Hobbies Amateur Radio User V2 !, HAM Radio

KuzumiTaiga
post May 12 2016, 11:01 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ May 12 2016, 10:06 PM)
Usually stick to the Citizen Band (or MCMC called Personal Radio Service on FIFTH SCHEDULE - Refer here
If u are valid ham license, then can utilize ham and citizen band.
Bomba, JPJ n few govt agencies already use called GIRN (GOVERNMENT INTEGRATED RADIO NETWORK), technically u cant hear whatever they transmit even tuned to their frequency (digital, encryption etc2)
thanks! biggrin.gif skimmed through the fifth sch.

i don't think Community Policing is under GIRN right? Since it's to broadcast emergencies also, somewhat? Not sure what freq. they're on, though.

rioven
post May 13 2016, 12:12 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 12 2016, 11:01 PM)
thanks!  biggrin.gif skimmed through the fifth sch.

i don't think Community Policing is under GIRN right? Since it's to broadcast emergencies also, somewhat? Not sure what freq. they're on, though.
Community Policing? Do u mean like Rukun Tetangga/Skim Rondaan Sukarela? If yes, they usually use Citizen Band (based on what I observed in my area - Setapak, Gombak)
sheknow9
post May 13 2016, 09:03 AM

247 posts

Done submit my application form last monday! Cant wait to get my own callsign!
aminpro
post May 14 2016, 02:13 AM

191 posts

TL;DR if you have no license like pak guards, convoy, community policing etc, the allowed citizen band is

(a) 26.965000 MHz to 27.405000 MHz;
(b) 446.006250 MHz to 446.093750 MHz;
© 446.103125 MHz to 446.196875 MHz;
(d) 477.012500 MHz to 477.487500 MHz; or
(e) 477.525000 MHz to 477.987500 MHz.

Maximum is 5 watt but on 446 it is all max 0.5 watts only.
Refer to the table for more detailed explanation.
sheknow9
post May 23 2016, 08:27 AM

247 posts

Hello everyone! When we can have an eyeball session...for ham forumer...hehe..

Just got call by mcmc told that my application just approved. Need to wait for the letter.

I plan to buy quadband antenna..anyone here can suggest where to buy it and with best performance?
rioven
post May 26 2016, 12:46 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ May 23 2016, 08:27 AM)
Hello everyone! When we can have an eyeball session...for ham forumer...hehe..

Just got call by mcmc told that my application just approved. Need to wait for the letter.

I plan to buy quadband antenna..anyone here can suggest where to buy it and with best performance?
ask sifu wiraone to organize eyeball session (surely he pick at taman ehsan, kepong devil.gif ) Quadband antenna? for 10m,6m,2m n 70cm band antenna?
sheknow9
post May 26 2016, 02:07 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ May 26 2016, 12:46 AM)
ask sifu wiraone to organize eyeball session (surely he pick at taman ehsan, kepong  devil.gif ) Quadband antenna? for 10m,6m,2m n 70cm band antenna?
Lets eyeball..hehe

Yup..found some model that r suitable in aliexpress
sheknow9
post Jun 17 2016, 01:32 AM

247 posts

Hello everyone!

Just got my official callsign

9W2WZV

Thx to ham forumer here for the notes and tips!

This post has been edited by sheknow9: Jun 17 2016, 01:33 AM
aminpro
post Jun 19 2016, 04:33 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jun 17 2016, 01:32 AM)
Hello everyone!

Just got my official callsign

9W2WZV

Thx to ham forumer here for the notes and tips!
Congratulations! Have you made your 1st contact yet?
sheknow9
post Jun 19 2016, 10:29 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(aminpro @ Jun 19 2016, 04:33 AM)
Congratulations! Have you made your 1st contact yet?
Not yet..hehe...im stay at rural place...need to set up mny equipment then i can make a first contact, huhu...recently i read about aprs..huhuhu...can you give ur opinion and story based on experience about it?

Need to collect money to buy those digital handy..hehe smile.gif
aminpro
post Jun 20 2016, 04:06 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jun 19 2016, 10:29 AM)
Not yet..hehe...im stay at rural place...need to set up mny equipment then i can make a first contact, huhu...recently i read about aprs..huhuhu...can you give ur opinion and story based on experience about it?

Need to collect money to buy those digital handy..hehe smile.gif
I have not touched anything related to APRS but then, APRS is only for location relay or location tracking.

If you want to go to the digital route, I would suggest you get a Yaesu Fusion capable radio since there are I think two repeaters in KL that supports the Yaesu Fusion digital voice.

Personally, I am now using Motorola Mototrbo mainly because I am also using it for commercial communications.

sheknow9
post Jun 20 2016, 06:25 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(aminpro @ Jun 20 2016, 04:06 PM)
I have not touched anything related to APRS but then, APRS is only for location relay or location tracking.

If you want to go to the digital route, I would suggest you get a Yaesu Fusion capable radio since there are I think two repeaters in KL that supports the Yaesu Fusion digital voice.

Personally, I am now using Motorola Mototrbo mainly because I am also using it for commercial communications.
Yup...i hope can buy those yaesu radio soon.

So, what is all about commercial communication? Can u give example?
aminpro
post Jun 20 2016, 11:57 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jun 20 2016, 06:25 PM)
Yup...i hope can buy those yaesu radio soon.

So, what is all about commercial communication? Can u give example?
It is out of HAM discussion and I was actually once told off when I wanted to discuss about it among ham groups hahaha
Especially when I want to discuss about trunking/mototrbo/p25 etc. and especially when I say that I am using a Motorola....

Anyway, for commercial use, usually you would have a private line or frequency that you are allowed to use outside of the HAM band. These are owned mostly by companies. There are certain companies like Electcoms who rents out digital trunking lines and by using this system, you can have nationwide coverage among your group on digital radio.

Another use of Mototrbo for me, I would probably discuss that if we go yamcha or something lol

But yeah, do look out for those Yaesu Fusion and do a lot of research first before buying it. You don't want to be buying a radio that is not compatible with the HAM repeater(for digital)
sheknow9
post Jun 27 2016, 05:14 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(aminpro @ Jun 20 2016, 11:57 PM)
It is out of HAM discussion and I was actually once told off when I wanted to discuss about it among ham groups hahaha
Especially when I want to discuss about trunking/mototrbo/p25 etc. and especially when I say that I am using a Motorola....

Anyway, for commercial use, usually you would have a private line or frequency that you are allowed to use outside of the HAM band. These are owned mostly by companies. There are certain companies like Electcoms who rents out digital trunking lines and by using this system, you can have nationwide coverage among your group on digital radio.

Another use of Mototrbo for me, I would probably discuss that if we go yamcha or something lol

But yeah, do look out for those Yaesu Fusion and do a lot of research first before buying it. You don't want to be buying a radio that is not compatible with the HAM repeater(for digital)
Wow! Thank a lot to learn..

Hehe, is the mototrbo can do such as p25? Interesting..if like that, that will be my dream handy.hehe

Yaesu fusion quite expensive for me, but maybe one day i will buy it..maybe..
aminpro
post Jun 27 2016, 11:34 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jun 27 2016, 05:14 AM)
Wow! Thank a lot to learn..

Hehe, is the mototrbo can do such as p25? Interesting..if like that, that will be my dream handy.hehe

Yaesu fusion quite expensive for me, but maybe one day i will buy it..maybe..
Mototrbo is using DMR protocol which is other radios like Hytera is offering. Mototrbo is actually just a fancy name for DMR.
P25 is another different protocol. It is mainly marketed for the AES-256 encryption scheme and hardware key storage.
SeanConnery
post Jul 3 2016, 02:21 AM

236 posts

Hi guys and gals,

Wow its been quite a while since I've been here. Anyone planning to take the Class A licence soon? So tired been in Class B for so many years already. smile.gif If got friend got more motivation.

Selamat Hari Raya Maaf Zahir and Batin to all

SeanConnery
de 9W2SUN
SeanConnery
post Jul 3 2016, 02:43 AM

236 posts

Aminpro,

Your posts on Motorola has been interesting. Any cheap models you can recomment that I can test, play with? smile.gif
aminpro
post Jul 3 2016, 10:23 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Jul 3 2016, 02:21 AM)
Hi guys and gals,

Wow its been quite a while since I've been here. Anyone planning to take the Class A licence soon? So tired been in Class B for so many years already. smile.gif If got friend got more motivation.

Selamat Hari Raya Maaf Zahir and Batin to all

SeanConnery
de 9W2SUN
I was planning to take Class A this year. Lost motivation since there were plans to abolish the CW exam so might as well just wait haha

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Jul 3 2016, 02:43 AM)
Aminpro,

Your posts on Motorola has been interesting. Any cheap models you can recomment that I can test, play with? smile.gif
For Motorola, if you want to explore into DMR, try getting one of those lower models like XiR P6600. I got one earlier this year at RM 300 from Mudah. Good idea to always monitor Mudah.my because usually company close or project ended they sell those for very cheap.
sheknow9
post Jul 3 2016, 11:50 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Jul 3 2016, 02:21 AM)
QUOTE(aminpro @ Jul 3 2016, 10:23 AM)
Ayam also planning on class A...hehe..when is the exam..?

I dont mind if i cannot pass next exam as long as i try my best...

Morsey and Morse Toad looks like suitable games that is related with CW.

This post has been edited by sheknow9: Jul 3 2016, 11:51 AM
aminpro
post Jul 3 2016, 09:12 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jul 3 2016, 11:50 AM)
Ayam also planning on class A...hehe..when is the exam..?

I dont mind if i cannot pass next exam as long as i try my best...

Morsey and Morse Toad looks like suitable games that is related with CW.
Usually at the end of the year but your class B license need to be 1 year first.

52 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:19 AM