123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V8, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 12:20 PM

865 posts

hihihehe:

Jz dl the v8.0.1 base rom, then flashed it straight. do no need to disable lagfix or wipe. However if u prefer to have a clean v8.0.1 ROM, then u can wipe and factory reset before flash from CWM.

If u want to have a flying SGS: do like what jujx suggested after installed v8.0.1:
1) DL YA-OK v1.3 (build 30) and flash it via odin, this to replace the stock v.8.0.1 kernel
2) Enable tweaked IO and VM
3) no RFS ext4
4) change the window and animation setting to FAST fr spare part.
5) finally, DOC's had remove the bootup sound during the dancing S, if u wanna have it back follow the link here.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...und#post9297856

@angel-girl, areankim, |Kee|:
i do not know what went wrong with ur phone. I m very satisfy with the current batt consumption, i was not too please when i 1st install v8. After jujx suggestion, i m back to my smiley.

Following picture was taken this morning, did no ON wifi overnight, did NOT change to flight mode. Last wifi 1.5H prior to sleep. Then wifi on again at work around 840am.

Now trying to study DOC's Barebone_0.1 hee...
angel-girl
post Nov 23 2010, 12:22 PM

3,403 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Nov 23 2010, 12:20 PM)
hihihehe:

Jz dl the v8.0.1 base rom, then flashed it straight. do no need to disable lagfix or wipe. However if u prefer to have a clean v8.0.1 ROM, then u can wipe and factory reset before flash from CWM.

If u want to have a flying SGS: do like what jujx suggested after installed v8.0.1:
1) DL YA-OK v1.3 (build 30) and flash it via odin, this to replace the stock v.8.0.1 kernel
2) Enable tweaked IO and VM
3) no RFS ext4
4) change the window and animation setting to FAST fr spare part.
5) finally, DOC's had remove the bootup sound during the dancing S, if u wanna have it back follow the link here.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...und#post9297856
@angel-girl, areankim, |Kee|:
i do not know what went wrong with ur phone. I m very satisfy with the current batt consumption, i was not too please when i 1st install v8. After jujx suggestion, i m back to my smiley.

Following picture was taken this morning, did no ON wifi overnight, did NOT change to flight mode. Last wifi 1.5H prior to sleep. Then wifi on again at work around 840am.

Now trying to study DOC's Barebone_0.1 hee...
its just awesome!!!!i use to have tis bat consumption when i was on v7.6.2!
one81
post Nov 23 2010, 12:27 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 23 2010, 12:05 PM)
Ha ha, don't poison people with Doc's V8, once you tested it you will never go back to stock rom DXJPA  tongue.gif
sorry noob here..
where i can get Doc V8? i need to root my SGS first or not?
how to apply it?
btw, im using stock DXJPA..
thanks in advanced
hxcpride
post Nov 23 2010, 12:28 PM

Toyol Mabuk
612 posts

so many ppl talking about custom roms and many ppl experimenting with it..thats why its V8 now tongue.gif
areankim
post Nov 23 2010, 12:30 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

Ok... i guess i'm sick with the batt life now..

I'm actually on v7.6.1 + micro

download v8.0.1 i can direct flash? haha
all tweak on, no lag fix.
wipe + factory reset 1st, cos i wnan try how the batt life is.
kkm
post Nov 23 2010, 12:32 PM

1,258 posts

Running Papago X5 with the new firmware (official Froyo). Seems to run ok, but I have lost the voice prompts, and the accuracy is still not so good.

But at least it seems to have stopped going "walkabout" while navigating...
tHe_DoCtOr
post Nov 23 2010, 12:33 PM

54 posts

Hi guys, would really appreciate if I could get some help here. I rooted my galaxy to pda: I9000XXJP3, PHONE: I9000XXJP3, CSC: I9000OXAJP3. After rooting, I faced loads of problems with my phone where it is SO lag and most of my applications FC almost EVERY time!

And now that sgs came up with official froyo, I tried to update the firmware using Kies but it said that my firmware cant be updated. I have tried googling it and also read shitloads of posts at sfw and also xda, but i dont understand at all.

Please guide me through this, any sifu? cry.gif
hcleong
post Nov 23 2010, 12:36 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 12:33 PM)
Hi guys, would really appreciate if I could get some help here. I rooted my galaxy to pda: I9000XXJP3, PHONE: I9000XXJP3, CSC: I9000OXAJP3. After rooting, I faced loads of problems with my phone where it is SO lag and most of my applications FC almost EVERY time!

And now that sgs came up with official froyo, I tried to update the firmware using Kies but it said that my firmware cant be updated. I have tried googling it and also read shitloads of posts at sfw and also xda, but i dont understand at all.

Please guide me through this, any sifu?  cry.gif
Have you download and install the lastest Kies?
tHe_DoCtOr
post Nov 23 2010, 12:38 PM

54 posts

yeah. its the latest kies now rclxub.gif
one81
post Nov 23 2010, 12:46 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 12:38 PM)
yeah. its the latest kies now  rclxub.gif
it's happened to me too..
i just uninstalled kies, download and installed with a new one..
but fyi, my SGS is unroot
janov
post Nov 23 2010, 12:52 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 12:33 PM)

Please guide me through this, any sifu?  cry.gif
in the first place how did you get JP3 ROM? where did you buy your phone? most likely you need to flash it to stock JG4 then to official JPA using ODIN. Kies has only limited functions. to do the flash using ODIN you first need to sign up with samfirmware.com, its free, from there you can download ODIN and the ROMs you need, however JG4 in there is corrupted so you need to find JG4 elsewhere, the work around can be found on XDA forum
hxcpride
post Nov 23 2010, 12:57 PM

Toyol Mabuk
612 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Nov 23 2010, 12:32 PM)
Running Papago X5 with the new firmware (official Froyo). Seems to run ok, but I have lost the voice prompts, and the accuracy is still not so good.

But at least it seems to have stopped going "walkabout" while navigating...
yeah i lost the voice prompts for few mins..and i just leave it on in the car..the voice will come back afterwards ...i dunno how or why this happen...for awhile..

KH Cheah
post Nov 23 2010, 12:59 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(one81 @ Nov 23 2010, 12:46 PM)
it's happened to me too..
i just uninstalled kies, download and installed with a new one..
but fyi, my SGS is unroot
Wht is the latest version for kies?
tHe_DoCtOr
post Nov 23 2010, 01:00 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(janov @ Nov 23 2010, 12:52 PM)
in the first place how did you get JP3 ROM? where did you buy your phone? most likely you need to flash it to stock JG4 then to official JPA using ODIN. Kies has only limited functions. to do the flash using ODIN you first need to sign up with samfirmware.com, its free, from there you can download ODIN and the ROMs you need, however JG4 in there is corrupted so you need to find JG4 elsewhere, the work around can be found on XDA forum
Well I got the JP3 rom somewhere and me being such a smart-ass tried to unroot. Got my phone from maxis. Have already signed into samfirmware but don't know which is the suitable rom. Help intro suitable rom for me?
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:01 PM

865 posts

tHe_DoCtOr :

u can actually find the JG4 download in the 1st and 2nd post of this thread.

And the 1st and 2nd post of this thread also give a superb guidance how to flash ur phone using odin way. But for kies... sorry mate, i dun use this problematic software long long time ago.
mozact89
post Nov 23 2010, 01:03 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

Anyone know where can buy extra battery for our phone? N how much is it?
del85
post Nov 23 2010, 01:04 PM

204 posts

Can anyone show me & guide me how to install lagfix? If i install lagfix, is it possible to update my sgs through kies? TQ.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:06 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 23 2010, 12:30 PM)
Ok... i guess i'm sick with the batt life now..

I'm actually on v7.6.1 + micro

download v8.0.1 i can direct flash? haha
all tweak on, no lag fix.
wipe + factory reset 1st, cos i wnan try how the batt life is.
DL v8.0.1
DL Ya-OK v1.3 (build 30)

wipe anc factory reset
flash v8.0.1 via CWM
Flash Ya-ok via odin
tweaked enable IO and VM
lagfix no RFS ext4
optional: change animation and window setting to FAST via spare part.

Callibrate ur battery delete the battstat.bin when fully charged

hope everything go well with ur side.

ps: if u restore, try not to restore the system files, only restore the apps+data that u backup.

Added on November 23, 2010, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 01:00 PM)
Well I got the JP3 rom somewhere and me being such a smart-ass tried to unroot. Got my phone from maxis. Have already signed into samfirmware but don't know which is the suitable rom. Help intro suitable rom for me?
ok.. let me try to help u here:

if u wanna use kies to update to the MAL froyo, u need to get ur phone back to MAL stock ROM, ie either DXJF4 or DXJG4. DXJF4 is the 1st ROM when u 1st purchase ur fon from Maxis. Then it upgraded to DXJG4. Well the DXJG4 is best to download from the 2nd post in this thread.

Then read thro the 2nd post of this thread thoroughly, u will be able to flashed to DXJG4. Once your is back to DXJG4, you may download the latest kies, and plug ur phone in with the USB. Kies should be able to help u to upgrade it to MAL FROYO, ie DXJPA.

ps: before start flashing to DXJG4, i suggest u do the wipe cache and factory reset at the recovery menu (vol up + Home + power) then only change to download mode (vol down + home + power) to flash with odin.

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 23 2010, 01:18 PM
Piccolo
post Nov 23 2010, 01:17 PM

260 posts

Hi Guys,

Do anyone here with official Froyo have the new Samsung Froyo keyboard? You can recognise it by seeing numbers on the top row of keys.
I know most of you are on swype but can someone check and confirm that it is not there?

I miss using that in Doc's ROM. I suspect it is only for EU region?
| K e e |
post Nov 23 2010, 01:17 PM

1,240 posts

--deleted--

This post has been edited by | K e e |: Nov 23 2010, 01:17 PM

123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:56 PM