6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V8, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 10:11 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2010, 10:02 AM)
and how to fix the duplicate photos from my external card??

deleted thumbnails n the album and copy back again still the same...zz
TS, and for those who suffer from the duplicate copy in their gallery, this is what i come across from DOC's

Originally Posted by pele78
Ffs....got double stupid images again zzzzzz!

DocRambone replied:
Easy fix: delete the cooliris db file in dbdata/databases, reboot

hope this will be helpful

Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 10:17 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(dejima @ Nov 23 2010, 10:14 AM)
yes, i did factory reset and wipe cache somemore  sad.gif
DOC's remove it for the v8. if u want it, follow the link and download. Then use root explorer to place it in system / etc

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...und#post9297856
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 12:20 PM

865 posts

hihihehe:

Jz dl the v8.0.1 base rom, then flashed it straight. do no need to disable lagfix or wipe. However if u prefer to have a clean v8.0.1 ROM, then u can wipe and factory reset before flash from CWM.

If u want to have a flying SGS: do like what jujx suggested after installed v8.0.1:
1) DL YA-OK v1.3 (build 30) and flash it via odin, this to replace the stock v.8.0.1 kernel
2) Enable tweaked IO and VM
3) no RFS ext4
4) change the window and animation setting to FAST fr spare part.
5) finally, DOC's had remove the bootup sound during the dancing S, if u wanna have it back follow the link here.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...und#post9297856

@angel-girl, areankim, |Kee|:
i do not know what went wrong with ur phone. I m very satisfy with the current batt consumption, i was not too please when i 1st install v8. After jujx suggestion, i m back to my smiley.

Following picture was taken this morning, did no ON wifi overnight, did NOT change to flight mode. Last wifi 1.5H prior to sleep. Then wifi on again at work around 840am.

Now trying to study DOC's Barebone_0.1 hee...
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:01 PM

865 posts

tHe_DoCtOr :

u can actually find the JG4 download in the 1st and 2nd post of this thread.

And the 1st and 2nd post of this thread also give a superb guidance how to flash ur phone using odin way. But for kies... sorry mate, i dun use this problematic software long long time ago.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:06 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 23 2010, 12:30 PM)
Ok... i guess i'm sick with the batt life now..

I'm actually on v7.6.1 + micro

download v8.0.1 i can direct flash? haha
all tweak on, no lag fix.
wipe + factory reset 1st, cos i wnan try how the batt life is.
DL v8.0.1
DL Ya-OK v1.3 (build 30)

wipe anc factory reset
flash v8.0.1 via CWM
Flash Ya-ok via odin
tweaked enable IO and VM
lagfix no RFS ext4
optional: change animation and window setting to FAST via spare part.

Callibrate ur battery delete the battstat.bin when fully charged

hope everything go well with ur side.

ps: if u restore, try not to restore the system files, only restore the apps+data that u backup.

Added on November 23, 2010, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 01:00 PM)
Well I got the JP3 rom somewhere and me being such a smart-ass tried to unroot. Got my phone from maxis. Have already signed into samfirmware but don't know which is the suitable rom. Help intro suitable rom for me?
ok.. let me try to help u here:

if u wanna use kies to update to the MAL froyo, u need to get ur phone back to MAL stock ROM, ie either DXJF4 or DXJG4. DXJF4 is the 1st ROM when u 1st purchase ur fon from Maxis. Then it upgraded to DXJG4. Well the DXJG4 is best to download from the 2nd post in this thread.

Then read thro the 2nd post of this thread thoroughly, u will be able to flashed to DXJG4. Once your is back to DXJG4, you may download the latest kies, and plug ur phone in with the USB. Kies should be able to help u to upgrade it to MAL FROYO, ie DXJPA.

ps: before start flashing to DXJG4, i suggest u do the wipe cache and factory reset at the recovery menu (vol up + Home + power) then only change to download mode (vol down + home + power) to flash with odin.

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 23 2010, 01:18 PM
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:30 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(tHe_DoCtOr @ Nov 23 2010, 01:24 PM)
Hi bro crossover, thanks alot for your help!! By the way, as for the pit file, which one should i use? 512, 513 or 803?
no problem.
use 512.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 01:43 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 23 2010, 01:28 PM)
when u say system file, includes contact, logs, sms?
Contact, call logs, SMS, MMS can restore

other than this do, as i experience when i trying to restore the system, as i m lazy to set the tone and apn.. then once restore, the phone go cacat a bit.

oso, when u backup, u will also backup launchepro... if can, also dun restore it, same thing as above happened to me as well.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 03:47 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 23 2010, 03:43 PM)
For those sifus using Doc's ROM. Need your help here.

I'm currently running on Doc's ROM XXJPO 7.6.2.

During flashing last time, I remembered I accidentily factory resetted after flashing, hence some apps were gone like Launcher Pro.
I did that coz I read I shouldn't click backup and restore if I am coming from Eclair.
If I want to reflash again XXJPO 7.6.2 again, can I just to to CWM and reapply the XXJPO 7.6.2 zip file? Or do I need to flash to another firmware like DXJG4 before applying doc's rom?

If I can reflash using CWM, they will ask, Config differs, do you want to proceed with conversion, which option do I use? backup and restore?

Well, since factory reset after flashed and some app missing.

factory reset again, then flashed / install via the zip file as u mentioned. When the Config rigtht, choose YES, backup and restore.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 03:49 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 23 2010, 03:47 PM)
100% no way. tongue.gif
aiyo... no way meh... tongue.gif

hey, how ur upgrade of v8.0.1 so far?
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 05:45 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 23 2010, 05:37 PM)
Flash kernal FAIL.... wth....
Ya-Ok v1.3? failed? U need to use odin to flash. no PIT, unchecked partition, just put the tar to PDA, then flash.

hey.. after u reboot right, go to setting > Application > Running services to see unnecessary thing that is actually running in background, stop it ok.. my batt was drained and i discovered the whatspps is always on in the running services hence drained badly.
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 10:37 PM

865 posts

Boys.... BUG Report : Voice on v8.0.1

Jz to informed u guys on the above ROM that i just receive a complaint from my friend that my voice sounded like a blasting bass, ie cant hear properly. I think this had been mentioned in DOC's thread. I came across this comment after flashing the ROM, tried few time didnt hear any complaint until today.

Then i flashed to JPD modem, conducted a trial again to the same friend, comment is, it is slight better, will get blasted bass if talked louder.

Then i flashed to JPP modem, conducted a trial again. Comment: no more distorted / blasted bass effect. But the sound is like i m no speaker phone. Some empty at the background.

I think this is a potential problem with v8. If i still not satisfy with the background / speaker phone like.. i may change back to 7.6.2 with other kernel/tweak/lagfix that apply to v8.

Ken2291:
the problem u posted, regarded to the corrupted system files that apply to Hardcore kernel that come with DOC's ROM. what happen if we flashed to YA-OK kernel then apply no RFS ext4? Would this same result as applying Hardcore K9 kernel?
Crossover
post Nov 23 2010, 11:35 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Nov 23 2010, 11:08 PM)
lol i found my system is soo fckd up when using RFS fixer tongue.gif

welcome DXJPA! HAHAHA
U gave up DOC's?
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 11:07 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Nov 24 2010, 10:55 AM)
unfortunately OCLF for me is not so a good lagfix. It will start lagging again after few days of usage. ------------ that absolutely correct!
And btw, quadrant score doesn't reflex the reality of smoothness. ------ speak of the expert rclxms.gif

But is easy to apply for newbies. ------------------------- cool2.gif
Dude, i prefer to use linpack instead. Find it more reliable compare to quadrant. What do u think?

So glad ur v8.0.1 didnt give u any problem when u make calls.

Oh.. what u think about the link that posted by Ken2291 with regards to ULF file corrupted. what would u actually feel in reality on the phone?

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 24 2010, 11:09 AM
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 11:47 AM

865 posts

Well... Ya-Ok... build 31, to prevent files corrupt, here i come hee...

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 24 2010, 11:51 AM
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 01:27 PM

865 posts

alrite, little update from me here..
I flashed straight to Ya-OK build 31, as Ken2291 mentioned earlier, flashed successfully got thro via odin. But it stuck at the 1st boot page (GT-9000).. this is a sign of file/system corruption.

Then this is what i do:
1) reboot back into CMW recovery
2) backup
3) flashed v8.0.1 again from the zip files
3) download mode and flashed build 31 again
4) CWM recovery: backup and restore > advance restore > data only (DO NOT restore SYSTEM)
5) New config: Yes, backup and restore
6) reboots..

Now, i wonder whether i can still apply the ULF to no RFS and ext4 that at one of the option in CWM recovery, any of you have any idea? Does this application corrupt the files again?

Funny enough, when i back to v8.0.1 ie using 8.0.1 modem, can call the same friend that complaint about the blasted bass effect, he said that it is normal now.. so i wonder the blasted bass effect due to corrupted file?
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 01:35 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 24 2010, 01:32 PM)
probably.. coz I didn't face any call issues when I'm on v8.0.1 modem hmm.gif  Yes, once you're on the newest version of YA-Ok and Speedmod K9, u're good to go smile.gif
cheers dude!
wait u mean i need to flash both Ya-Ok and Speedmod K9 in order to use the no RFS ext4 feature at the CWM recovery menu? rclxub.gif
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 01:53 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 24 2010, 01:37 PM)
lol.. NO. What I mean is YA-Ok     OR     Speedmod K9. either one. sorry for the misunderstanding tongue.gif
oic laugh.gif

thank rclxms.gif

Added on November 24, 2010, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 24 2010, 01:33 PM)
amazing! b4 u posted this.. i downloaded the odin version & flashed it! my phone reboot at it stop at the "i9000" screen!! i need to remove the battery! and got no cwm k9 in my phone! hahahah.. lucky i did not panic!
Wah... u are so cool man... DID NOT PANIC rclxms.gif

This is the essense of this phone, don't need to worry if something wrong, there is always solution to it. Like what u did DO NOT PANIC rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 24 2010, 01:58 PM
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 02:29 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 24 2010, 02:01 PM)
Bro, u change u modem?
After done the fix for the bug.
i called my friend again to verify any voice distortion, he said none, so i m just keeping it with the 8.0.1 modem for now.

|Kee|:
i always keep my no RFS ext4 on if the ROM permitted
Get used to the speed now haaa...
Crossover
post Nov 24 2010, 09:20 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Nov 24 2010, 08:52 PM)
better dont play play with system files my man
aiya... why so worry.. trial and error mar... then can tell us what the outcome. Worse come to worse, flash again lor tongue.gif

Added on November 24, 2010, 9:22 pmFor those using LauncherPro PLUS, what do u do in order to get the app menu scrolling like 3D effect? like rolling a ball?

Added on November 24, 2010, 9:35 pmGreenGoat:

Here the actual step by step hee... If u wanna flash Ya-Ok Build 31 to your v8.0.1

1) CWM recovery
2) backup and restore > backup
3) reflashed ROM via zip (install zip from sdcard....)
4) advance ULK features > Reboot into download, then flashed Ya-ok build 31 via odin
5) CWM recovery, backup and restore > advance restore > data only (do not restore system)
6) tweaked IO and VM --- if u have applied previously
7) ULK Features > Lagfix option >no RFS ext4 --- if u prefer to have this lagfix
8) reboot
9) New Config: YES, backup and restore

This post has been edited by Crossover: Nov 24 2010, 09:35 PM
Crossover
post Nov 25 2010, 02:05 AM

865 posts

Man... thought of the distorted voice on call will diminished after corrected with the new Ya-Ok on my v8.0.1. When i was so enjoy playing with the new kernel.. wife called, without going further on the conversation, a comment came from her : How come your voice so hoarse!, Very difficult to hear what i was talking about.

Then saw GreenGoat msg...XXJPO v8 out.. quickly downloaded it and completed within 5 mins.

Wiped and factory resetted, disabled lagfix
Flashed XXJPO_v8 + Ya-OK build 31 + spare part setting to fast --- still speed as previous ROM, but not sure the voice call.. haiz....

GreenGoat, stock XXJPO_v8 come with the kernel 256Hz, u flashed to a different kernel? i saw ur flashed to a 500Hz, isnt they said not that stable with this 500Hz?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:39 PM