode will definitely cause you to make mistake.
But surprisingly I kinda like HTC's on screen keyboard in both modes.Have rather accurate sensitivity & the text prediction is excellent.Provided you want to type with proper english of course.

QUOTE(memrize @ Feb 9 2011, 11:06 AM)
guys..
i got myself a rootsh..
i did try to edit the value of
/sys/class/i2c-adapter/i2c-2/2-0063/power_level
to 118 (originally 110.. even after use fm_boost oso 110)
but it doesnt change anything using vi.. using filebox edit thru note and save oso cannot one.. it said is read only file.. whats wrong with my devices? am i missing something?
looks like the fm_boost script doesnt change anything..
Install leafpad from AppManager.
Open terminal & type the following:
CODE
leafpad /sys/class/i2c-adapter/i2c-2/2-0063/power_level

Be careful by editing i2c stuff.This thing can brick device at hardware level.

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Feb 9 2011, 11:13 AM)
lol.. It tooks me a while to understands these word..huhu  biggrin.gif
Btw..Kedai Kupu-Kupu??  hmm.gif  Store Butterfly? hoho
Won't take those who experienced in pecahpenjara long to understand the words.
We have to use coding because LYN don't allow discussion about pecahpenjara doh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 9 2011, 11:03 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Feb 9 2011, 10:31 PM)
Hi Guys,

Guess wat?? I drop my lovely N900 into a super "Clean" Drain..

OMFG!!!!

Lets pray it can be repaired
Cannot turn on now?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 03:26 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Cannibal @ Feb 10 2011, 02:57 PM)
i been using since it launched in m'sia. bought it for 2.2k. spent like total 80hours just to make something work (meego nitdroid firmware flashing etc).

some did impressed me, like 3g-wifi tethering, dslr remote shuttle, web experience. but the effort to make it work is not worth it.

last night i left my phone charging and when i came back to my phone, all the text became "label". time didn't showed (instead it showed wdgt_va_24h_time). googled it and found this:

http://www.sumoudou.org/%E7%9B%B8%E6%92%B2...kia%20N900.html

when i tried to apt-get install locale, it said my libc6 didn't meet the required version. i think must be easy debian screwed up. quickest solution was to reflash my firmware. end up i spent another 4 hours, and what I got is a reflash solution.

i said n900 is the worst phone, mainly because it lacks of official support. been a nokia fan for 10 years and this will definitely be my last nokia phone.

Added on February 10, 2011, 2:58 pm
by the way, you need to see whatsapp or bbm before you say it has best IM tool. otherwise, we just think differently.
Well yeah.Maemo is fairly solid OS but there are infinite number of changes that can be done to improve the OS.This is Nokia's fault,not the OS.

N900 is my only phone & I'm rather satisfied with.My N900 has been butchered at software level for number of times that I can't even remember and yet it's working better than the 1st day I bought this phone.

About whatsapp,obviously if the developers want to release Maemo version they could have done it.But since the target OS customer is so small it's not worth it to allocate high budget to port the app.
Anyway I don't really care about whatsapp.SMS is cheap for me.

To the webOS,I think I said before that I'm fan of webOS?
Today's product launch made me more impressed.I especially love the smartphone & tablet communicating to each other function.
The OS is excellent,hardware spec is good but the overall phone design is out.Nokia E7 is simply excellent at this design department.

Hopefully at Nokia's Day of Destiny tomorrow Mr Elop will announce something similar.No need to show off the hardware.Just some announcement is enough.
But no to Windows Phone 7.Proprietary OS turn me off.

I'll say this : "Give MeeGo as much chance as you gave to Symbian"

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 10 2011, 03:32 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 04:25 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Feb 10 2011, 04:21 PM)
Maybe a nokia tablet with windows 7? ooo
And the nokia N9-00 has been discontinued
Coming out with N9-01?
HMm...
It's a logical move.
Now Nokia can update some hardware(mainly CPU) & release the updated version of device as N9-01.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 05:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Feb 10 2011, 04:50 PM)
U know what GrandMaster,
Ur comment always 'mantap' huhu
Sure you "Rajin membaca" kan..haha
Haha..Actually I do like to like stuff.Especially looong articles.

Example : http://communities-dominate.blogs.com/bran...is-the-how.html
Contains good facts could be useful for the engineers on how to reach out the users better.

Also since we are talking of articles,maybe you guys should read this : http://communities-dominate.blogs.com/bran...to-my-ears.html
Written by former Nokia employee who don't think not everything in the infamous "Burning Memo" is true.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 09:58 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 10 2011, 09:37 PM)
@SEA: And I thought I was the only one drooling my ass off at the Palm... ehhh... HP Pre 3. It's like they FINALLY got it right and hopefully HP (being HP) will bring it over.

I mean, one of the best multi-tasking OSes + portrait HW keyboard - the crap reso of the previous Pre units? Please HP for the love of god! I can forgive the now boring screen reso and slightly underpowered innards IF YOU WOULD JUST BRING IT IN LOCALLY!

Or Apple makes a complete and impossible turn around and gives us the iPhone 5 with similar portrait slider keyboard lol. That would be fun too lol, although knowing Jobs, he would rather subtract mechanical moving parts (home button) than he would add more of it.

On another note, I would like to say again - like I have said countless times before - that the N900 is a horrid phone, but a WONDERFUL (if not slightly underpowered) pocket computer. People not willing to forgive that shouldn't really try it out.

Lastly, 4 more guys please pay up for the BULK 2 OTG cables, you're stalling the bulk guys:

1) radz0 x2 units
2) zerio
3) XiuKeong
4) deanja92

Please guys, I can't order until you pay up or at least contact me. You have until Sunday guys.
What to do...Nerds do think alike.

I love the OS(alot) but the device design kinda turn me off.HP should try to make something similar to Nokia E7 or HTC Desire Z.
If you watch the presentation video,you'll notice that even the presenter had some difficulties typing with the Pre3.Typing with Veer should be harder.

Anyway HP seems like quite a bit of developers support for webOS.

I think it'll be hard to expect Pre3 to be sold officially in Malaysia.The demand for webOS device has always been low here.Even in LYN there are very few discussion about webOS.

If Apple do release iPhone with physical qwerty keyboard,I might get it.As much as I dislike the platform,it's a great entertainment device.

As good as webOS is I still think in due time if Nokia continue to support MeeGo,it's be the better mobile OS.Some of the engineers in MeeGo are fan on webOS also.They mentioned that they might me some ideas from webOS that they might copy to MeeGo.One of the obvious similarities is the multitasking panel.

Still wondering what's in store for Nokia tomorrow.Maybe I should have bought some Nokia share.With some great announcement maybe the share prices will go up eh? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Feb 10 2011, 10:23 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Feb 10 2011, 10:23 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

The long awaited Version 10!

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0413sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:10 AM