Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 21 2010, 02:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zeeker87 @ Dec 21 2010, 01:27 PM)
But have to install a new kernel? seems quite complicated..izzit a better method of oc?
Install kernel power & kernel power setting from app manager/fapman
Open terminal,type this - kernel-config load /ideal/ulv/xlv/starving
kernel-config limits min - max

And you're done.

Only some people prefer oc on fly which will make the extra configuration but more difficult.

QUOTE(sk8pass1 @ Dec 21 2010, 01:51 PM)
Any one of yall had tried Driver in Preenv?
I can't seem to resolve the "Black Screen" problem eventho i did the following steps :-

Install OpenGLES1 and OpenGLES2 (needs extras-devel)
apt-get install libgles1 libgles2
Fix corrupt/black screen problem

Create the file /etc/powervr.d/driver.ini containing these two lines:
[default]
ForceExternalZBuffer=0

Can any1 help me out here? appreciate it
1st of all,can you install libgles1 & libgles2?

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 21 2010, 02:43 PM)
Anyone that wants custom bootscreen can ask me to do.
I have done mine and just a simple one
Half an hour's work

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 21 2010, 04:31 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 21 2010, 07:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 21 2010, 05:43 PM)
Cutetube

Added on December 21, 2010, 5:44 pm

cuteTube 0.9.9.5 now in extras-devel
What is the output format file?

QUOTE(sk8pass1 @ Dec 21 2010, 06:29 PM)
still can't get it workin   cry.gif
Dude,I asked whether you can install libgles1 & libgles2 or not.

Added on December 21, 2010, 7:35 pmDarn...Asphalt6 already released for iPad...
Maemo didn't even have Asphalt5...I give up on native Asphalt series for maemo.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 21 2010, 07:35 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 21 2010, 07:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 21 2010, 07:50 PM)
not yet asphalt 6 only release for ipod touch and iphone. if ipad out i sure download cant wait to try it.

I am waiting for lara croft and real racing 2 to reach ipad
iPad version is out.
Google for it.For some obvious reason I cannot post the link here.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 10:23 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 22 2010, 12:19 AM)
from the original one u download.. u can see the file date creation..
btw, how to reverse the rootclr script? my phone like screw up after running it..
Yeah.I did noticed some issues with the rootclr script.It's mainly because of symlink command.
I'll try to reverse it.

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 02:32 AM)
Hehehehehehe.............

guyssssss.....i got 1 superb news....i think i just corrupted my Internal storage...

My File manger shows No Memory...when i check on the "memory usage"

It said Device Memory corrupted.....

Lost all my files, pictures, maps, modification files...

Anyone faced this before? or im the 1st...if no solution then its Reflashing time.....

I still can access MyDocs area thru winSCP...but no other files or folder in there...

T.T

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:34 amcant even do backup as it does not detect the External memory & the Internal Memory...phone can start up as normal, everything loads as normal...can still OC and all those sorts...

Any solution for backing up?

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:40 amI suspect is because of the USB cable connection keep on Attach and detaching itself...resulting to Data corruption...

suspecting either the Cable malfunctioning or the USB port malfunctioning...So beware guys... sudden disconnect/reconnect of the device could corrupt your memory...
hmm.gif I've raped my N900 inside out but yet to have issues like this...

I think you have to resort to flashing.

QUOTE(one1002 @ Dec 22 2010, 03:49 AM)
pergh..layan seh broery marantika... =P memang syokk..
My mind is flying back to 90s...

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 22 2010, 08:51 AM)
good news folks....

gingerbread based nitdroid coming soon...  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Idea: release stable 2.2.1 before Cristmas. 2.3-experimental before NY... and i hope to have smth for Ortodox Cristmas too:) Any opinios?

This news is good enough to lift my foul mood cool.gif

QUOTE(firstknight @ Dec 22 2010, 10:09 AM)
i use this agent

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux armv7l; en-US; rv:1.9.2.12) Gecko/20101026 Firefox/3.6.12 Maemo Browser 1.7.4.8 RX-51 N900

but malaysia kini site alwiz got to mobile site.... how to see it in desktop site?
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux armv7l; en-GB; rv:1.9.2.13) Gecko/20101203 Firefox/3.6.13

Try this.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 10:39 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 22 2010, 10:24 AM)
by the way, i asked about my home router not allowing my n900 to run the app manager nor faster app manager... it seems that it allows me to go online with microb and even with pidgin or online conversations but not the app managers...

even feedingit doesn't look for feeds...

tried resetting router, turning off the router's firewall...

read somewhere in maemo.org, something to do with the DNS address or something is it?
I did heard some types of routers are "incompatible" with N900...

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 22 2010, 10:25 AM)
Anyone here using the windows 7 theme?
And sifu SEA tried my script yet?
I'm still on heavily modified alpha theme.I prefer speed over substance laugh.gif
Too many unnecessary modification sometimes only waste precious memory & CPU usage.

Phone back with my sister.I'll try this friday.

If you want quick result you can always ask aspire.
I'm busy with studies now...

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 22 2010, 10:26 AM)
just lost my apt folder last nite.. hahaha.. 1 error i remember is "40 to many symlink" i just manually reverse the process 1 by 1 using filebox.
Wasn't the apt folder too big?

Finished Angry Birds with Maemo/Android/iPhone flex.gif
I have to say I prefer playing the Android version more because it's slightly smoother.
iPhone version offers better gaming experience but it's ruined by iPhone's physical shape.Feels like holding aluminum block while playing doh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 10:47 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Alpha Gingerbread or Beta Froyo? hmm.gif

Gingerbread does come along nicely at much faster pace because eyes already using stuff from froyo...

Regarding to those are having problem with the rootclr script:

If you have problem which gives out error output,post your screenshot for the following directory.

CODE
ls -al /var/lib/ /var/cache

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 22 2010, 10:51 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 06:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Dec 22 2010, 01:21 PM)
Hi all...

Im new owner of N900.
since i get my new phone ,i want to OC My phone..
here is the problem,i tried 2 method of OC

1st is the aspire method,when i oc using his method my screen get flicker ..so i undo back to original stock speed..what is the prob here?

2nd is using jakiman method. When i download the titan kernel,and write kernel-config show at xterminal,the msg say not found..am i download a wrong kernel?

Hope can hear a solution from you all.
No idea on the error.Never used aspire aka frontpage method of oc

Anyway kernel power have some extra functions which could be useful if you want to use hostmode/OTG,aircracking etc2
So I suggest you to just use the jakiman's method of ocing with utilize kernel power.

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 22 2010, 01:50 PM)

GLBenchmark - modern ARM/GL capable graphics chipsets tested

i wonder if the N900 results are HW acclerated GL or software rendered...

and secondly, why they never OC the N900 and benchmark... it would have kicked at least some ass...
I've come to accept that Maemo 5 will never support graphic acceleration.
MeeGo will have it in v1.2

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Dec 22 2010, 03:02 PM)
is power kernel 2.6.28 latest version? where can i get the version 46? Because my joikuspot keeps me adding this:modprobe JoikuSpot_Bouncer
into my xterm for me to use it
Enable extra testing/devel.Open App manager & search for "kernel" & check the end number.The latest kernel should have blabla46 value.

If I'm not mistaken you do have to modprobe something to use Joikuspot.Try asking meLi.

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Dec 22 2010, 04:02 PM)
extra, extra devels, extras testing all enabled, only shows me a few rubbish apart from these

enhanced linux kernel for power users (obsolete)
enhanced linux kernel for power users (settings)
u-boot for kernel-power v46
Obviously you don't have care about the obsolete version.
Download "enhanced linux kernel for power users (settings)" the OC function.
u-boot is to use multiple OS.

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 04:13 PM)
Fully backing up all my root files now....

Damnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn slow...Since 12Pm till now...Only 50%....Later i go back home reflash...

Bye bye Chromium, bye bye modifications, have to redo all....Sadddddd....But actually is Lazy...hahahahaha...

Thinking of repartioning the 2GB space....

Which repartitioning method should i follow...There are quite a few method i found...which is the best and simplest method?
This is why now I have entire copy of my root in my computer now.

QUOTE(vaizard @ Dec 22 2010, 04:59 PM)
hello all sifu...
got few ques here...

1)y when i browse LYN,can't see any image or avatar image, only see 'user postage image'this is cause by my microB or network?

2)how to disable extra devel?

TQVM for the help....
1)Clear cache & load the page again.

2)Open the repo option & untick the repo you don't want.Same thing applied to FAPMan & App Manager.

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 22 2010, 05:41 PM)
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=901891#post901891

the aforementioned link is about the latest update for USB host h-e-n-GUI.

I think it's really good cause it supports direct USB connections to flash drives, keyboard, mouse, and even DVD players!

but wondering if it is compatible with titan's kernel or must use u-boot power kernel...
In order to use hostmode/OTG/h-e-n or whatever else fancy name you have for it,you MUST use kernel power.

During the beginning of the h-e-n development the team used a modified PR 1.2 omap(default) kernel to enable hostmode.For the alpha version they released an updated kernel which is a modified PR 1.3 omap(default) kernel.At this time some deal was struck between the kernel power maintainer & h-e-n team which in result the hostmode kernel was integrated with kernel power.

v45 had integrated u-boot which caused some problem for some users.So in v46 the u-boot was removed & released as separate function.If you don't plan to use multiple OS you can forge about this function.
NITDroid still use multiboot patch because it seems configuring u-boot with NITDroid is real pain in the a$$ but not much success from some trial.

Colclusion : I suggest you to use kernel power v46 if you wan to use hostmode.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 06:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Warning : Geek porn

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(zedscofield86 @ Dec 22 2010, 06:46 PM)
Anyone can help?

I want to oc using jakiman's method. So select Enhanced Linux kernel for power users (settings) to install. got error..

conflict with application package:
kernel-modules-maemo
kernel-maemo
kernel-modules-maemo
kernel-maemo

Anyone?
Install kernel power 1st then install kernel power settings.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 22 2010, 06:49 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 06:57 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 22 2010, 06:53 PM)
As expected from our Grandmaster.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
It's not mine...It's done by the one & only "force" himself - Alexey Roslyakov

Still waiting the code drop...Fingers crossed for end of the year release.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 07:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 22 2010, 07:01 PM)
wow... if that's a fully functioning android and not just a nitdroid...

that'll be awesome

Added on December 22, 2010, 7:04 pm@super_evil_alien

I just asked in the forum at maemo.org at http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=901912#post901912 about the compatibility of the titan kernel and according to James_Littler, he said it is compatible...

so... i'm wondering if let's say I try it anyway and it doesn't work, is this process reversible easily?
No idea on the working state of the gingerbread in N900.But I know that in the absence of NITDroid release,eyes did lots of improvement on the froyo build.It's just he didn't have time to compile & release properly.
Since he already have working stuff from froyo he just have to post the same stuff to gingerbread built.This makes the process much easier & save time.

Functions like ofono are one which made froyo takes long time to mature on N900.

I already answered your question at last page?

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 07:07 PM)
Sifu alien....What method did you use for transferring the root files?

Apart of using winSCP...any other faster method?
I used WinSCP.It's slow but this is the easiest method I know.

You can try putty but it'll be just as slow because still utilize wifi.

As far as I know there is no usb cable root access method.
But iPhone ada pulak doh.gif

There is 1 app which will make a extract copy of your root & restore it.Try to search for it at maemo talk.Name starts with backup something if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 22 2010, 07:24 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 09:02 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 22 2010, 07:36 PM)
just got my new 1800mAh battery.. i charge till full, but when on, it only show 1223mAh, same like the original battery.. do i need to reset something?
Just because the sticker said doesn't mean that the battery have 1800mA capacity.
Even a good battery for other batter carry 1500mA current only.

Post your battery photo here.

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 22 2010, 08:25 PM)
lol.. now i remember it at FP one..

The method was not applicable anymore ya grandmaster?

http://forums.internettablettalk.com/showt...highlight=PuTTY
Try it if you can share the result here.

Usually I alternate between putty & winscp

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 08:46 PM)
Preparing to flash now...  T.T

Anyway....Sifu ALien...which Partition method should i follow?

Most reliable method...
What are you intending to to with the extra partition?

Easiest method is GParted but I don't really know how to use it.
You have to ask one1002 for this.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 22 2010, 09:07 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 09:30 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 09:12 PM)
I want to expand the 2GB partition...Somewhere 4GB or so...

WHich method did u use?
I did post 2 custom vanilla file for N900 some time ago..
1st 1 will automatically expand /home/ to 5GB while reducing MyDocs size to 24GB

This is one of the custom vanilla - http://www.mediafire.com/?j6srnaxwr3notaf
Extract it & rename it to RE.bin you can proceed with the frontpage method of flashing.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 22 2010, 09:42 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 22 2010, 11:57 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 22 2010, 09:47 PM)
woooOOOOOOOOOOOOt

I mean... i'm sure if you think logically, 1800 is definitely superior compared to the 1320...

just worried about it being stable and is it going to cause any hardware harm with added power...

tell us more about it's life after using it!

is it easily available? How much did you pay for it?
You can buy from Clareen.Ask for BJ-5C Sunglobal battery.

QUOTE(clement prodyno @ Dec 22 2010, 11:02 PM)
meli, where to type
cd /home/user/.rtcom-eventlogger/
rm *db*

is it at sudo gainroot place? blink.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 11:06 pm

meli.what do you mean sms/call log db, should i just delete the call log and sms only?

soli, i am still learning,hehe doh.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 11:13 pmmeli, meli!! i try the command that you gave me but after key in everything it says rm*db*: not found
ah, i delete all my message and call history already! correct kah?
Yeah.You need root access.
Type "root" ot "sudo gainroot" before executing these commands.

Pretty much correct.the rm command is command to remove files.

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 11:46 PM)
i keep on getting

sh /home/user/bin/fdisk: permission denied
chmod 777 /usr/sbin/fdisk

Then try again
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 23 2010, 01:17 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

^Eerr...You sure the root id 896MB now?
Because /root/ is located on the fixed 256MB NAND memory.Can't be expanded.Only /home/ located in eMMC.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 23 2010, 03:16 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM)
Just an opinion to improve this thread. For the sifu thats good in linux do provide a list of common codes you use in linux. Then in your tutorial remember to link the code back the the list of common codes that will help newbie or semi pro and even pro the remember the codes and a description purpose of the codes so people do not need to keep asking. Just my opinion to improve this thread.

my 2 cents and good luck.
I already provide this link - http://www.pixelbeat.org/cmdline.html - at frontpage.
Quite a number of basic commands are covered there.

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 23 2010, 09:59 AM)
today testing my battery without wifi usage.. only phone usage.. 2 hour - 4% reduce. if not satisfied with the result later.. will try this new batt with n5800.. wonder how long it can hold with that phone..

*using n900 remind me back when using motorola e680.. system rowks.. battery suwks.. lol..
Majority of the smartphone have this battery issue.

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 23 2010, 10:40 AM)
May be can put at FF post #20 that reserved for meego still empty.
I still have updates planned but no time to do it.Hopefully I can make it by 1st week of new year.Kinda hoping nitdroid 2.2 & 2.3 will be released around the same time.

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 23 2010, 02:15 PM)
Yeah i was reading that..
Guess i need ubuntu 10.04 then
I'm still running 9.10 though..
Gonna download now
Go straight to 10.10

QUOTE(amiezam @ Dec 23 2010, 02:37 PM)
How to put internet radio address for internet radio???

i'm looking the address for malaysia internet radio..
any one know where can get the address
example:Sinar.fm    mms://ucitv2.uthm.edu.my/radio3
I got your pm.Unfortunately I don't mess much with the internet radio so I can't be much help there...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 23 2010, 04:10 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Dec 23 2010, 03:46 PM)
hm...we only wish for convenient, not on success.  Someone must have rent webspace for personal use (in fact 100+ bucks for a year only), we can ask to share part of it's space for setting up forum  rolleyes.gif

I got a forum myself running one man show, never wish for success, just for self satisfaction only laugh.gif

whatever the final decision, I only point out that search function in this forum is weak and unable to find answer easily, so, I just suggest for a better way wink.gif
N900 only have small community.There is no need for multiple forum for guides.If you want to ask or share something you can do so here.
Aside from this thread we always have our big bro - Maemo Talk.

QUOTE(techies_kid @ Dec 23 2010, 03:56 PM)
Hye all pliz dunt bash me oo m newbie tongue.gif. Asking guide to buy a N900 here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1688718
1st of all - We don't always talk technical stuff only(or do we? laugh.gif)
We do talk nonsense sometimes but not as much as N8 thread.

I suggest you to buy from online sellers here.They offer some of the lowest price with good after sale service.
I'll recommend you Clareen or x132755.
You can pm them to ask for the current price.

About the battery issue,with PR there is significant improvement on the battery usage duration.Some of users here mentioned that their device can last up to 2 days with moderate usage.
You can try OC or not using widgets to improve battery duration.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 23 2010, 08:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 23 2010, 04:41 PM)
But u r the grandmaster sifu i just give opinion like some of us not tech savy so if the link given me 70% we wont use. So my point is linux becomes complicated to learn. Its like in school they teach u step by step easy to hard. If the same question keep appearing just notice there is a problem. Just my opinion good luck
I'll see what I can do...

I received some pm's asking why NITDroid calls not working.
1st of all,I'm not involved with NITDroid project.Merely an interested spectator.Anyway I'll try to explain a bit on this part.

NITDroid team is using ofono application for the phone functions.But ofono is actually build & tested for MeeGo & it's actually not easy to port it.Also this application is not mature enough
The last build of MeeGo I tested suffered from some broken calls too.NITDroid v0.0.8 use ofono v0.2x while eyes recently updated the ofono version to 0.36.There are still some audio routing issue with this version.

The part which I marked "This 1" could be the 1 with the issue.

But there is good news.Ofono actually works for MeeGo which is build with kernel version 2.6.32 and Android 2.3 build with same kernel version 2.6.32 also(modified abit by Google).So it might be possible that latest ofono will make calls works with NITDroid 2.3 build for N900.

In order for the calls functions to work we have to hope that MeeGo project mature fast enough.Because basically the NITDroid team is "lending" MeeGo's technical knowledge.

Unfortunately I don't think any of Google employee supports this project.For the CyanogenMod project there are some Google employee who are contributing for it which produce excellent firmware result.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 23 2010, 10:32 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 23 2010, 10:02 PM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

lol..i've to admit that, it's really too hard for my level to understand this..huhu
I posted this so people will understand it's not easy to make the voice transmitter work in NITDroid.Just be patient I'm sure things will get better soon.

Too tell the truth I won't be surprised if Nokia employee monitoring NITDroid development.In case Nokia decides to make official Android phone they have work cut out by NITDroid team.

I'm rather surprised that none of you guys have yet to comment on the Nokia's Windows 7 Phone...
N900 will be my very last Nokia phone if Nokia proceed with that stupid stupid idea.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 23 2010, 10:38 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 25 2010, 10:16 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 25 2010, 12:35 AM)
ANY SIFUS CAN HELP ME WITH USB NETWORKING?
I'm only using ubuntu/fedora with vmware.Can't help you much with it.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 25 2010, 09:18 AM)
Morning everyone.. Oh, thanks meli. nod.gif
'Proposed' option - Are you using this, or your own setting?
meLis's setting very similar to mine.

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 25 2010, 09:31 AM)
http://forum.nitdroid.com/index.php?topic=981.0

Nitdroid 0.0.9 is out........

but its based on froyo 2.2.1 and not gingerbread 2.3 as expected...
2.3 version will follow very soon.

I have to wait till tomorrow to try out latest 2.2 build.Visiting my cousin who's celebrating christmas.
Anyone who have tried 2.2 build do share whatever improvement you can find.

Merry Christmas to everyone.Hohoho...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 26 2010, 08:12 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

To those who asked me questions with PM,I'm bit busy these days.I'll try to answer your questions as soon as I'm free.
You guys can post your questions here so other pros can solve our problem.

My hands are itching for NITDroid v0.0.9 too sad.gif

Can't escape from family obligation... laugh.gif

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:32 AM