QUOTE(wutsoever @ Mar 8 2006, 12:52 AM)
juz wanna ask u huys someting which recently occured to me
i been using my 80gb samsung hdd for quite a while
somethimes i took out my hdd and connect with my friends for
exchanging data.
juz when i want to reconnect it to my comp
the BIOS would detected it neither the OS
wut the heck happens?
heh? BIOS detected ur hdd means it is connected to the board. u r trying to say neither BIOS nor OS detect ur hdd?
refnulf
post Mar 8 2006, 03:50 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Yes, it chills my bones when I think of my HDDs crashing on me. In fact, this reminds me of my favourite HDD in 2003. It was choke full of football matches and one day while transfering some data at another computer, I accidentally kicked it hard. It was of course hanging out of the computer by the cable (I guess it was my fault) but it was never same again. It would work at an angel, and sometimes not at all. Made some funny noises. I guess I should have backed the data up immediately but no, I just didn't do it. Relaxed, this that till one day it just refused to work at all.

80 GB of hard to find data gone up in smokes. Now I have 3x 80 GB, 1 x 200 GB and just bought a 2 x 400 GB drive. This will never happen again.

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 8 2006, 04:17 PM
TSlex
post Mar 8 2006, 04:29 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Mar 7 2006, 09:18 PM)
hey,im new here n just interested in hdd problems.my previous seagate 80g sata hdd kong after 6 months use,what the heck! before it died i heard loud and continuous ticking noises...hdd screaming in pain eh? hehe

now using maxtor 80g sata hdd n as what i read in the 6 pages of this thread i know maxtor is no good as my fren said maxtor diamondmax 10 hdd chip easily burns. as for now i`ve done fdisk two times to my disk n since them i can sometimes hear a short ticking noise whenever the hdd runs a full operation.
Both drives having ticking syndrome? There's probably something in your rig that's affecting them. What PSU are you using by the way? Can you list down your PC's FULL hardware specifications? blink.gif

my cousin once told me fdisk can never be done to a hdd more than 8 times,is it true?
UNTRUE. Period. FDISK hardly does much to the drive.. just creates partition tables which occupies about few MB to a few GBs only (in fact most of the time, hard ever exceed 1GB). doh.gif

and which is the best brand of hdd? hitachi or wd? maxtor and seagate can bungkus into tong sampah already~
This IMHO though, I usually prefer Seagate because they have served me well these past few years and (all the new ones since Barracuda IV generation) hasn't failed yet. In fact all the drives I used for 24/7 are Seagates. I do USE a good PSU (old Enlight 420W), AVR and have proper drive cooling. However it should be noted that personal experiences may vary from person to person. (and probably depends on the hard drive batch as well). sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 8 2006, 04:30 PM
ati radeon
post Mar 8 2006, 07:46 PM

454 posts

AMD athlon xp 2800+
ICUTE 420W
Gigabyte GA-7VT600-PL
Gecube RADEON 9600xt
Creative Live! 5.1
Samsung DVD n CD-RW
Toshiba 1.44"
Maxtor SATA 80GB diamondmax 10

i dun think its the rig problem,previous seagate really tick like the hull,the noise is really really loud.now its dead,cant even access the data in it.
TSlex
post Mar 9 2006, 12:11 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Mar 8 2006, 07:46 PM)
ICUTE 420W
This is considered "chapalang" PSU. Did you monitor the voltage rails? whistling.gif

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Mar 8 2006, 07:46 PM)
Samsung DVD n CD-RW
Is this a single COMBO drive, or are there 2 CD/DVD drives? blink.gif

Note: The AMD athlon xp 2800+ itself eats at least 64W to 75W. The RADEON 9600xt takes up about 25W at full load.

ati radeon
post Mar 9 2006, 03:11 PM

454 posts

ICUTE oso chapalang a...then how?get another 450W psu? how to monitor voltage rail? i dun think power insufficient lo,can play quake 4 n smoothly while online and running bittorrent.

2 IDE optical drive,samsung dvd and samsung cd-rw.
Mcrae
post Mar 14 2006, 11:59 PM

fu la weh...
955 posts

my hdd starting to giv this 'krak' sound. is it gonna die soon ?
typicalsite
post Mar 16 2006, 01:36 AM

244 posts

how bout mine? 3 hdd, one is 40gb ata maxtor, another is 120gb sata maxtor, and 200 gb sata-2 seagate. 1 small fan (coolermaster 2500rpm) as the exhaust, 400watt default psu. should i put another fan ar? one fan not enough? check using everest, all 3 hdd reached 50 degree Celcius. shocking.gif . What to do?
Hiwatari
post Mar 16 2006, 03:40 PM

Think u're good enuff 2 beat me?
1,214 posts

just received my hdd 2day
partitioned into 4...20gb each
1st n 2nd partition, when in heavy use, will produce ticking sound, the other 2 seem 2 b find, quiet...sth wrong?

edited:
oso, noticed that my wd lacks 1 block in fitness while my maxtor lacks 1 block in performance...this is monitored in speedfan smart monitor

both of my hdd gonna die soon?

This post has been edited by Hiwatari: Mar 16 2006, 05:30 PM
TSlex
post Mar 18 2006, 02:35 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Mar 9 2006, 03:11 PM)
ICUTE oso chapalang a...then how?get another 450W psu? how to monitor voltage rail? i dun think power insufficient lo,can play quake 4 n smoothly while online and running bittorrent.

2 IDE optical drive,samsung dvd and samsung cd-rw.
Try disconnecting one of the CD/DVD drives and see.. Most modern motherboards comes with monitoring functions. Check the BIOS setup for such functions. Your motherboard driver CD may also contain a Windows-based monitoring software. Check and see... wink.gif

By the way, the graphics card doesn't run on 12V directly, intead the power indirectly comes from an onboard regulator which steps the +12V down to either +3.3V or +1.5V for AGP/PCIe slot. The same goes for processorn (ie. steps down to VCore). However, your HDDs and CD/DVD drives runs directly from +12V line. Lack of sufficient voltage on these rails can affect them. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Mcrae @ Mar 14 2006, 11:59 PM)
my hdd starting to giv this 'krak' sound. is it gonna die soon ?
Depends on how loud it is, and how frequent it happens... A single "krak" sound does not always mean drive problems. Some drives are noisy when seeking and accessing.. hence the "kraaaak..." sounds.. However, recommend you have some SMART monitoring software to check.. If the HDD constantly goes "krak-krak-krak..." (very loudly) non-stop frequently even when idle, then that could be first signs of trouble.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(typicalsite @ Mar 16 2006, 01:36 AM)
how bout mine? 3 hdd, one is 40gb ata maxtor, another is 120gb sata maxtor, and 200 gb sata-2 seagate. 1 small fan (coolermaster 2500rpm) as the exhaust, 400watt default psu. should i put another fan ar? one fan not enough? check using everest, all 3 hdd reached 50 degree Celcius.  shocking.gif . What to do?
If all the HDD are at 50C or higher, then that is considered HIGH temperatures. Beware of that. Make sure the HDD is adequately cooled. If adding a fan could improve things, then try it.. Also make sure the casing has good airflow.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ Mar 16 2006, 03:40 PM)
1st n 2nd partition, when in heavy use, will produce ticking sound, the other 2 seem 2 b find, quiet...sth wrong?
Is this ticking sound very loud? sweat.gif

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ Mar 16 2006, 03:40 PM)
oso, noticed that my wd lacks 1 block in fitness while my maxtor lacks 1 block in performance...this is monitored in speedfan smart monitor

both of my hdd gonna die soon?
That should be OK. Just watch out for the relocated sector count or unrecoverable read/write error status. These should not increase all the time (ie. these indicate bad and/or unreadable/unwriteable sectors)... wink.gif
he-sham
post Mar 18 2006, 02:53 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

what is the normal temperature of working harddisk ?? my western digital ATA 80GB is running at 50degree celcius (based on Everest)...my PC is in aircondless room with normal room tempereature...my system on for almost 20hours a day....is it normal ??

This post has been edited by he-sham: Mar 18 2006, 02:55 PM
Hiwatari
post Mar 18 2006, 06:59 PM

Think u're good enuff 2 beat me?
1,214 posts

Is this ticking sound very loud?  sweat.gif
at least louder than my maxtor...maxtor 'no sound'...wd can hear from like...5 metres?but when in heavy usage only...otherwise, it'll 'krak' like once in 5 sec

but y only in 1st n 2nd partition?the other 2 is so quiet

edited:wohooo...check this out...aiseh
Hardware ECC Recovered 251 34483 Watch
Warning: Hardware ECC Recovered is below the average limits (252-253).
speedfan in-depth anal...dying? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 30 2006, 02:17 PM
ukiya
post Mar 20 2006, 02:14 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

how to identified whether the hdd is goin to die soon or it juz sudden death !?

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 30 2006, 02:16 PM
ZAKARIA HARON
post Mar 26 2006, 10:34 AM

My PC not powerup every time i press power button key.I try to find out what the problem is.I confuse when i take off power cable and ide cable from HDD .Now the power is up .That is HDD fail ?
StarFalls~*
post Mar 27 2006, 07:26 PM

228 posts

after leaving my comp idle for few hours and i play some music the hdd will produce some ticking sound, and often alot of times after few hours of usage of my comp, the hdd will be producing those sounds again if i stop playing music and play it again.. anything wrong with it?

another question is if i install MBM or Speedfan while running my ASUS probe the asus probe will keep come out warning sounds, sometimes it write CPU fan speed 0, or the voltage drop to really low or went really high. i not sure about the voltage part but when it says cpu fan speed is 0, i look at my cpu fan (i removed the side casing ever since i get my WD120GB) and its running. so does it means that the sensor went crazy or the softwares cannot work with each other?

btw im using only 1 WD120GB harddisk as OS and storage, with few partitions
Wuahaha
post Mar 28 2006, 05:09 PM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

Is BT another way to kill ur HDD? Coz got a fren after starting use BT for a few days and his HDD died after a reboot tongue.gif
TSlex
post Mar 30 2006, 02:42 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ Mar 18 2006, 06:59 PM)
at least louder than my maxtor...maxtor 'no sound'...wd can hear from like...5 metres?but when in heavy usage only...otherwise, it'll 'krak' like once in 5 sec

but y only in 1st n 2nd partition?the other 2 is so quiet
Possible bad/slow sectors. The "krak" sound could be possibly the head re-setting and re-seeking the bad/slow sector. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ Mar 18 2006, 06:59 PM)
edited:wohooo...check this out...aiseh
Hardware ECC Recovered          251  34483  Watch
Warning: Hardware ECC Recovered is below the average limits (252-253).
speedfan in-depth anal...dying? icon_question.gif
That statement sounds not good at all. This can indicate "weak" bits in one or more sectors (ie. causing the ECC recovery). As abovementioned, there could be slow and/or bad sectors in that drive. sweat.gif

UPDATE: Just to let you guys know.. I'm think I may be losing one of my Seagate 7200.7 160GB HDD to bad sectors... (volume became unreadable, Windows reported bad blocks). The CULPRIT was my old ASUS 52X/24X/52X CDRW which was mounted right below the hard drive (the HDD cooler aluminium block was always in contact with the CDRW drive all the time). I started re-using this (since long time last used) CDRW for some burns recently. There were (highly audible) strong vibrations (ie. "rattling") from the CDRW drive everytime it starts reaching maximum burning speed, and must have affected the HDD. This HDD was in very good condition before I started re-using my old CDRW. Conclusion, the VIBRATION most probably affected the HDD. Oh dear... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Mar 30 2006, 02:43 PM
smokey
post Mar 31 2006, 11:10 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

my 80GB WD got loud tickling sound a few days ago...and it died TODAY!!! jz used it for about >10 months... even my 20GB seagate year 2001 havent die yet!!!:furious: vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

anyway to recover information inside??? i got lots of valuables item inside!!!

BIOS still can detect the HDD, but inside windows, its ultra lagging...and only can see the HDD as RAW data...after unplug the HDD,everything runs fine...

now got no games, music, movie to play at all........

help icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Wuahaha
post Mar 31 2006, 12:19 PM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

I have had problems with my HDD for 2 times since I start using my PC. Whenever I heard loud clicking sounds, my heart start clicking too tongue.gif Tat's when you know ur HDD is gonna choke to death. Hehehe a year ago my Maxtor 120GB died just 3 weeks b4 warranty. And They return me a 160GB thumbup.gif But so far still working ... but I guess soon it'll leave me again sweat.gif

Warning: Heavy HDD usage kills (esp. BT, install~uninstall games, defrag too often) shakehead.gif

40 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:28 AM